DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communications filed on 11/26/2025, concerning Application No. 18/379,269. The amendments to the claims filed on 11/26/2025 are acknowledged. Presently, claims 1-2, 4-9, and 11-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anand (US 2017/0119352 A1, of record, hereinafter Anand).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Anand discloses a method (and a corresponding ultrasound system), the method comprising:
acquiring, by an ultrasound probe (transducer probe 26) of an ultrasound system (ultrasound system 10) (see, e.g., Para. [0005], “A transducer probe 26 provides the ultrasound acoustic signal and generates an electronic feedback signal indicative of tissue characteristics from the echoed sound”), first ultrasound image information according to a first mode, wherein the first ultrasound image information comprises a first mode ultrasound image (see, e.g., Para. [0007], “Different types of images, with different appearance, can be formed using sonographic apparatus. The familiar monochrome B-mode image displays the acoustic impedance of a two-dimensional cross-section of tissue”, and Para. [0032], “B-mode or 2D mode: In B-mode (brightness mode) ultrasound, a linear array of transducers simultaneously scans a plane through the body that can be viewed as a two-dimensional image on screen”, and Para. [0044], “the exam progression can use B-mode or M-mode imaging for auto-positioning of the cursor, followed by Color Flow or pulse wave Doppler modes”, where the first mode can be B-mode, and Para. [0048], “The sonography workflow typically begins with acquisition of a grayscale mode image acquisition and display (such as the B-mode image illustrated in FIG. 4) in order to survey the anatomy”, and Fig. 4; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B);
processing, by at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20) of the ultrasound system (10) (see, e.g., Para. [0005], “As FIG. 2 shows, the ultrasound system 10 has a central processing unit CPU 20 that provides control signals and processing capabilities. CPU 20 is in signal communication with display 14 and interface device 16, as well as with a storage device 22 and an optional printer 24”), the first mode ultrasound image to determine first mode information, wherein the first mode information comprises an ultrasound standard view classification and at least one anatomical object identification (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “a set of standard workflows are defined, based on the types of imaging that are typically performed at a site and on the sequence of mode switches that typically occur. Processing logic for the ultrasound system is configured with prior knowledge of the set of standard workflows and is thus even able to anticipate (i.e., prepare in advance for) expected switching between modes according to the standard workflow that is specified for the patient and is currently being followed. Using this approach, when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “As the sonographer conducts the ultrasound examination, the ultrasound system, as a background process, determines the extent of the region of interest, also termed the ROI extent, within the displayed ultrasound image. […] The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0056], “the ultrasound system analyzes the entire displayed image for tissue and/or blood vessels during B-mode scanning. The system then identifies an ROI comprising particular tissue and/or blood vessels of interest. […] The ROI extent determination can be conditioned by prior knowledge of the exam type and can be accomplished by the system in transmitting, receiving and processing signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation that will be used next, with the system determining at which location the information of interest for the next mode resides”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow. In anticipation of this switch to the second mode, a pulse sequence designed for Color Flow is sent out periodically while first mode imaging is being carried out. […] The algorithm can then automatically calculate a suitable ROI that would encompass the tissue and associated blood vessel(s) that were detected”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity/determine the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information/classification) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information/classification) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data);
automatically selecting, by the at least one processor (20), a size and a location of a region of interest box based on the ultrasound standard view classification and the at least one anatomical object identification (see, e.g., Para. [0046], “When viewing an ultrasound image on the display, the particular area of the displayed image that is of interest to the sonographer or other practitioner is referred to as the Region of Interest (ROI) or ROI extent. As the sonographer conducts the examination and switches between modes, the size and position, as well as the apparent shape of the ROI may change”, and Para. [0047], “The region of interest (ROI) can be defined in any of a number of ways. In conventional practice, the ROI is defined by multiple points or vertices that define a shape, such as defining a rectangle or other parallelogram by its four corners”, and Para. [0048], “obtain additional clinical information and further characteristics of the anatomy or tissue within a particular ROI. The ROI in a polychromatic or color imaging mode can be indicated by a rectangular, parallelogram, trapezoidal or another regularly shaped outline. In a typical ultrasound system, the spatial extent of the color ROI is a partial subset of the larger B-mode image”, and Para. [0052], “when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “As