DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-35 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 12, 14, 18, 20, 29, and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per Claim 1, it recites the claim recites “a house that has multiple rooms” in line 3 and “a floor plan for the house” in line 12-13 and thereafter recites “the building” in the map-positioning, level-of-detail, and presenting steps (“a map of an area including the building”, “interior portions of the building”, “one or more stories of the building”, “exterior boundaries of the building”, “an existing visual representation of the building on the map”, and “the interior portions of the building”) without having introduced a building. Each recitation of “the building” would be better as “the house”, or the claim should be amended to introduce the building. For purposes of examination, “the building” in claims 1-5 is read as the house for which the acquisition session is performed and the floor plan is determined. Further claims 2 and 4 each further recite “the building”.
As per Claim 12, it recites the limitation “include extending” in line 6 which would be better as “includes extending”.
As per Claim 14, it recites the limitation “the visual data of the one or more images” in line 12-13 which would be better as “visual data of the one or more images to avoid antecedent basis issues as the claim earlier reciting only that the images “have visual coverage of at least some walls of that room”.
As per Claim 14, it recites the limitation “for each of the one or two or more rooms” in line 5 would be better as “for each of the two or more rooms” as Claim 14 recites “two or more rooms” in line 4.
As per Claims 18 and 20, it recites the limitation “the visual presentation of the at least partial floor plan” which would be better as “the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan”, consistent with claim 11.
As per Claim 29, it recites the limitation “includes overlaying the visual representation at the determined positions and that includes visual indications” is grammatically incomplete and would be better as, for example, “includes overlaying the visual representation at the determined positions, the overlaid visual representation including visual indications”.
As per Claim 35, it recites the limitation “the multiple rooms” in line 2-3 lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 33 recites “room shapes for one or more rooms of the building” which lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 33 recites “room shapes for one or more rooms of the building” and does not recite multiple rooms.
As per Claim 35, it recites the limitation “include extending” in line 8 which would be better as “includes extending”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per Claim 1, it recites the limitation “based at least in part on combining…”, “based at least in part on the determined associated GPS …” and “based at least in part on the determined positions”; “based at least in part” is indefinite and vague because there is no other alternative feature claimed for “least in part” alternative limitation. To overcome the rejection, it is recommended to delete “at least in part”.
As per Claim 2, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 15, 17, 19, 21, 28, 29, 33, they recite the limitation “based at least in part” which is indefinite and vague because there is no other alternative feature claimed for “least in part” alternative limitation. To overcome the rejection, it is recommended to delete “at least in part”.
Double Patenting
4. Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/243,652 (US 2025/0190640 A1) in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1) and Bailiang (US 2014/0253538 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
As per Claim 1 of the instant invention, '640 claim 1 does not recite “determining, based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; that the map is presented as part of a graphical user interface (GUI); fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying; or that the overlaid visual representation includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms” as is now claimed in the instant application; however, it could still constitute an obvious variation in view of Li and Bailiang. Li teaches fitting the exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying ([0036], [0084) and Bailiang teaches determining, based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building ([0018], [0042) and presenting the map, with the floor plan drawn inside the building representation, as part of a GUI ([0031]).
The instant Invention
Co-pending Application 18/243,652
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining, by one or more computing devices during an acquisition session for a house that has multiple rooms, and for each of the multiple rooms:
a first panorama image captured by a camera device that is moved by a first user and that lacks any GPS (global positioning system) receivers, the first panorama image captured at a first acquisition location in that room and having first visual data with 360 degrees of horizontal visual coverage showing walls of that room, and
second data concurrently captured by a mobile capture device that is moved independently from the camera device, the second data including multiple GPS location data points for multiple second capture locations in that room;
determining, by the one or more computing devices, a floor plan for the house with associated GPS location data based at least in part on combining the second data captured at the multiple second capture locations in each of the multiple rooms with information about that room determined from analysis of the first visual data of the first panorama image captured in that room, including:
analyzing, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, the first visual data of the first panorama image captured in that room to determine a three-dimensional (“3D”) room shape of that room that models at least some of the walls of that room as planar surfaces, and a position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room;
determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, a representative GPS location data point associated with the first acquisition location in that room, including identifying two or more candidate GPS location data points from the multiple GPS location data points captured in that room using capture times of the two or more candidate GPS location data points, and using the two or more candidate GPS location data points to produce the representative GPS location data point for the first acquisition location in that room;
generating, by the one or more computing devices, the floor plan for the house, including positioning the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms relative to each other, and determining a position in the floor plan, using a local coordinate system for the floor plan, of the first acquisition location in each of the multiple rooms;
determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shape of that room by combining the determined GPS location data for the first acquisition location in that room with the determined position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room; and
identifying, by the one or more computing devices, at least one exterior wall of the house represented on the floor plan, and using the GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms to determine associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall;
determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building;
determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; and
presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan, including overlaying the visual representation of the floor plan on the map at the determined positions and
fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying, and wherein the overlaid visual representation includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining, by one or more computing devices during an acquisition session for a house that has multiple rooms, and for each of the multiple rooms:
a first panorama image captured by a camera device that is moved by a first user and that lacks any GPS (global positioning system) receivers, the first panorama image captured at a first acquisition location in that room and having first visual data with 360 degrees of horizontal visual coverage showing walls of that room, and
second data concurrently captured by a mobile capture device that is moved independently from the camera device by a second user, the second data including multiple GPS location data points for multiple second capture locations in that room; determining, by the one or more computing devices, a floor plan for the house with associated GPS location data based at least in part on combining the second data captured at the multiple second capture locations in each of the multiple rooms with information about that room determined from analysis of the first visual data of the first panorama image captured in that room, including:
analyzing, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, the first visual data of the first panorama image captured in that room to determine a three-dimensional (“3D”) room shape of that room that models at least some of the walls of that room as planar surfaces, and a position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room;
determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, a representative GPS location data point associated with the first acquisition location in that room, including identifying two or more candidate GPS location data points from the multiple GPS location data points captured in that room using capture times of the two or more candidate GPS location data points, and using the two or more candidate GPS location data points to produce the representative GPS location data point for the first acquisition location in that room;
generating, by the one or more computing devices, the floor plan for the house, including positioning the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms relative to each other, and determining a position in the floor plan, using a local coordinate system for the floor plan, of the first acquisition location in each of the multiple rooms;
determining, by the one or more computing devices, a global transformation that maps data in a first data set to data in a second data set, the first data set including the positions in the floor plan of the first acquisition locations of the multiple rooms using the local coordinate system for the floor plan, and the second data set including the representative GPS location data points associated with the first acquisition locations;
determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shape of that room by using the global transformation to combine the determined GPS location data for the first acquisition location in that room with the determined position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room; and
identifying, by the one or more computing devices, at least one exterior wall of the house represented on the floor plan, and using the GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms to determine associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall; and
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein the determining of the GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shape for each of the multiple rooms includes, by the one or more computing devices and for each of at least some of the first acquisition locations, determining a revised representative GPS location data point for that first acquisition location based on the global transformation, and further includes extending GPS location data from each of one or more of the first acquisition locations to the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shape for the room in which that first acquisition location is positioned, wherein walls to which the GPS location data is extended include the at least one exterior wall.
displaying, by the one or more computing devices and using the associated GPS location for the at least one exterior wall of the floor plan, the generated floor plan for the house positioned on a map of an area that surrounds a property on which the house is located.
5. Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/243,652 (US 2025/0190640 A1) in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1) and Bailiang (US 2014/0253538 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons: As per claim 6 of the instant invention, '640 claims 5 and 7 do not determining, based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building, or that the visual representation is presented as part of a GUI and includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms. However, it could still constitute an obvious variation in view of Li and Bailiang.
6. Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 26, 28, and 29 of copending Application No. 18/243,652 (US 2025/0190640 A1) in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1) and Bailiang (US 2014/0253538 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons: As per Claim 11 of the instant invention '640 claims 26, 28, and 29 do not recite determining one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building, or that the presented visual representation includes data corresponding to the determined levels of detail. However, it could still constitute an obvious variation in view of Li and Bailiang.
7. Claim 28 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 12, 13, and 19 of copending Application No. 18/243,652 (US 2025/0190640 A1) in view of Impas (US 2021/0142564 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons: As per Claim 28 of the instant invention '640 claims 9, 12, 13, and 19 do not recite retrieving additional information about the building of multiple types, or a GUI in which the overlaid floor plan is in a first section and additional sections each include at least some additional information for a respective one of the multiple types. However, Impas teaches these elements ([0012], [0014]); therefore, it could still constitute an obvious variation in view of Impas.
8. Claim 33 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/243,652 (US 2025/0190640 A1) in view of Impas (US 2021/0142564 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons: As per Claim 33 of the instant invention '640 claims 5 and 7 do not recite second information about one or more external features on the property and outside of the building, determining a location on the property of each external feature, or presenting an additional visual representation of each external feature at its determined location. However, Impas teaches these elements ([0012], [0014]); therefore, it could still constitute an obvious variation in view of Impas ([0013], [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cier (US 11,252,329 B1) in view of Burgess (US 2002/0044690 A1), further in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1), further in view of Bailiang (US 8,928,657 B2).
