DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-4, 8-10 and 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/2/25.
The elected species D (Fig. 4) does not disclose the claimed bent structures with openings (claims 2, 8 and 12-15), the metamaterial structures being above or below the waveguide (claims 3, 4 and 16-20), the metamaterial structure and waveguide having the same radius of curvature (claim 9) or the metamaterial structures and waveguide being parallel (claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meade et al (US 5,526,449). Meade teaches:
1. A structure (Figs. 8a-b) comprising:
at least one bent waveguide structure (56); and
metamaterial structures (52) separated from the at least one bent waveguide structure (56) by an insulator material (58).
5. The structure of claim 1, wherein the metamaterial structures (52) are on sides of the at least one bent waveguide structure (56) (see Figs. 8a-b).
11. The structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one bent waveguide structure (56) and the metamaterial structures (52) are of different materials (waveguide is GaxAl1-xAs C8 L59-64 and the metamaterial structure is air, low-dielectrics or solids C6 L25-38).
Meade does not state that metamaterial structures being structured to decouple the at least one waveguide structure to simultaneously reduce insertion loss and crosstalk of the at least one bent waveguide structure. The limitations to decouple the waveguide to simultaneously reduce insertion loss and crosstalk at the bend are purely functional limitations and while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). All of the structural limitations have been met.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meade as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Jiang et al (US 7,421,179 B1).
Meade teaches the structure previously discussed including the metamaterial structures (52) and bent waveguide structure (56) are on a same level of the device (see Fig. 8a).
Meade does not teach expressly:
6. The structure of claim 5, wherein the metamaterial structures and the at least one bent waveguide structure are composed of silicon-on-insulator material.
7. The structure of claim 5, wherein the metamaterial structures and the at least one bent waveguide structure are composed of Si material.
Jiang teaches a structure (100, Fig. 1) comprising metamaterial structures (102) surrounding a waveguide structure (108) wherein the metamaterial structures (102) and the at least one bent waveguide structure (108) are composed of silicon-on-insulator material (C5 L57 – C6 L3) and wherein the metamaterial structures (102) and the at least one bent waveguide structure (102) are composed of Si material (C5 L41 – C6 L3).
Meade and Jiang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, waveguide structures surrounded by metamaterials.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the materials of Meade to use SOI and Si for the waveguide and metamaterials as taught by Jiang.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce cost and complexity by using widely and well-known materials for waveguide and metamaterial structures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach bent waveguides surrounded by metamaterials: US 7609931, US 8258892, US 8692128, US 10989872, US 11061186.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874