the sonographer conducts the ultrasound examination, the ultrasound system, as a background process, determines the extent of the region of interest, also termed the ROI extent, within the displayed ultrasound image. This ROI extent determination preferably does not interpret or disturb the examination being conducted by the sonographer. The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed or recorded by the ultrasound imaging apparatus”, and Para. [0056], “the ultrasound system analyzes the entire displayed image for tissue and/or blood vessels during B-mode scanning. The system then identifies an ROI comprising particular tissue and/or blood vessels of interest. This ROI extent determination occurs in the background (i.e., is executed automatically by the ultrasound system) and preferably does not interrupt the progress of the examination being conducted by the sonographer”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow. In anticipation of this switch to the second mode, a pulse sequence designed for Color Flow is sent out periodically while first mode imaging is being carried out. […] The algorithm can then automatically calculate a suitable ROI that would encompass the tissue and associated blood vessel(s) that were detected”; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B);
acquiring, by the ultrasound probe (26), second ultrasound image information according to a second mode based on the region of interest box (see, e.g., Para. [0044], “the exam progression can use B-mode or M-mode imaging for auto-positioning of the cursor, followed by Color Flow or pulse wave Doppler modes”, where the second mode can be Color Flow mode, and Para. [0048], “the operator then switches to a different imaging mode such as Color Doppler mode (sometimes referred to as Color Flow mode or Color mode) to evaluate a sub-region of the originally viewed grayscale image in order to obtain additional clinical information and further characteristics of the anatomy or tissue within a particular ROI”, and Para. [0060], “That is, the method will determine where the tissue and blood flow is, and perform the calculations needed to identify the volume coordinates most representative of the ROI extent. This information can be stored or transmitted, then used when the new imaging mode is activated”; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B); and
causing, by the at least one processor (20), a display system (display/monitor 14) to present the second ultrasound image information and the region of interest box automatically placed on the first mode ultrasound image (see, e.g., Para. [0049], “FIG. 4 shows B-mode ultrasound image, displayed as a grayscale image. FIG. 5 shows an image with the same ROI having color highlighting, obtained in Color Flow mode”, and Para. [0057], “Once the ultrasound system determines the region of interest within the displayed ultrasound image, the system can generate a modified ultrasound image comprising the determined region of interest, wherein the modified ultrasound image is (in at least one embodiment) in color or in a representation different from the original, grayscale mode displayed image”, and Para. [0058], “once the ultrasound system determines the region of interest within the displayed ultrasound image, the system can store or transmit the ROI extent information (e.g., geometric information or other representative of the ROI) such that a modified ultrasound image can be generated at a later time, wherein the modified ultrasound image shows the sample volume that includes the region of interest”, and Para. [0060], “The ROI extent can be fully represented (e.g., by the geometric coordinates or shape such as by a square or rectangular or trapezoid box—as displayed on the ultrasound display)”, and Para. [0066], “Referring to FIG. 5, there is shown a modified ultrasound image that is displayed in response to the sonographer selection of a second viewing mode different from the first viewing mode as was shown in FIG. 4. The modified image includes the ROI from the image being displayed in the first viewing mode”, and Para. [0067], “FIGS. 5 and 6 both show a displayed ultrasound image having a region of interest, wherein a portion of the region of interest has a color, which illustrates particular types of tissue or fluids within a particular ROI”, and Para. [0073], “FIG. 6 illustrates another ultrasound image where a tissue has been detected within a region of interest. The illustrated tissue is a blood vessel and, in the example shown, the blood vessel appears highlighted, such as highlighted in color, while the remainder of the image is in grayscale. The ROI is defined by four points 30 that define a rectangle”, and Figs. 5-6; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Anand discloses the method of claim 1 and the ultrasound system of claim 8, respectively, as set forth above. Anand further discloses wherein: the first mode is B-mode; and the second mode is one of a Color Flow mode, Power Doppler mode, or B-Flow Color mode (see, e.g., Para. [0044], “the exam progression can use B-mode or M-mode imaging for auto-positioning of the cursor, followed by Color Flow or pulse wave Doppler modes”, and Para. [0048], “The sonography workflow typically begins with acquisition of a grayscale mode image acquisition and display (such as the B-mode image illustrated in FIG. 4) in order to survey the anatomy. Depending on the exam type, the operator then switches to a different imaging mode such as Color Doppler mode (sometimes referred to as Color Flow mode or Color mode) to evaluate a sub-region of the originally viewed grayscale image in order to obtain additional clinical information and further characteristics of the anatomy or tissue within a particular ROI”, and Para. [0049], “FIG. 4 shows B-mode ultrasound image, displayed as a grayscale image. FIG. 5 shows an image with the same ROI having color highlighting, obtained in Color Flow mode”, where the first mode can be B-mode, and where the second mode can be Color Flow mode).