As per Claim 1, Cier teaches a computer-implemented method (col. 1 lines 24-26; col. 43 line 14), comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computing devices during an acquisition session for a house that has multiple rooms, and for each of the multiple rooms: a first panorama image captured by a camera device that is moved by a first user (col. 3 lines 4-5 “captured by a camera device in a room of a house or other building”; col. 15 lines 31-32 “carrying one or more camera devices 186 to capture the target images and one or more separate mobile computing devices 185”: a user carries the camera device through the rooms of the house and captures a panorama at each acquisition location while a separate mobile computing device travels with it);
the first panorama image captured at a first acquisition location in that room and having first visual data with 360 degrees of horizontal visual coverage showing walls of that room (col. 10 lines 16-17 “360° of coverage along a horizontal plane and around a vertical axis”; col. 14 lines 46-47 “at multiple associated acquisition locations”: each panorama is taken at an acquisition location in its room with 360° horizontal coverage of the room);
second data concurrently captured by a mobile capture device that is moved independently from the camera device (col. 3 lines 14-16 “additional data acquired by a separate mobile computing device near the camera device”; col. 3 line 23 “data from one or more IMU, or inertial measurement unit, sensors of the mobile computing device”; col. 7 line 41 “concurrently with the acquisition of one or more target image(s)”: the separate mobile computing device acquires its own data while the camera device captures the panorama);
determining, by the one or more computing devices, a floor plan for the house with associated GPS location data based at least in part on combining the second data captured at the multiple second capture locations in each of the multiple rooms with information about that room determined from analysis of the first visual data of the first panorama image captured in that room, including: (col. 1 lines 24-26 “determine a location of an image of an interior of a building's room on a floor plan of the building based on a combination of acquired visual data from a camera device and additional acquired data from a separate mobile computing device”; col. 10 lines 43-44 “acquisition time; acquisition location, such as GPS coordinates or other indication of location”; col. 15 lines 53-54 “optionally a GPS receiver, and optionally other components”: the floor plan is determined from the camera device's visual data combined with the separate mobile computing device's data, whose acquisition metadata includes GPS coordinates);
analyzing, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, the first visual data of the first panorama image captured in that room to determine a three-dimensional (“3D”) room shape of that room that models at least some of the walls of that room as planar surfaces, and a position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room (col. 4 lines 6-7 “for the room enclosing the acquisition location”; col. 3 line 45 “estimated planar surfaces of walls and optionally the floor and/or ceiling”; col. 32 line 26 “determine a precise acquisition location of the target image”: the room enclosing each acquisition location is modelled as planar wall surfaces and the acquisition location is located within that room shape); and
generating, by the one or more computing devices, the floor plan for the house, including positioning the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms relative to each other, and determining a position in the floor plan, using a local coordinate system for the floor plan, of the first acquisition location in each of the multiple rooms (col. 11 lines 30-33 “positioning the multiple room shapes together to form a floor plan”; col. 1 lines 24-26 “determine a location of an image of an interior of a building's room on a floor plan of the building based on a combination of acquired visual data from a camera device and additional acquired data from a separate mobile computing device”: the room shapes are positioned together into the floor plan and each image's acquisition location is placed on that floor plan).
In particular, Cier teaches acquiring a 360° panorama image with a camera device carried by a user through the rooms of a house while a separate mobile computing device acquires additional data, determining a 3D room shape of planar walls for the room enclosing each acquisition location together with the position of the acquisition location in that room, connecting the room shapes into a floor plan on which each acquisition location is placed, and recording acquisition metadata including acquisition time and GPS coordinates for each acquisition location.
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly a camera device that is moved by a first user and that lacks any GPS (global positioning system) receivers; the second data including multiple GPS location data points for multiple second capture locations in that room; determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, a representative GPS location data point associated with the first acquisition location in that room, including identifying two or more candidate GPS location data points from the multiple GPS location data points captured in that room using capture times of the two or more candidate GPS location data points, and using the two or more candidate GPS location data points to produce the representative GPS location data point for the first acquisition location in that room; determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shape of that room by combining the determined GPS location data for the first acquisition location in that room with the determined position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room; identifying, by the one or more computing devices, at least one exterior wall of the house represented on the floor plan, and using the GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms to determine associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan, including overlaying the visual representation of the floor plan on the map at the determined positions; fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying; wherein the overlaid visual representation includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms.
Burgess teaches a camera device that is moved by a first user and that lacks any GPS (global positioning system) receivers ([0031] “The GPS receiver may be a commercially available GPS receiver or may be incorporated into the digital image recording device. In this regard, the user would also use a GPS receiver to collect geographic information in a GPS log during the time periods that images are recorded”; [0017] “No cable is required between the GPS receiver and the digital camera”: a commercially available GPS receiver separate from the camera logs the GPS fixes while the camera, which has no receiver of its own, records the images);
the second data including multiple GPS location data points for multiple second capture locations in that room ([0031] “The GPS receiver may be a commercially available GPS receiver or may be incorporated into the digital image recording device. In this regard, the user would also use a GPS receiver to collect geographic information in a GPS log during the time periods that images are recorded”; [0010] “a GPS receiver is used to record geographic and time information during the time period that images are recorded using a digital camera. After images are recorded, the digitally recorded images are time matched to the geographic information digitally recorded by the GPS receiver”: the separate receiver records a log of GPS fixes at successive positions during the time the images are recorded); and
determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, a representative GPS location data point associated with the first acquisition location in that room, including identifying two or more candidate GPS location data points from the multiple GPS location data points captured in that room using capture times of the two or more candidate GPS location data points, and using the two or more candidate GPS location data points to produce the representative GPS location data point for the first acquisition location in that room ([0010] “a GPS receiver is used to record geographic and time information during the time period that images are recorded using a digital camera. After images are recorded, the digitally recorded images are time matched to the geographic information digitally recorded by the GPS receiver”; [0010] “tagging them with the GPS epoch recorded closest in time to when the image was recorded”; [0014] “interpolating between GPS epochs (i.e. location indicators) in the GPS log file to extract a better position for an image that was taken at a time not exactly represented in the log file”: the two GPS epochs bracketing the image's capture time are selected by their times and interpolated to produce the image's position).
In particular, Burgess teaches recording images with a digital camera while a separate, cable-free GPS receiver logs position and time, then time-matching each image to the GPS log and assigning it a position derived from the logged epochs closest to its capture time, including by interpolating between those epochs.
Cier and Burgess are analogous art because they are both reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, assigning a geographic position to an image captured by a camera from location data recorded by a separate device carried with it (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Burgess into Cier's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a house from panorama images and data acquired by a separate mobile device in its rooms to provide a wireless operation in which no cable is required between the GPS receiver and the digital camera (Burgess: [0017]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Cier as modified by Burgess fails to teach explicitly determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shape of that room by combining the determined GPS location data for the first acquisition location in that room with the determined position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room; identifying, by the one or more computing devices, at least one exterior wall of the house represented on the floor plan, and using the GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms to determine associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building; fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying.
Li teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the multiple rooms, GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shape of that room by combining the determined GPS location data for the first acquisition location in that room with the determined position within that determined 3D room shape of the first acquisition location in that room ([0019] “optionally a GPS (or Global Positioning System) sensor or other position determination sensor”; [0084] “geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”; [0036] “a cost based on a shape alignment between a shape of combined rooms and an exterior contour of the structure”: the GPS coordinates captured by the mobile device are carried to the parts of the floor plan, the walls of the connected room shapes);
identifying, by the one or more computing devices, at least one exterior wall of the house represented on the floor plan, and using the GPS location data for the at least some walls of the determined 3D room shapes of the multiple rooms to determine associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall ([0084] “geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”; [0036] “a cost based on a shape alignment between a shape of combined rooms and an exterior contour of the structure”: the combined room shapes are aligned to the exterior contour of the house, so the exterior wall of the plan carries the GPS coordinates of the parts aligned to it);
determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined associated GPS location data for the at least one exterior wall, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building ([0084] “to optionally further align with other external information (e.g., satellite or other external images, including street-level images to provide a 'street view' of the building; neighborhood information, such as nearby street maps and/or points of interest; etc.)”: the GPS-referenced floor plan is aligned to satellite images and street maps of the area, which places it at positions on the map); and
fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying ([0036] “an exterior contour of a house and/or a location or alignment of windows and doors can be determined based on analysis of exterior images of the structure”; [0036] “a cost for combining rooms may be reduced as the shape of the combined rooms matches the exterior contour”: the exterior contour of the house is taken from exterior images and the combined room shapes are fitted to that contour).
In particular, Li teaches generating a floor plan from images captured in the rooms of a house by a mobile device that carries a GPS sensor, aligning the combined room shapes to the exterior contour of the house determined from exterior images, and associating a geographical location with the building and the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan so that it can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and nearby street maps.
Cier, Burgess, and Li are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, locating a floor plan generated from images captured inside a house on the geography of the house and its surroundings (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Li into Cier as modified by Burgess's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a house from panorama images and data acquired by a separate mobile device in its rooms to provide a wireless operation in which no cable is required between the GPS receiver and the digital camera (Burgess: [0017]) and to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Cier as modified by Burgess and Li fails to teach explicitly determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan, including overlaying the visual representation of the floor plan on the map at the determined positions; wherein the overlaid visual representation includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms.
Bailiang teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building (col. 9 lines 57-59 “numerous buildings at various levels of transparency with various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”; col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 4 lines 52-53 “For multi-story buildings, the indoor map data may specify internal features on a per-floor basis”: the amount of interior floor-map detail shown is chosen from the viewing distance and zoom, on a per-floor basis for multi-story buildings);
presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan, including overlaying the visual representation of the floor plan on the map at the determined positions (col. 6 line 56 “Indoor and outdoor map data are displayed within a same viewport”; col. 3 lines 19-20 “display an interior floor map of the one or more buildings inside the space defined by the 3D representations”: the interior floor map is drawn inside the building outline on the outdoor map in the same viewport); and
wherein the overlaid visual representation includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms (col. 4 lines 48-49 “Indoor map data may specify internal features of buildings such as the layout of internal walls or dividers”; col. 9 lines 57-59 “various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”: the interior floor map shows its internal walls at the detail level selected for the viewing distance).
In particular, Bailiang teaches displaying indoor and outdoor map data within the same viewport by drawing an interior floor map, including the layout of internal walls specified per floor, inside the outline of the building on the map, with the amount of interior detail increasing as a function of zoom and of the distance to the building.
Cier, Burgess, Li, and Bailiang are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, presenting the interior layout of a building together with the map of the area around it (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Bailiang into Cier as modified by Burgess and Li's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a house from panorama images and data acquired by a separate mobile device in its rooms to provide a wireless operation in which no cable is required between the GPS receiver and the digital camera (Burgess: [0017]) and to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide a display of indoor and outdoor map data within a same viewport whose interior detail increases as a function of zoom (Bailiang: col. 6 line 56; col. 9 line 4).This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 2, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the determining of the one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of the one or more stories of the building includes determining a size on the map at which the visual representation of the floor plan will be shown based on at least one of the determined positions on the map or a zoom level of the map, and selecting multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building based at least in part on the determined size.
