DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “104” has been used to designate both flexible interposer and interposer. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2 and 13, the phrase of “further comprising a flexible barrier material” is not understood because the limitations of “a flexible barrier material al ready recited in claim 1. Please, revise.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fjestad (‘623) in view of Zehnder et al. (‘668), both references cited in the record.
As to claims 1, Fjestad discloses a flexible electronic system (5000) as shown in figures 40-62 comprising:
a plurality of island regions (5101a-5101c), wherein at least one island region
(5101) of the plurality of island regions comprises:
a flexible substrate (5401) comprising an interlayer elastomer dielectric, para-
0092;
a plurality of rigid components (2301a, 2301b) disposed within the flexible
substrate, at least one rigid component (2301a or 2301b) comprising an electronic
component; and
a high-density interconnect region comprising one or more routing layers (5602)
electrically connected to the plurality of rigid components (2301a, 2301b).
Fjestad does not specifically disclose a single-layer flexible interposer layer coupled to the flexible substrate and a flexible barrier material.
Zehnder teaches a flexible EL device (100) as shown in figures 1-2 comprising a single-layer flexible interposer layer (124A or 122) coupled to the flexible substrate (102) and a flexible barrier material (124B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Zehnder employed in the electronic system of
Fjestad in order to provide flexability, fold, twist in a tubular form, prevent functional
damage, and excellent protection structure for the flexible device.
As best understood to claim 2, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder teaches the flexible barrier material (124B) at least partially encapsulating the flexible electronic
system (100).
As to claim 12, Fjestad discloses a wearable device (flexible or stretchable
circuits capable used in a wearable device or application, para-0003+) comprising:
a flexible electronic system (4000 or 5000) as shown in figures 40-62 comprising:
a plurality of island regions (5101a-5101c), wherein each island region (5101)
comprises:
a flexible substrate (5401) comprising an interlayer elastomer dielectric, para-
0092;
a plurality of rigid components (2301a, 2301b) disposed within the flexible
substrate, at least one rigid component (2301a or 2301b) comprising an electronic
component; and
a high-density interconnect region comprising one or more routing layers (5602)
electrically connected to the plurality of rigid components (2301a, 2301b).
Fjestad does not specifically disclose a single-layer flexible interposer layer coupled to the flexible substrate and a flexible barrier material.
Zehnder teaches a flexible EL device (100) as shown in figures 1-2 comprising a single-layer flexible interposer layer (124A or 122) coupled to the flexible substrate (102) and a flexible barrier material (124B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Zehnder employed in the electronic system of
Fjestad in order to provide flexability, fold, twist in a tubular form, prevent functional
damage, and excellent protection structure for the flexible device.
As best understood to claim 13, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder teaches the flexible barrier material (124B) at least partially encapsulating the flexible electronic
system (100).
As to claims 4, 15, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses the plurality of rigid components comprises one or more of an integrated circuit, a surface mount device (SMD), para-0004+, or a flexible printed circuit (FPC).
As to claims 5, 16, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses the high-density interconnect region (the region of element 5401) further comprises: a plurality of routing layers (5602); and one or more through-vias (5103a-5103c or 5211), wherein at least one through-via of the one or more through-vias electrically couples at least one of (1) two rigid components, (2301) two routing layers, or (5602) a rigid component and a routing layer.
As to claims 6, 17, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses at least some of the routing layers (5602) comprise conductive traces.
As to claim 8, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses in figure 52, at least some of the plurality of island regions (5201a-5201c) are arranged vertically above another island region.
As to claim 9, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses adjacent island regions (5201), figure 52, of the at least some of the plurality of island regions are coupled together via one or more through-vias (5211), wherein each through-via couples at least one of two rigid components, two routing layers, or (5202) a rigid component and a routing layer.
As to claim 10, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses in figures 50-51 at least some of the plurality of island regions (4901 or 5101) are arranged laterally with respect to another island region.
As to claim 11, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses adjacent island regions (5101 or 5201) of the at least some of the plurality of island regions are coupled together via a flexible routing layer (5102 or 5202) comprising one or more conductive traces.
As to claim 19, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses at least some of the plurality of island regions (5101 or 5201) are arranged vertically above another island region, figure 52; and adjacent island regions of the at least some of the plurality of island regions are coupled together via one or more through-vias (5211), wherein each through-via couples at least one of two rigid components, two routing layers (5202), or a rigid component and a routing layer.
As to claim 20, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses in figures 50-51, at least some of the plurality of island regions (5101, 5201) are arranged laterally with respect to another island region; and adjacent island regions of the at least some of the plurality of island regions are electrically coupled together via a flexible routing layer comprising one or more conductive traces.
Claim(s) 7, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Fjestad in view of Zehnder, and further in view of Morun et al. (U.S. 2015/0141784).
As best understood to claims 7 and 18, Fjestad as modified by Zehnder discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for a flexible ground plane; and a flexible current collector.
Morun teaches a system/EMG sensor (100) as shown in figures 1-2 comprising a
substrate (101) having a flexible ground plane (140); and a flexible current collector
(122, 123).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Morun employed in the electronic system of
Fjestad and Zehnder in order to provide a ground purpose, good conductivity, and mechanical stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2,4-13,15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847