Response to Amendments
The amendments filed May 11, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments of claims 1, 15, and 19. The previous 103 rejections have been modified due to applicant’s amendments. For the reason(s) set forth below, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive. The action is Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/11/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "wherein a recess is formed by the first recess side surface, the second recess side surface, and the substantially flat bottom surface form a recess" in lines 16-18. It is unclear if applicant is attempting to claim multiple/different recesses or if applicant is referring back to the recess as introduced in claim 15, line 16, thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the Examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be referring to a single recess formed by the first recess side surface, the second recess side surface, and the substantially flat bottom surface.
Claims 16-18 depends on claim 15 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (US Pub. No. 2003/0067180) in view of Shirasaki (US Pub. No. 2011/0215602).
Regarding claim 1, Hosokawa discloses: a carrier (Figures 1-3 and 8E and see also paragraphs 0023/0030/0055) comprising:
a carrier body (element 230) configured to be placed on end effector of a robot to transport one or more process kit rings within a substrate processing system (The examiner indicates that the end effector, the robot, one or more kit rings, and the substrate processing system have not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. carrier). Furthermore, figure 2 shows element 230 (carrier body) as a component that is mechanically attached to different parts which would allow the carrier to be capable of being attached to different environments of parts. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier comprising the carrier body (element 230), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the carrier body be placed removably supported on an end effector of a robot to transport one or more process kit rings within a substrate processing system, as recited.); and
a plurality of fingers (elements 222) extending from a central portion of the carrier body (see paragraph 0034 where the prior art disclose element 222 as “a total of six” which also includes elements 224 and 226, and see also figure 2 showing two fingers (element 226) of the plurality of fingers extending from a central portion (middle portion of element 230) of the carrier body (element 230)) and under the one or more process kit rings to support the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. carrier). Therefore, giving that the prior disclose the plurality of fingers (element 222) extending from the central portion, and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having plurality of fingers extending from the central portion under the one or more process kit rings to support the one or more process kit rings, as recited.), and wherein a first finger (element 224, see also paragraph 0035 where the prior art disclose element 224 (first finger) having “a polymer pad”, and see also paragraph 0055 disclosing element 800E as the polymer pad) of the plurality of fingers comprises:
a first distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below Detail A) comprising a first upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail B);
a second distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below Detail C) that is opposite the first distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below showing portions of the second distal portion (wall/surfaces/protrusion on the left side) being opposite of portions of the first distal (wall/surfaces/protrusion on the right side), the second distal portion comprising a second upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail D), wherein the first finger forms a recess (see figure 8E annotated below Detail E) between the first upper surface and the second upper surface to receive the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. carrier). Therefore, giving that the prior disclose the recess (Detail E) between the first upper surface (Detail B) and the second upper surface (Detail D), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the recess be capable of receiving the one or more process kit rings, as recited.);
a first inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated below Detail F) adjacent the first upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below), wherein the first inner sidewall defines a first portion of the recess (see figure 8E annotated below showing the first inner sidewall forming a portion of the recess (Detail E));
a second inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated below Detail G) adjacent the second upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below), wherein the second inner sidewall defines a second portion of the recess (see figure 8E annotated below showing the second inner sidewall forming a portion of the recess (Detail E)); and
a substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below the surface that arrow of element 824 is pointing at) from the first inner sidewall to the second inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated below showing the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below the surface that arrow of element 824 is pointing at) formed between the first inner sidewall (Detail F) and second inner sidewall (Detail G)), wherein the recess is formed by the first inner sidewall, the second inner sidewall, and the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below).
However, Hosokawa appears to be silent wherein the plurality of fingers are extending past a perimeter of the carrier body.
Shirasaki is also concern in providing a carrier (Figures 6-7 and see also paragraph 0025) comprising a carrier body (elements 3/4/5) having a plurality of fingers (element 6) for supporting a workpiece (element 2). Shirasaki further teaches wherein the plurality of fingers are extending past a perimeter of the carrier body (see figure 7 showing the plurality of fingers (element 6) extending past a perimeter of a portion of the carrier body (continuous line forming the boundary of the closed geometric figure of element 5)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosokawa with the teachings of Shirasaki to provide wherein the plurality of fingers are extending past a perimeter of the carrier body. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the plurality of fingers at a desired arrangement including extending past the perimeter of carrier body would necessarily provide the predictable result of supporting the workpiece at various different during transport operations.
Regarding claim 2, Hosokawa modified discloses: the carrier of claim 1, wherein a recess lower surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail H) is disposed between the first inner sidewall and the second inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated below).