Bailiang teaches wherein the determining of the one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of the one or more stories of the building includes determining a size on the map at which the visual representation of the floor plan will be shown based on at least one of the determined positions on the map or a zoom level of the map, and selecting multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building based at least in part on the determined size (col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 9 lines 57-59 “various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”; col. 3 lines 5-6 “outlines of buildings, which may be displayed to scale with the map”: the building is drawn to scale at the current zoom, and the interior detail level is selected from that zoom-dependent size).
As per Claim 3, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the multiple levels of detail include two or more of interior walls of the floor plan, or one or more types of appliances at indicated positions within the interior walls, or one or more types of fixtures at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of built-in structural elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of installed elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of furniture at indicated positions within the interior walls.
Bailiang teaches wherein the multiple levels of detail include two or more of interior walls of the floor plan, or one or more types of appliances at indicated positions within the interior walls, or one or more types of fixtures at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of built-in structural elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of installed elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of furniture at indicated positions within the interior walls (col. 4 lines 48-49 “the layout of internal walls or dividers”; col. 4 line 52 “locations of elevators, escalators, restrooms”: interior walls and installed elements at indicated positions).
10. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cier (US 11,252,329 B1) in view of Burgess (US 2002/0044690 A1), in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1) and Bailiang (US 8,928,657 B2), further in view of Impas (US 2021/0142564 A1).
Cier as modified by Burgess, Li, and Bailiang teaches most all the instant invention as applied to claims 1-3 above.
As per Claim 4, Cier teaches wherein the building has multiple stories (col. 14 lines 9-11 “multiple associated sub-floor plans for different stories or levels that are interlinked”; col. 23 line 51 “information for some or all different floors may be displayed simultaneously”: the building's floor plan has interlinked per-story sub-floor plans that can be displayed together).
However, Cier as modified by Burgess, Li, and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the method further comprises at least one of: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on each of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes information for only a single story of the multiple stories; or receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on a selected one story of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes an additional room shape of at least one additional room on an additional story of the multiple stories that is different from the selected one story.
Impas teaches wherein the method further comprises at least one of: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on each of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes information for only a single story of the multiple stories; or receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on a selected one story of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes an additional room shape of at least one additional room on an additional story of the multiple stories that is different from the selected one story ([0039] “an additional user-selectable control 218b that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown, with the house in this example having an additional basement floor accessible via the stairs”; [0023] “multiple associated sub floor models or maps for different stories or levels that are interlinked”: operating the floor-selection control after the floor plan is shown updates the display to the selected single floor).
In particular, Impas teaches presenting a GUI on a client device in which a primary pane shows a computer model of a building's interior as a floor plan and secondary panes show other types of information about the same area, with user-selectable controls that choose which floor of the house is shown and overlaid visual indicators of direction and of the surroundings of the building.
Cier, Burgess, Li, Bailiang, and Impas are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, presenting a floor plan of a building together with other information about the building and its surroundings in a graphical user interface (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Impas into Cier as modified by Burgess, Li, and Bailiang's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a house from panorama images and data acquired by a separate mobile device in its rooms to provide a wireless operation in which no cable is required between the GPS receiver and the digital camera (Burgess: [0017]) and to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide a display of indoor and outdoor map data within a same viewport whose interior detail increases as a function of zoom (Bailiang: col. 6 line 56; col. 9 line 4) and to provide a user-selectable control that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown (Impas: [0039]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 5, Cier as modified by Bailiang teaches wherein the one or more user interactions include changing a zoom level of the map, and the updating of the presented map is performed based at least in part on the changed zoom level of the map (Bailiang: col. 4 line 24 “the user may change the zoom level, pan across the map”; col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 3 lines 25-26 “may display a default interior floor map. The default floor may depend on the type of building”: zooming in on the building brings up the interior floor map of the default single floor, so the single story is selected from the changed zoom level).
11. Claims 6-8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cier (US 11,252,329 B1) in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1), further in view of Bailiang (US 8,928,657 B2).
As per Claim 6, Cier teaches a computer-implemented method (col. 1 lines 24-26; col. 43 line 14), comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computing devices, a floor plan for a building with multiple rooms and information about a plurality of GPS (global positioning system) location data points captured during traversal of an interior of the multiple rooms (col. 8 line 32 “travel path of the mobile computing device in multiple rooms”; col. 10 lines 43-44 “acquisition time; acquisition location, such as GPS coordinates or other indication of location”; col. 15 lines 53-54 “optionally a GPS receiver, and optionally other components”: the mobile computing device that travels through the rooms records acquisition metadata including GPS coordinates at each acquisition location); and
the floor plan including room shapes of the multiple rooms positioned relative to each other (col. 11 lines 30-33 “positioning the multiple room shapes together to form a floor plan”; col. 11 line 33 “connecting the various room shapes”: the room shapes are connected into the floor plan).
In particular, Cier teaches generating a floor plan by positioning and connecting the room shapes of the rooms of a building determined from images captured by a camera device, while a separate mobile computing device travels through the rooms and records acquisition metadata including acquisition time and GPS coordinates for each acquisition location, and determining the location of each image on the floor plan.
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the plurality of GPS location data points, one or more GPS location data points for one or more locations on the floor plan corresponding to at least one external wall of the building, including extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the multiple rooms to the at least one external wall of the building; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined one or more GPS location data points for the one or more locations on the floor plan, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan that is overlaid on the map at the determined positions and that includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms.
Li teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the plurality of GPS location data points, one or more GPS location data points for one or more locations on the floor plan corresponding to at least one external wall of the building, including extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the multiple rooms to the at least one external wall of the building ([0019] “optionally a GPS (or Global Positioning System) sensor or other position determination sensor”; [0084] “geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”; [0036] “a cost based on a shape alignment between a shape of combined rooms and an exterior contour of the structure”: the GPS coordinates captured by the mobile device inside the rooms are carried to the parts of the generated floor plan, whose combined room shapes are fitted to the exterior contour of the house); and
determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined one or more GPS location data points for the one or more locations on the floor plan, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building ([0084] “to optionally further align with other external information (e.g., satellite or other external images, including street-level images to provide a 'street view' of the building; neighborhood information, such as nearby street maps and/or points of interest; etc.)”: the GPS-referenced floor plan is aligned to satellite images and street maps of the area, which places it at positions on the map).
In particular, Li teaches generating a floor plan from images captured in the rooms of a house by a mobile device that carries a GPS sensor, aligning the combined room shapes to the exterior contour of the house determined from exterior images, and associating a geographical location with the building and the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan so that it can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and nearby street maps.
Cier and Li are analogous art because they are both reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, locating a floor plan generated from images captured inside a house on the geography of the house and its surroundings (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Li into Cier's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a building from images and location data acquired in its rooms to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Cier as modified by Li fails to teach explicitly determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan that is overlaid on the map at the determined positions and that includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms.
Bailiang teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building (col. 9 lines 57-59 “numerous buildings at various levels of transparency with various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”; col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 4 lines 52-53 “For multi-story buildings, the indoor map data may specify internal features on a per-floor basis”: the amount of interior floor-map detail shown is chosen from the viewing distance and zoom, on a per-floor basis for multi-story buildings); and
presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan that is overlaid on the map at the determined positions and that includes visual indications for the interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms (col. 6 line 56 “Indoor and outdoor map data are displayed within a same viewport”; col. 3 lines 19-20 “display an interior floor map of the one or more buildings inside the space defined by the 3D representations”; col. 4 lines 48-49 “Indoor map data may specify internal features of buildings such as the layout of internal walls or dividers”: the interior floor map, with its internal walls, is drawn inside the building outline on the outdoor map in the same viewport).
In particular, Bailiang teaches displaying indoor and outdoor map data within the same viewport by drawing an interior floor map, including the layout of internal walls specified per floor, inside the outline of the building on the map, with the amount of interior detail increasing as a function of zoom and of the distance to the building.
Cier, Li, and Bailiang are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, presenting the interior layout of a building together with the map of the area around it (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Bailiang into Cier as modified by Li's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a building from images and location data acquired in its rooms to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide a display of indoor and outdoor map data within a same viewport whose interior detail increases as a function of zoom (Bailiang: col. 6 line 56; col. 9 line 4). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 7, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the determining of the one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of the one or more stories of the building includes determining a size on the map at which the visual representation of the floor plan will be shown based on at least one of the determined positions on the map or a zoom level of the map, and selecting multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building based at least in part on the determined size.
Bailiang teaches wherein the determining of the one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of the one or more stories of the building includes determining a size on the map at which the visual representation of the floor plan will be shown based on at least one of the determined positions on the map or a zoom level of the map, and selecting multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building based at least in part on the determined size (col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 9 lines 57-59 “various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”; col. 3 lines 5-6 “outlines of buildings, which may be displayed to scale with the map”: the building is drawn to scale at the current zoom, and the interior detail level is selected from that zoom-dependent size).
As per Claim 8, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the multiple levels of detail include two or more of interior walls of the floor plan, or one or more types of appliances at indicated positions within the interior walls, or one or more types of fixtures at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of built-in structural elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of installed elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of furniture at indicated positions within the interior walls; wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation includes overlaying the visual representation of the floor plan on the map at the determined positions; wherein the overlaid visual representation includes visual indications for interior portions of the building with the multiple levels of detail.
Bailiang teaches wherein the multiple levels of detail include two or more of interior walls of the floor plan, or one or more types of appliances at indicated positions within the interior walls, or one or more types of fixtures at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of built-in structural elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of installed elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of furniture at indicated positions within the interior walls (col. 4 lines 48-49 “the layout of internal walls or dividers”; col. 4 line 52 “locations of elevators, escalators, restrooms”: interior walls and installed elements at indicated positions);
wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation includes overlaying the visual representation of the floor plan on the map at the determined positions (col. 6 line 56 “Indoor and outdoor map data are displayed within a same viewport”; col. 3 lines 19-20 “display an interior floor map of the one or more buildings inside the space defined by the 3D representations”: the interior floor map is drawn inside the building outline on the outdoor map in the same viewport); and
wherein the overlaid visual representation includes visual indications for interior portions of the building with the multiple levels of detail (col. 9 lines 57-59 “various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”: the interior floor map is drawn at the detail level selected for the viewing distance).
