DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The prior office action provides the rationale for why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed ratio in the claimed range in view of the cited prior art. These reasons included that UCHIDA disclosed the component parts necessary to arrive at the claimed range (i.e. the ‘obvious to try’ rationale is here magnified as it would merely require combining existing components), disclosed combinations of the two variables in the rejected claims which were in ranges approximate to the claimed range (see the cited tables of UCHIDA), and most importantly that the prior art treated both the displacement amount and the magnet thickness as variables which may be manipulated to arrive at the desired result of reduced cogging torque (i.e. that both variables are recognized result-effective variables). The requirement that the prior art teach the use of the same equation as claimed is not the consideration; it is whether the variables themselves are obvious to manipulate to meet a design need (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B). The burden is on the applicant to establish that the claimed results are unexpected and significant, beyond mere assertions (MPEP 716.02(b)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UCHIDA (US 20060017345).
Regarding claim 1, UCHIDA discloses a rotor (10) comprising:
a rotor core (14); and
permanent magnets (16) embedded in the rotor core (14),
wherein:
the rotor (10) has a plurality of magnetic poles arranged in a circumferential direction (see para [0032] and Fig. 1);
each of the magnetic poles includes one of the permanent magnets (16) and one of outer core portions, the outer core portions being portions of the rotor core (14) which are located radially outside the permanent magnets (16) (see Fig. 1);
each of the outer core portions has a radially outer surface that has an arc shape in an axial view, the arc shape being such that the radially outer surface becomes closer to a rotation axis of the rotor (10) as it extends from a magnetic-pole center of the magnetic pole toward both sides in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 1);
the rotor core (14) has a maximum diameter at the magnetic-pole center;
a circle having a diameter equal to the maximum diameter of the rotor core (14) and centering on the rotation axis is defined as a reference circle (see annotated Fig. 1, above);
an outer circumferential surface of the rotor core (14) has, at intersections between the arc-shaped radially outer surfaces of the outer core portions adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction, maximum displacement portions that are most displaced from the reference circle radially inward (see annotated Fig. 1, above) ; and
a displacement amount (Gmax-Gmin) of the maximum displacement portions from the reference circle is smaller than a maximum thickness (H) of the permanent magnets (16) in an axial view (see para [0046], table 1, and Fig. 2).
H
Gmin
Gmax
Gmax-Gmin
Gmax-Gmin / H
Gmax-Gmin / Gmin
2.7
0.5
0.5
0
0.00
0.00
2
0.4
1.5
1.1
0.55
2.75
2
0.4
2.25
1.85
0.93
4.63
2.7
0.5
1.3
0.8
0.30
1.60
2.7
0.5
1.9
1.4
0.52
2.80
2.7
0.7
1.3
0.6
0.22
0.86
2.7
0.5
1.3
0.8
0.30
1.60
2.7
0.5
1.9
1.4
0.52
2.80
2.7
0.5
3
2.5
0.93
5.00
However, UCHIDA does not disclose the ratio of the displacement amount (Gmax-Gmin) to the maximum thickness (H) of the permanent magnets (16) satisfies 0.33 ≤ (Gmax-Gmin /H) ≤ 0.47.
UCHIDA teaches that arrangements of different rotor displacement amounts and magnet thicknesses can be used in a rotor (see para [0042-0046]), making the displacement amounts and magnet thicknesses result effective variables, in order to improve cogging torque (see para [0043, 0045, and 0046]). UCHIDA teaches individual displacement amounts and magnets which would fall in the claimed range of ratios if combined, such as the 1.1mm Gmax-Gmin rotor and the 2.7mm magnet (.407) or the 0.8mm Gmax-Gmin rotor with the 2mm magnet (.400).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to arrange the displacement amounts and magnets according to the claimed ratio between 0.33 ≤ (Gmax-Gmin /H) ≤ 0.47.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve the cogging torque, as taught by UCHIDA (see para [0043, 0045, and 0046]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Regarding claim 6, UCHIDA teaches a rotating electric machine comprising:
a stator (22); and
the rotor (10) as set forth in Claim 1, the rotor (10) being arranged radially inside the stator (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, UCHIDA teaches the rotating electric machine as set forth in Claim 6, wherein:
the displacement amount (Gmax-Gmin) is set to be larger than or equal to an air gap (Gmin) that is a difference between an inner radius of the stator and a radius of the reference circle (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, UCHIDA teaches the rotating electric machine as set forth in Claim 7.
