DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response amendment filed on 7 October 2025. Claims 1-3, 9, 10, 17 and 18 have been amended. Claims 5, 8, 13 and 16 have been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6, 7 9-12 14, 15 and 17 -20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12 14, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Triano et al (US Pub., 2016/0300257 A1) in view of Harvey et al (US Pub., 2012/0101887 A1) and futher view of Goyal et al (US Pub., No Pub., 2012/0325902 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Triano teaches a method for encoding offers, comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor, transaction data for a transaction between a user and a merchant initiated with a merchant point-of-sale device (paragraph [0015], discloses transaction that may be performed via a payment network may include product or service purchase, credit purchase, debit transaction , fund transfer, account withdrawals, etc., .. paragraph [0017], discloses consumer transaction data initiated by a triggering event paragraph [0030], discloses a receiving unit may receive transaction data for the payment network data over and paragraph [0031], discloses point of sale );
receiving, by at least one processor, account data associated with a user account of the user, the account data comprising a user identifier associated with the user or an account identifier (paragraph [0016], discloses financial account that may be used to fund a transaction such as a checking account, saving account, credit amount, virtual payment account, etc. , a transaction account may be associate with a consumer …., paragraph [0021], discloses the information identify the consumer may include an identification number, transaction account number, username, email address, phone number, device identifier .., and paragraph [0031], discloses account identifier and a plurality of transaction data entries. The account identifier may be a unique value suitable… ); and
in response to receiving the account data sending, by at least one processor, a request message to retrieve offer data based on the transaction data and the account data to an offer system, the request message comprising the transaction data and the account data, wherein the offer system comprises a database storing data associated with a plurality of accounts and offer data corresponding to one or more accounts of the plurality of account (Fig. 3, 304, discloses offer request, Fig. 4, 404, discloses receiving by a receiving device an offer request from a consumer entity, the offer request incudes at least a specific account identifier and a geographic location [sending a request message to retrieve offer data] , paragraph [0007], discloses the receiving device is configured to receive an offer request from a customer entity, wherein the offer request includes at least a specific account identider and a geographic location paragraph [0023], discloses the consumer entity may transmit an account identifier to the processing server.., paragraph [0024], discloses identify a plurlity of offer parameter for used in identifying an offer for the consumer…, the offer parameters may include purchase behaviors of the consumer 110, such as the consumer's 110 propensity to spend for a plurality of categories, including merchants, industries, products, manufacturers, categories, and times…, paragraphs [0031], discloses the account database may include a plurality of account profiles , each account profile may include data related to a transaction account and include at least an account identifier and plurality of transaction data entries .., and paragraphs [0032]-[0033], discloses the receiving unit may also be configured to receive an offer request from a consumers entity 106).
Triano teaches the above elements including receiving, by at least one processor, a response message from the offer system, the response message comprising the user identifier and the offer data retrieved from the database in response to receiving the request message (paragraph [0035], discloses transmitting unit 206 may be configured to transmit the offer data for the specific offer to the consumer entity once the specific offer has been identified (paragraph [0051], discloses specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile [account is eligible for offer], paragraph [0052], discloses each account may futher include a plurality of spend behavior associated with the relate transaction account, each spend behavior being based on the transaction data .., and paragraph [0053], discloses the identified specific offer may be based on the plurality of spend behavior included in the identified specific account profile[an indication that that user associated with the user account is eligible for offer]). Trino futher teaches in paragraph [0035], discloses identify a specific offer from the plurality of offers received from the merchant entity…, the transmitting unit 206 may be configured to transmitted the offer data for the specific offer to the consumer entity 106 once the specific offer has been identified [user account is eligible for the offer] and paragraph [0051], discloses specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile[account is eligible for offer] and Fig. 4, 410 discloses receiving by the receiving device, offer data for a plurality of offers from the merchant [input from merchant] entity, where each offer of the plurality of offers is based on at least the transmitted two or more offer parameters [eligible for the offer], paragraph [0046], discloses facilitating the identification and distribution of offers based on transaction data, paragraph [0037], discloses the receiving unit 202 may be configured to receive offer redemption data, paragraph [0046], disclose facilitating identification and distribution of the offer and paragraph [0047], discloses a payment transaction involving the related transaction account including transaction data .., an offer request may be received by receiving.
Trino failed to teach receiving an indication that the user assocted with the account is eligible for the offer , determining, by at least one processor, that the user is eligible for the offer based on the indication that the use associated with the account is eligible for the offer; generating, by at least one processor, machine-readable indica comprising encoded data, the encoded data comprising a plurality of fields; modifying, by at least one processor, a data structure of the machine-readable indicia by embedding the offer data identifier into a field of the plurality of fields of the encoded data and embedding at least a portion of the transaction data into a second field of the plurlity of fields of the encoded data in response to receiving the offer identifier from the merchant to provide a modified machine-readable indicia configured to initiate a push payment from the account to an account of the merchant; displaying by at least one processor via display of the merchant point-of-sale device, the modified machine-readable indicia to the user; receiving, by at least one processor, a push payment request from a user device of the user initiated based on the user device scanning the modified machine readable indica; and in response to receiving the payment request, automatically applying, by at least one processor, offer data associated with the offer identifier to at least one of the transaction and the user account.
