DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2023 and 07/01/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to KR10-2023-0012202, for 01/30/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LIGHT EMITTING DISPLAY DEVICE INCLUDING AN INTERLEAVED CHARGE GENERATION LAYER OVER A CONNECTION ELECTRODE
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2 should read: “contacts a first region overlapping the connection electrode”
Claim 5, line 3 should read: “generation layer overlaps an entirety of the connection electrode”
Claim 13, line 3 should read: “n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation layer”
Claim 14, lines 2-3 should read “and the p-type charge generation layer”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See MPEP 2173.05(p).
Regarding claim 2, which states a light emitting display device, and additionally includes the method step of using the device “and a reset voltage is applied to the connection electrode.” For the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted as “and configured for a reset voltage to be applied to the connection electrode.”
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected as inheriting the deficiencies of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, which states a light emitting display device and “wherein both the n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation layer are reset when the reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode.” For the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted as “configured for both the n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation layer to be reset when the reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode.”
Regarding claim 12, which states a light emitting display device and “wherein the second electrode is reset when the reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode.” For the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted as “configured for the second electrode to be reset when the reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode.”
Regarding claim 13, which states a light emitting display device, and “wherein a low voltage is applied to the connection electrode during a non-display period associated with each pixel to discharge the n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation.” For the purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as “configured to discharge the n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation layers when a low voltage is applied to the connection electrode during a non-display period associated with each pixel.”
Regarding claim 14, which states a light emitting display device, and “wherein the low voltage decreases charges at a PN junction formed by the n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation.” For the purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as “configured for the low voltage to decrease charges at a PN junction formed by the n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation layer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US PGPub 2021/0384283; hereinafter known as Jung) in view of Liu (CN 115498120; hereinafter known as Liu, translation provided for citation), and further in view of Son (KR 2017/0042415; hereinafter Son, translation provided for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches (Figs. 9-13) a light emitting display device comprising: a substrate (10, [0048]) including a display area (DA, [0047]) having a plurality of sub-pixels (TA1, TA2, TA3, [0068]) and a non-display area (NDA, [0047]) surrounding the display area; a plurality of first electrodes (AE1-3, [0144]) at the plurality of sub-pixels; a second electrode (CE, [0134]) facing the plurality of first electrodes and extending over an entire display area ([0134]) and a part of the non-display area ([0134]); an interlayer (OL, [0150]) including a plurality of stacks ( ST1-3, [0150]) between the plurality of first electrodes and the second electrode and a charge generation layer (CGL1-3, [0150]) between the plurality of stacks; and a connection electrode (CNE, [0122]) charge generation layer (CGL, [0169]) wherein the charge generation layer (CGL) includes an n-type charge generation layer (CGL11, [0169]) and a p-type charge generation layer (CGL12, [0169]),
Jung does not explicitly teach the n-type charge generation layer includes a first connection part connected to the connection electrode and the p-type charge generation layer includes a second connection part connected to the connection electrode.
Liu teaches (annotated Fig. 3 below) the n-type charge generation layer (131, [0068]) includes a first connection part (CP1, [0045]) and the p-type charge generation layer (132, [0068]) includes a second connection part (CP2, [0045]).
Because Jung and Liu are both directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung and of Liu in order to alternately light the device under positive and negative bias voltages (Liu, [0045])
Jung in view Liu of does not explicitly teach the charge generation layer connected to the connection electrode.
Son teaches (Fig. 3) the charge generation layer (CGL, [0046]) connected to the connection electrode (125, [0046]).
Because Jung in view of Liu and Son are directed toward LED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung in view of Liu and of Son in order to short the second electrode and the CGL, to emit desired colors (Son, [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Jung, Fig. 9) the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein the connection electrode (CNE, [0122]) is provided at the non-display area (NDA, [0047]) along an outer circumference of the display area (DA, [0047]), and a reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode (discharge through CNE via voltage supply line, [0142]). Jung in view of Liu and Son teach the structure of the claimed invention, and therefore must necessarily be configured to have a reset voltage signal applied to the connection electrode. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 3, Jung in view of Liu and Son teach (Son, annotated Fig. 3 above) the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein the first connection part (CP1, [0045]) and the second connection part (CP2, [0045]) are alternately provided in a direction in which the connection electrode extends ([0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Son, annotated Fig. 3 above) the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein the n-type charge generation layer (131, [0045]) contacts a first region overlapping the connection electrode (Jung, CNE, [0122]), and the p-type charge generation layer (132, [0045]) contacts the connection electrode in a second region different from the first region (n-type and p-type charge generation layers are disposed alternately along the connection electrode, and thus are shown to contact the connection electrode at different regions).
