DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/06/2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0030] on page 6 recites “The bridge wiring structure 200 may also be referred to as a bridge wiring layer”; this should be written as “The bridge wiring structure 202 may also be referred to as a bridge wiring layer.”
Paragraph [0048] on page 11 recites “first through via 262 and the second
through via 265”; this should be written as “first through via 262 and the second through via 264.”
Paragraph [0132] on page 27 recites “first through via 262 and the second
through via 265”; this should be written as “first through via 262 and the second through via 264.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “size of the first trace connection terminal and a size of the first bridge connection terminal are each smaller than a size of the first chip connection terminal”. The element “size” is indefinite because it does not define whether the size is the lateral width, diameter, area, height, etc. The examiner interprets the element “size” as “lateral width” for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rubin et al. (US20210265275A1; hereinafter Rubin).
Regarding Claim 17, Rubin discloses a semiconductor package (multi-chip package structure, [0059]) comprising:
a package substrate (192), FIG. 1E reproduced below, [0059];
a bridge structure (110) stacked on the package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0058];
a first molding member (122) surrounding a side surface of the bridge structure (110), the first insulating layer 122 comprises a mold compound that is formed to encapsulate the chip interconnect bridge 110, FIG. 1E, [0047];
a trace pattern (metallization 134 and 136) extending along an upper surface of the bridge structure (110) and an upper surface of the first molding member (122), FIG. 1E, [0049];
a via pattern (124) penetrating through the first molding member (122) and electrically connecting the package substrate (192 via solder bump connections 180) and the trace pattern (metallization 134) to each other, FIG. 1E, [0048], [0059]; and
a first semiconductor chip (140) and a second semiconductor chip (150) each stacked on an upper surface of the first molding member (122) and electrically connected to each other by the bridge structure (110), FIG. 1D, [0051].
wherein the first semiconductor chip (140) and the second semiconductor chip (150) are arranged along a first direction (X direction) parallel to an upper surface of the package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0051] and
the trace pattern (134) extends in the first direction (X direction) and is electrically connected to at least one of the first semiconductor chip (140) and the second semiconductor chip (150), FIG. 1D, [0049], [0051].
Rubin [0049] discloses the metallization 134 comprises horizontal wiring, indicating the trace pattern (134) extends in the first direction (X direction); [0051] discloses the solder bumps 142 and 152 of the IC chips 140 and 150 are bonded to target locations of the metallization 134, indicating the trace pattern 134 is electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (140) and the second semiconductor chip (150).
Rubin: FIG. 1E
Regarding Claim 19, Rubin discloses the semiconductor package of claim 17.
Rubin discloses: wherein the semiconductor package is configured to receive a power supply voltage [0059] and transfer the power supply voltage to the first semiconductor chip (140) and the second semiconductor chip (150) respectively [0052], through the package substrate (192), the via pattern (124), and the trace pattern (134), [0047], [0049].
Rubin discloses the semiconductor package is configured to receive external power through BGA solder ball interconnects 194 of the package substrate 192 [0059]. The received power is routed upward through via pattern 124 [0047], and trace pattern 134 [0049], and delivered to the first (140) and second semiconductor chips (150) via bump connections 142 and 152 which comprises power connections [0052].
Regarding Claim 20, Rubin discloses the semiconductor package of claim 17.
Rubin discloses: further comprising a second molding member (170) covering at least a portion of the first semiconductor chip (140) and at least a portion of the second semiconductor chip (150) on the package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin in view of Waidhas et al. (US20220199562A1; hereinafter Waidhas).
Regarding Claim 1, Rubin discloses a semiconductor package (multi-chip package structure, FIG. 1E, [0059]) comprising:
a package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0059];
a bridge structure (110) stacked on the package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0058];
a first molding member (122) on the package substrate (192) and surrounding a side surface of the bridge structure (110), (the first insulating layer 122 comprises a mold compound that is formed to encapsulate the chip interconnect bridge 110, FIG. 1E, [0047]);
a trace pattern (metallization 134 and 136) extending along an upper surface of the bridge structure (110) and an upper surface of the first molding member (122), FIG. 1E, [0049];
a first via pattern (124 adjacent to the first side surface of the bridge 110) penetrating through the first molding member (122) and electrically connecting the package substrate (192 via solder bump connections 180) and the trace pattern (metallization 134) to each other, FIG. 1E, [0048], [0059];
a first trace connection terminal (142) electrically connecting the trace pattern (134) and the first semiconductor chip (140) to each other, FIG. 1D, [0051];
a second trace connection terminal (152) electrically connecting the trace pattern (134) and the second semiconductor chip (150) to each other; FIG. 1D, [0051] and
a second molding member (170) covering at least a portion of the first semiconductor chip (140) and at least a portion of the second semiconductor chip (150) on the package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0053]. Rubin [0053] discloses a molding process is performed to encapsulate the first and second IC chips 140 and 150 in a molding layer 170.