However, Harvey teaches an indication that that user associated with the user account is eligible for offer determining, by at least one processor, that the user is eligible for the offer based on the indication that the use associated with the user account is eligible for the offer(paragraph [0019], discloses determine induvial customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code, and paragraph [0092], discloses determine whether each user is eligible for an offer );
receiving, by at least one processor, an input from the merchant based on determining that the user is eligible for the offer, the input comprising an offer identifier(paragraph [0042], discloses (Fig. 6, 107, discloses manual entry of VPAN transaction, and paragraph [0085], discloses checkout code 106 to the merchant 94, merchant combines the merchant code (the prefix, ad described with reference .., create the VPAN to be used in the transactions , the merchant then enters the VPAN as the payment mechanism for the transaction); and
in response to receiving the payment request, automatically applying, offer data associated with the offer identifier to at least one of the transaction and the account (paragraph [0019], discloses the offer is processed as part of the payment during the payment transaction using the virtual payment account number)completing the push payment by transferring a payment from the account to an account of the merchant(paragraph [0004], discloses uses electronic card with transfer from consumers’ card to the seller device, paragraph [0007], discloses buyer will transfer the payment information to the merchant, and paragraph [0008], discloses transfer fund from buyer account to account held by the merchant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile of Triano with determining individual customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code of Harvey in order to increases the relevance of merchant-consumer interactions, allowing the merchant to target offers to the consumer as the consumer is shopping (see, Harvey paragraph [0015]).
Triano and Harvey teaches the above elements, Triano futher teaches receiving, by at least one processor, a payment request from a user device of the user based on the account data associated with the user account of the user (paragraph [0015], discloses transaction that may be performed via payment networked including product or service purchased ..paragraph [0016], discloses a financial account that may be used to fund a transaction such as a checking account ) and Harvey teaches the system then sends the merchant the payment prefix(es) or merchant code which are be based on the range of the VPAN used for merchant for transaction (paragraph [0042]). Triano and Harvey failed to teach the corrosinding payment is through the generated and modified machine-readable indicia configured to initiate a push payment from the account to an account of the merchant and displayed, the modified machine-readable indicia to the user and displaying, by at least one processor via a display of a merchant point-of-sale device, the modified machine-readable indicia to the use
However, Goyal teaches generating, by at least one processor, machine-readable indicia comprising encoded data, the encoded data comprising a plurality of fields(paragraph [0023], discloses generating a barcodes based on invoice information and processing program code, an image sensor for capturing image and at least one, and paragraph [0029], discloses the code generator can be an image displayer used to generate and display code for receipt by a client application );
modifying, by at least one processor, a data structure of the machine-readable indicia by embedding the offer data identifier into a field of the plurality of fields of the encoded data and embedding at least a portion of the transaction data into a second field of the plurlity of fields of the encoded data in response to receiving the offer identifier from the merchant to provide a modified machine-readable indicia (paragraph [0009], discloses QR codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR codes [modifying a data structure of the machine -readable indicia] and paragraph [0074], discloses customized coding interpretation scheme for barcode is a modified UPC (Universal Product Code) to include invoice specific data .., a modified QR scheme, as further described below ..) configured to initiate a push payment from the account to an account of the merchant (paragraph [0009] discloses Consumers who see a QR Code displayed may take a picture of the QR Code using a camera embedded in the smartphone, for example, and may utilize a smartphone application to automatically translate the QR Code to a URL and launch a browser application pointed to the URL [initiate push payment] . Additional commercial uses of QR Codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR Codes that customers may decode into graphical or textual coupons to present at businesses to receive discounts on purchased goods or service), ; and
displaying, by at least one processor via a display of a merchant point-of-sale device, the modified machine-readable indicia to the user ((paragraph [0009] discloses Consumers who see a QR Code displayed may take a picture of the QR Code using a camera embedded in the smartphone, for example, and may utilize a smartphone application to automatically translate the QR Code to a URL and launch a browser application pointed to the URL [imitate push payment] . Additional commercial uses of QR Codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR Codes that customers may decode into graphical or textual coupons to present at businesses to receive discounts on purchased goods or service and paragraph [0088], discloses to capture an image of the aggregated ORMI presented by the order interface at the point of sale for subsequent processing ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer of Triano and merchant code which are be based on the range of the VPAN used for merchant for transaction of Harvey with generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009]).
With respect to claim 2, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Triano teaches the method further comprising: determination on additional data associated with the consumer such as data regarding past redemption or acceptance of offers by the consumer demographic characterstics, consumer-provide preference (paragraph [0026]). Triano is silent to explicitly teach the corresponding determination is used to determine whether the user is eligible for the offer based on the account data associated with the user account of the user.
However, determine whether the user is eligible for the offer based on the account data associated with the user account of the user(paragraph [0019], discloses determine induvial customer eligibility for the offer, the offer assocted with the checkout code, and paragraph [0092], discloses determine whether each user is eligible for an offer ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile of Triano with
determining individual customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code of Harvey in order to increases the relevance of merchant-consumer interactions, allowing the merchant to target offers to the consumer as the consumer is shopping (see, Harvey paragraph [0015]).
With respect to claim 3, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Triano teaches the method wherein determining whether the user is eligible for the offer comprises: querying the database in response to receiving the account data associated with the user account of the user; and receiving the offer data from the database(paragraph [0006], discloses receiving by the receiving device, offer data for a plurlity of offers from merchant entity, where each offer of the plurality of offer is based on at least the transmitted two or more offers parameter, identify by the processing device a specific offer of the received plurality of offers based at least the offer data for the specific offer the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entry include the identifier specific account profile).
