DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 1/29/2026 are as follows:
Claims 9, 12, 15, and 18 are cancelled by the applicant;
Claims 21-24 are newly added;
Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19-24 are pending and are being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
“a fluid distribution housing separate from the data center rack” (claims 1 and 10). The drawings illustrate only a CDU connected to the fluid distribution unit (Figure 4) and a CDU in a rack (Figures 7-8), but no figure illustrates the entire system in which the CDU is in the rack and the fluid distribution unit is a separate housing connected to the rack.
“the fluid distribution housing is a modular component that can be attached to the data center rack” (claim 21). As above, no figure illustrates the entire system in which the CDU is in the rack and the fluid distribution unit is a separate housing attached to the rack.
“the fluid distribution housing is a modular component that can be located proximate to the data center rack” (claim 22). As above, no figure illustrates the entire system in which the CDU is in the rack and the fluid distribution unit is a separate housing proximate to the rack.
“the one or more thermal management components comprises a plate heat exchanger” (claim 23). Figure 9 illustrates a generic box heat exchanger 700 with no indication of what type of heat exchanger 700 is. Thus, no plate heat exchanger is illustrated.
“the heat is dissipated from the fluid by transferring heat from the one or more thermal management components to an additional fluid loop” (claim 24). No additional fluid loop is illustrated.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“thermal management components” in claims 1 and 10. The generic placeholder “component” is modified by the functional language “thermal management” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Paragraph 45 of the applicants’ specification outlines the thermal management components as “the thermal management components 304 may include, among other components, a heat exchanger 700, a power supply 702, a fill pump 704, and/or one or more internal fluid conduit(s) 706”. Thus, the “thermal management components” will be interpreted as any one of the recited components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 preamble recites “a cooling distribution unit supported by a data center rack, the CDU comprising”. Then claim 1 lines 13-19 recite details of the fluid distribution system. However, the fluid distribution system is a distinct apparatus from the cooling distribution unit apparatus. Thus, it is unclear of the scope of the claim since the preamble limits the apparatus to only the CDU. Based on the preamble, the features of the fluid distribution system are not actually being positively recited. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
The remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinke (US2017/0049009A1, as previously cited) in view of Gao (US2023/0060854A1).
Re Claim 1. Steinke teaches a cooling distribution unit (CDU) (40) supported by a data center rack (10 is the rack; Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32), the CDU comprising:
a housing (housing of 40) defining: a fluid inlet (63); and a fluid outlet (61) (Figures 2-3, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 29-32);
one or more thermal management components (as interpreted under 112(f) above; heat exchanger 50, fans 42, pumps 48, power supply 47, conduits 44 & 46) supported by the housing, wherein, in operation, the one or more thermal management components are configured to dissipate heat of a fluid received by the CDU via the fluid inlet (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 29-32); and
one or more direct mechanical connections (63, 64 are quick connects for blind mating) coupled with the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet, wherein the one or more direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with a fluid distribution system (manifolds 60, 62) to provide fluid communication between the CDU and the fluid distribution system (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-27, 29), and
wherein the fluid distribution system comprises: a primary fluid channel (62) directly coupled with the direct mechanical connection of the fluid inlet, and a secondary fluid channel (60) directly coupled with the direct mechanical connection of the fluid outlet (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-27, 29).
Steinke fails to specifically teach a fluid distribution housing separate from the data center rack and configured to at least partially enclose the primary fluid channel and the secondary fluid channel.
However, Gao teaches a fluid distribution housing (220) separate from the data center rack (100) and configured to at least partially enclose the primary fluid channel (210) and the secondary fluid channel (210) (Figures 3A-F, Paragraphs 52-58; The fluid containment panels 220 are a distinct element from the data center rack and thus the panels 220 form a fluid distribution housing that is separate from the data center rack. The panels 220 cover the sides of the manifolds and thus partially enclose the primary and secondary fluid channels).
Therefore, in view of Gao's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form a housing around the fluid distribution of Steinke in order to contain potential leaks that could damage the components in the rack (Gao Paragraphs 56-57).
Re Claim 10. Steinke teaches an in-rack thermal management system (Figures 1-5) comprising:
a cooling distribution unit (CDU) (40) supported by a data center rack (10 is the rack) (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32), the CDU comprising:
a housing (housing of 40) defining: a fluid inlet (63); and a fluid outlet (61) (Figures 2-3, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 29-32);
one or more thermal management components (as interpreted under 112(f) above; heat exchanger 50, fans 42, pumps 48, power supply 47, conduits 44 & 46) supported by the housing (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 29-32); and
one or more direct mechanical connections (63, 64 are quick connects for blind mating) coupled with the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-27, 29); and
a fluid distribution system (manifolds 60, 62) comprising: a primary fluid channel (62) directly coupled with the direct mechanical connection of the fluid inlet; and a secondary fluid channel (60) directly coupled with the direct mechanical connection of the fluid outlet; and
wherein, in operation, the one or more thermal management components are configured dissipate heat of a fluid received by the CDU via the fluid inlet, and wherein the direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system to provide fluid communication between the CDU and the fluid distribution system (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32, 35).