Rubin does not disclose “a first through via penetrating through the first molding member and spaced apart from a first side surface of the bridge structure; a second through via penetrating through the first molding member and spaced apart from a second side surface of the bridge structure; a first semiconductor chip stacked on the trace pattern and the first through via; a second semiconductor chip stacked on the trace pattern and the second through via; a first chip connection terminal electrically connecting the first through via and the first semiconductor chip to each other; a second chip connection terminal electrically connecting the second through via and the second semiconductor chip to each other; a first trace connection terminal electrically connecting the trace pattern and the first semiconductor chip to each other; a second trace connection terminal electrically connecting the trace pattern and the second semiconductor chip to each other.”
In a similar art, Waidhas discloses multi-chip packages with interconnect bridges [0022].
Waidhas discloses: a first through via (opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625A) penetrating through the first molding member (621) and spaced apart from a first side surface of the bridge structure (side of the bridge 627 adjacent to 625A), FIG. 6E, [0069];
a second through via (opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625B) penetrating through the first molding member (621) and spaced apart from a second side surface of the bridge structure (side of the bridge 627 adjacent to 625B), FIG. 6E, [0069];
a first chip connection terminal (solder balls 613 with first pads 622 on 625A) electrically connecting the first through via (opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625A) and the first semiconductor chip (625A) to each other, FIG. 6F, [0070];
a second chip connection terminal (solder balls 613 with first pads 622 on 625B) electrically connecting the second through via (opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625B) and the second semiconductor chip (625B) to each other, FIG. 6F, [0070];
The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose: a first semiconductor chip stacked on the trace pattern (Rubin: chip 140 stacked on 134 and 136, FIG. 1D, [0051]) and the first through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625A, FIG. 6E, [0069]);
a second semiconductor chip stacked on the trace pattern (Rubin: chip 150 stacked on 134 and 136, FIG. 1D, [0051]) and the second through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625B, FIG. 6E, [0069]);
Waidhas discloses that a package as taught improves routing flexibility of the package [0026]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin’s package, in order to provide a structure with improved routing flexibility as disclosed by Waidhas [0026].
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 1.
Rubin discloses: further comprising: a first bridge connection terminal (vertical connects 136 and chip bump connections 144) electrically connecting the bridge structure (110) and the first semiconductor chip (140) to each other, FIG. 1E, [0051]; and
a second bridge connection terminal (vertical connects 136 and chip bump connections 154) electrically connecting the bridge structure (110) and the second semiconductor chip (150) to each other, FIG. 1E, [0051].
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 2.
The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose: wherein a size of the first trace connection terminal (Rubin:142) and a size of the first bridge connection terminal (Rubin:144 on 136) are each smaller than a size of the first chip connection terminal (Waidhas: solder balls 613 with first pads 622 on 625A).
Waidhas FIG. 1, [0029] discloses on the first base die 125A, the first pads 122 have a first pitch P1 of approximately 55 μm or larger, and the second pads 124 have a second pitch P2 of approximately 20 μm or smaller, indicating the size of the first trace connection terminal (Rubin:142) and a size of the first bridge connection terminal (Rubin:144) may be each smaller than a size of the first chip connection terminal (Waidhas: solder balls 613 with first pads 622 on 625A).
a size of the second trace connection terminal (Rubin: 152) and a size of the second bridge connection terminal (Rubin:154 on 136) are each smaller than a size of the second chip connection terminal (Waidhas: solder balls 613 with first pads 622 on 625B). Waidhas FIG. 1, [0029] discloses on the second base die 125B, the first pads 122 have a third pitch P3 which may be substantially equal to first pitch P1, and the second pads 124 have a fourth pitch P4 which may be substantially equal to second pitch P2, indicating the size of the second trace connection terminal (Rubin:152) and a size of the second bridge connection terminal (Rubin:154) may be each smaller than a size of the second chip connection terminal (Waidhas: solder balls 613 with first pads 622 on 625B).