However, Cier as modified by Bailiang fails to teach explicitly fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying.
Li teaches fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the floor plan to an existing visual representation of the building on the map before the overlaying ([0036] “an exterior contour of a house and/or a location or alignment of windows and doors can be determined based on analysis of exterior images of the structure”; [0036] “a cost for combining rooms may be reduced as the shape of the combined rooms matches the exterior contour”: the exterior contour of the house is taken from exterior images and the combined room shapes are fitted to that contour).
As per Claim 11, Cier teaches a system (col. 34 lines 61-63), comprising:
one or more hardware processors of one or more computing devices (col. 34 lines 61-63 “one or more hardware central processing units (“CPU”) or other hardware processors 305”: the server computing system's hardware processors);
one or more memories with stored instructions that, when executed by at least one of the one or more hardware processors, cause at least one of the one or more computing devices to perform automated operations including at least: (col. 34 line 63 “storage 320, and memory 330”; col. 34 lines 61-63 “one or more hardware central processing units (“CPU”) or other hardware processors 305”: memory holding the instructions the hardware processors execute to perform the floor-plan generation);
obtaining, for a building with multiple rooms, at least a partial floor plan for the building that includes room shapes for one or more rooms of the multiple rooms, and information about a plurality of absolute location data points captured in the one or more rooms (col. 11 lines 30-33 “positioning the multiple room shapes together to form a floor plan”; col. 10 lines 43-44 “acquisition location, such as GPS coordinates or other indication of location”; col. 15 lines 53-54 “optionally a GPS receiver, and optionally other components”; col. 14 lines 46-47 “at multiple associated acquisition locations”: GPS coordinates captured at the acquisition locations in the rooms are absolute location data points); and
determining, based at least in part on the plurality of absolute location data points, one or more absolute location data points for one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan (col. 1 lines 24-26 “determine a location of an image of an interior of a building's room on a floor plan of the building based on a combination of acquired visual data from a camera device and additional acquired data from a separate mobile computing device”; col. 32 line 26 “determine a precise acquisition location of the target image”: each acquisition location on the floor plan carries the GPS coordinates captured there).
In particular, Cier teaches a server computing system with hardware processors and memory that generates a floor plan by positioning and connecting room shapes determined from images captured in the rooms of a building, records acquisition metadata including GPS coordinates for each acquisition location, and determines the location of each image on the floor plan.
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly determining, based at least in part on the determined one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan, positions that correspond to the at least partial floor plan on a map of an area including the building; determining one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; presenting the map with a visual representation of the at least partial floor plan that is shown at the determined positions on the map and that includes data corresponding to the determined one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building.
Li teaches determining, based at least in part on the determined one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan, positions that correspond to the at least partial floor plan on a map of an area including the building ([0084] “geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”; [0084] “to optionally further align with other external information (e.g., satellite or other external images, including street-level images to provide a 'street view' of the building; neighborhood information, such as nearby street maps and/or points of interest; etc.)”: the GPS-referenced floor plan is aligned to satellite images and street maps of the area, which places it at positions on the map).
In particular, Li teaches generating a floor plan from images captured in the rooms of a house by a mobile device that carries a GPS sensor, aligning the combined room shapes to the exterior contour of the house determined from exterior images, and associating a geographical location with the building and the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan so that it can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and nearby street maps.
Cier and Li are analogous art because they are both reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, locating a floor plan generated from images captured inside a house on the geography of the house and its surroundings (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Li into Cier's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a building from images and location data acquired in its rooms to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Cier as modified by Li fails to teach explicitly determining one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building; presenting the map with a visual representation of the at least partial floor plan that is shown at the determined positions on the map and that includes data corresponding to the determined one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building.
Bailiang teaches determining one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building (col. 9 lines 57-59 “various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”; col. 4 lines 52-53 “For multi-story buildings, the indoor map data may specify internal features on a per-floor basis”: the amount of interior floor-map detail follows the viewing distance, on a per-floor basis); and
presenting the map with a visual representation of the at least partial floor plan that is shown at the determined positions on the map and that includes data corresponding to the determined one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building (col. 6 line 56 “Indoor and outdoor map data are displayed within a same viewport”; col. 3 lines 19-20 “display an interior floor map of the one or more buildings inside the space defined by the 3D representations”: the interior floor map is drawn with the outdoor map in the same viewport at the selected detail).
In particular, Bailiang teaches displaying indoor and outdoor map data within the same viewport by drawing an interior floor map, including the layout of internal walls specified per floor, inside the outline of the building on the map, with the amount of interior detail increasing as a function of zoom and of the distance to the building.
Cier, Li, and Bailiang are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, presenting the interior layout of a building together with the map of the area around it (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Bailiang into Cier as modified by Li's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a building from images and location data acquired in its rooms to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide a display of indoor and outdoor map data within a same viewport whose interior detail increases as a function of zoom (Bailiang: col. 6 line 56; col. 9 line 4). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 12, Cier teaches wherein the absolute location data points include GPS (global positioning system) data points captured during traversal of an interior of the one or more rooms (col. 8 line 32 “travel path of the mobile computing device in multiple rooms”; col. 10 lines 43-44 “acquisition location, such as GPS coordinates or other indication of location”: GPS coordinates are recorded along the mobile computing device's travel path through the rooms).
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan correspond to one or more external walls of the building; wherein the determining of the one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan include extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the one or more rooms to the one or more external walls of the building.
Li teaches wherein the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan correspond to one or more external walls of the building ([0084] “geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”; [0036] “a cost based on a shape alignment between a shape of combined rooms and an exterior contour of the structure”: the parts of the floor plan carrying GPS coordinates include the combined room shapes fitted to the exterior contour of the building); and
wherein the determining of the one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan include extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the one or more rooms to the one or more external walls of the building ([0019] “optionally a GPS (or Global Positioning System) sensor or other position determination sensor”; [0084] “geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”; [0036] “a cost based on a shape alignment between a shape of combined rooms and an exterior contour of the structure”: GPS coordinates captured inside the rooms are carried to the parts of the floor plan fitted to the exterior contour).
As per Claim 13, Cier teaches wherein the at least partial floor plan includes multiple room shapes of two or more of the multiple rooms positioned relative to each other (col. 11 lines 30-33 “positioning the multiple room shapes together to form a floor plan”: the room shapes are positioned together to form the floor plan).
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the presenting of the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan includes presenting, in a graphical user interface, the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan overlaid on the map and with visual indications of interior walls of the two or more rooms.
Bailiang teaches wherein the presenting of the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan includes presenting, in a graphical user interface, the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan overlaid on the map and with visual indications of interior walls of the two or more rooms (col. 6 line 56 “Indoor and outdoor map data are displayed within a same viewport”; col. 4 lines 48-49 “the layout of internal walls or dividers”: the interior map with its internal walls is shown with the outdoor map in one viewport).
As per Claim 14, Cier teaches wherein the obtaining of the at least partial floor plan and the information about the plurality of absolute location data points includes: obtaining a plurality of images captured in the two or more rooms of the building, including, for each of the one or two or more rooms, one or more images of the plurality of images that are acquired by a camera device at one or more first acquisition locations in that room and have visual coverage of at least some walls of that room, and wherein multiple absolute location data points of the plurality of absolute location data points are captured at multiple second capture locations in that room by a mobile capture device that is movable independently from the camera device (col. 3 lines 4-5 “captured by a camera device in a room of a house or other building”; col. 3 lines 14-16 “additional data acquired by a separate mobile computing device near the camera device”; col. 10 lines 43-44 “acquisition location, such as GPS coordinates or other indication of location”; col. 15 lines 53-54 “optionally a GPS receiver, and optionally other components”; col. 14 lines 46-47 “at multiple associated acquisition locations”: the camera device captures the images in the rooms while the separate mobile computing device records GPS coordinates at the acquisition locations);
determining, for each of the two or more rooms and based on the visual data of the one or more images captured in that room, a room shape of that room including the at least some of the walls of that room (col. 4 lines 6-7 “for the room enclosing the acquisition location”; col. 3 line 45 “estimated planar surfaces of walls and optionally the floor and/or ceiling”: the walls of the room enclosing the acquisition location are estimated as planar surfaces from the image);
generating the at least partial floor plan by positioning the room shapes of the two or more rooms relative to each other (col. 11 lines 30-33 “positioning the multiple room shapes together to form a floor plan”: the room shapes are positioned together to form the floor plan).
As per Claim 15, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the determining of the one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of the one or more stories of the building includes determining a size on the map at which the visual representation of the floor plan will be shown based on at least one of the determined positions on the map or a zoom level of the map, and selecting multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building based at least in part on the determined size.
Bailiang teaches wherein the determining of the one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of the one or more stories of the building includes determining a size on the map at which the visual representation of the floor plan will be shown based on at least one of the determined positions on the map or a zoom level of the map, and selecting multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building based at least in part on the determined size (col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 9 lines 57-59 “various levels of detail of interior floor maps depending on the distance from the virtual camera to the building”; col. 3 lines 5-6 “outlines of buildings, which may be displayed to scale with the map”: the building is drawn to scale at the current zoom, and the interior detail level is selected from that zoom-dependent size).
As per Claim 16, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the multiple levels of detail include two or more of interior walls of the at least partial floor plan, or one or more types of appliances at indicated positions within the interior walls, or one or more types of fixtures at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of built-in structural elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of installed elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of furniture at indicated positions within the interior walls.