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Anand discloses the method of claim 1 and the ultrasound system of claim 8, respectively, as set forth above. Anand further discloses the method further comprising inferencing, by the at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20), an ultrasound view classification model to determine the ultrasound standard view classification (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “a set of standard workflows are defined, based on the types of imaging that are typically performed at a site and on the sequence of mode switches that typically occur. Processing logic for the ultrasound system is configured with prior knowledge of the set of standard workflows and is thus even able to anticipate (i.e., prepare in advance for) expected switching between modes according to the standard workflow that is specified for the patient and is currently being followed. Using this approach, when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “…Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0056], “…The ROI extent determination can be conditioned by prior knowledge of the exam type and can be accomplished by the system in transmitting, receiving and processing signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation that will be used next, with the system determining at which location the information of interest for the next mode resides”, and Para. [0059], where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, and where the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) is based on processing of prior knowledge/pre-programmed (i.e., inferencing) of the set/model of standard workflows/modes/sequences).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Anand discloses the method of claim 1 and the ultrasound system of claim 8, respectively, as set forth above. Anand further discloses the method further comprising inferencing, by the at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20), an object detection model or an object segmentation model to determine the at least one anatomical object identification (see, e.g., Para. [0052], and Para. [0054], “As the sonographer conducts the ultrasound examination, the ultrasound system, as a background process, determines the extent of the region of interest, also termed the ROI extent, within the displayed ultrasound image. […] The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0056], “the ultrasound system analyzes the entire displayed image for tissue and/or blood vessels during B-mode scanning. The system then identifies an ROI comprising particular tissue and/or blood vessels of interest. […] The ROI extent determination can be conditioned by prior knowledge of the exam type and can be accomplished by the system in transmitting, receiving and processing signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation that will be used next, with the system determining at which location the information of interest for the next mode resides”, and Para. [0059], “…The algorithm can then automatically calculate a suitable ROI that would encompass the tissue and associated blood vessel(s) that were detected”, and Para. [0074], “the system collects data on the likely ROI for the exam, based on data obtained from scanning in the initial mode. To determine the ROI, the system can use model anatomy data about the patient or about a larger patient population”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, and where the identified ROI extent is further based on the disclosed initial model anatomy data).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Anand discloses the method of claim 1 and the ultrasound system of claim 8, respectively, as set forth above. Anand further discloses wherein: the ultrasound standard view classification is associated with a target anatomical object; and the at least one anatomical object identification defines a location of the target anatomical object (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “a set of standard workflows are defined, based on the types of imaging that are typically performed at a site and on the sequence of mode switches that typically occur. Processing logic for the ultrasound system is configured with prior knowledge of the set of standard workflows and is thus even able to anticipate (i.e., prepare in advance for) expected switching between modes according to the standard workflow that is specified for the patient and is currently being followed. Using this approach, when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “As the sonographer conducts the ultrasound examination, the ultrasound system, as a background process, determines the extent of the region of interest, also termed the ROI extent, within the displayed ultrasound image. […] The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0056], “the ultrasound system analyzes the entire displayed image for tissue and/or blood vessels during B-mode scanning. The system then identifies an ROI comprising particular tissue and/or blood vessels of interest. […] The ROI extent determination can be conditioned by prior knowledge of the exam type and can be accomplished by the system in transmitting, receiving and processing signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation that will be used next, with the system determining at which location the information of interest for the next mode resides”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow. In anticipation of this switch to the second mode, a pulse sequence designed for Color Flow is sent out periodically while first mode imaging is being carried out. […] The algorithm can then automatically calculate a suitable ROI that would encompass the tissue and associated blood vessel(s) that were