DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 10/5/2023 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“thermal management components” in claims 1 and 10. The generic placeholder “component” is modified by the functional language “thermal management” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Paragraph 45 of the applicants’ specification outlines the thermal management components as “the thermal management components 304 may include, among other components, a heat exchanger 700, a power supply 702, a fill pump 704, and/or one or more internal fluid conduit(s) 706”. Thus, the “thermal management components” will be interpreted as any one of the recited components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 last lines recite “to maximize one or more dimensions”. The term “maximize” in claims 1 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maximize” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what size is required in order to be considered to maximize the space. Additionally, it is unclear as to what standard the maximized dimension is being compared to. Since no baseline dimension is established, there is no way to establish that the new dimension has maximized the space. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 9 and 18 last line recite “includes an increased capacity”. It is unclear as to what standard the increased capacity is being compared to. Since no baseline capacity is established, there is no way to establish that the new capacity has been increased. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
The remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steinke (US2017/0049009A1).
Re Claim 1. Steinke teaches a cooling distribution unit (CDU) (40) (Figures 2-3) comprising:
a housing (housing of 40) defining: a fluid inlet (63); and a fluid outlet (61) (Figures 2-3, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 29-32);
one or more thermal management components (as interpreted under 112(f) above; heat exchanger 50, fans 42, pumps 48, power supply 47, conduits 44 & 46) supported by the housing, wherein, in operation, the one or more thermal management components are configured to dissipate heat of a fluid received by the CDU via the fluid inlet (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 29-32); and
one or more direct mechanical connections (63, 64 are quick connects for blind mating) coupled with the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet, wherein the one or more direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with a fluid distribution system (manifolds 60, 62) to provide fluid communication between the CDU and the fluid distribution system so as to maximize one or more dimensions of the housing (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-27, 29).
Re Claim 10. Steinke teaches an in-rack thermal management system (Figures 1-5) comprising:
a cooling distribution unit (CDU) (40) (Figures 2-3) comprising:
a housing (housing of 40) defining: a fluid inlet (63); and a fluid outlet (61) (Figures 2-3, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 29-32);
one or more thermal management components (as interpreted under 112(f) above; heat exchanger 50, fans 42, pumps 48, power supply 47, conduits 44 & 46) supported by the housing (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 29-32); and
one or more direct mechanical connections (63, 64 are quick connects for blind mating) coupled with the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-27, 29); and
a fluid distribution system (manifolds 60, 62) comprising: a primary fluid channel (62) directly coupled with the direct mechanical connection of the fluid inlet; and a secondary fluid channel (60) directly coupled with the direct mechanical connection of the fluid outlet, wherein, in operation, the one or more thermal management components are configured dissipate heat of a fluid received by the CDU via the fluid inlet, and wherein the direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system to provide fluid communication between the CDU and the fluid distribution system so as to maximize one or more dimensions of the housing (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32, 35).
Re Claim 2 & 11. Steinke teaches the direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system in the absence of external fluid conduits (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32).
Re Claim 3 & 12. Steinke teaches the direct mechanical connections are configured to be removably attached with the fluid distribution system without external fluid conduits extending therebetween (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32).
Re Claim 4 & 13. Steinke teaches the one or more direct mechanical connections comprise one or more blind mate connectors (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Paragraph 25 specifically recites the connections are “blind mating”).
Re Claim 5 & 14. Steinke teaches wherein a first temperature associated with the fluid received by the fluid inlet is greater than a second temperature associated with the fluid exiting the housing via the fluid outlet (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Inlet 63 is for warm coolant that is cooled by air heat exchanger 50 and outputted at outlet 61 as cooled coolant).
Re Claim 8 & 17. Steinke teaches the one or more dimensions of the housing comprise an internal dimension such that the housing is further configured to support one or more redundant thermal management components (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Steinke teaches having redundant pumps 48).
Re Claim 9 & 18. Steinke teaches the one or more dimensions of the housing comprise an internal dimension such that at least one of the thermal management components supported by the housing includes an increased capacity (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Steinke teaches having redundant pumps 48, thereby increasing capacity).
Re Claim 19. Steinke teaches further comprising: a server housing (70) defining: a server inlet (66, 74); and a server outlet (65, 72); one or more processing components (32, 34) supported by the server housing; one or more direct mechanical connections (65, 66) coupled with the server inlet and the server outlet, wherein the one or more direct mechanical connections are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system to provide fluid communication between the server housing and the fluid distribution system (Figures 2, 4, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 33-35).
Re Claim 20. Steinke teaches the direct mechanical connections of the server housing are configured to directly interface with the fluid distribution system in the absence of external fluid conduits (Figures 2, 4, 5; Paragraphs 23-26, 33-35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinke (US2017/0049009A1) in view of Eckberg (US2016/0066480A1).
Re Claim 6 & 15. Steinke teaches the housing further defines one or more bays (11, 21, 23) by which the housing may be positioned within a datacenter rack (10 is the rack) (Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32). Steinke fails to specifically teach rails in the rack.
However, Eckberg teaches the housing further defines one or more support rails (21, 23) by which the housing may be positioned within a datacenter rack (20) (Figure 1; Paragraphs 27-28)
Therefore, in view of Eckberg's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add support rails to the rack of Steinke in order to better align the modules with the blind mating quick connections at the manifolds. Further, the use of rails in server racks is well-known and established in the art and would only require routine skill in the art to implement.
Re Claim 7 & 16. Steinke as modified by Eckberg teach the housing, via movement along the one or more support rails, is configured to be removably attached with the fluid distribution system (Steinke Figures 2, 3, 5; Paragraphs 25-32; Eckberg Figure 1, Paragraphs 27-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763