Waidhas discloses that a package as taught enables high density routing in the bridge structure [0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package, in order to enable high density routing in the bridge structure as disclosed by Waidhas [0029].
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 1.
Rubin discloses: wherein the bridge structure (110) includes a bridge substrate (substrate of bridge die 110) and a bridge wiring layer (stack of signal interconnect and redistribution layers comprising fine pitch signal wires and vertical inter-level vias, e.g., copper wiring and vias) on a front side of the bridge substrate (bridge 110 die), [0045] and
the trace pattern (metallization 134 and 136) extends along an upper surface of the bridge wiring layer (stack of signal interconnect and redistribution layers) and the upper surface of the molding member (122), FIG. 1C, [0049].
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 4.
Rubin discloses: wherein the first semiconductor chip (140) includes a first semiconductor substrate (substrate of die 140) and a first wiring layer (wirings connected to 142, 144) on a front side of the first semiconductor substrate (active side of substrate of die 140), FIG.1D, [0051].
the second semiconductor chip (150) includes a second semiconductor substrate (substrate of die 150) and a second wiring layer (wirings connected to 152, 154) on a front side of the second semiconductor substrate (active side of the substrate of die 150), FIG.1D, [0051], and
the front side of the first semiconductor substrate (active side of the substrate of die 140) and the front side of the second semiconductor substrate (active side of the substrate of die 150) each face the front side of the bridge substrate (active side of the substrate of bridge die 110), FIG.1D, [0051].
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 1.
Rubin discloses: further comprising a second via pattern (124 adjacent to the second side surface of the bridge 110) penetrating through the first molding member (122) and electrically connecting the package substrate (192 via solder bump connections 180) and the trace pattern (134) to each other, FIG. 1E, [0049], [0059].
wherein the first via pattern (124 adjacent to the first side surface of the bridge 110) is disposed adjacent the first side surface of the bridge structure (110), and
the second via pattern (124 adjacent to the second side surface of the bridge 110) is disposed adjacent the second side surface of the bridge structure (110).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 1.
Rubin discloses: further comprising an adhesive film (112) interposed between the package substrate (192) and the bridge structure (110), FIG. 1E, [0043].
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 1.
Rubin discloses: wherein the first semiconductor chip (140) is an application processor chip or a logic chip (a hardware accelerator device, a multi-core processor device, central processing unit (CPU), a microcontroller, an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), and other types of general purposes processors or work-load optimized processors such as graphics processing units (GPUs), digital signal processors (DSPs), system-on-chip (SoC), and other types of specialized processors or coprocessors that are configured to execute one or more fixed functions, [0054]), and
the second semiconductor chip (150) is a memory chip, (high-bandwidth memory (HBM) dynamic random-access memory (DRAM), memory device, [0054]).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 9.
Rubin discloses: wherein the second semiconductor chip (150) includes a high bandwidth memory (HBM), (high-bandwidth memory (HBM) dynamic random-access memory (DRAM), [0054]).
Regarding Claim 11, Rubin discloses a semiconductor package (multi-chip package structure, FIG. 1E, [0059]) comprising:
a package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0059];
a bridge structure (110) stacked on the package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0058];
a first molding member (122) on the package substrate (192) and surrounding a side surface of the bridge structure (110), (the first insulating layer 122 comprises a mold compound that is formed to encapsulate the chip interconnect bridge 110, FIG. 1E, [0047]);
a trace pattern (metallization 134 and 136) extending along an upper surface of the bridge structure (110) and an upper surface of the first molding member (122), FIG. 1E, [0049];
a via pattern (124) penetrating through the first molding member (122) and electrically connecting the package substrate (192 via solder bump connections 180) and the trace pattern (metallization 134) to each other, FIG. 1E, [0048], [0059];
a first semiconductor chip (140) and a second semiconductor chip (150) each stacked on an upper surface of the first molding member (122) and electrically connected to each other by the bridge structure (110), FIG. 1D, [0051];
a first trace connection terminal (142) electrically connecting the trace pattern (134) and the first semiconductor chip (140) to each other, FIG. 1D, [0051];
a second trace connection terminal (152) electrically connecting the trace pattern (134) and the second semiconductor chip (150) to each other; FIG. 1D, [0051].