With respect to claim 4, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 2, Triano futher teaches computer-readable code (paragraph [0054]) and Harvey teaches send a test or SMS message to the system having the user activate an app on a smart phone that reads a bar code or Quick Response (QR) code at the merchant location(paragraph [0043]), Tirano failed to teach the corresponding computer-readable code is generated and Harvey failed to teach the corresponding bar code or Quick Response (QR) code is generated.
However, Goyal teaches generating the encoded data by encoding the at least a portion of the transaction data and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user; and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user is eligible for the offer(paragraph [0023], discloses generating a barcodes based on invoice information and processing program code, an image sensor for capturing image and at least one, and paragraph [0029], dislcis the code generator can be an image displayer used to generate and disply and display code for receipt by a client application ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer or computer-readable code of Triano and bar code or Quick Response (QR) code of Harvey modify with a feature of generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009])
With respect to claim 6, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 1, Triano futher teaches computer-readable code (paragraph [0054]) and Harvey teaches send a test or SMS message to the system having the user activate an app on a smart phone that reads a bar code or Quick Response (QR) code at the merchant location(paragraph [0043]), Tirano failed to teach the corresponding computer-readable code a two-dimensional barcode, a quick response and Harvey is silent to teach the corresponding bar code or Quick Response (QR) code is a two-dimensional barcode, a quick response.
However, Goyal teaches wherein the machine-readable indicia is at least one of the following: a two-dimensional barcode, a quick response (paragraph [0056], discloses Quick Response Codes (QRC) is another a type of matrix barcode (or two-dimensional code) ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer of Triano with generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009]).
With respect to claim 7, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 1, including payment network may perform via a payment network may include product or service purchase, credit purchase (paragraph [0015]) , Triano failed to teach generating a push notification comprising the offer data in response to the transaction being authorized ; and communicating the push notification to the user device of the user .
However, Harvey teaches communicating the push notification to the user device of the user generating a push notification comprising the offer data in response to the transaction being authorized ; and communicating the push notification to the user device of the user (paragraph [0068], discloses identifies the consumer and sends a welcome message to the consumer's phone, using, for example, an SMS message, a push notification, if enabled by the consumer, or other similar mechanism. The welcome message informs the consumer of any relevant offers or of any account credit balances applicable to the location (e.g. merchant store card balances, loyalty program points). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a payment network may include product or service purchase of Triano with processing server can interact (via network message) together to initiate and complete order and payment for product offered by the merchant of Harvey in order to send message and displayed on the user interface (see, Harvey paragraph [0043]).
With respect to claim 9, Triano teaches a system, for encoding offers, comprising:
at least one processor, the at least one processor programmed or configured (Fig. 5, discloses processor .., and paragraphs [0054]-[0055], discloses processing server … logic ..)to:
receive, transaction data for a transaction between a user and a merchant initiated with a merchant point-of-sale device (paragraph [0015], discloses transaction that may be performed via a payment network may include product or service purchase, credit purchase, debit transaction , fund transfer, account withdrawals, etc., .. paragraph [0017], discloses consumer transaction data initiated by a triggering event paragraph [0030], discloses a receiving unit may receive transaction data for the payment network data over and paragraph [0031], discloses point of sale );
receiving, account data associated with a user account of the user, the account data comprising a user identifier associated with the user or an account identifier (paragraph [0016], discloses financial account that may be used to fund a transaction such as a checking account, saving account, credit amount, virtual payment account, etc. , a transaction account may be associate with a consumer …., paragraph [0021], discloses the information identify the consumer may include an identification number, transaction account number, username, email address, phone number, device identifier .., and paragraph [0031], discloses account identifier and a plurality of transaction data entries. The account identifier may be a unique value suitable… ); and
in response to receiving the account data sending, by at least one processor, a request message to retrieve offer data based on the transaction data and the account data to an offer system, the request message comprising the transaction data and the account data, wherein the offer system comprises a database storing data associated with a plurality of accounts and offer data corresponding to one or more accounts of the plurality of account (Fig. 3, 304, discloses offer request, Fig. 4, 404, discloses receiving by a receiving device an offer request from a consumer entity, the offer request incudes at least a specific account identifier and a geographic location [sending a request message to retrieve offer data] , paragraph [0007], discloses the receiving device is configured to receive an offer request from a customer entity, wherein the offer request includes at least a specific account identider and a geographic location paragraph [0023], discloses the consumer entity may transmit an account identifier to the processing server.., paragraph [0024], discloses identify a plurlity of offer parameter for used in identifying an offer for the consumer…, the offer parameters may include purchase behaviors of the consumer 110, such as the consumer's 110 propensity to spend for a plurality of categories, including merchants, industries, products, manufacturers, categories, and times…, paragraphs [0031], discloses the account database may include a plurality of account profiles , each account profile may include data related to a transaction account and include at least an account identifier and plurality of transaction data entries .., and paragraphs [0032]-[0033], discloses the receiving unit may also be configured to receive an offer request from a consumers entity 106).