Steinke fails to specifically teach a fluid distribution housing separate from the data center rack and configured to at least partially enclose the primary fluid channel and the secondary fluid channel.
However, Gao teaches a fluid distribution housing (220) separate from the data center rack (100) and configured to at least partially enclose the primary fluid channel (210) and the secondary fluid channel (210) (Figures 3A-F, Paragraphs 52-58; The fluid containment panels 220 are a distinct element from the data center rack and thus the panels 220 form a fluid distribution housing that is separate from the data center rack. The panels 220 cover the sides of the manifolds and thus partially enclose the primary and secondary fluid channels).
Therefore, in view of Gao's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form a housing around the fluid distribution of Steinke in order to contain potential leaks that could damage the components in the rack (Gao Paragraphs 56-57).
Re Claim 2 & 11. Steinke teaches the direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system in the absence of external fluid conduits (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32).
Re Claim 3. Steinke teaches the direct mechanical connections are configured to be removably attached with the fluid distribution system without external fluid conduits extending therebetween (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32).
Re Claim 4 & 13. Steinke teaches the one or more direct mechanical connections comprise one or more blind mate connectors (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Paragraph 25 specifically recites the connections are “blind mating”).
Re Claim 5 & 14. Steinke teaches wherein a first temperature associated with the fluid received by the fluid inlet is greater than a second temperature associated with the fluid exiting the housing via the fluid outlet (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Inlet 63 is for warm coolant that is cooled by air heat exchanger 50 and outputted at outlet 61 as cooled coolant).
Re Claim 8 & 17. Steinke teaches the one or more dimensions of the housing comprise an internal dimension such that the housing is further configured to support one or more redundant thermal management components (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Steinke teaches having redundant pumps 48).
Re Claim 19. Steinke teaches further comprising: a server housing (70) defining: a server inlet (66, 74); and a server outlet (65, 72); one or more processing components (32, 34) supported by the server housing; one or more direct mechanical connections (65, 66) coupled with the server inlet and the server outlet, wherein the one or more direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system to provide fluid communication between the server housing and the fluid distribution system (Figures 2, 4, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 33-35).
Re Claim 20. Steinke teaches the direct mechanical connections of the server housing are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system in the absence of external fluid conduits (Figures 2, 4, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 33-35).
Re Claim 21. Steinke as modified by Gao teach the fluid distribution housing is a modular component that can be attached to the data center rack (Steinke Figures 2, 4, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 33-35; Gao Figures 2-4; Paragraphs 52-58. Gao teaches numerous configurations for the containment panels and thus is considered a modular component).
Re Claim 22. Steinke as modified by Gao teach the fluid distribution housing is a modular component that can be located proximate to the data center rack (Steinke Figures 2, 4, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 33-35; Gao Figures 2-4; Paragraphs 52-58. Gao teaches numerous configurations for the containment panels and thus is considered a modular component. The fluid distribution housing of Gao is adjacent to the data center rack and thus is considered to be proximately located).
Re Claim 23. Steinke teaches the one or more thermal management components comprises a heat exchanger (50) (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 29-32) but fails to specifically teach a plate heat exchanger. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the well-known and understood use of plate heat exchangers for dissipating heat from enclosures. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select the heat exchanger of Steinke to be a plate heat exchanger in order to provide compact thermal heat transfer.
Re Claim 24. Steinke teaches the heat is dissipated from the fluid by transferring heat from the one or more thermal management components to an additional fluid loop (Figures 2, 4, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 33-35; Figures 4 and 5 illustrate numerous coolant loops in the server rack).
Claims 6, 7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinke (US2017/0049009A1, as previously cited) in view of Gao (US2023/0060854A1) and in view of Eckberg (US2016/0066480A1, as previously cited).
Re Claim 6. Steinke teaches the housing further defines one or more bays (11, 21, 23) by which the housing may be positioned within a datacenter rack (10 is the rack) (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32). Steinke fails to specifically teach rails in the rack.
However, Eckberg teaches the housing further defines one or more support rails (21, 23) by which the housing may be positioned within a datacenter rack (20) (Figure 1; Paragraphs 27-28)
Therefore, in view of Eckberg's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add support rails to the rack of Steinke in order to better align the modules with the blind mating quick connections at the manifolds. Further, the use of rails in server racks is well-known and established in the art and would only require routine skill in the art to implement.
Re Claim 7 & 16. Steinke as modified by Eckberg teach the housing, via movement along the one or more support rails, is configured to be removably attached with the fluid distribution system (Steinke Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Eckberg Figure 1, Paragraphs 27-28).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763