Bailiang teaches wherein the multiple levels of detail include two or more of interior walls of the at least partial floor plan, or one or more types of appliances at indicated positions within the interior walls, or one or more types of fixtures at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of built-in structural elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of installed elements at indicated positions on or within the interior walls, or one or more types of furniture at indicated positions within the interior walls (col. 4 lines 48-49 “the layout of internal walls or dividers”; col. 4 line 52 “locations of elevators, escalators, restrooms”: interior walls and installed elements at indicated positions).
12. Claims 9, 10, and 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cier (US 11,252,329 B1) in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1) and Bailiang (US 8,928,657 B2), further in view of Impas (US 2021/0142564 A1).
Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches most all the instant invention as applied to claims 6-8 and 11-16 above.
As per Claim 9, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the building has multiple stories (Cier: col. 14 lines 9-11 “multiple associated sub-floor plans for different stories or levels that are interlinked”; col. 23 line 51 “information for some or all different floors may be displayed simultaneously”: the building's floor plan has interlinked per-story sub-floor plans that can be displayed together).
However, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the method further comprises at least one of: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on each of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes information for only a single story of the multiple stories; or receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on a selected one story of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes an additional room shape of at least one additional room on an additional story of the multiple stories that is different from the selected one story.
Impas teaches wherein the method further comprises at least one of: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on each of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes information for only a single story of the multiple stories; or receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan, one or more user interactions with the presented map, the visual representation including a room shape of at least one room on a selected one story of the multiple stories, and updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the floor plan that includes an additional room shape of at least one additional room on an additional story of the multiple stories that is different from the selected one story ([0039] “an additional user-selectable control 218b that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown, with the house in this example having an additional basement floor accessible via the stairs”; [0023] “multiple associated sub floor models or maps for different stories or levels that are interlinked”: operating the floor-selection control after the floor plan is shown updates the display to the selected single floor).
In particular, Impas teaches presenting a GUI on a client device in which a primary pane shows a computer model of a building's interior as a floor plan and secondary panes show other types of information about the same area, with user-selectable controls that choose which floor of the house is shown and overlaid visual indicators of direction and of the surroundings of the building.
Cier, Li, Bailiang, and Impas are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, presenting a floor plan of a building together with other information about the building and its surroundings in a graphical user interface (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Impas into Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang's invention for the purpose of generating a floor plan of a building from images and location data acquired in its rooms to provide a geographical location for the building and the parts of its floor plan that can be aligned with satellite images, street-level images and the nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide a display of indoor and outdoor map data within a same viewport whose interior detail increases as a function of zoom (Bailiang: col. 6 line 56; col. 9 line 4) and to provide a user-selectable control that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown (Impas: [0039]).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 10, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the one or more user interactions include changing a zoom level of the map, and the updating of the presented map is performed based at least in part on the changed zoom level of the map (Bailiang: col. 4 line 24 “the user may change the zoom level, pan across the map”; col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 3 lines 25-26 “may display a default interior floor map. The default floor may depend on the type of building”: zooming in on the building brings up the interior floor map of the default single floor, so the single story is selected from the changed zoom level).
As per Claim 17, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the selecting of the multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building is further based at least in part on information specific to a user to whom the map is presented.
Impas teaches wherein the selecting of the multiple levels of detail to display for the interior portions of the building is further based at least in part on information specific to a user to whom the map is presented ([0044] “updating the displayed floor plan of the house to visually show information about spaces of the house that are likely to be of most interest to the end user”; [0044] “via a user-specific personalized visual layer that is overlaid on the floor plan”; [0044] “based on tracking a quantity of time and/or a length of time that the end user has previously spent viewing different parts of this house”: the spaces of the floor plan shown with added detail are selected from information specific to the end user).
As per Claim 18, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the building has multiple stories (Cier: col. 14 lines 9-11 “multiple associated sub-floor plans for different stories or levels that are interlinked”; col. 23 line 51 “information for some or all different floors may be displayed simultaneously”: the building's floor plan has interlinked per-story sub-floor plans that can be displayed together), wherein the visual presentation of the at least partial floor plan includes a room shape of at least one room on each of the multiple stories (Cier: col. 23 line 51 “information for some or all different floors may be displayed simultaneously”; col. 14 lines 9-11 “multiple associated sub-floor plans for different stories or levels that are interlinked”: the per-story sub-floor plans are displayed together, one room shape per story).
However, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the stored instructions include software instructions that, when executed by the one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform further automated operations including: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan including the room shape of the at least one room on each of the multiple stories, one or more user interactions with the presented map; updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the at least partial floor plan that includes information for only a single story of the multiple stories.
Impas teaches wherein the stored instructions include software instructions that, when executed by the one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform further automated operations including: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan including the room shape of the at least one room on each of the multiple stories, one or more user interactions with the presented map ([0039] “an additional user-selectable control 218b that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown, with the house in this example having an additional basement floor accessible via the stairs”: the end user operates the floor-selection control after the floor plan is shown); and
updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the at least partial floor plan that includes information for only a single story of the multiple stories ([0039] “an additional user-selectable control 218b that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown, with the house in this example having an additional basement floor accessible via the stairs”; [0023] “multiple associated sub floor models or maps for different stories or levels that are interlinked”: selecting a floor with the control updates the display to that single floor of the interlinked per-story models).
As per Claim 19, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the one or more user interactions include changing a zoom level of the map, and the updating of the presented map includes selecting the single story based at least in part on the changed zoom level of the map (Bailiang: col. 4 line 24 “the user may change the zoom level, pan across the map”; col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 3 lines 25-26 “may display a default interior floor map. The default floor may depend on the type of building”: zooming in on the building brings up the interior floor map of the default single floor, so the single story is selected from the changed zoom level).
As per Claim 20, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the building has multiple stories (Cier: col. 14 lines 9-11 “multiple associated sub-floor plans for different stories or levels that are interlinked”; col. 23 line 51 “information for some or all different floors may be displayed simultaneously”: the building's floor plan has interlinked per-story sub-floor plans that can be displayed together),
wherein the determining of the one or more levels of detail for the interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of the one or more stories of the building further includes selecting one of the multiple stories (Bailiang: col. 3 lines 25-26 “may display a default interior floor map. The default floor may depend on the type of building”: the default floor is the story selected for the interior floor map),
wherein the visual presentation of the at least partial floor plan includes a room shape of at least one room on the selected one story (Bailiang: col. 4 lines 52-53 “For multi-story buildings, the indoor map data may specify internal features on a per-floor basis”; col. 3 lines 25-26 “may display a default interior floor map. The default floor may depend on the type of building”: the interior floor map of the default floor shows that story's rooms).
However, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the automated operations further include: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan including the room shape of the at least one room on the selected one story, one or more user interactions with the presented map; updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the at least partial floor plan that includes an additional room shape of at least one additional room on an additional story of the multiple stories that is different from the selected one story.
Impas teaches wherein the automated operations further include: receiving, after the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan including the room shape of the at least one room on the selected one story, one or more user interactions with the presented map ([0039] “an additional user-selectable control 218b that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown, with the house in this example having an additional basement floor accessible via the stairs”: the end user operates the floor-selection control after the floor plan of the selected story is shown); and
updating, in response to the one or more user interactions, the presented map to show an updated visual presentation of the at least partial floor plan that includes an additional room shape of at least one additional room on an additional story of the multiple stories that is different from the selected one story ([0039] “an additional user-selectable control 218b that allows the end user to select which floor of the house is shown, with the house in this example having an additional basement floor accessible via the stairs”; [0023] “multiple associated sub floor models or maps for different stories or levels that are interlinked”: selecting the basement floor adds the display of that other story's rooms).
As per Claim 21, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the one or more user interactions include changing a zoom level of the map, and the updating of the presented map includes determining to add visual information for the additional story in combination with visual information for the selected one story based at least in part on the changed zoom level of the map (Bailiang: col. 4 line 24 “the user may change the zoom level, pan across the map”; col. 9 line 4 “increase a interior map detail as a function of zoom”; col. 4 lines 52-53 “For multi-story buildings, the indoor map data may specify internal features on a per-floor basis”: the interior detail added as the zoom increases is specified per floor, so further stories' information joins the selected one as the zoom changes).
As per Claim 22, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the automated operations further include, before the presenting of the map with the visual representation, gathering data about surroundings of the building, and generating the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan to include at least some of the gathered data as part of the visual representation.
Impas teaches wherein the automated operations further include, before the presenting of the map with the visual representation, gathering data about surroundings of the building, and generating the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan to include at least some of the gathered data as part of the visual representation ([0040] “the end user has selected to display information about the surroundings of the building, which in this example includes a street to the west of the house, with two additional houses across the street being shown, as well as additional information on the house's property that includes two trees, sidewalks, a driveway and garage, and bushes or other shrubs on the south side of the house”; [0013] “other external information from an environment surrounding the building, such as about nearby buildings and/or vegetation (e.g., as identified from satellite or other external images of the building, such as taken from the building and/or from a nearby street or yard”: the street, neighbouring houses, trees and driveway identified from external images are gathered and drawn as part of the displayed representation).
As per Claim 23, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the automated operations further include, before the presenting of the map with the visual representation, gathering data about surroundings of the building, and wherein the presenting of the map includes overlaying additional information on the map proximate to the visual representation to provide visual indications of at least some of the gathered data in a manner relative to the presented visual representation on the map.
Impas teaches wherein the automated operations further include, before the presenting of the map with the visual representation, gathering data about surroundings of the building, and wherein the presenting of the map includes overlaying additional information on the map proximate to the visual representation to provide visual indications of at least some of the gathered data in a manner relative to the presented visual representation on the map ([0013] “whether by displaying the actual images or by generating and displaying visual representations of particular external elements that are identified and modeled from images or other external information sources”; [0040] “bushes or other shrubs on the south side of the house (as indicated by the visual indicator 109g)”; [0040] “a deck to the east of the house”: the surrounding elements are shown at their positions relative to the displayed house).
As per Claim 24, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the automated operations further include, before the presenting of the map with the visual representation, obtaining information about one or more additional buildings located proximate to the building, and wherein at least one of the determining of the positions on the map or the presenting of the map with the visual representation includes positioning the visual representation relative to locations on the map of the one or more additional buildings.