Rubin discloses electrically connecting the package substrate (192) and the first semiconductor chip (140) to each other and electrically connecting the package substrate (192) and the second semiconductor chip (150) to each other, FIG. 1E, [0059]; but does not disclose “a first through via penetrating through the first molding member; a second through via penetrating through the first molding member.”
In a similar art, Waidhas discloses multi-chip packages with interconnect bridges [0022].
The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose: a first through via penetrating through the first molding member (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625A penetrating 621, FIG. 6E, [0069]) and electrically connecting the package substrate and the first semiconductor chip (Rubin: electrically connecting package substrate 192 and chip 140, FIG. 1E, [0059]) to each other;
a second through via penetrating through the first molding member (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625B penetrating 621, FIG. 6E, [0069]) and electrically connecting the package substrate and the second semiconductor chip (Rubin: electrically connecting package substrate 192 and chip 150, FIG. 1E, [0059]) to each other.
Waidhas discloses that a package as taught improves routing flexibility of the package [0026]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin’s package, in order to provide a structure with improved routing flexibility as disclosed by Waidhas [0026].
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 11.
Rubin discloses: wherein the semiconductor package is configured to receive a power supply voltage ([0059]) and transfer the power supply voltage to the first semiconductor chip (140) and the second semiconductor chip (150) ([0052]), respectively, through the package substrate (192), the via pattern (124), and the trace pattern (134), [0047], [0049].
Rubin discloses the semiconductor package is configured to receive external power through BGA solder ball interconnects 194 of the package substrate 192 [0059]. The received power is routed upward through via pattern 124 [0047], and the trace pattern 134 [0049], and delivered to the first (140) and second semiconductor chips (150) via bump connections 142 and 152 which includes power and ground connections [0052].
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 11.
Rubin discloses: exposing an upper surface of the package substrate (Rubin: exposing the upper surface of the substrate 192 through solder bumps 180, FIG. 1E, [0059]); but does not disclose “wherein the first molding member includes a plurality of mold trenches exposing an upper surface of the package substrate, and each of the first through via and the second through via are disposed in a respective mold trench of the plurality of mold trenches and are connected to the package substrate.”
The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose: wherein the first molding member (Rubin:122) includes a plurality of mold trenches (Waidhas: openings 612, FIG. 6E, [0069]) exposing an upper surface of the package substrate (Rubin: exposing the upper surface of the substrate 192 through solder bumps 180, FIG. 1E, [0059]), and
each of the first through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625A) and the second through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to 625B) are disposed in a respective mold trench of the plurality of mold trenches (Waidhas: opening 612 of the plurality of openings 612, FIG. 6E, [0069]) and are connected to the package substrate (Rubin: 192).
Waidhas discloses that a package as taught eliminates warpage and planarity issues during assembly [0024]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package, in order to eliminate warpage and planarity issues during assembly as disclosed by Waidhas [0024].
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 11.
Rubin discloses: further comprising a second molding member (170) covering at least a portion of the first semiconductor chip (140) and at least a portion of the second semiconductor chip (150) on the package substrate (192), FIG. 1E, [0053]. Rubin [0053] discloses a molding process is performed to encapsulate the first and second IC chips 140 and 150 in a molding layer 170.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin in view of Yun (KR100813624B1; hereinafter Yun).
Regarding Claim 18, Rubin discloses the semiconductor package of claim 17.
Rubin does not disclose “wherein the trace pattern is formed from conductive ink.”
In a similar art, Yun discloses semiconductor package and a method of manufacturing the same [Page 2, Line 13].
The combination of Rubin and Yun disclose: wherein the trace pattern (Rubin: 134) is formed from conductive ink [Yun: page 7, line 17].
Yun [page 7, line 17] discloses the first wiring 140 may be formed by spraying a conductive ink onto the upper surface 130c of the first insulating layer 130, indicating the trace pattern (Rubin: 134) may be formed from conductive ink.
Yun discloses that a structure as taught reduces the thickness of the package [page 7, line 25]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin’s package, in order to provide a structure with reduced thickness as disclosed by Yun [page 7, line 25].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin in view of Waidhas, further in view of Hsiung et al. (US20190181092A1; hereinafter Hsuing).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 6.
