DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-20, in the reply filed on 12/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, drawn to an invention, non-elected, have been canceled by Applicant in the response filed 12/29/25.
Drawings
Fig. 2B is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 50, described in [0061] as the displacement fluid. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 27 recites the limitation "The hydraulic cement composition of claim 20." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; claim 20 rather recites “The hydraulic cement slurry.” Replacement of “composition” with -slurry- is advised so that proper antecedent basis is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-23, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stude (US 4,036,659).
With respect to independent claim 8, Stude discloses a hydraulic cement composition, comprising:
hydraulic cement (col. 1, l. 33-60; col. 3, l. 21-33); and
at least one anti-corrosion agent selected from the group as claimed (col. 1, l. 60; col. 2, l. 54-55).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Stude discloses wherein said hydraulic cement is Portland cement (col. 1, l. 33-60; col. 3, l. 21-33).
With respect to dependent claims 10-12, Stude discloses wherein said anti-corrosion agent comprises/is urea (col. 1, l. 60; col. 2, l. 54-55).
With respect to dependent claims 13 and 14, and new claims 21 and 22, Stude discloses wherein said anti-corrosion agent is present in an amount of at least 0.5% by weight, and, further, wherein said anti-corrosion inhibitor is present in said composition in an amount in the range of from about 0.5-40% by weight, and, further, wherein said anti-corrosion agent is present in an amount in the range of from 1-30%, and, further, 1-10% by weight (col. 1, l. 60; col. 2, l. 54-55; col. 13, l. 11).
With respect to independent claim 15, Stude discloses a hydraulic cement slurry, comprising:
hydraulic cement (col. 1, l. 33-60; col. 3, l. 21-33);
at least one anti-corrosion agent selected from the group as claimed (col. 1, l. 60; col. 2, l. 54-55); and
water (col. 2, l. 5-8; col. 2, l. 61-63).
With respect to dependent claims 16-18, Stude discloses wherein said anti-corrosion agent comprises/is urea (col. 1, l. 60; col. 2, l. 54-55).
With respect to dependent claims 19 and 20, and new dependent claim 27, Stude discloses wherein said anti-corrosion agent is present in an amount of at least 0.5% by weight, and, further, wherein said anti-corrosion inhibitor is present in said composition in an amount in the range of from about 0.5-40% by weight, and, further, wherein said anti-corrosion agent is present in an amount in the range of from 1-30% (col. 1, l. 60; col. 2, l. 54-55; col. 13, l. 11).
With respect to dependent claim 23, Stude discloses at least one additive selected from the group as claimed (col. 1, l. 59-66; col. 2, l. 65-colo. 3, l. 20; col. 4, l. 51-54).
With respect to dependent claim 26, Stude discloses wherein said hydraulic cement is Portland cement (col. 1, l. 33-60; col. 3, l. 21-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stude as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Mintz et al. (BR PI0709354 A2).
Stude discloses the hydraulic cement slurry as set forth above in the rejection of claim 23, wherein such is disclosed as used to set in areas having low temperatures (col. 1, l. 42-50; col. 2, l. 25-33) and is further suggested to include known additives for their known function in hydraulic cements (col. 4, l. 48-54). The reference, however, fails to disclose the inclusion of a defoamer as instantly claimed. Mintz teaches additives included in hydraulic cement wherein a defoaming agent is present therein for the purpose of improving freeze/thaw durability of the composition. Since Stude discloses the inclusion of known additives within the hydraulic cement disclosed therein, wherein such have known functions, and, further, wherein the hydraulic cement is used in areas having temperatures to about freezing (abstract) and Mintz suggests the inclusion of a defoamer in a hydraulic cement for the purpose of improving freeze/thaw durability, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try a defoamer as an additive in the hydraulic cement of Stude in order to yield the predictable result of improving the freeze/thaw durability thereof.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stude as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Brothers et al. (US 2007/0221379).
