DETAILED ACTION
The following FINAL Office action is in response to Amendment filed on July 28, 2025 for application 18376745
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1-16 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after December 13, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
In response to the Applicant’s arguments and amendments, the rejection under 35 USC 101 will be withdrawn.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the combination of references does not disclose a point-of-sale terminal receiving a transaction amount for a transaction, initiating a primary funds transfer for an authorization value that is equal to a difference between the transaction amount and a discount amount and initiating a secondary funds transfer for the discount amount.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Heyhow describes in paragraphs ¶0007, ¶0011, ¶0012 that the payment terminal generates an adjusted authorization amount based on the account number and from a preliminary authorization amount received at the payment terminal. The transaction processor notifies that the financial transaction has been authorized by transmitting over a payment network a transaction authorization request for online authorization of the financial transaction. The transaction processor provides the adjusted authorization amount by transmitting to the payment card an offline cryptogram request for offline authorization of the financial transaction. Also, Ameiss discloses how the rewards systems determines whether the requested transaction passes the rules and restrictions established for the loyalty program by determines whether the cardholder's loyalty points account has sufficient points to pay for the transaction or initiating a secondary funds transfer. If there is alternate funding account as disclosed in paragraph 0084, the rewards system 716 selects the alternate funding account as the funding account for the requested transaction which signifies a secondary funds transfer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayhow et al. (US 2015/0073995 A1) in view of Ameiss et al. (US 2010/0057553 A1) in further view of Grossman et al. (US 2011/0057027 A1)
Regarding Claims 1, 7 and 13, Hayhow discloses an authorization network comprising: a payment terminal; and a loyalty program server, wherein the payment terminal is configured with terminal processing instructions that cause the payment terminal to (¶0021, ¶0026, ¶0029)
receive a preliminary transaction value, establish an EMV session with an EMV- compliant payment device interfaced with the payment terminal, and receive an account number from the payment device via the EMV session (¶0006, ¶0007)
authenticate the payment device via the EMV session (¶0036, ¶0041)
determine an authorization value from a difference between the preliminary transaction value and [a redemption value], and (¶0007, ¶0034, ¶0056)
initiate a primary funds transfer from a customer account associated with the account number in a primary transfer amount equal to the authorization value, wherein the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to initiate the primary funds transfer by at least: (¶0007, ¶0011, ¶0012)
transmitting the authorization value to the payment device (¶0007, ¶0012)
receiving a cryptogram from the payment device (¶0007)
confirming that the cryptogram was generated from the authorization value and the account number and from a cryptographic key uniquely associated with the payment device (¶0007, ¶0034, ¶0075)
terminating the EMV session (¶0075)
Hayhow does not disclose: generate a redemption request including a merchant identifier and the redemption value, initiate a secondary funds transfer in a secondary transfer amount equal to the redemption value, wherein the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to initiate the secondary funds transfer by at least transmitting the redemption request to the loyalty program server; and the loyalty program server is configured with server processing instructions that cause the loyalty program server to: effect the secondary funds transfer from a funding account to a merchant account associated with the merchant identifier, wherein the funding account is distinct from the customer account.
Ameiss however discloses:
generate a redemption request including the account number, a merchant identifier and the redemption value (¶0073)
initiate a secondary funds transfer in a secondary transfer amount equal to the redemption value, wherein the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to initiate the secondary funds transfer by at least transmitting the redemption request to the loyalty program server (¶0074, ¶0075)
and the loyalty program server is configured with server processing instructions that cause the loyalty program server to: effect the secondary funds transfer from a funding account to a merchant account associated with the merchant identifier, wherein the funding account is distinct from the customer account (¶0075, ¶0083, ¶0084, ¶0087, ¶0089)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Hayhow to include “generate a redemption request including the account number, a merchant identifier and the redemption value, initiate a secondary funds transfer in a secondary transfer amount equal to the redemption value, wherein the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to initiate the secondary funds transfer by at least transmitting the redemption request to the loyalty program server; and the loyalty program server is configured with server processing instructions that cause the loyalty program server to: effect the secondary funds transfer from a funding account to a merchant account associated with the merchant identifier, wherein the funding account is distinct from the customer account”, as disclosed in Ameiss, in order to provide a system for performing a redemption transaction by leveraging a payment network to conduct redemption transaction without requiring changes to merchant or acquirer infrastructure (see Ameiss Abstract).
The combination of Hayhow and Ameiss does not disclose: determine an authorization value from a difference between the preliminary transaction value and [a redemption value].
Grossman however discloses: determine an authorization value from a difference between the preliminary transaction value and [a redemption value] (Fig. 11; ¶0068, ¶0076-¶0077, ¶0104-¶0106, ¶0130-¶0131, ¶0160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Hayhow to include “determine an authorization value from a difference between the preliminary transaction value”, as disclosed in Grossman, in order to provide a system for enrolling a purchasing instrument in an electronic customer benefit offer (see Grossman Abstract).
Regarding Claims 2, 8 and 14, while Heyhow discloses: cause the payment terminal to initiate the primary funds transfer by at least: generating an authorization request including the account number, the authorization value and the cryptogram (¶0011, ¶0012), and transmitting the authorization request to a computer server via a payment network (¶0011, ¶0012).