The combination of Rubin and Waidhas does not disclose “wherein the first via pattern is closer to the bridge structure than the first through via is to the bridge structure, and the second via pattern is closer to the bridge structure than the second through via is to the bridge structure.”
In a similar art, Hsiung discloses a package structure 400D with bridge die 310, FIG. 4D, [0025].
Hsiung FIG. 4D, [0025] discloses the semiconductor dies 318 and 320 are coupled to the bridge die 310 via the electrical interconnects 312 and 314 and at least one through mold via 406 is placed in the first mold layer 316. The FIG. 4D discloses the electrical interconnects 312 and 314 are closer to the bridge die 310 than the through mold via 406.
The combination of Rubin, Waidhas, and Hsiung disclose:
wherein the first via pattern (Rubin: 124 adjacent to the first side surface of the bridge 110) is closer to the bridge structure (Rubin:110) than the first through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to die 625A) is to the bridge structure (Rubin: 110), Hsiung: FIG. 4D, [0025]. Hsiung FIG. 4D discloses electrical interconnects are closer to the bridge die than the through mold via, indicating the first via pattern (Rubin: 124 adjacent to the first side surface of the bridge 110) may be closer to the bridge structure (Rubin:110) than the first through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to die 625A).
the second via pattern (Rubin: 124 adjacent to the second side surface of the bridge 110) is closer to the bridge structure (Rubin:110) than the second through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to die 625B) is to the bridge structure (Rubin:110), Hsiung: FIG. 4D, [0025]. Hsiung FIG. 4D discloses electrical interconnects are closer to the bridge die than the through mold via, indicating the second via pattern (Rubin: 124 adjacent to the second side surface of the bridge 110) may be closer to the bridge structure (Rubin:110) than the second through via (Waidhas: opening 612 with solder ball 613 adjacent to die 625B).
Hsiung discloses that a structure as taught enables fine pitch routing and improves manufacturability [0016]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin and Waidhas’ package, in order to enable fine-pitch routing and improve manufacturability as disclosed by Hsiung [0016].
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin in view of Waidhas, further in view of Ecton et al. (US20190304912A1; hereinafter Ecton).
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 11.
The combination of Rubin and Waidhas does not disclose “wherein a width of the via pattern decreases as a distance from the package substrate decreases.”
In a similar art, Ecton discloses a semiconductor package structure 100 with interconnect bridge 100 [0027].
The combination of Rubin and Ecton disclose: wherein a width of the via pattern (Rubin: 124) decreases as a distance from the package substrate (Rubin: 192) decreases, (Ecton: FIG. 1E, [0038]).
Ecton [0038] discloses the interconnect vias 118 may comprise a tapered profile resembling a “V” shape, the top portion having a greater lateral width than a lateral width of a bottom portion of the via 118, indicating the via pattern (Rubin:124) decreases as a distance from the package substrate (Rubin:192) decreases.
Ecton discloses that a structure as taught improves lithographic alignment and manufacturability [0050]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin and Waidhas’ package, in order to improve lithographic alignment and manufacturability as disclosed by Ecton [0050].
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Rubin and Waidhas disclose the semiconductor package of claim 14.
The combination of Rubin and Waidhas does not disclose “wherein a width of each of the plurality of mold trenches decreases as a distance from the package substrate decreases.”
The combination of Rubin, Waidhas, and Ecton disclose: wherein a width of each of the plurality of mold trenches (Waidhas: openings 612, FIG. 6E, [0069]) decreases as a distance from the package substrate (Rubin: 192) decreases, (Ecton: FIG. 1E, [0038]).
Ecton [0038] discloses the interconnect vias 118 may comprise a tapered profile resembling a “V” shape, the top portion having a greater lateral width than a lateral width of a bottom portion of the via 118, indicating the plurality of mold trenches (Waidhas: openings 612) decreases as a distance from the package substrate (Rubin:192) decreases.
Ecton discloses that a structure as taught improves lithographic alignment and manufacturability [0050]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin and Waidhas’ package, in order to improve lithographic alignment and manufacturability as disclosed by Ecton [0050].
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Krishna Palaniswamy whose telephone number is
(571)272-6239. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30AM - 5PM
EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Brent Fairbanks can be reached on 408-918-7532. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -
center for more information about Patent Center and ttps://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx
for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the
Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN
USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Krishna J. Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899