Regarding claim 3, Hosokawa modified discloses: the carrier of claim 2, wherein:
the first inner sidewall is configured to be disposed proximate one or more inner surfaces of the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (one or more inner surfaces) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the first inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated above Detail F), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first inner sidewall be disposed proximate one or more inner surfaces of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.);
the second inner sidewall is configured to be disposed proximate one or more outer surfaces of the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (one or more outer surfaces) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including second inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated above Detail G), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the second inner sidewall be disposed proximate one or more outer surfaces of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.); and
the recess lower surface is configured to be disposed under the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (one or more outer surfaces) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the recess lower surface (see figure 8E annotated above Detail H), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the recess lower surface be disposed under one or more outer surfaces of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.) .
Regarding claim 4, Hosokawa modified discloses: the carrier of claim 1, wherein the one or more process kit rings comprise at least two process kit rings, wherein the first finger is configured to control concentricity of the at least two process kit rings relative to each other during transportation of the at least two process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (the one or more process kit rings being two process kit rings) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the first finger (element 224/800E), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first finger control concentricity of the at least two process kit rings relative to each other during transportation of the at least two process kit rings, as recited.).
Regarding claim 5, Hosokawa modified discloses: the carrier of claim 1, wherein the one or more process kit rings comprise at least two process kit rings, wherein the first finger is configured to maintain a gap between the at least two process kit rings substantially same during transportation of the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (the one or more process kit rings being two process kit rings) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the first finger (element 224/800E), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first finger maintain a gap between the at least two process kit rings substantially same during transportation of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.).
Regarding claim 6, Hosokawa modified discloses: the carrier of claim 2, wherein:
the recess lower surface is disposed substantially in a first plane (see annotated figure 8E below X-X plane);
the recess lower surface is configured to receive the one or more process kit rings (Giving that the prior art discloses the recess lower surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail H), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the recess lower surface receive one or more process kit rings, as recited.);
the first upper surface and the second upper surface are disposed substantially in a second plane (see annotated figure 8E below X2-X2 plane) that is above the first plane (see annotated figure 8E below showing both the first upper surface and the second upper surface (Detail B/D) disposed above the recess lower surface (Detail H), thus the second plane would necessarily be above the first plane); and
the first inner sidewall and the second inner sidewall are disposed between the first upper surface and the second upper surface (see annotated figure 8E below).
Regarding claim 9, Hosokawa modified discloses all the limitations of claims 1-2, but appears to be silent wherein at least one of the first inner sidewall or the second inner sidewall has a first coefficient of friction and the recess lower surface has a second coefficient of friction that is greater than the first coefficient of friction.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize wherein at least one of the first inner sidewall or the second inner sidewall has a first coefficient of friction and the recess lower surface has a second coefficient of friction that is greater than the first coefficient of friction through routine experimentation for best results. Doing so provides different coefficient of friction throughout the device to provide additional securement between the device and workpiece, thus preventing the workpiece from falling and being damaged during operation. As to optimization results, a patent will be granted based upon the optimization of result effective result effective variables when the optimization is obtained through routine experimentation unless there is a showing of unexpected results which properly rebuts the prima case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.04 (II)
Regarding claim 11, Hosokawa modified discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the one or more process kit rings contact the first finger without contacting the carrier body during transportation of the carrier (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the first finger (element 224/800E), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first finger contact the first finger without contacting the carrier body during transportation of the carrier, as recited.).
Regarding claim 12, Hosokawa modified discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the plurality of fingers further comprise a second finger and a third finger (see paragraph 0034 where the prior art disclose element 222 as “a total of six” which includes four element 224 (see figure 2), thus would necessarily comprises a second and third finger) that each form a corresponding recess to receive the one or more process kit rings (See figure 3 showing a cross-sectional view of element 224 forming a corresponding recess (empty space above element 304 and 322), thus meeting the structure of the corresponding recess and would necessarily be capable of receiving one or more process kit rings, as recited.).
Regarding claim 13, Hosokawa modified discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the carrier body forms an opening (element 312 and see also paragraph 0035) configured to receive a fastener (element 310), wherein the first finger is configured to be removably attached to the carrier body via the fastener and the opening (Giving that the prior art discloses the structure of the carrier body (element 230) having the opening (element 312) receiving the fastener (element 310) in order to connect the first finger (element 224) and with no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first finger being configured to be removably attached to the carrier body via the fastener and the opening, as recited.).