Triano teaches the above elements including receiving, by at least one processor, a response message from the offer system, the response message comprising the user identifier and the offer data retrieved from the database in response to receiving the request message (paragraph [0035], discloses transmitting unit 206 may be configured to transmit the offer data for the specific offer to the consumer entity once the specific offer has been identified (paragraph [0051], discloses specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile [account is eligible for offer], paragraph [0052], discloses each account may futher include a plurality of spend behavior associated with the relate transaction account, each spend behavior being based on the transaction data .., and paragraph [0053], discloses the identified specific offer may be based on the plurality of spend behavior included in the identified specific account profile[an indication that that user associated with the user account is eligible for offer]). Trino futher teaches in paragraph [0035], discloses identify a specific offer from the plurality of offers received from the merchant entity…, the transmitting unit 206 may be configured to transmitted the offer data for the specific offer to the consumer entity 106 once the specific offer has been identified [user account is eligible for the offer] and paragraph [0051], discloses specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile[account is eligible for offer] and Fig. 4, 410 discloses receiving by the receiving device, offer data for a plurality of offers from the merchant [input from merchant] entity, where each offer of the plurality of offers is based on at least the transmitted two or more offer parameters [eligible for the offer], paragraph [0046], discloses facilitating the identification and distribution of offers based on transaction data, paragraph [0037], discloses the receiving unit 202 may be configured to receive offer redemption data, paragraph [0046], disclose facilitating identification and distribution of the offer and paragraph [0047], discloses a payment transaction involving the related transaction account including transaction data .., an offer request may be received by receiving.
Trino failed to explicitly teach receiving an indication that the user assocted with the account is eligible for the offer , determining, by at least one processor, that the user is eligible for the offer based on the indication that the use associated with the account is eligible for the offer receiving, by at least one processor, an input from the merchant based on determining that the user is eligible for the offer, the offer data comprising an offer identifier , the input comprising an offer identifier and in response to receiving the payment request, automatically applying, by at least one processor, offer data associated with the offer identifier to at least one of the transaction and the user account.
However, Harvey teaches an indication that that user associated with the user account is eligible for offer determine, that the user is eligible for the offer based on the indication that the use associated with the user account is eligible for the offer(paragraph [0019], discloses determine induvial customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code, and paragraph [0092], discloses determine whether each user is eligible for an offer );
receive, an input from the merchant based on determining that the user is eligible for the offer, the input comprising an offer identifier(paragraph [0042], discloses (Fig. 6, 107, discloses manual entry of VPAN transaction, and paragraph [0085], discloses checkout code 106 to the merchant 94, merchant combines the merchant code (the prefix, ad described with reference .., create the VPAN to be used in the transactions , the merchant then enters the VPAN as the payment mechanism for the transaction); and
in response to receive the payment request, automatically applying, offer data associated with the offer identifier to at least one of the transaction and the account (paragraph [0019], discloses the offer is processed as part of the payment during the payment transaction using the virtual payment account number)completing the push payment by transferring a payment from the account to an account of the merchant(paragraph [0004], discloses uses electronic card with transfer from consumers’ card to the seller device, paragraph [0007], discloses buyer will transfer the payment information to the merchant, and paragraph [0008], discloses transfer fund from buyer account to account held by the merchant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile of Triano with determining individual customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code of Harvey in order to increases the relevance of merchant-consumer interactions, allowing the merchant to target offers to the consumer as the consumer is shopping (see, Harvey paragraph [0015]).
Triano and Harvey teaches the above elements, Triano futher teaches receiving, by at least one processor, a payment request from a user device of the user based on the account data associated with the user account of the user (paragraph [0015], discloses transaction that may be performed via payment networked including product or service purchased ..paragraph [0016], discloses a financial account that may be used to fund a transaction such as a checking account ) and Harvey teaches the system then sends the merchant the payment prefix(es) or merchant code which are be based on the range of the VPAN used for merchant for transaction (paragraph [0042]). Triano and Harvey failed to teach the corrosinding payment is through the generated and modified machine-readable indicia configured to initiate a push payment from the account to an account of the merchant and displayed, the modified machine-readable indicia to the user and displaying, by at least one processor via a display of a merchant point-of-sale device, the modified machine-readable indicia to the use
However, Goyal teaches generate, machine-readable indicia comprising encoded data, the encoded data comprising a plurality of fields(paragraph [0023], discloses generating a barcodes based on invoice information and processing program code, an image sensor for capturing image and at least one, and paragraph [0029], discloses the code generator can be an image displayer used to generate and display code for receipt by a client application );
modify, a data structure of the machine-readable indicia by embedding the offer data identifier into a field of the plurality of fields of the encoded data and embedding at least a portion of the transaction data into a second field of the plurlity of fields of the encoded data in response to receiving the offer identifier from the merchant to provide a modified machine-readable indicia (paragraph [0009], discloses QR codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR codes [modifying a data structure of the machine -readable indicia] and paragraph [0074], discloses customized coding interpretation scheme for barcode is a modified UPC (Universal Product Code) to include invoice specific data .., a modified QR scheme, as further described below ..) configured to initiate a push payment from the account to an account of the merchant (paragraph [0009] discloses Consumers who see a QR Code displayed may take a picture of the QR Code using a camera embedded in the smartphone, for example, and may utilize a smartphone application to automatically translate the QR Code to a URL and launch a browser application pointed to the URL [initiate push payment] . Additional commercial uses of QR Codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR Codes that customers may decode into graphical or textual coupons to present at businesses to receive discounts on purchased goods or service), ; and
display via a display of a merchant point-of-sale device, the modified machine-readable indicia to the user ((paragraph [0009] discloses Consumers who see a QR Code displayed may take a picture of the QR Code using a camera embedded in the smartphone, for example, and may utilize a smartphone application to automatically translate the QR Code to a URL and launch a browser application pointed to the URL [imitate push payment] . Additional commercial uses of QR Codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR Codes that customers may decode into graphical or textual coupons to present at businesses to receive discounts on purchased goods or service and paragraph [0088], discloses to capture an image of the aggregated ORMI presented by the order interface at the point of sale for subsequent processing ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer of Triano and merchant code which are be based on the range of the VPAN used for merchant for transaction of Harvey with generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009]).