Regarding claim 8, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Liu, annotated Fig. 3 below) the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein the p-type charge generation layer (132, [0045]) is positioned outside the n-type charge generation layer (131, [0045]). The p-type CGL is shown to surround the outside sides of the n-type CGL.
Regarding claim 9, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Jung, Fig. 10) the light emitting display device of claim 2, wherein the n-type charge generation layer (CGL11, [0169]) and the p-type charge generation layer (CGL12, [0169]) are sequentially stacked at the display area (DA), and the n- type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation layer are in contact with different stacks (ST1, ST2, [0169]).
Regarding claim 10, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Jung, Fig. 13) the light emitting display device of claim 2, further comprising a power line (VSL, [0083]) connected to the second electrode (CE, [0134]), wherein the power line is positioned outside the connection electrode (CNE, VSL is shown to extend past the edge of the connection electrode).
Regarding claim 11, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Jung, Fig. 9) the light emitting display device of claim 2, wherein both the n-type charge generation layer (CGL11) and the p-type charge generation layer (CGL12) are reset when the reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode (CNE). Jung in view of Liu and Son teach the light emitting display device of claim 2, and therefore must necessarily be configured to have both the n- and p-type charge generation layers reset when reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 12, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Jung, Fig. 9) the light emitting display device of claim 2, wherein the second electrode (CE) is reset when the reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode (CNE). Jung teaches wherein the second electrode has static electricity discharged upon application of voltage, and additionally, Jung in view of Liu and Son teach the light emitting display device of claim 2, and therefore must necessarily be configured to have the second electrode reset when reset voltage signal is applied to the connection electrode. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 13, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Jung, Fig. 13) the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein a low voltage is applied to the connection electrode (CNE) during a non-display period associated with each pixel (TA1-3) to discharge the n-type charge generation layer (CGL11, [0142]) and the p-type charge generation (CGL12, [0142]). Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches the light emitting display device of claim 1, and therefore must necessarily be configured to discharge the n- and p-type charge generation layers when low voltage is applied to the connection electrode. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view of Liu and Son teaches (Jung, Fig. 10), the light emitting display device of claim 13, wherein the low voltage decreases charges at a PN junction formed by the n-type charge generation layer and the p-type charge generation (the interface of the CGL11 and CGL12). Jung in view of Liu and Son teach the light emitting device of claim 13, and therefore must necessarily teach wherein the device is configured to have decreased charges at a PN junction formed by the n- and p-type charge generation layers when low voltage is applied. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Liu (CN 115440905, hereinafter known as Liu2, translation provided for citation).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches a method of forming a light emitting display device, comprising: depositing a first electrode layer (12, [0071]) on a surface of a substrate (11, [0067]); having interleaved portions that extend into a non-active area ([0030], depositing a first charge generation layer (131, []) to selectively contact the first electrode layer at the interleaved portions ([0030]); ([0030]); and depositing a second change generation layer (132, [0030]) to selectively contact the first electrode layer and the first change generation layer.
Liu does not explicitly teach forming a first mask, the first mask having a first opening, nor forming a second mask having a second opening.
Liu2 teaches (not shown) forming a first mask ([0084]) the first mask having a first opening, and forming a second mask, having a second opening ([0084]).
Because Liu and Liu2 are both directed toward methods of fabricating OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu and of Liu2 in order to avoid unwanted contact between the n- and p-type materials (Liu2, [0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features a light emitting device comprising wherein the n-type charge generation layer overlaps the connection electrode only at the first connection part, and the p-type charge generation layer overlaps an entire of the connection electrode.
Jung teaches an n-type and p-type charge generation layer that both fully overlap the entirety of the connection electrode. Liu teaches an alternating n- and p-type charge generation layer structure, wherein neither the n- nor p-type charge generation layer fully overlap the connection electrode, and teaches this for the purpose of allowing for a singular charge generation layer that can supply both electrons and holes to the device. Prior art does not teach nor suggest a reason to combine the teachings of Jung and of Liu to include wherein the n-type charge generation layer overlaps the connection electrode only at the first connection part, and wherein the p-type charge generation layer overlaps the entirety of the connection electrode. Prior art references alone or in combination, fail to disclose, teach, or suggest every limitation of the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features wherein an edge of the n-type charge generation layer comprises alternately protruding portions and non-protruding portions on a plane.
Jung teaches a planar n-type charge generation layer. Liu teaches an alternating n- and p-type charge generation layer, but does not teach wherein the n-type layer has alternately protruding and non-protruding portions on a plane, because the n-type charge generation layer of Liu is not contiguous. Prior art references alone or in combination, fail to disclose, teach, or suggest every limitation of the invention as claimed.
Claim 7 is allowable as dependent on claim 6.
Conclusion
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812