Impas teaches wherein the automated operations further include, before the presenting of the map with the visual representation, obtaining information about one or more additional buildings located proximate to the building, and wherein at least one of the determining of the positions on the map or the presenting of the map with the visual representation includes positioning the visual representation relative to locations on the map of the one or more additional buildings ([0040] “a street to the west of the house, with two additional houses across the street being shown”; [0013] “about nearby buildings and/or vegetation”: the neighbouring houses across the street are shown at their map locations relative to the house).
As per Claim 25, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation includes overlaying the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan on the map using the determined positions on the map (Bailiang: col. 6 line 56 “Indoor and outdoor map data are displayed within a same viewport”; col. 3 lines 19-20 “display an interior floor map of the one or more buildings inside the space defined by the 3D representations”: the interior floor map is drawn inside the building outline on the outdoor map in the same viewport),
transmitting the map with the overlaid visual representation to a client device for display (Cier: col. 43 line 14 “floor plan and/or 3D computer model floor plan for display on one or more client devices”: the floor plan is delivered to the client device for display).
However, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly overlaying at least one additional visual indication of at least one geographical direction; the visual representation being at least one of a two-dimensional floor plan model or a three-dimensional floor plan model; the area of the map being larger than a property on which the building is located.
Impas teaches overlaying at least one additional visual indication of at least one geographical direction ([0030] “with the direction of the image being in the northeast direction (as shown by visual indicator 109a overlaid on the primary pane, as well as the visual indicator 219a shown in secondary pane 209)”; [0032] “the computer model is overlaid in this example with the visual indicator 219a to illustrate where the image shown in the primary pane was captured, and the orientation of the camera that captured the image”; [0039] “to have a top of the primary pane correspond to magnetic or geographic north”: the overlaid direction indicator and the north-up orientation mark a geographical direction on the display);
the visual representation being at least one of a two-dimensional floor plan model or a three-dimensional floor plan model ([0012] “the computer model of the building's interior may be a 3D (three-dimensional) or 2.5D (two and a half dimensional) representation”: the floor plan model is a 3D or 2.5D representation); and
the area of the map being larger than a property on which the building is located ([0040] “a street to the west of the house, with two additional houses across the street being shown”: the displayed map area extends across the street to neighbouring buildings).
As per Claim 26, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang teaches wherein the map includes an existing visual representation of the building before the overlaying of the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan (Bailiang: col. 3 lines 5-6 “outlines of buildings, which may be displayed to scale with the map”; col. 3 lines 19-20 “display an interior floor map of the one or more buildings inside the space defined by the 3D representations”: the building outline is already drawn on the map before the interior floor map is placed inside it),
wherein the overlaying of the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan includes fitting exterior boundaries of the building on the at least partial floor plan to the existing visual representation of the building (Li: [0036] “an exterior contour of a house and/or a location or alignment of windows and doors can be determined based on analysis of exterior images of the structure”; [0036] “a cost for combining rooms may be reduced as the shape of the combined rooms matches the exterior contour”: the combined room shapes are fitted to the exterior contour of the building).
As per Claim 27, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly wherein the automated operations further include: obtaining information about one or more external objects that are on a property including the building and that are external to the building, and wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan includes displaying, for each of the one or more external objects, an additional visual representation of that external object at an additional position on the map corresponding to a location of that external object on the property.
Impas teaches wherein the automated operations further include: obtaining information about one or more external objects that are on a property including the building and that are external to the building, and wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan includes displaying, for each of the one or more external objects, an additional visual representation of that external object at an additional position on the map corresponding to a location of that external object on the property ([0040] “additional information on the house's property that includes two trees, sidewalks, a driveway and garage, and bushes or other shrubs on the south side of the house”; [0040] “a deck to the east of the house”; [0040] “The vegetation and surrounding buildings are shown in this example using simplified geometrical shapes”: trees, sidewalks, driveway, garage, shrubs and deck on the property are each drawn as a simplified shape at its position relative to the house).
13. Claims 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cier (US 11,252,329 B1) in view of Li (US 2022/0114291 A1), further in view of Bailiang (US 8,928,657 B2), further in view of Impas (US 2021/0142564 A1).
As per Claim 28, Cier teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored contents that cause one or more computing devices to perform automated operations including at least ([0095] “Some or all of the components, systems and data structures may also be stored (e.g., as software instructions or structured data) on a non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums”: the software instructions that configure the processors to perform the described techniques are stored on non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums):
obtaining, by one or more computing devices, a floor plan for a building with multiple rooms ([0109]: a floor plan of the multi-room building is created from the determined room shapes) and information about a plurality of GPS (global positioning system) location data points captured during traversal of the multiple rooms ([0030] “acquisition metadata regarding the capture of such panorama images may be obtained and used in various manners, such as data acquired from IMU sensors or other sensors of a mobile device as it is carried by a user or otherwise moved between acquisition locations”; [0038] “multiple panorama images are captured at a sequence of multiple acquisition locations 210 associated with the house 198 (e.g., the interior and exterior of the house)”: the acquisition metadata gathered as the mobile device is carried by the user between acquisition locations in or around the building may include GPS coordinates, the acquisition locations 210 of house 198 including locations in the interior of the house, so that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the metadata gathered as the device is carried between those interior locations is captured during traversal of the rooms), the floor plan including room shapes of the multiple rooms positioned relative to each other ([0053]: the estimated room shapes of the rooms are positioned relative to each other in the floor plan).
In particular, Cier teaches software instructions stored on non-transitory computer-readable media that obtain a floor plan of a multi-room building composed of room shapes positioned relative to each other, together with GPS-coordinate acquisition metadata gathered by a mobile device as it is carried by the user between the acquisition locations in the rooms.
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the plurality of GPS location data points, one or more GPS location data points for one or more locations on the floor plan corresponding to at least one external wall of the building; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined one or more GPS location data points for the one or more locations on the floor plan, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building; retrieving, by the one or more computing devices, additional information about the building of multiple types; presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan that is overlaid at the determined positions; in a first section of the GUI, and additional sections of the GUI that each includes at least some additional information for a respective one of the multiple types.
Li teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the plurality of GPS location data points, one or more GPS location data points for one or more locations on the floor plan corresponding to at least one external wall of the building (Li: [0019]; [0023]; [0084] “to determine a geographical alignment (e.g., with respect to true north or magnetic north) and/or geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”; [0036] “an exterior contour of a house and/or a location or alignment of windows and doors can be determined based on analysis of exterior images of the structure (e.g., images taken from the group, from the air, from satellites, etc.), and a cost for combining rooms may be reduced as the shape of the combined rooms matches the exterior contour”: the mobile image acquisition device moved through the rooms optionally includes a GPS sensor, and GPS coordinates are determined for the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan, whose combined room shapes are matched to the exterior contour of the house, the parts of the floor plan on the exterior contour being, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the external wall (i.e., the “external wall” as claimed) for which GPS coordinates are determined) Examiner's Note: Li's mobile image acquisition device, which is moved through the building interior to the acquisition locations in the rooms, optionally includes a GPS sensor (Li: [0019]; [0023]), Li determines the GPS coordinates of the building and of the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan (Li: [0084]), and the combined room shapes of that floor plan are matched to the exterior contour (Li: [0036]); under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the GPS coordinates of the floor plan are derived from the GPS data captured by that device inside the rooms, the floor plan positions its room shapes and the exterior contour in one coordinate frame, and determining the GPS coordinates of the parts of the floor plan lying on that contour through the common frame is determining, based at least in part on the captured GPS location data points, GPS location data points for the locations on the floor plan corresponding to the external wall; and
determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined one or more GPS location data points for the one or more locations on the floor plan, positions that correspond to the floor plan on a map of an area including the building (Li: [0084] “to optionally further align with other external information (e.g., satellite or other external images, including street-level images to provide a 'street view' of the building; neighborhood information, such as nearby street maps and/or points of interest; etc.)”: the floor plan, geographically located by the GPS coordinates determined for its parts, may be further aligned with satellite images and nearby street maps of the area around the building; aligning the located floor plan with a map of that area is, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining the positions on the map that correspond to the floor plan).
In particular, Li teaches determining a geographical location in latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates for the building and for corresponding parts of the generated floor plan, whose combined room shapes are fitted to the exterior contour of the house, and aligning the located floor plan with satellite images, street-level images, and nearby street maps.
Cier and Li are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, generating and presenting floor plans and other mapping information for a building from images and location data captured at the building (Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Li into Cier's invention for the purpose of determining the acquisition locations of images captured within a building and generating a floor plan of the building to provide a generated floor plan whose geographical location is determined with respect to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates and that is further aligned with other external information such as satellite images, street-level images, and nearby street maps (Li: [0084]).This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
However, Cier as modified by Li fails to teach explicitly presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan that is overlaid at the determined positions.
Bailiang teaches presenting, by the one or more computing devices and as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), the map with a visual representation of the floor plan that is overlaid at the determined positions (Bailiang: [0031] “An interior floor map 304 may be drawn inside the 3D space defined by the partially transparent 3D representation of the building 302.”; [0031] “partially transparent 3D representation of the building 302 and interior floor map 304 in general can overlay any other suitable type of a map”; [0031] “Indoor and outdoor map data are displayed within a same viewport in this example.”: the interior floor map, drawn inside the representation of the building at the building's position, overlays the digital map presented in the GUI).
In particular, Bailiang teaches displaying, on a digital map of a geographic region, an interior floor map of a building drawn inside the representation of the building at its map position, the interior floor map showing the internal wall layout with a level of detail set as a function of the zoom level or virtual camera distance and, for a multi-floor building, showing a selected floor.
Cier, Li, and Bailiang are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, generating and presenting floor plans and other mapping information for a building from images and location data captured at the building (Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Bailiang into Cier as modified by Li's invention for the purpose of determining the acquisition locations of images captured within a building and generating a floor plan of the building to provide a generated floor plan whose geographical location is determined with respect to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates and that is further aligned with other external information such as satellite images, street-level images, and nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide an intuitive, space-efficient, and aesthetically pleasing user interface for inspecting the internal features of a multi-story building located on a digital map of a geographic region (Bailiang: [0017]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
However, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly retrieving, by the one or more computing devices, additional information about the building of multiple types; in a first section of the GUI, and additional sections of the GUI that each includes at least some additional information for a respective one of the multiple types.