Heyhow does not disclose: the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to initiate the secondary funds transfer by at least transmitting the redemption request to the loyalty program server via a loyalty program network distinct from the payment network.
Ameiss however discloses: the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to initiate the secondary funds transfer by at least transmitting the redemption request to the loyalty program server via a loyalty program network distinct from the payment network (¶0074, ¶0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Hayhow to include “the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to initiate the secondary funds transfer by at least transmitting the redemption request to the loyalty program server via a loyalty program network distinct from the payment network”, as disclosed in Ameiss, in order to provide a system for performing a redemption transaction by leveraging a payment network to conduct redemption transaction without requiring changes to merchant or acquirer infrastructure (see Ameiss Abstract).
Regarding Claims 3, 9 and 15, Hayhow, Ameiss and Grossman disclose the invention as above.
Ameiss further discloses: a loyalty points program database (¶0007, ¶0028), wherein: the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to transmit to the loyalty program server via the loyalty program network, in advance of generating the redemption request (¶0074, ¶0075), an eligibility request including the account number; the server processing instructions cause the loyalty program server to: locate in the loyalty points program database a loyalty account database ledger including the account number and a loyalty points balance (¶0064-¶0066), translate the loyalty points balance into a redemption balance value in accordance with a conversion rule (¶0077-¶0078, ¶0080-¶0081), and transmit the redemption balance value to the payment terminal via the loyalty program network in response to the eligibility request (¶0075, ¶0083, ¶0084, ¶0087, ¶0089); and the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to confirm that the redemption balance value is at least equal to the redemption value (¶0075, ¶0083, ¶0084, ¶0087, ¶0089)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Hayhow to include “a loyalty points program database, wherein: the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to transmit to the loyalty program server via the loyalty program network, in advance of generating the redemption request, an eligibility request including the account number; the server processing instructions cause the loyalty program server to: locate in the loyalty points program database a loyalty account database ledger including the account number and a loyalty points balance, translate the loyalty points balance into a redemption balance value in accordance with a conversion rule, and transmit the redemption balance value to the payment terminal via the loyalty program network in response to the eligibility request; and the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to confirm that the redemption balance value is at least equal to the redemption value”, as disclosed in Ameiss, in order to provide a system for performing a redemption transaction by leveraging a payment network to conduct redemption transaction without requiring changes to merchant or acquirer infrastructure (see Ameiss Abstract).
Regarding Claims 4, 10 and 16, Hayhow, Ameiss and Grossman disclose the invention as above.
Ameiss further discloses: wherein the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to confirm the redemption balance value by at least: displaying the redemption balance value on a display device of the payment terminal (; receiving via a user input device of the payment terminal an authorization signal authorizing redemption of the redemption value; and determining that the redemption balance value is at least equal to the redemption value (¶0105)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Hayhow to include “wherein the terminal processing instructions cause the payment terminal to confirm the redemption balance value by at least: displaying the redemption balance value on a display device of the payment terminal (; receiving via a user input device of the payment terminal an authorization signal authorizing redemption of the redemption value; and determining that the redemption balance value is at least equal to the redemption value”, as disclosed in Ameiss, in order to provide a system for performing a redemption transaction by leveraging a payment network to conduct redemption transaction without requiring changes to merchant or acquirer infrastructure (see Ameiss Abstract).
Regarding Claims 5 and 11, Hayhow, Ameiss and Grossman disclose the invention as above.
Ameiss further discloses: wherein the server processing instructions cause the loyalty program server to: receive the redemption request (¶0074, ¶0075); translate the redemption value into a redemption amount in accordance with the conversion rule (¶0080-¶0083); locate the loyalty account database ledger associated with the account number in the loyalty points program database, determine the loyalty points balance in the located loyalty account database ledger, determine an updated balance value from a difference between the loyalty points balance and the redemption amount (¶0083); and replace the loyalty points balance with the updated balance value in the located loyalty account database ledger (¶0083)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Hayhow to include “wherein the server processing instructions cause the loyalty program server to: receive the redemption request; translate the redemption value into a redemption amount in accordance with the conversion rule; determine an updated balance value from a difference between the loyalty points balance and the redemption amount; and replace the loyalty points balance with the updated balance value in the located loyalty account database ledger”, as disclosed in Ameiss, in order to provide a system for performing a redemption transaction by leveraging a payment network to conduct redemption transaction without requiring changes to merchant or acquirer infrastructure (see Ameiss Abstract).
Regarding Claims 6 and 12, Hayhow, Ameiss and Grossman disclose the invention as above.
Ameiss further discloses: wherein the determining an updated balance value comprises the loyalty program server confirming that the loyalty points balance is at least equal to the redemption amount (¶0077-¶0081, ¶0083)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Hayhow to include “wherein the determining an updated balance value comprises the loyalty program server confirming that the loyalty points balance is at least equal to the redemption amount”, as disclosed in Ameiss, in order to provide a system for performing a redemption transaction by leveraging a payment network to conduct redemption transaction without requiring changes to merchant or acquirer infrastructure (see Ameiss Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peart et al. (US 2005/0033688 A1): Fig. 5 and Fig. 7; ¶0037-¶0040, ¶0043, ¶0060
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEHRA RAZA/Examiner, Art Unit 3697
/JOHN W HAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697