With respect to claim 10, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim furthermore, Triano teaches the method further comprising: determination on additional data associated with the consumer such as data regarding past redemption or acceptance of offers by the consumer demographic characterstics, consumer-provide preference (paragraph [0026]). Triano is silent to explicitly teach the corresponding determination is used to determine whether the user is eligible for the offer based on the account data associated with the user account of the user.
However, determine whether the user is eligible for the offer based on the account data associated with the user account of the user(paragraph [0019], discloses determine induvial customer eligibility for the offer, the offer assocted with the checkout code, and paragraph [0092], discloses determine whether each user is eligible for an offer ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile of Triano with
determining individual customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code of Harvey in order to increases the relevance of merchant-consumer interactions, allowing the merchant to target offers to the consumer as the consumer is shopping (see, Harvey paragraph [0015]).
With respect to claim 11, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 10, furthermore, Triano teaches the system wherein determining whether the user is eligible for the offer comprises: query the database in response to receiving the account data associated with the user account of the user; and receive the offer data from the database(paragraph [0006], discloses receiving by the receiving device, offer data for a plurlity of offers from merchant entity, where each offer of the plurlity of offer is based on at least the transmitted two or more offers parameter, identify by the processing device a specific offer of the received plurality of offers based at least the offer data for the specific offer the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entry include the identifier specific account profile).
With respect to claim 12, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 10, Triano futher teaches computer-readable code (paragraph [0054]) and Harvey teaches send a test or SMS message to the system having the user activate an app on a smart phone that reads a bar code or Quick Response (QR) code at the merchant location(paragraph [0043]), Tirano failed to teach the corresponding computer-readable code is generated and Harvey failed to teach the corresponding bar code or Quick Response (QR) code is generated.
However, Goyal teaches generating the encoded data by encoding the at least a portion of the transaction data and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user; and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user is eligible for the offer(paragraph [0023], discloses generating a barcodes based on invoice information and processing program code, an image sensor for capturing image and at least one, and paragraph [0029], dislcis the code generator can be an image displayer used to generate and disply and display code for receipt by a client application ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer or computer-readable code of Triano and bar code or Quick Response (QR) code of Harvey modify with a feature of generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009])
With respect to claim 14, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 9, Triano futher teaches computer-readable code (paragraph [0054]) and Harvey teaches send a test or SMS message to the system having the user activate an app on a smart phone that reads a bar code or Quick Response (QR) code at the merchant location(paragraph [0043]), Tirano failed to teach the corresponding computer-readable code a two-dimensional barcode, a quick response and Harvey is silent to teach the corresponding bar code or Quick Response (QR) code is a two-dimensional barcode, a quick response.
However, Goyal teaches wherein the machine-readable indicia is at least one of the following: a two-dimensional barcode, a quick response (paragraph [0056], discloses Quick Response Codes (QRC) is another a type of matrix barcode (or two-dimensional code) ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer of Triano with generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009]).
With respect to claim 15, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 9, including payment network may perform via a payment network may include product or service purchase, credit purchase (paragraph [0015]) , Triano failed to teach generating a push notification comprising the offer data in response to the transaction being authorized ; and communicating the push notification to the user device of the user .
However, Harvey teaches communicating the push notification to the user device of the user generating a push notification comprising the offer data in response to the transaction being authorized ; and communicating the push notification to the user device of the user (paragraph [0068], discloses identifies the consumer and sends a welcome message to the consumer's phone, using, for example, an SMS message, a push notification, if enabled by the consumer, or other similar mechanism. The welcome message informs the consumer of any relevant offers or of any account credit balances applicable to the location (e.g. merchant store card balances, loyalty program points). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a payment network may include product or service purchase of Triano with processing server can interact (via network message) together to initiate and complete order and payment for product offered by the merchant of Harvey in order to send message and displayed on the user interface (see, Harvey paragraph [0043]).