Impas teaches retrieving, by the one or more computing devices, additional information about the building of multiple types (Impas: [0012] “the types of presented information about the building interior may include panorama images (e.g., 360° panorama images with 360° of coverage around a vertical axis), 2D (two-dimensional) perspective photos and other images, videos, an interactive tour of inter-connected viewing/capture locations, and various other types of information”; [0013] “may have various forms in various embodiments, and may be acquired in various manners”: panorama images, perspective photos, videos, and an interactive tour are the multiple types of information about the building that are acquired for presentation); and
in a first section of the GUI, and additional sections of the GUI that each includes at least some additional information for a respective one of the multiple types (Impas: [0012] “a visual representation of a computer model of the building's interior with one or more first types of information (e.g., in a first pane of the GUI), and to simultaneously present other types of related information about the building interior (e.g., in one or more additional separate panes of the GUI)”; [0014] “presenting a GUI with multiple panes that are simultaneously displayed, and with each pane including information of a different type that are all related to a common location or area in the building interior”: the computer model of the building interior is presented in a first pane of the GUI (i.e., the “first section” as claimed) and the other types of related information are presented simultaneously in additional separate panes, each pane including information of a different type).
In particular, Impas teaches presenting, in a GUI on a client device, a computer model of a building's interior together with multiple other types of information about the building and its surroundings in coordinated panes, including a floor plan overlaid with a user-specific personalized layer and visual representations of the property's surroundings.
Cier, Li, Bailiang, and Impas are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, generating and presenting floor plans and other mapping information for a building from images and location data captured at the building (Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Impas into Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang's invention for the purpose of determining the acquisition locations of images captured within a building and generating a floor plan of the building to provide a generated floor plan whose geographical location is determined with respect to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates and that is further aligned with other external information such as satellite images, street-level images, and nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide an intuitive, space-efficient, and aesthetically pleasing user interface for inspecting the internal features of a multi-story building located on a digital map of a geographic region (Bailiang: [0017]) and to provide visual information of multiple types about a building in an integrated manner that is coordinated with the information currently displayed (Impas: [0012]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
As per Claim 29, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the stored contents include software instructions that, when executed by the one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform further automated operations including determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building, and wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan includes overlaying the visual representation at the determined positions and that includes visual indications for interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms.
Bailiang teaches wherein the stored contents include software instructions that, when executed by the one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform further automated operations including determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined positions on the map, one or more levels of detail for interior portions of the building to display on the map for each of one or more stories of the building (Bailiang: [0042] “the interior floor map detail may be set as a function of the distance between the virtual camera and the 3D representation of the building (e.g., using a direct mathematical relationship, using one or more threshold levels, etc.)”; [0018]: a software module sets the interior floor map detail (i.e., the “levels of detail” as claimed) from the distance between the virtual camera and the building representation at its position on the map, and for a building with more than one floor displays the floor map of a default floor), and wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan includes overlaying the visual representation at the determined positions and that includes visual indications for interior portions of the building with the determined one or more levels of detail and including at least interior walls of the multiple rooms (Bailiang: [0031] “partially transparent 3D representation of the building 302 and interior floor map 304 in general can overlay any other suitable type of a map”; [0017] “interior floor maps that include floor contours as well as internal wall layout”; [0042]: the interior floor map showing the internal wall layout, at the level of detail set for the building, is drawn inside the building representation at its position and overlays the map).
As per Claim 30, Cier teaches wherein the plurality of the GPS location data points are captured during traversal of an interior of the multiple rooms ([0030] “acquisition metadata regarding the capture of such panorama images may be obtained and used in various manners, such as data acquired from IMU sensors or other sensors of a mobile device as it is carried by a user or otherwise moved between acquisition locations”; [0038] “multiple panorama images are captured at a sequence of multiple acquisition locations 210 associated with the house 198 (e.g., the interior and exterior of the house)”: the acquisition metadata gathered as the mobile device is carried by the user between acquisition locations in or around the building may include GPS coordinates, the acquisition locations 210 of house 198 including locations in the interior of the house, so that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the metadata gathered as the device is carried between those interior locations is captured during traversal of the rooms).
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the determining of the one or more GPS location data points for the one or more locations on the floor plan corresponding to the at least one external wall of the building includes extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the multiple rooms to the at least one external wall of the building.
Li teaches wherein the determining of the one or more GPS location data points for the one or more locations on the floor plan corresponding to the at least one external wall of the building includes extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the multiple rooms to the at least one external wall of the building (Li: [0019]; [0023]; [0084]; [0036]: the mobile image acquisition device moved through the rooms optionally includes a GPS sensor, and GPS coordinates are determined for the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan, whose combined room shapes are matched to the exterior contour of the house, the parts of the floor plan lying on that contour being, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the external wall for which GPS coordinates are determined). Examiner's Note: Li's mobile image acquisition device, which is moved through the building interior to the acquisition locations in the rooms, optionally includes a GPS sensor (Li: [0019]; [0023]), Li determines the GPS coordinates of the building and of the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan (Li: [0084]), and the combined room shapes of that floor plan are matched to the exterior contour (Li: [0036]); under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the GPS coordinates of the floor plan are derived from the GPS data captured by that device inside the rooms, the floor plan positions its room shapes and the exterior contour in one coordinate frame, and determining the GPS coordinates of the parts of the floor plan lying on that contour through the common frame is extending the captured GPS data points from the interior of the rooms to the external wall.
As per Claim 31, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the multiple types of the additional information include two or more of an image of an interior of the building, or a video of the interior of the building, or a textual description of the building, or a street-level view of an exterior of the building, or an overview view of an exterior of the building.
Impas teaches wherein the multiple types of the additional information include two or more of an image of an interior of the building, or a video of the interior of the building, or a textual description of the building, or a street-level view of an exterior of the building, or an overview view of an exterior of the building (Impas: [0013] “photos or other images (e.g., 2D perspective images, 360 panorama images and/or other panorama images, etc.), such as to be associated with viewing locations”; [0013] “video recordings, such as to each include a sequence of multiple images and to be associated with viewing locations within the rooms of the building where they were taken; textual and/or audio annotations or other descriptions of particular points of interest (POIs) in the building's rooms or other locations”: the types of information include images associated with viewing locations in the building, video recordings associated with viewing locations within the rooms of the building where they were taken, and textual descriptions of points of interest in the building's rooms).
As per Claim 32, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the automated operations further include: obtaining, by the one or more computing devices, information about one or more external objects that are on a property including the building and that are external to the building; and wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan includes displaying, for each of the one or more external objects, an additional visual representation of that external object at an additional position on the map corresponding to a location of that external object on the property.
Impas teaches wherein the automated operations further include: obtaining, by the one or more computing devices, information about one or more external objects that are on a property including the building and that are external to the building (Impas: [0013] “other external information from an environment surrounding the building, such as about nearby buildings and/or vegetation (e.g., as identified from satellite or other external images of the building, such as taken from the building and/or from a nearby street or yard; as identified from data in one or more external databases or other information sources, such as street maps or other government records; etc.)”; [0040]: information about the vegetation and other external elements in the environment surrounding the building, including the trees, driveway, and shrubs on the house's property, is obtained from satellite images, street maps, and other external sources); and
wherein the presenting of the map with the visual representation of the floor plan includes displaying, for each of the one or more external objects, an additional visual representation of that external object at an additional position on the map corresponding to a location of that external object on the property (Impas: [0040] “the end user has selected to display information about the surroundings of the building, which in this example includes a street to the west of the house, with two additional houses across the street being shown, as well as additional information on the house's property that includes two trees, sidewalks, a driveway and garage, and bushes or other shrubs on the south side of the house”: the trees, sidewalks, driveway, and shrubs on the property are displayed with the house, the shrubs at their position on the south side of the house).
As per Claim 33, Cier teaches A computer-implemented method ([0011]: the automated operations of computing devices (i.e., the “computer-implemented method” as claimed) determine the acquisition locations of images captured within a building) comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computing devices and for a building on a property, at least a partial floor plan for the building that includes room shapes for one or more rooms of the building ([0028] “in one of multiple separate areas of one or more properties (e.g., for a house, a garden, patio, deck, back yard, side yard, front yard, pool, carport, dock, etc.) that each has a previously or concurrently determined area shape”; [0109] “uses the determined room shapes to create an initial 2D floor plan, such as by connecting inter-room passages in their respective rooms”: the house is on a property with a yard, garden, and other separate areas, and a floor plan of the house is created from the determined room shapes), and first information about a plurality of absolute location data points captured in the one or more rooms ([0030] “acquisition location, such as GPS coordinates or other indication of location”; [0038] “multiple panorama images are captured at a sequence of multiple acquisition locations 210 associated with the house 198 (e.g., the interior and exterior of the house)”: the acquisition metadata gathered as the mobile device is carried between acquisition locations in or around the building, including the acquisition locations in the interior of the house, may include GPS coordinates (i.e., the “absolute location data points” as claimed)).
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly second information about one or more external features on the property and outside of the building; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the plurality of absolute location data points, one or more absolute location data points for one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan; determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan, positions that correspond to the at least partial floor plan on a map including the property; determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the one or more external features, a location on the property of that external feature; presenting, by the one or more computing devices, the map with a visual representation of the at least partial floor plan that is shown at the determined positions on the map; further with, for each of the one or more external features, an additional visual representation of that external feature at the determined location on the property of that external feature.
