Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species B, claims 1-4, 6-9, and 12-16, in the reply filed on 12/08/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of Groups 1-2 will not present an undue burden. This is not found persuasive because the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner has reviewed applicant’s instant specification; however, there is no definition of such terminology as follows: “conduit”. Thus, one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would look these terms in the dictionary.
The term of “conduit” is defined as “a natural or artificial channel through which something (such as a fluid) is conveyed.” See dictionary in CONDUIT Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an auxiliary abatement system for abating effluent gases” in line 1. Thus, the claim purports to be directed to reducing or eliminating effluent (i.e., undesirable) gases. However, claim 1 does not clearly recite the structural limitations and/or specific components that are configured to perform such abatement, reduction, or elimination of the effluent gases. Accordingly, it is unclear how the claim auxiliary abatement system achieves the stated function.
Claim 13 is likewise rejected for the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 12, and 14-16 depend on claims 1, 13; and hence are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shamouilian et al (US 6468490; hereinafter Shamouilian).
As regarding claim 1, Shamouilian discloses the claimed invention for an auxiliary abatement system for abating effluent gases comprising: a first chamber (312) comprising a first inlet configured to receive the effluent gases; and a second chamber configured to treat the effluent gases and comprising a second inlet configured to receive a liquid reagent, a first outlet configured to output treated effluent gases, and a second outlet (410 of fig. 6) configured to output a byproduct produced by treating the effluent gases; and a conduit coupling the first chamber to the second chamber to provide the effluent gases from the first chamber to the second chamber and comprising a first end disposed in the first chamber and a second end disposed in the second chamber, the second end in the second chamber being disposed below the second inlet and the first outlet (annotated fig. 4).
As regarding claim 2, Shamouilian discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Shamouilian discloses the claimed invention for a tank (annotated fig. 4) containing both the first and the second chambers.
As regarding claim 3, Shamouilian discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Shamouilian discloses the claimed invention for a lid (annotated fig. 4) covering the tank and coupled with the first inlet.
As regarding claim 4, Shamouilian discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Shamouilian discloses the claimed invention for wherein the lid (annotated fig. 4) is coupled with the first outlet.
As regarding claim 6, Shamouilian discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Shamouilian discloses the claimed invention for wherein the conduit has an inverted U-shape (inner-lower surface portion of reactor 231), and the second end of the conduit is disposed within a bottom section of the second chamber.
As regarding claim 9, Shamouilian discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Shamouilian discloses the claimed invention for porous materials disposed in the second chamber (annotated fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamouilian et al (US 6468490; hereinafter Shamouilian) in view of L’Heureus (US 10889891).
As regarding claim 13, Shamouilian discloses the claimed invention for an abatement system (annotated fig. 4).
Shamouilian does not disclose a plasma abatement unit configured to receive effluent gases from a processing chamber; a pump disposed downstream of and coupled with the plasma abatement unit. L’Heureus teaches a plasma abatement unit (102 of fig. 1) configured to receive effluent gases from a processing chamber; a pump (196) disposed downstream of and coupled with the plasma abatement unit. Both Shamouilian and L’Heureus are directed to abatement system in semiconductor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a plasma abatement unit configured to receive effluent gases from a processing chamber; a pump disposed downstream of and coupled with the plasma abatement unit as taught by L’Heureus in order to abate effluent gases upstream of a downstream pump, thereby reducing harmful emissions and protecting the pump from corrosive byproduct.
Shamouilian as modified discloses an auxiliary abatement system disposed downstream of and coupled with the pump, wherein the auxiliary abatement system comprises a first chamber coupled with a second chamber via a conduit that is configured to provide the effluent gases from the first chamber to the second chamber and comprises a first end disposed in the first chamber and a second end disposed in the second chamber, and wherein the first chamber comprises a first inlet configured to receive the effluent gases; and a second chamber comprises a second inlet configured to receive a liquid reagent, a first outlet configured to output treated effluent gases, and a second outlet configured to output a byproduct produced by treating the effluent gases, the second end of the conduit being disposed below the second inlet and the first outlet; and a primary abatement unit (L’Heureus - 198) disposed downstream of and coupled with the auxiliary abatement system.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a primary abatement unit disposed downstream of and coupled with the auxiliary abatement system in order to further abate residual effluent gases and byproducts, thereby increasing overall abatement efficiency and protecting downstream equipment, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 14, Shamouilian as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Shamouilian as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the auxiliary abatement system comprises: a tank containing both the first and the second chambers; and a lid covering the tank (annotated fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 7 and 15 contain allowable subject matter because prior art does not teach fairly suggested wherein the conduit includes a spreader disposed within the second chamber and comprising outlets that face downwardly toward the bottom of the second chamber.
Claims 8, 12 and 16 depend on claims 7, 15; and hence is also allowed.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773