With respect to claim 17, Triano teaches a computer program product for encoding offers, comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium including program instruction that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor (Fig. 5, discloses processor .., paragraphs [0054]-0055, discloses processors and/or logic circuits of ..) to:
receive, transaction data for a transaction between a user and a merchant initiated with a merchant point-of-sale device (paragraph [0015], discloses transaction that may be performed via a payment network may include product or service purchase, credit purchase, debit transaction , fund transfer, account withdrawals, etc., .. paragraph [0017], discloses consumer transaction data initiated by a triggering event paragraph [0030], discloses a receiving unit may receive transaction data for the payment network data over and paragraph [0031], discloses point of sale );
receiving, account data associated with a user account of the user, the account data comprising a user identifier associated with the user or an account identifier (paragraph [0016], discloses financial account that may be used to fund a transaction such as a checking account, saving account, credit amount, virtual payment account, etc. , a transaction account may be associate with a consumer …., paragraph [0021], discloses the information identify the consumer may include an identification number, transaction account number, username, email address, phone number, device identifier .., and paragraph [0031], discloses account identifier and a plurality of transaction data entries. The account identifier may be a unique value suitable… ); and
in response to receiving the account data sending, by at least one processor, a request message to retrieve offer data based on the transaction data and the account data to an offer system, the request message comprising the transaction data and the account data, wherein the offer system comprises a database storing data associated with a plurality of accounts and offer data corresponding to one or more accounts of the plurality of account (Fig. 3, 304, discloses offer request, Fig. 4, 404, discloses receiving by a receiving device an offer request from a consumer entity, the offer request incudes at least a specific account identifier and a geographic location [sending a request message to retrieve offer data] , paragraph [0007], discloses the receiving device is configured to receive an offer request from a customer entity, wherein the offer request includes at least a specific account identider and a geographic location paragraph [0023], discloses the consumer entity may transmit an account identifier to the processing server.., paragraph [0024], discloses identify a plurlity of offer parameter for used in identifying an offer for the consumer…, the offer parameters may include purchase behaviors of the consumer 110, such as the consumer's 110 propensity to spend for a plurality of categories, including merchants, industries, products, manufacturers, categories, and times…, paragraphs [0031], discloses the account database may include a plurality of account profiles , each account profile may include data related to a transaction account and include at least an account identifier and plurality of transaction data entries .., and paragraphs [0032]-[0033], discloses the receiving unit may also be configured to receive an offer request from a consumers entity 106).
Triano teaches the above elements including receiving, by at least one processor, a response message from the offer system, the response message comprising the user identifier and the offer data retrieved from the database in response to receiving the request message (paragraph [0035], discloses transmitting unit 206 may be configured to transmit the offer data for the specific offer to the consumer entity once the specific offer has been identified (paragraph [0051], discloses specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile [account is eligible for offer], paragraph [0052], discloses each account may futher include a plurality of spend behavior associated with the relate transaction account, each spend behavior being based on the transaction data .., and paragraph [0053], discloses the identified specific offer may be based on the plurality of spend behavior included in the identified specific account profile[an indication that that user associated with the user account is eligible for offer]). Trino futher teaches in paragraph [0035], discloses identify a specific offer from the plurality of offers received from the merchant entity…, the transmitting unit 206 may be configured to transmitted the offer data for the specific offer to the consumer entity 106 once the specific offer has been identified [user account is eligible for the offer] and paragraph [0051], discloses specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile[account is eligible for offer] and Fig. 4, 410 discloses receiving by the receiving device, offer data for a plurality of offers from the merchant [input from merchant] entity, where each offer of the plurality of offers is based on at least the transmitted two or more offer parameters [eligible for the offer], paragraph [0046], discloses facilitating the identification and distribution of offers based on transaction data, paragraph [0037], discloses the receiving unit 202 may be configured to receive offer redemption data, paragraph [0046], disclose facilitating identification and distribution of the offer and paragraph [0047], discloses a payment transaction involving the related transaction account including transaction data .., an offer request may be received by receiving.
Trino failed to explicitly teach receiving an indication that the user assocted with the account is eligible for the offer , determining, by at least one processor, that the user is eligible for the offer based on the indication that the use associated with the account is eligible for the offer receiving, by at least one processor, an input from the merchant based on determining that the user is eligible for the offer, the offer data comprising an offer identifier , the input comprising an offer identifier and in response to receiving the payment request, automatically applying, by at least one processor, offer data associated with the offer identifier to at least one of the transaction and the user account.
However, Harvey teaches an indication that that user associated with the user account is eligible for offer determine, that the user is eligible for the offer based on the indication that the use associated with the user account is eligible for the offer(paragraph [0019], discloses determine induvial customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code, and paragraph [0092], discloses determine whether each user is eligible for an offer );
receive, an input from the merchant based on determining that the user is eligible for the offer, the input comprising an offer identifier(paragraph [0042], discloses (Fig. 6, 107, discloses manual entry of VPAN transaction, and paragraph [0085], discloses checkout code 106 to the merchant 94, merchant combines the merchant code (the prefix, ad described with reference .., create the VPAN to be used in the transactions , the merchant then enters the VPAN as the payment mechanism for the transaction); and
in response to receive the payment request, automatically applying, offer data associated with the offer identifier to at least one of the transaction and the account (paragraph [0019], discloses the offer is processed as part of the payment during the payment transaction using the virtual payment account number)completing the push payment by transferring a payment from the account to an account of the merchant(paragraph [0004], discloses uses electronic card with transfer from consumers’ card to the seller device, paragraph [0007], discloses buyer will transfer the payment information to the merchant, and paragraph [0008], discloses transfer fund from buyer account to account held by the merchant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for specific offer of the plurality of offers may be identified by the processing device 204 based on at least the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entries included in the identified specific account profile of Triano with determining individual customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code of Harvey in order to increases the relevance of merchant-consumer interactions, allowing the merchant to target offers to the consumer as the consumer is shopping (see, Harvey paragraph [0015]).