detected”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Anand discloses the method of claim 1 and the ultrasound system of claim 8, respectively, as set forth above. Anand further discloses the method further comprising automatically selecting, by the at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20), second mode imaging settings based on the first mode information, wherein the second ultrasound image information is acquired based on the second mode imaging settings (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “a set of standard workflows are defined, based on the types of imaging that are typically performed at a site and on the sequence of mode switches that typically occur. Processing logic for the ultrasound system is configured with prior knowledge of the set of standard workflows and is thus even able to anticipate (i.e., prepare in advance for) expected switching between modes according to the standard workflow that is specified for the patient and is currently being followed. Using this approach, when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “…The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow…”, and Para. [0060], “That is, the method will determine where the tissue and blood flow is, and perform the calculations needed to identify the volume coordinates most representative of the ROI extent. This information can be stored or transmitted, then used when the new imaging mode is activated”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, and where the first mode information of the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent results in a selection of the second mode and its respective mode settings, which is then activated as the second mode during the exam).
Regarding claim 15, Anand discloses an ultrasound system (ultrasound system 10) (see, e.g., Para. [0005]), comprising:
an ultrasound probe (transducer probe 26) (see, e.g., Para. [0005], “A transducer probe 26 provides the ultrasound acoustic signal and generates an electronic feedback signal indicative of tissue characteristics from the echoed sound”) operable to:
acquire first ultrasound image information according to a first mode, wherein the first ultrasound image information comprises a first mode ultrasound image (see, e.g., Para. [0007], “Different types of images, with different appearance, can be formed using sonographic apparatus. The familiar monochrome B-mode image displays the acoustic impedance of a two-dimensional cross-section of tissue”, and Para. [0032], “B-mode or 2D mode: In B-mode (brightness mode) ultrasound, a linear array of transducers simultaneously scans a plane through the body that can be viewed as a two-dimensional image on screen”, and Para. [0044], “the exam progression can use B-mode or M-mode imaging for auto-positioning of the cursor, followed by Color Flow or pulse wave Doppler modes”, where the first mode can be B-mode, and Para. [0048], “The sonography workflow typically begins with acquisition of a grayscale mode image acquisition and display (such as the B-mode image illustrated in FIG. 4) in order to survey the anatomy”, and Fig. 4; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B); and
acquire second ultrasound image information according to a second mode based on a region of interest box (see, e.g., Para. [0044], “the exam progression can use B-mode or M-mode imaging for auto-positioning of the cursor, followed by Color Flow or pulse wave Doppler modes”, where the second mode can be Color Flow mode, and Para. [0048], “the operator then switches to a different imaging mode such as Color Doppler mode (sometimes referred to as Color Flow mode or Color mode) to evaluate a sub-region of the originally viewed grayscale image in order to obtain additional clinical information and further characteristics of the anatomy or tissue within a particular ROI”, and Para. [0060], “That is, the method will determine where the tissue and blood flow is, and perform the calculations needed to identify the volume coordinates most representative of the ROI extent. This information can be stored or transmitted, then used when the new imaging mode is activated”; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B);
at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20) (see, e.g., Para. [0005], “As FIG. 2 shows, the ultrasound system 10 has a central processing unit CPU 20 that provides control signals and processing capabilities. CPU 20 is in signal communication with display 14 and interface device 16, as well as with a storage device 22 and an optional printer 24”) configured to:
process the first mode ultrasound image to determine first mode information, wherein the first mode information comprises an ultrasound standard view classification and at least one anatomical object identification (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “a set of standard workflows are defined, based on the types of imaging that are typically performed at a site and on the sequence of mode switches that typically occur. Processing logic for the ultrasound system is configured with prior knowledge of the set of standard workflows and is thus even able to anticipate (i.e., prepare in advance for) expected switching between modes according to the standard workflow that is specified for the patient and is currently being followed. Using this approach, when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “As the sonographer conducts the ultrasound examination, the ultrasound system, as a background process, determines the extent of the region of interest, also termed the ROI extent, within the displayed ultrasound image. […] The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0056], “the ultrasound system analyzes the entire displayed image for tissue and/or blood vessels during B-mode scanning. The system then identifies an ROI comprising particular tissue and/or blood vessels of interest. […] The ROI extent