Li teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the plurality of absolute location data points, one or more absolute location data points for one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan (Li: [0019] “optionally a GPS (or Global Positioning System) sensor or other position determination sensor”; [0084] “to determine a geographical alignment (e.g., with respect to true north or magnetic north) and/or geographical location (e.g., with respect to latitude and longitude, or GPS coordinates) for the building and corresponding parts of the generated floor plan”: latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates (i.e., the “absolute location data points” as claimed) are determined for the corresponding parts of the floor plan generated from the acquisition locations of the mobile image acquisition device that optionally includes a GPS sensor, the GPS coordinates for the floor plan being, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, based on the GPS data captured by that device at those acquisition locations); and
determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the determined one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan, positions that correspond to the at least partial floor plan on a map including the property (Li: [0084] “to optionally further align with other external information (e.g., satellite or other external images, including street-level images to provide a 'street view' of the building; neighborhood information, such as nearby street maps and/or points of interest; etc.)”: the floor plan, geographically located by the GPS coordinates determined for its parts, may be further aligned with satellite images and nearby street maps of the area around the building, a nearby street map being, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a map including the property; aligning the located floor plan with that map is, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining the positions on the map that correspond to the floor plan).
Cier and Li are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, generating and presenting floor plans and other mapping information for a building from images and location data captured at the building (Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Li into Cier's invention for the purpose of determining the acquisition locations of images captured within a building and generating a floor plan of the building to provide a generated floor plan whose geographical location is determined with respect to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates and that is further aligned with other external information such as satellite images, street-level images, and nearby street maps (Li: [0084]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
However, Cier as modified by Li fails to teach explicitly presenting, by the one or more computing devices, the map with a visual representation of the at least partial floor plan that is shown at the determined positions on the map.
Bailiang teaches presenting, by the one or more computing devices, the map with a visual representation of the at least partial floor plan that is shown at the determined positions on the map (Bailiang: [0031] “An interior floor map 304 may be drawn inside the 3D space defined by the partially transparent 3D representation of the building 302.”: the interior floor map is drawn inside the representation of the building at the building's position on the digital map).
Cier, Li, and Bailiang are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, generating and presenting floor plans and other mapping information for a building from images and location data captured at the building (Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Bailiang into Cier as modified by Li's invention for the purpose of determining the acquisition locations of images captured within a building and generating a floor plan of the building to provide a generated floor plan whose geographical location is determined with respect to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates and that is further aligned with other external information such as satellite images, street-level images, and nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide an intuitive, space-efficient, and aesthetically pleasing user interface for inspecting the internal features of a multi-story building located on a digital map of a geographic region (Bailiang: [0017]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
However, Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang fails to teach explicitly second information about one or more external features on the property and outside of the building; determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the one or more external features, a location on the property of that external feature; further with, for each of the one or more external features, an additional visual representation of that external feature at the determined location on the property of that external feature.
Impas teaches second information about one or more external features on the property and outside of the building (Impas: [0013] “other external information from an environment surrounding the building, such as about nearby buildings and/or vegetation (e.g., as identified from satellite or other external images of the building, such as taken from the building and/or from a nearby street or yard; as identified from data in one or more external databases or other information sources, such as street maps or other government records; etc.)”: information about the vegetation and other external elements (i.e., the “external features” as claimed) surrounding the building is obtained from satellite images, street maps, and government records);
determining, by the one or more computing devices and for each of the one or more external features, a location on the property of that external feature (Impas: [0013] “whether by displaying the actual images or by generating and displaying visual representations of particular external elements that are identified and modeled from images or other external information sources”; [0040] “the end user has selected to display information about the surroundings of the building, which in this example includes a street to the west of the house, with two additional houses across the street being shown, as well as additional information on the house's property that includes two trees, sidewalks, a driveway and garage, and bushes or other shrubs on the south side of the house”: the external elements are identified and modeled from the images and other sources, and the shrubs on the property are shown on the south side of the house, modeling the shrubs at the south side of the house being, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a location on the property for that external feature);
and further with, for each of the one or more external features, an additional visual representation of that external feature at the determined location on the property of that external feature (Impas: [0040] “This example further illustrates a deck to the east of the house”; [0040] “The vegetation and surrounding buildings are shown in this example using simplified geometrical shapes”: the vegetation is shown as simplified geometrical shapes and the deck is shown to the east of the house, each external feature being displayed at the location on the property stated for it).
Cier, Li, Bailiang, and Impas are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, generating and presenting floor plans and other mapping information for a building from images and location data captured at the building (Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Impas into Cier as modified by Li and Bailiang's invention for the purpose of determining the acquisition locations of images captured within a building and generating a floor plan of the building to provide a generated floor plan whose geographical location is determined with respect to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates and that is further aligned with other external information such as satellite images, street-level images, and nearby street maps (Li: [0084]) and to provide an intuitive, space-efficient, and aesthetically pleasing user interface for inspecting the internal features of a multi-story building located on a digital map of a geographic region (Bailiang: [0017]) and to provide visual information of multiple types about a building in an integrated manner that is coordinated with the information currently displayed (Impas: [0012]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
As per Claim 34, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the external features are each an object on the property outside of the building, and wherein the determining of a location on the property for an external feature includes at least one of analyzing visual data of an image that includes that external feature and has associated absolute location data, or retrieving information about that external feature from one or more public data sources.
Impas teaches wherein the external features are each an object on the property outside of the building (Impas: [0040] “the end user has selected to display information about the surroundings of the building, which in this example includes a street to the west of the house, with two additional houses across the street being shown, as well as additional information on the house's property that includes two trees, sidewalks, a driveway and garage, and bushes or other shrubs on the south side of the house”: the trees, sidewalks, driveway, and shrubs on the house's property are objects outside the house), and wherein the determining of a location on the property for an external feature includes at least one of analyzing visual data of an image that includes that external feature and has associated absolute location data, or retrieving information about that external feature from one or more public data sources (Impas: [0013] “as identified from data in one or more external databases or other information sources, such as street maps or other government records”: the external elements are identified from street maps and government records (i.e., the “public data sources” as claimed)).
As per Claim 35, Cier teaches wherein the at least partial floor plan includes multiple room shapes of two or more of the multiple rooms positioned relative to each other ([0053]: the estimated room shapes of the rooms are positioned relative to each other in the floor plan),
wherein the absolute location data points include GPS (global positioning system) data points captured during traversal of an interior of the one or more rooms ([0030] “acquisition metadata regarding the capture of such panorama images may be obtained and used in various manners, such as data acquired from IMU sensors or other sensors of a mobile device as it is carried by a user or otherwise moved between acquisition locations”; [0038] “multiple panorama images are captured at a sequence of multiple acquisition locations 210 associated with the house 198 (e.g., the interior and exterior of the house)”: the acquisition metadata gathered as the mobile device is carried by the user between acquisition locations in or around the building may include GPS coordinates, the acquisition locations 210 of house 198 including locations in the interior of the house, so that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the metadata gathered as the device is carried between those interior locations is captured during traversal of the rooms).
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly wherein the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan correspond to one or more external walls of the building, wherein the determining of the one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan include extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the one or more rooms to the one or more external walls of the building.
Li teaches wherein the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan correspond to one or more external walls of the building, wherein the determining of the one or more absolute location data points for the one or more locations on the at least partial floor plan include extending one or more of the captured GPS data points from the interior of the one or more rooms to the one or more external walls of the building (Li: [0019]; [0023]; [0084]; [0036]: the mobile image acquisition device moved through the rooms optionally includes a GPS sensor, and GPS coordinates are determined for the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan, whose combined room shapes are matched to the exterior contour of the house, the parts of the floor plan on the exterior contour being, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the external walls (i.e., the “external walls” as claimed) for which GPS coordinates are determined). Examiner's Note: Li's mobile image acquisition device, which is moved through the building interior to the acquisition locations in the rooms, optionally includes a GPS sensor (Li: [0019]; [0023]), Li determines the GPS coordinates of the building and of the corresponding parts of the generated floor plan (Li: [0084]), and the combined room shapes of that floor plan are matched to the exterior contour (Li: [0036]); under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the GPS coordinates of the floor plan are derived from the GPS data captured by that device inside the rooms, the floor plan positions its room shapes and the exterior contour in one coordinate frame, and determining the GPS coordinates of the parts of the floor plan lying on that contour through the common frame is extending the captured GPS data points from the interior of the rooms to the external walls.
However, Cier fails to teach explicitly and wherein the presenting of the map includes presenting, in a graphical user interface, the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan overlaid on the map and with visual indications of interior walls of the two or more rooms, and further includes presenting one or more areas on the map separate from the property.
Bailiang teaches and wherein the presenting of the map includes presenting, in a graphical user interface, the visual representation of the at least partial floor plan overlaid on the map and with visual indications of interior walls of the two or more rooms (Bailiang: [0031] “partially transparent 3D representation of the building 302 and interior floor map 304 in general can overlay any other suitable type of a map”; [0017]: the interior floor map showing the internal wall layout is drawn in the user interface inside the building representation and overlays the map), and further includes presenting one or more areas on the map separate from the property (Bailiang: [0030] “the map 202 illustrates several city blocks and includes various outdoor map elements such as, railroad tracks 206, roads 208, and representations of buildings 204, 212, and 214”: the map on which the building and its floor map are shown presents several city blocks, roads, and railroad tracks beyond the building itself, which are, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, areas separate from the property).
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Narayana (US 2024/0312136 A1) teaches generating a building floor plan from images captured by a camera device and associating GPS absolute location data with the floor plan from data captured by a separate mobile device that moves independently from the camera device.
Brosowsky (US 11,190,902 B1) teaches georeferencing an indoor floor plan by matching the building footprint extracted from the floor plan to a georeferenced building footprint polygon and applying the real-world geographic coordinates of the matched polygon to the floor plan.
Bailiang 2 (US 9,323,420 B2) teaches selecting, on an interactive digital map, one floor map of a multi-story building from stacked selectable floor maps so that the detailed floor map of the selected floor is displayed.
Okazaki (US 11,551,040 B2) teaches identifying manmade and natural features in the vicinity of a structure on a property lot through machine learning analysis of aerial imagery.
Impas 2 (US 11,243,656 B2) teaches generating building floor plans from panorama images acquired in the rooms and displaying them in graphical user interfaces together with satellite and street-level images of the building.
Fink (US 2014/0018096 A1) teaches indoor location mapping and tracking of a mobile device traversing a building by wireless signal fingerprinting where GPS is unavailable.
EUNHEE KIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188