Regarding claim 19, Hosokawa discloses: a carrier (Figures 1-3 and 8E and see also paragraphs 0023/0030/0055) comprising:
a carrier body (element 230) configured to be placed on an end effector of a robot to transport two or more process kit rings within a substrate processing system (The examiner indicates that the end effector, the robot, two or more kit rings, and the substrate processing system have not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. carrier). Furthermore, figure 2 shows element 230 (carrier body) as a component that is mechanically attached to different parts which would allow the carrier to be capable of being attached to different environments of parts. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier comprising the carrier body (element 230), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the carrier body be placed on an end effector of a robot to transport two or more process kit rings within a substrate processing system, as recited.); and
a plurality of fingers (elements 222) extending from the carrier body (see paragraph 0034 where the prior art disclose element 222 as “a total of six” which also includes elements 224 and 226, and see also figures 3-4 showing the portions of plurality of fingers (elements 224/226) extending upwardly from the carrier body (element 230)) and under the two or more process kit rings to support the two or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. carrier). Therefore, giving that the prior disclose the plurality of fingers (element 222) extending from the central portion, and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having plurality of fingers extending from the central portion under the one or more process kit rings to support the two or more process kit rings, as recited.), wherein a first finger (element 224, see also paragraph 0035 where the prior art disclose element 224 (first finger) having “a polymer pad”, and see also paragraph 0055 disclosing element 800E as the polymer pad) of the plurality of fingers is configured to control concentricity of the two or more process kit rings relative to each other during transportation of the two or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the two or more process kit rings and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the first finger (element 224/800E), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first finger control concentricity of the two or more process kit rings relative to each other during transportation of the two or more process kit rings, as recited.), wherein the first finger comprises:
a first distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below Detail A) comprising a first upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail B);
a second distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below Detail C) that is opposite the first distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below showing portions of the second distal portion (wall/surfaces/protrusion on the left side) being opposite of portions of the first distal (wall/surfaces/protrusion on the right side), the second distal portion comprising a second upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail D), wherein the first finger forms a recess (see figure 8E annotated below Detail E) between the first upper surface and the second upper surface to receive the two or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. carrier). Therefore, giving that the prior disclose the recess (Detail E) between the first upper surface (Detail B) and the second upper surface (Detail D), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the recess be capable of receiving the two or more process kit rings, as recited.);
a first inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated below Detail F) adjacent the first upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below), wherein the first inner sidewall defines a first portion of the recess (see figure 8E annotated below showing the first inner sidewall forming a portion of the recess (Detail E));
a second inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated below Detail G) adjacent the second upper surface (see figure 8E annotated below), wherein the second inner sidewall defines a second portion of the recess (see figure 8E annotated below showing the second inner sidewall forming a portion of the recess (Detail E)); and a substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below the surface that arrow of element 824 is pointing at) from the first inner sidewall to the second inner sidewall (see figure 8E annotated below showing the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below the surface that arrow of element 824 is pointing at) formed between the first inner sidewall (Detail F) and second inner sidewall (Detail G)), wherein the recess is formed by the first inner sidewall, the second inner sidewall, and the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below).
However, Hosokawa appears to be silent wherein the plurality of fingers are extending past a perimeter of the carrier body.
Shirasaki is also concern in providing a carrier (Figures 6-7 and see also paragraph 0025) comprising a carrier body (elements 3/4/5) having a plurality of fingers (element 6) for supporting a workpiece (element 2). Shirasaki further teaches wherein the plurality of fingers are extending past a perimeter of the carrier body (see figure 7 showing the plurality of fingers (element 6) extending past a perimeter of a portion of the carrier body (continuous line forming the boundary of the closed geometric figure of element 5)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosokawa with the teachings of Shirasaki to provide wherein the plurality of fingers are extending past a perimeter of the carrier body. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the plurality of fingers at a desired arrangement including extending past the perimeter of carrier body would necessarily provide the predictable result of supporting the workpiece at various different during transport operations.
Regarding claim 20, Hosokawa modified discloses: the carrier of claim 19, wherein the first finger is configured to maintain a gap between the two or more process kit rings substantially same during the transportation of the two or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the two or more process kit rings and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the first finger (element 224/800E), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first finger maintain a gap between the two or more process kit rings substantially same during transportation of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (US Pub. No. 2003/0067180) in view of Shirasaki (US Pub. No. 2011/0215602) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blank (US Patent No. 7,048,316).
Regarding claim 7, Hosokawa modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein at least one of the first inner sidewall or the second inner sidewall comprises an upper portion that has about a 15 degree angle and a lower portion that has about a 5 degree angle relative to the first upper surface.