determination can be conditioned by prior knowledge of the exam type and can be accomplished by the system in transmitting, receiving and processing signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation that will be used next, with the system determining at which location the information of interest for the next mode resides”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow. In anticipation of this switch to the second mode, a pulse sequence designed for Color Flow is sent out periodically while first mode imaging is being carried out. […] The algorithm can then automatically calculate a suitable ROI that would encompass the tissue and associated blood vessel(s) that were detected”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity/determine the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information/classification) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information/classification) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data);
cause a display system (display/monitor 14) to present the second ultrasound image information with the region of interest box automatically placed over a first target anatomical object in the first mode ultrasound image based on the ultrasound standard view classification and the at least one anatomical object identification (see, e.g., Para. [0049], “FIG. 4 shows B-mode ultrasound image, displayed as a grayscale image. FIG. 5 shows an image with the same ROI having color highlighting, obtained in Color Flow mode”, and Para. [0057], “Once the ultrasound system determines the region of interest within the displayed ultrasound image, the system can generate a modified ultrasound image comprising the determined region of interest, wherein the modified ultrasound image is (in at least one embodiment) in color or in a representation different from the original, grayscale mode displayed image”, and Para. [0058], “once the ultrasound system determines the region of interest within the displayed ultrasound image, the system can store or transmit the ROI extent information (e.g., geometric information or other representative of the ROI) such that a modified ultrasound image can be generated at a later time, wherein the modified ultrasound image shows the sample volume that includes the region of interest”, and Para. [0060], “The ROI extent can be fully represented (e.g., by the geometric coordinates or shape such as by a square or rectangular or trapezoid box—as displayed on the ultrasound display)”, and Para. [0066], “Referring to FIG. 5, there is shown a modified ultrasound image that is displayed in response to the sonographer selection of a second viewing mode different from the first viewing mode as was shown in FIG. 4. The modified image includes the ROI from the image being displayed in the first viewing mode”, and Para. [0067], “FIGS. 5 and 6 both show a displayed ultrasound image having a region of interest, wherein a portion of the region of interest has a color, which illustrates particular types of tissue or fluids within a particular ROI”, and Para. [0073], “FIG. 6 illustrates another ultrasound image where a tissue has been detected within a region of interest. The illustrated tissue is a blood vessel and, in the example shown, the blood vessel appears highlighted, such as highlighted in color, while the remainder of the image is in grayscale. The ROI is defined by four points 30 that define a rectangle”, and Figs. 5-6; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B);
change the first target anatomical object to a second target anatomical object (see, e.g., Para. [0029], “Information from the user interface indicating a position on an image on the display is used to determine a spatial relationship of a user selected point to a scanned region or image position. The selected point is an individual or single point in one embodiment that may be a point selected within a line, area or volume. Additional or different information may be also stored within the memory. […] The user input is a track ball, mouse, joy stick, touch pad, buttons, slider, knobs, position sensor, combinations thereof or other now known or later developed input devices. The user input is operable to receive a selected point from a user. For example, the user positions a cursor on an image displayed on the display. The user then selects a position of the cursor as indicating a point for a region of interest”, and Para. [0046], “When viewing an ultrasound image on the display, the particular area of the displayed image that is of interest to the sonographer or other practitioner is referred to as the Region of Interest (ROI) or ROI extent. As the sonographer conducts the examination and switches between modes, the size and position, as well as the apparent shape of the ROI may change”, and Para. [0052], “re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”); and
automatically adjust a size and a location of the region of interest box placed over the second target anatomical object in the first mode ultrasound image based on the first mode information and in response to the change of the first target anatomical object to the second target anatomical object (see, e.g., Para. [0046], “When viewing an ultrasound image on the display, the particular area of the displayed image that is of interest to the sonographer or other practitioner is referred to as the Region of Interest (ROI) or ROI extent. As the sonographer conducts the examination and switches between modes, the size and position, as well as the apparent shape of the ROI may change”, and Para. [0047], “The region of interest (ROI) can be defined in any of a number of ways. In conventional practice, the ROI is defined by multiple points or vertices that define a shape, such as defining a rectangle or other parallelogram by its four corners”, and Para. [0048], “obtain additional clinical information and further characteristics of the anatomy or tissue within a particular ROI. The ROI in a polychromatic or color imaging mode can be indicated by a rectangular, parallelogram, trapezoidal or another regularly shaped outline. In a typical ultrasound system, the spatial extent of the color ROI is a partial subset of the larger B-mode image”, and Para. [0052], “re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow. In anticipation of this switch to the second mode, a pulse sequence designed for Color Flow is sent out periodically while first mode imaging is being carried out. […] The algorithm can then automatically calculate a suitable ROI that would encompass the tissue and associated blood vessel(s) that were detected”; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B); and