However, UCHIDA does not disclose a ratio of the displacement amount (to the air gap satisfies 1.67 ≤ (displacement amount / air gap) ≤ 2.33.
UCHIDA discloses the ratio at 1.6 and 2.75 (see para [0046], table 1; ).
UCHIDA teaches that arrangements of different air gap maximum and minimum displacement amounts can be used in a rotating electric machine (V), making the air gap displacement amounts result effective variables, in order to improve cogging torque (see para [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to arrange the air gap displacement amounts according to the claimed ratio between 1.67 ≤ (displacement amount / air gap) ≤ 2.33.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve the cogging torque, as taught by UCHIDA (see para [0046]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Regarding claim 10 UCHIDA teaches the rotor as set forth in Claim 1.
UCHIDA does not disclose the use of the equation: -0.0006D+0.1626-0.5/(D/2)Wm/(D/2) -0.0006D+0.1626+0.5/(D/2), where Wm is the maximum thickness of the permanent magnets, D is the diameter of the reference circle, and (D/2) is the radius of the reference circle.
UCHIDA teaches that arrangements of rotor outer reference circle diameters (i.e. D (inner diameter of stator in UCHIDA) – Gmin (minimum air gap of UCHIDA) = the diameter of the reference circle (D in the instant claims)) and magnet thicknesses H can be used in a rotor (see para [0042-0046]), making the reference circle diameters and magnet thicknesses result effective variables, in order to improve cogging torque (see para [0043, 0045, and 0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to arrange the reference circle diameter and magnet thicknesses according to the claimed ratio between.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve the cogging torque, as taught by UCHIDA (see para [0043, 0045, and 0046]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UCHIDA in view of KANDA (US 20170070111).
Regarding claim 2, UCHIDA teaches the rotor as set forth in Claim 1.
However, UCHIDA does not disclose each of the permanent magnets (16) has a folded shape that is convex radially inward.
KANDA discloses a rotor with permanent magnets that have folded shape that is convex radially inward (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of UCHIDA with the folded shape magnets similar to those of KANDA.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve the orientation rate and the magnetization rate of the magnets as taught by KANDA (see para [0038].)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UCHIDA in view of YAMADA (US 20130106208.)
Regarding claim 3, UCHIDA teaches the rotor as set forth in Claim 1.
However, UCHIDA does not disclose the rotor core has axial end faces formed as flat surfaces and each of the permanent magnets has protruding portions that protrude respectively from the axial end faces of the rotor core.
YAMADA discloses a rotor with axial end faces formed as flat surfaces and permanent magnets (interpole magnets 31, 32) having protruding portions that protrude respectively from the axial end faces of the rotor core (see Figs. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of UCHIDA with a rotor core having axial end faces formed as flat surfaces and each of the permanent magnets having protruding portions that protrude respectively from the axial end faces of the rotor core.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to reduce leakage flux as taught by YAMADA (see para [0011])
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UCHIDA in view of TANAKA (US 20170085143).
Regarding claim 9, UCHIDA teaches the rotating electric machine as set forth in Claim 6, wherein:
the number of the magnetic poles of the rotor (10) is eight; and
However, UCHIDA does not disclose the stator has twelve slots in which windings are wound.
TANAKA discloses a rotating electric machine with eight poles (16) and a stator (1A) having twelve slots in which windings (3) are wound (see Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator of UCHIDA with twelve slots, similar to that of TANAKA.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a motor with designated step skew angle to reduce torque ripples as taught by TANAKA (see para [0101]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834