Triano and Harvey teaches the above elements, Triano futher teaches receiving, by at least one processor, a payment request from a user device of the user based on the account data associated with the user account of the user (paragraph [0015], discloses transaction that may be performed via payment networked including product or service purchased ..paragraph [0016], discloses a financial account that may be used to fund a transaction such as a checking account ) and Harvey teaches the system then sends the merchant the payment prefix(es) or merchant code which are be based on the range of the VPAN used for merchant for transaction (paragraph [0042]). Triano and Harvey failed to teach the corrosinding payment is through the generated and modified machine-readable indicia configured to initiate a push payment from the account to an account of the merchant and displayed, the modified machine-readable indicia to the user and displaying, by at least one processor via a display of a merchant point-of-sale device, the modified machine-readable indicia to the use
However, Goyal teaches generate, machine-readable indicia comprising encoded data, the encoded data comprising a plurality of fields(paragraph [0023], discloses generating a barcodes based on invoice information and processing program code, an image sensor for capturing image and at least one, and paragraph [0029], discloses the code generator can be an image displayer used to generate and display code for receipt by a client application );
modify, a data structure of the machine-readable indicia by embedding the offer data identifier into a field of the plurality of fields of the encoded data and embedding at least a portion of the transaction data into a second field of the plurlity of fields of the encoded data in response to receiving the offer identifier from the merchant to provide a modified machine-readable indicia (paragraph [0009], discloses QR codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR codes [modifying a data structure of the machine -readable indicia] and paragraph [0074], discloses customized coding interpretation scheme for barcode is a modified UPC (Universal Product Code) to include invoice specific data .., a modified QR scheme, as further described below ..) configured to initiate a push payment from the account to an account of the merchant (paragraph [0009] discloses Consumers who see a QR Code displayed may take a picture of the QR Code using a camera embedded in the smartphone, for example, and may utilize a smartphone application to automatically translate the QR Code to a URL and launch a browser application pointed to the URL [initiate push payment] . Additional commercial uses of QR Codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR Codes that customers may decode into graphical or textual coupons to present at businesses to receive discounts on purchased goods or service), ; and
display via a display of a merchant point-of-sale device, the modified machine-readable indicia to the user ((paragraph [0009] discloses Consumers who see a QR Code displayed may take a picture of the QR Code using a camera embedded in the smartphone, for example, and may utilize a smartphone application to automatically translate the QR Code to a URL and launch a browser application pointed to the URL [imitate push payment] . Additional commercial uses of QR Codes include encoding coupons or other purchase information into QR Codes that customers may decode into graphical or textual coupons to present at businesses to receive discounts on purchased goods or service and paragraph [0088], discloses to capture an image of the aggregated ORMI presented by the order interface at the point of sale for subsequent processing ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer of Triano and merchant code which are be based on the range of the VPAN used for merchant for transaction of Harvey with generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009]).
With respect to claim 18, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 17, furthermore, Triano teaches the computer program product, wherein the instruction further case the at least one processor to:
determine whether the user is eligible for the offer based on the account data associated with the user account of the user, wherein when determining whether the user is eligible for the offer, the instruction further cause the at least one processor to(paragraph [0026], discloses the determination on additional data associated with the consumer such as data regarding past redemption or acceptance of offers by the consumer demographic characterstics, consumer-provide preference .., .. ) )to:
query a database in response to receiving the account data associated with the user account of the user; and receive the offer data from the database(paragraph [0006], discloses receiving by the receiving device, offer data for a plurlity of offers from merchant entity, where each offer of the plurlity of offer is based on at least the transmitted two or more offers parameter, identify by the processing device a specific offer of the received plurality of offers based at least the offer data for the specific offer the transaction data included in one or more transaction data entry include the identifier specific account profile).
With respect to claim 19, Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 18, computer-readable code (paragraph [0054]) and Harvey teaches send a test or SMS message to the system having the user activate an app on a smart phone that reads a bar code or Quick Response (QR) code at the merchant location(paragraph [0043]), Tirano failed to teach the corresponding computer-readable code is generated and Harvey failed to teach the corresponding bar code or Quick Response (QR) code is generated.
However, Goyal teaches generating the encoded data by encoding the at least a portion of the transaction data and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user; and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user is eligible for the offer(paragraph [0023], discloses generating a barcodes based on invoice information and processing program code, an image sensor for capturing image and at least one, and paragraph [0029], dislcis the code generator can be an image displayer used to generate and disply and display code for receipt by a client application ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer or computer-readable code of Triano and bar code or Quick Response (QR) code of Harvey modify with a feature of generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009])
However, Goyal teaches generating the encoded data by encoding the at least a portion of the transaction data and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user; and generating the machine-readable indicia comprising the encoded data in response to determining the user is eligible for the offer(paragraph [0023], discloses generating a barcodes based on invoice information and processing program code, an image sensor for capturing image and at least one, and paragraph [0029], dislcis the code generator can be an image displayer used to generate and disply and display code for receipt by a client application ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for facilitating identification and distribution offer of Triano with generating and modifying QR scheme/barcode of to facilitate payment Goyal in order to provide symbology information in aggregating ORMI representing the order record of the product purchase (see, Goyal paragraph [0009])
With respect to claim 20 Triano in view of Harvey and futher view of Goyal teaches elements of claim 9, including payment network may perform via a payment network may include product or service purchase, credit purchase (paragraph [0015]) , Triano failed to teach generating a push notification comprising the offer data in response to the transaction being authorized ; and communicating the push notification to the user device of the user .
However, Harvey teaches communicating the push notification to the user device of the user generating a push notification comprising the offer data in response to the transaction being authorized ; and communicating the push notification to the user device of the user (paragraph [0068], discloses identifies the consumer and sends a welcome message to the consumer's phone, using, for example, an SMS message, a push notification, if enabled by the consumer, or other similar mechanism. The welcome message informs the consumer of any relevant offers or of any account credit balances applicable to the location (e.g. merchant store card balances, loyalty program points). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a payment network may include product or service purchase of Triano with processing server can interact (via network message) together to initiate and complete order and payment for product offered by the merchant of Harvey in order to send message and displayed on the user interface (see, Harvey paragraph [0043]).