the display system (14) configured to present the second ultrasound image information and the region of interest box automatically placed on the first mode ultrasound image (see, e.g., Para. [0049], “FIG. 4 shows B-mode ultrasound image, displayed as a grayscale image. FIG. 5 shows an image with the same ROI having color highlighting, obtained in Color Flow mode”, and Para. [0057], “Once the ultrasound system determines the region of interest within the displayed ultrasound image, the system can generate a modified ultrasound image comprising the determined region of interest, wherein the modified ultrasound image is (in at least one embodiment) in color or in a representation different from the original, grayscale mode displayed image”, and Para. [0058], “once the ultrasound system determines the region of interest within the displayed ultrasound image, the system can store or transmit the ROI extent information (e.g., geometric information or other representative of the ROI) such that a modified ultrasound image can be generated at a later time, wherein the modified ultrasound image shows the sample volume that includes the region of interest”, and Para. [0060], “The ROI extent can be fully represented (e.g., by the geometric coordinates or shape such as by a square or rectangular or trapezoid box—as displayed on the ultrasound display)”, and Para. [0066], “Referring to FIG. 5, there is shown a modified ultrasound image that is displayed in response to the sonographer selection of a second viewing mode different from the first viewing mode as was shown in FIG. 4. The modified image includes the ROI from the image being displayed in the first viewing mode”, and Para. [0067], “FIGS. 5 and 6 both show a displayed ultrasound image having a region of interest, wherein a portion of the region of interest has a color, which illustrates particular types of tissue or fluids within a particular ROI”, and Para. [0073], “FIG. 6 illustrates another ultrasound image where a tissue has been detected within a region of interest. The illustrated tissue is a blood vessel and, in the example shown, the blood vessel appears highlighted, such as highlighted in color, while the remainder of the image is in grayscale. The ROI is defined by four points 30 that define a rectangle”, and Figs. 5-6; also see, e.g., Para. [0077] and Figs. 8A-8B).
Regarding claim 16, Anand discloses the ultrasound system of claim 15, as set forth above. Anand further discloses wherein: the ultrasound standard view classification is determined by inferencing an ultrasound view classification model; and the at least one anatomical object identification is determined by inferencing an object detection model or an object segmentation model (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “a set of standard workflows are defined, based on the types of imaging that are typically performed at a site and on the sequence of mode switches that typically occur. Processing logic for the ultrasound system is configured with prior knowledge of the set of standard workflows and is thus even able to anticipate (i.e., prepare in advance for) expected switching between modes according to the standard workflow that is specified for the patient and is currently being followed. Using this approach, when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “As the sonographer conducts the ultrasound examination, the ultrasound system, as a background process, determines the extent of the region of interest, also termed the ROI extent, within the displayed ultrasound image. […] The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0056], “the ultrasound system analyzes the entire displayed image for tissue and/or blood vessels during B-mode scanning. The system then identifies an ROI comprising particular tissue and/or blood vessels of interest. […] The ROI extent determination can be conditioned by prior knowledge of the exam type and can be accomplished by the system in transmitting, receiving and processing signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation that will be used next, with the system determining at which location the information of interest for the next mode resides”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow. In anticipation of this switch to the second mode, a pulse sequence designed for Color Flow is sent out periodically while first mode imaging is being carried out. […] The algorithm can then automatically calculate a suitable ROI that would encompass the tissue and associated blood vessel(s) that were detected”, and Para. [0074], “the system collects data on the likely ROI for the exam, based on data obtained from scanning in the initial mode. To determine the ROI, the system can use model anatomy data about the patient or about a larger patient population”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, and where the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) is based on processing of prior knowledge/pre-programmed (i.e., inferencing) of the set/model of standard workflows/modes/sequences, and where the identified ROI extent is further based on the disclosed initial model anatomy data).