Stude discloses the hydraulic cement slurry as set forth above in the rejection of claim 23, wherein such is disclosed as used to set in areas having low temperatures (col. 1, l. 42-50; col. 2, l. 25-33) and is further suggested to include known additives for their known function in hydraulic cements (col. 4, l. 48-54). The reference, however, fails to disclose the inclusion of a defoamer or suspending agent as instantly claimed. Brothers et al. teaches cement slurries ([0021]) which may be used in a permafrost region ([0028]), wherein additives may be included therein for the purpose of improving or changing the properties thereof ([0022]); examples include retarders, defoamers, setting prevention agents, weighting materials, dispersants, formation-conditioning agents, or combinations thereof ([0022]), with additional examples including density-reducing additives such as hollow beads or foaming and expanding additives such as foaming surfactants gas, suspension aids and defoamers for the purpose of generating a lightweight cement slurry. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try an additive such as a suspension aid, i.e., suspending agent, and/or defoamer in the hydraulic cement of Stude in order to yield the predictable result of generating a lightweight cement slurry therewith.
Double Patenting
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 8-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-28 of copending Application No. 19/257,213 (‘213 herein) in view of Peppler et al. (US 3785839). Both the instant application and ‘213 provide for a hydraulic cement composition and slurry with the inclusion of an anti-corrosion inhibitor therein; ‘213 recites such as guanidine and derivatives thereof while the instant application recites urea and derivatives thereof. Peppler et al. teaches Portland cement compositions (abstract) that include an additive therein, wherein such an additive includes urea and its derivatives; examples of such compounds include urea and guanidine (col. 3, l. 18-23). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for the invention as instantly claimed, i.e. the use of a derivatives of urea as the anti-corrosion agent, in view of that which Applicant is seeking patent protection for in ‘213, as guanidine is but a known derivative of urea and the provision thereof and results of such a substitution/use would have been predictable to one having ordinary skill in the art as such are indeed functional equivalents, as taught by Peppler.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 8-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-20 of copending Application No. 18/816,663 (‘663 herein)*** in view of Burge et al. (US 6,149,725), as evidenced by Peppler et al. (US 3785839). Both the instant application and ‘663 provide for a hydraulic cement composition and slurry with the inclusion of an anti-corrosion inhibitor therein; ‘663 recites such as an alkanolamine and derivatives thereof while the instant application recites urea and derivatives thereof. Burge et al. teaches Portland cement compositions (col. 4, l. 31-32) that include an anti-corrosion agent therein, wherein such an agent can be an amino compound or amino alcohol selected from a group comprising amines, including mono-, di- and tri-ethanolamine and guanidine (col. 3, l. 27-47). Peppler et al. provides evidence of derivatives of urea including guanidine (col. 3, l. 18-23). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for the invention as instantly claimed, i.e. the use of a derivatives of urea as the anti-corrosion agent, in view of that which Applicant is seeking patent protection for in ‘663, as alkanolamines are but a known alternative anti-corrosion agent for cements to the derivative of urea guanidine and thus a substitution/use of derivatives of urea as instantly claimed for the alkanolamines of ‘663 would have been predictable to one having ordinary skill in the art as such are indeed functional equivalents, as taught by Burge et al. as evidenced by Peppler et al..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3615785 discloses a hydraulic cement composition comprising Portland cement and urea, wherein the urea is present in an amount up to 50 weight percent.
US 4,221,597 discloses reducing the water to solids ratio of a cement slurry with the addition of urea in concentrations of 1 to 5% by weight, basis dry solids. Urea also reduces the cement's sensitivity to sulfate attack and improves adhesion to concrete and ceramic surfaces though less dramatically than sodium acetate.
US 6177483 discloses a hydraulic cement composition comprising Portland cement and a pH reducing reactant of urea, wherein the set composition prevents corrosion of steel pipes.
WO 2021/096445 discloses a cement comprising 5-25% urea.
US 6,149,725 discloses guanidine, a derivative of urea, as evidenced by Peppler, cited above, used as an anti-corrosion agent in Portland cement compositions/slurries.
/Angela M DiTrani Leff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
ADL
02/26/26