DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is vague and indefinite because it is not clear how the first metal layer can be removed from the top surface of the oligomer film when first metal layer is under the oligomer film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collins (WO 2017/048268 A1).
Claims 1, 5:
Collins teaches a method for gap fill of a semiconductor feature using bottom-up fill materials (i.e., materials forming selectively on the bottom and filling a portion of the feature depth) (pg. 4). The process is CVD of monomer precursors to form an oligomer film (pg. 15).
Claim 4:
Combinations thereof (pg. 16).
Claim 6:
This claim only requires at least two features, not that the dimensions are different. (Fig. 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins (WO 2017/048268 A1) in view of Moon (US 2018/0033688 A1).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach the recited functional groups. However, Moon teaches the functional groups for silane-based gap fill oligomers including at least a methacrylate group [0016] and bifunctional alcohol groups (Formula 1a, 1b, and 1c). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Collins using monomers and oligomers having the functional groups taught by Moon. Moon establishes these functional groups are appropriate for the purpose of gap fill.
Claim(s) 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins (WO 2017/048268 A1) in view of Clendenning (US 2018/0130707 A1).
Claims 7, 17
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach features having different critical dimensions. However, Clendenning teaches the formation of multiple features having different widths (Fig. 2B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Collins on features having different critical dimensions because Clendenning establishes the desire to incorporate multiple filled features having different widths in semiconductor manufacturing.
Claims 8, 18:
Clendenning teaches the same height (i.e., filled to the top) (Fig. 2B).
Claims 9, 12:
Clendenning teaches the first deposited conformal layer is a metal seed layer such as tungsten [0031]. Clendenning does not teach the specific deposition method, but PVD would have been obvious for depositing tungsten in the way.
Claims 10-11:
Clendenning teaches the top portion of the metal layer is removed (Fig. 2A, (b)) followed by the fill material (Fig. 2A, (c)).
Claims 13-14:
Clendenning teaches the feature is filled with a metal (Fig. 2A, (d)) such as nickel, titanium etc. [0036].
Claims 15-16:
Collins teaches the fill material is compatible with plasma etching (pg. 10) and goes on to explain that this includes non-removal of the oligomer or removal of the oligomer (i.e., sacrificial) (pg. 6).
Claims 19-20:
These claims are a combination of the limitations already addressed above, and are rejection for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759