Regarding claim 17, Anand discloses the ultrasound system of claim 15, as set forth above. Anand further discloses wherein: the second ultrasound image information is acquired based on second mode imaging settings; and the at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20) is configured to automatically select the second mode imaging settings based on the first mode information (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “a set of standard workflows are defined, based on the types of imaging that are typically performed at a site and on the sequence of mode switches that typically occur. Processing logic for the ultrasound system is configured with prior knowledge of the set of standard workflows and is thus even able to anticipate (i.e., prepare in advance for) expected switching between modes according to the standard workflow that is specified for the patient and is currently being followed. Using this approach, when switching between a first and second/different mode, the ultrasound system attempts to maintain the sonographer's ROI from the prior or first mode, or, alternately, to re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”, and Para. [0054], “…The ROI extent determination is done by the system transmitting, receiving, and processing the signals suited for a different, anticipated mode of operation, and determining at which location the information for the new mode resides. Information to anticipate operating mode succession can be provided from stored data, such as from standard workflow mode sequences that have been pre-programmed”, and Para. [0059], “a first ultrasound image acquired and displayed in B-mode. The system logic predicts that the second mode to be used is Color Flow…”, and Para. [0060], “That is, the method will determine where the tissue and blood flow is, and perform the calculations needed to identify the volume coordinates most representative of the ROI extent. This information can be stored or transmitted, then used when the new imaging mode is activated”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, and where the first mode information of the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent results in a selection of the second mode and its respective mode settings, which is then activated as the second mode during the exam).
Regarding claim 18 and similarly claim 19, Anand discloses the ultrasound system of claim 15, as set forth above. Anand further discloses wherein the at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20) is configured to continuously process an entirety of the first mode ultrasound image to: detect movement of the ultrasound probe; and determine updated first mode information based on the movement of the ultrasound probe, wherein the updated first mode information comprises the change of the first target anatomical object to the second target anatomical object (see, e.g., Para. [0059-0060], and Para. [0061], “the determination of the ROI extent is automatic and computed in an ongoing manner. The continuous determination can be performed at predetermined time intervals selected by the system or according to operator configuration at set up. The determination is preferably conducted automatically”, and Para. [0062], “The ROI extent information, as well as the modified ultrasound image itself can be stored (in either transient or non-transient form on either a local or remote server), so that it is readily accessible to the ultrasound system. Depending on the amount of storage that is available, ROI extent information for one or more regions of interest can optionally be stored and accessible. Also depending on the amount of storage made available, one or more modified ultrasound images can be optionally stored and accessible for viewing or transfer”, and Para. [0063], “The steps of “determining a region of interest within the displayed ultrasound image” and “generating a modified ultrasound image” can be repeated as the sonographer continues the examination in the first viewing mode”, where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data (including the prediction of the second mode to identity the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data), and where continuing the examination by the sonographer correlates to ROI extent information for more than one regions of interest being continuously determined/updated, such that the ROI is changing from one region of interest to the next different region of interest and the ROI/image information is continuously updated, and such that movement of the ultrasound probe is inherent based on the continuously determined ROI extent information for more than one regions of interest).