Blank is also concern in providing a carrier (Figures 3A-7B and see also col. 8, ll. 10-15) comprising a carrier body (element 400), a plurality of fingers (see figure 4 element 300), a first finger (element 300 in figure 3A) of the plurality of fingers, and wherein the first finger comprises a first upper surface (element 338) and a first inner sidewall (see figure 3A annotated below Detail A). Blank further teaches wherein at least one of the first inner sidewall or the second inner sidewall comprises an upper portion (element 332) that is angle (see figure 3A annotated below showing the upper portion (element 332) angled) and a lower portion (element 334) that is angle relative to the first upper surface (see figure 3A annotated below showing the lower portion (element 334) angled relative to the first upper surface (element 338)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hosokawa with the teachings of Blank to provide wherein at least one of the first inner sidewall or the second inner sidewall comprises an upper portion that is angle and a lower portion that is angle relative to the first upper surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having angled portions of the inner sidewall would necessarily provide angled receiving surfaces that increase an effective coefficient of friction of a wafer in order to provide a secure resting point as disclosed by Blank (see col. 2, ll. 34-36).
However, Hosokawa modified appears to be silent wherein the upper portion has about a 15 degree angle and the lower portion has about a 5 degree angle.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the angle of both the upper and lower portion would result in a difference in function of the Hosokawa modified et al. carrier. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the angle of Hosokawa modified, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed angles. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem (see specification paragraphs 0021 and 0067), therefore there is no criticality placed on the angle claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle of the upper and lower portion to be wherein the upper portion has about a 15 degree angle and the lower portion has about a 5 degree angle as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (US Pub. No. 2003/0067180) in view of Shirasaki (US Pub. No. 2011/0215602) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of DiBella (US Pub. No. 2008/0267747).
Regarding claim 8, Hosokawa modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1-2, but appears to be silent wherein the first finger further comprises a chamfer between the recess lower surface and at least one of the first inner sidewall or the second inner sidewall.
DiBella is also concern in providing a carrier (Figures 1-11 element 100 and see also paragraph 0035) comprising a carrier body (element 8) configured to be supported on a robot (see paragraph 0037), a plurality of fingers (elements 22/32a/32b) extending from the carrier body (see figures 5a-5c), a first finger (element 22) having a recess lower surface (see figure 5C annotated below Detail A) and a first inner sidewall (see figure 5C annotated below Detail B), and wherein the first finger further comprises a chamfer (element 23B) between the recess lower surface and at least one of the first inner sidewall (see annotated figure 5C below) or the second inner sidewall.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hosokawa with the teachings of DiBella to provide wherein the first finger further comprises a chamfer between the recess lower surface and at least one of the first inner sidewall or the second inner sidewall. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing an additional different surface area via the chamfer would necessarily allow the finger to secure different size/shape workpieces, thus enhancing the securement capabilities of the carrier.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (US Pub. No. 2003/0067180) in view of Shirasaki (US Pub. No. 2011/0215602) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Mercer (US Pub No. 2005/0186122).
Regarding claim 10, Hosokawa modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent but appears to be silent wherein the first finger is configured to dissipate electrostatic charge.
Mercer is also concern in providing a carrier (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0032) comprising a base (element 12) that includes a plurality of fingers including a first finger (element 30) holding an object (element 34). Mercer further teaches wherein the first finger is configured to dissipate electrostatic charge (see paragraph 0027 where the prior art states where the prior art states that conductive additives are introduced in order to “dissipate electric charges” at a desired rate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hosokawa with the teachings of Mercer to provide wherein the first finger is configured to dissipate electrostatic charge. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the first finger to dissipate an electrostatic charge would necessarily prevent the carrier from being damaged by static electric charges during operations.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (US Pub. No. 2003/0067180) in view of Shirasaki (US Pub. No. 2011/0215602) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Blonigan (US Pub. No. 2004/0113444).
Regarding claim 14, Hosokawa modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 13, but appears to be silent but appears to be silent wherein the opening is a slot, wherein the first finger is adjustably located on the carrier body.
Blonigan is also concern in providing a carrier (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0019) comprising a carrier body (element 206), a plurality of fingers (element 224A/224B/226) including a first finger (element 224A) having an opening (element 318), wherein the carrier body forms an opening (element 332) configured to receive a fastener (element 340), and wherein the opening is a slot (see paragraph 0035 where the prior art discloses element 332 as “a slot”), wherein the first finger is adjustably located on the carrier body (see paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hosokawa with the teachings of Blonigan to provide wherein the opening is a slot, wherein the first finger is adjustably located on the carrier body. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the openings as slots would necessarily allow the user to adjust the distance of the finger in order to retain different sized workpieces, thus enhancing the capabilities of the device.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (US Pub. No. 2003/0067180).