Prior art:
Triano et al (US Pub., 2016/0300257 A1) discloses a method for identifying and distributing offers includes: storing account profiles, each profile including data related to a transaction account including an account identifier and a plurality of transaction data entries, each including transaction data; receiving an offer request from a consumer entity, the request including a specific account identifier and geographic location; identifying a specific account profile that includes the specific account identifier; identifying offer parameters, the parameters being based on the geographic location and the transaction data included in the identified specific account profile; transmitting the offer parameters to a merchant entity; receiving offer data for a plurality of offers from the merchant entity based on the offer parameters; identifying a specific offer based on the offer data for the specific offer and the transaction data
Harvey et al (US Pub., 2012/0101887 A1) discloses a system for combining a payment mechanism with an offer to a consumer is described. The system includes a virtual payment account number generation engine to generate virtual payment account numbers that can be used by a consumer in a payment transaction at a merchant, the virtual payment account number generation service also operable to take a portion of the virtual payment account number and send it as a checkout code to a consumer using the consumer's mobile device, and an offer generation engine used to set rules for an offer to be sent to consumers, create a fund for the offer, and determine individual consumer's eligibility for the offer.
Goyal et al (US Pub., No Pub., 2012/0325902 A1) discloses system for payment processing of a transaction request associated with a product purchase by a customer with a mobile device, the product purchase eligible for earning of a loyalty reward. The system programmed to: receive symbology information as an aggregated ORMI representing an
order record of the product purchase, the symbology information including order record information encoded using a coding scheme of the ORMI and including a product code
identifier of the product; processing the ORMI to identify the product code identifier; searching a loyalty storage for a stored product code identifier matching the product code identifier, the stored product code identifier linked to a loyalty amount representing the loyalty reward
Thurairatnam et al (US Pub., 2024/0005386 A1) discloses generation of dynamic electronic representations using modeling is described. Interaction data comprising attributes of one or more interactions between a user and the service provider or one or more third-party services integrated with the service provider is received. A model is executed to dynamically generate an electronic representation for a user profile based upon the interaction data, wherein the model is trained using attributes associated with a set of existing user profiles associated with the service provider and corresponding interaction data indicative of interaction data of the set of existing user profiles.
Liberty et al (US Pub., No Pub., 2014/005/58834 A1) discloses embodiments are directed to aggregating product savings into a quick response (QR) code and to providing a targeted offer via a financial transaction receipt. In one scenario, a computer system scans various items that are provided for sale by a retailer. The scanning resulting in scanning information that corresponds to the scanned items. The computer system sends the scanning information for the scanned items to a second computer system to determine whether coupons or price discounts apply to the scanned items.
Liu et al (US Pub., No., 2014/0025584 A1) discloses an indicia encoding system is disclosed herein that encodes integrated information on products and/or services selected for purchase and payment information for purchasing the selected products and/or services, in accordance with a variety of embodiments involving various methods, devices and systems. In one illustrative embodiment, a method may include entering purchase order information via one or more input/output components. The purchase order may include an indication for one or more products and/or one or more services. The method may also include entering payment information, including information on a method of payment, via one or more input/output components. The method may also include generating a machine-readable indicia that encodes both the purchase order information and the payment information, with the payment information in an encrypted form; and displaying the machine-readable indicia on a screen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejection filed on 7 October 2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20 have been considered but not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments of the Office Action does not identify several aspects of claims, including the (e.g., “in response to receiving the user identifier) is not persuasive. Triano at least in Fig. 4, 404 teaches receiving by receiving device, an offer request .., including at least a specific account identifier from consumer entity, and 406 and 408 discloses identify in the account database, a specific account profile wherein the included account identifier corresponding to the specific account, identify two or mor offer parameter .., which is within the scope of in response receiving account .., and paragraph [0021] discloses the information identifying the consumer 110 may include an identification number, transaction account number, user name e-mail address, phone number,
device identifier, or other value suitable for identification [user identifier] that will be apparent to persons having skill in the relevant art. Therefore, Triano address the claimed limitation and the rejection is proper.
Applicants’ arguments of Triano, which explains that “the consumer entity 106” may be a transportation service that identifier which a consumer is dropped off at a specific location, the consumer entity 106 may be a sore, hotel or other merchant that identifies when customer arrive at permeases, ..”. see paragraph [0017] discloses facilitation of identification and distribution of offer to the consumer based on consumer transaction data initiated by a triggering event, paragraph [0019], also discusses each consumer entity 106 may be associated with one or more consumers and may be configured to disturbed offer to the consumer. As part of the distribution of offers, a consumer entity 106 may identify triggering event that involves a consumer, and paragraph [0021], discloses a consumer entity 106 may identify a consumer 110 as part of a triggering event. Once the triggering event occurs, the consumer entity 106 may transmit information identifying the consumer 110 and a geographic location associated with the triggering event to the processing server 102. The information identifying the consumer. Therefore, according to the above paragraphs, Triano address the claimed elements.
While, Triano teaches the above elements Harvey teaches a feature of determine induvial customer eligibility for the offer , the offer assocted with the checkout code (see paragraphs [0019] and [0092]). Therefore, the combination of the cited references address the claimed elements, therefore, the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682