Regarding claim 20, Anand discloses the ultrasound system of claim 15, as set forth above. Anand further discloses wherein the at least one processor (central processing unit CPU 20) is configured to change the first target anatomical object to the second target anatomical object in response to a user selection of the second target anatomical object in the first mode ultrasound image (see, e.g., Para. [0029], “Information from the user interface indicating a position on an image on the display is used to determine a spatial relationship of a user selected point to a scanned region or image position. The selected point is an individual or single point in one embodiment that may be a point selected within a line, area or volume. Additional or different information may be also stored within the memory. […] The user input is a track ball, mouse, joy stick, touch pad, buttons, slider, knobs, position sensor, combinations thereof or other now known or later developed input devices. The user input is operable to receive a selected point from a user. For example, the user positions a cursor on an image displayed on the display. The user then selects a position of the cursor as indicating a point for a region of interest”, and Para. [0046], “When viewing an ultrasound image on the display, the particular area of the displayed image that is of interest to the sonographer or other practitioner is referred to as the Region of Interest (ROI) or ROI extent. As the sonographer conducts the examination and switches between modes, the size and position, as well as the apparent shape of the ROI may change”, and Para. [0052], “re-position the ROI to a particular spatial location that is likely to be more clinically-useful based on the exam type during mode switching”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 11/26/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Anand (US 2017/0119352 A1), Applicant argues that Anand at least fails to disclose, suggest, or teach “processing, by at least one processor of the ultrasound system, the first mode ultrasound image to determine first mode information, wherein the first mode information comprises an ultrasound standard view classification and at least one anatomical object identification; [and] automatically selecting, by the at least one processor, a size and a location of a region of interest box based on the ultrasound standard view classification and the at least one anatomical object identification”, as recited in independent claim 1 (and similarly the other independent claims 8 and 15).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and emphasizes that Anand does disclose each and every feature of the independent claims 1, 8, and 15, as set forth above. Examiner emphasizes that Anand discloses wherein the first mode information comprises an ultrasound standard view classification and at least one anatomical object identification (see, e.g., Para. [0052], [0054], [0056], and [0059], where the claimed first mode information corresponds to the disclosed information obtained from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data, including the prediction of the second mode to identity/determine the ROI extent (i.e., ultrasound view information/classification) and the detected tissue/blood vessel information of interest (i.e., anatomical object information/classification) encompassed within the identified ROI extent that is determined from the displayed first mode/B-mode image data).
Examiner notes that there is not a specific definition of the claimed term “ultrasound standard view classification” provided by the Applicant in the claims, in order to specify that this term is “a predefined, reproducible way of positioning the probe to acquire an image so that key anatomy appears in a consistent orientation and layout on the screen. In other words, it is a commonly agreed-upon (i.e., standardized) image view that sonographers and physicians are trained to obtain and interpret in the same way”, as argued in page 18 of the Remarks filed 11/26/2025. In other words, it seems the Applicant is arguing that the term “ultrasound standard view classification” is defined as a preset/predetermined view that is already known by the user. However, since there is not a specific definition of this claimed term provided by the Applicant in the claims, the Examiner’s broadest reasonable interpretation of this term “ultrasound standard view classification” corresponds to the determined/identified/classified/etc. ultrasound view (region of interest) being imaged at that time.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a "standard view" is a predefined, reproducible way of positioning the probe to acquire an image so that key anatomy appears in a consistent orientation and layout on the screen. In other words, it is a commonly agreed-upon (i.e., standardized) image view that sonographers and physicians are trained to obtain and interpret in the same way” as argued in page 18 of the Remarks filed 11/26/2025) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, Anand does disclose each and every feature of the independent claims 1, 8, and 15, as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guracar et al. (US 2021/0401405 A1) is in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging and teaches “In one embodiment, B-mode imaging is performed. The view is classified as one of the standard cardiac views. The user utters “color,” which places an ROI at a first anatomy area of the options” in Para. [0044].
Errico et al. (US 2023/0346339 A1) is in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging and teaches “Neural network may be trained to recognize target anatomical landmarks associated with specific standard cardiac views or a user may train neural network to locate one or more custom target anatomical features” in Para. [0059].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798