Regarding claim 15, Hosokawa discloses: a plurality of fingers (Figures 2-3/8E elements 224/800E and see also paragraphs 0030/0034/0055) configured to extend from a carrier body of a carrier of a substrate processing system and extend past a perimeter of the carrier body and under one or more process kit rings, the finger comprising (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)):
a first distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below Detail A) configured to be disposed proximate a respective portion of the carrier body (The examiner indicates that the carrier body and any associated structure (respective portion) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the finger comprising the first distal portion (Detail A), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first distal portion be capable of being disposed proximate a respective portion of the carrier body, as recited.);
a second distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below Detail B) that is opposite the first distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below showing portions of the second distal portion (wall/surfaces/protrusion on the left side) being opposite of portions of the first distal (wall/surfaces/protrusion on the right side), the second distal portion being an extension of a respective finger past the perimeter of the carrier body (The examiner indicates that the carrier body and any associated structure (perimeter) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior disclose second distal portion (Detail A) and being an extension of the a respective finger (see figure 3), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the second distal portion being the extension of the respective finger past the perimeter of the carrier body, as recited.);
a first recess side surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail C) proximate the first distal portion (see figure 8E annotated below), wherein the first recess side surface is configured to be disposed proximate one or more inner surfaces of the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (one or more inner surfaces) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the first recess side surface (Detail C), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the first recess side surface be capable of being disposed proximate one or more inner surfaces of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.);
a second recess side surface (see figure 8E annotated below Detail D) opposite the first recess side surface (see figure 8E annotated below), wherein the second recess side surface is configured to be disposed proximate one or more outer surfaces of the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (one or more outer surfaces) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the second recess side surface (Detail D), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the second recess side surface be disposed proximate one or more outer surfaces of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.); and
a substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below the surface that arrow of element 824 is pointing at) from the first recess side surface and the second recess side surface (see figure 8E annotated below), wherein a recess (see figure 8E annotated below Detail E) is formed by the first recess side surface, the second recess side surface, and the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below),
the substantially flat bottom surface is configured to be disposed under receive and support the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the carrier including the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below the surface that arrow of element 824 is pointing at), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the substantially flat bottom surface be disposed under receive and support the one or more process kit rings, as recited.), and wherein the first recess side surface and the second recess side surface are configured to extend upward from the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below showing both the first/second recess side surfaces (Detail C/D) extending upward from the substantially flat bottom surface (see figure 8E annotated below the surface that arrow of element 824 is pointing at)).
Furthermore, Hosokawa discloses element 224 (plurality of fingers) as being “a plurality” (see paragraph 0034) and shows a single finger having the claimed structure of claim 15 above in figure 8E. However, Hosokawa does not explicitly disclose that each finger of the plurality of fingers comprises the claimed structure of claim 15.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosokawa to provide wherein each finger of the plurality of fingers comprises the claimed structure of claim 15, since a mere duplication of essential working part of device involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having each finger of the plurality of fingers with the same structure would necessarily provide the predictable result of having a plurality of common structure fingers that support a workpiece at various different location during operations, thus preventing the workpiece from falling and being damaged. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C))
Regarding claim 16, Hosokawa modified discloses: the plurality of fingers of claim 15, wherein the one or more process kit rings comprise at least two process kit rings, wherein each finger is configured to control concentricity of the at least two process kit rings relative to each other during transportation of the at least two process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (the one or more process kit rings being two process kit rings) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses each finger (elements 224/800E), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having each finger to control concentricity of the at least two process kit rings relative to each other during transportation of the at least two process kit rings, as recited.).
Regarding claim 17, Hosokawa modified discloses: the plurality of fingers of claim 15, wherein the one or more process kit rings comprise at least two process kit rings, wherein each finger is configured to maintain a gap between the at least two process kit rings substantially same during transportation of the one or more process kit rings (The examiner indicates that the one or more process kit rings and any associated structure (the one or more process kit rings being two process kit rings) has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses each finger (elements 224/800E), and giving that there is no additional structural or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having each finger maintain a gap between the at least two process kit rings substantially same during transportation of the one or more process kit rings, as recited.).
Regarding claim 18, Hosokawa modified discloses: the plurality of fingers of claim 15, wherein each finger is configured to be removably attached to the carrier body via a fastener (element 310 and see also paragraph 0035) and an opening (element 312) formed by the carrier body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection being used.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723