DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 2 and line 5, reads “The” should read “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-11, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Globerman (US PG PUB. 2022/0307281).
Regarding Claim 1, Globerman teaches a vehicle moving apparatus, comprising:
a housing extending in a first direction (Figure 4 [421]);
an elevator coupled to the housing to be movable in the first direction and a second direction opposite thereto (Paragraph [0007], Figure 4), extending in a third direction and being inserted to be drawable into an underside space of a vehicle, and configured to lift or lower a wheel of the vehicle (Paragraph [0007] and [0008]);
a wheel assembly coupled to the elevator and configured to move the housing and the elevator in a direction toward the vehicle or in a direction opposite the vehicle, wherein the wheel assembly comprises: a first wheel rotatably provided with a vertical direction as an axis, and configured to movably support the elevator (Paragraph [0007] and [0004]);
an actuator coupled to the first wheel and configured to provide power for rotating the first wheel (Paragraph [0019]),
wherein the first wheel is rotatable about the vertical direction such that a diameter of the first wheel is aligned between the first direction and the third direction (Paragraph [0178]).
Regarding Claim 2, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 1;
wherein the actuator comprises a first actuator coupled to the first wheel and configured to provide power for rotating the first wheel about the vertical direction as an axis (paragraph [0017 and [0019]).
Regarding Claim 6, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 2;
wherein the actuator comprises a second actuator coupled to the first wheel and configured to provide power for rotating the first wheel with a horizontal direction as an axis (Paragraph [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding Claim 7, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 6, wherein:
The first actuator is configured to operate to rotate the first wheel about the vertical direction as an axis such that the diameter of the first wheel is aligned between the first direction and the third direction (Paragraph [0019] and [0020]),
and the second actuator is configured to operate to rotate the first wheel about the horizontal direction as an axis such that the first wheel is movable toward the first or second direction (Paragraph [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding Claim 8, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 7;
wherein when the first wheel rotates about the vertical direction such that the diameter of the first wheel is aligned in the third direction (Paragraph [0019] and [0020]),
the second actuator is configured to operate to insert the elevator into the underside space of the vehicle or to draw the elevator out of the underside space of the vehicle (Paragraph [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding Claim 9, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 7, wherein: the elevator comprises a pair of arms extending along the third direction, and when the first wheel rotates about the vertical direction such that the diameter of the first wheel is aligned with the first direction (Paragraph [0019] and [0020]),
the second actuator is configured to operate to move the pair of arms in a direction toward each other or a direction away from each other (Paragraph [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding Claim 10, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 9;
wherein: when the pair of arms are moved toward each other, the pair of arms are in contact with the first wheel (Figures 3A-3C, Paragraph [0008]) and when the pair of arms are further moved toward each other, an outer circumferential surface of the first wheel is partially supported on the pair of arms so as to lift the first wheel (Paragraph [0019] and [0020].
Regarding Claim 11, Globerman teaches, A vehicle moving apparatus, comprising:
a housing extending in a longitudinal direction of a vehicle (Figure 4 (421);
an elevator coupled to the housing and movable along an extension direction of the housing, and extending in a width direction of the vehicle (Figure 4 (403), Paragraph [0007] [0008]),
the elevator being insertable into or drawable from an underside space of the vehicle (Paragraph [0007] [0008]);
a wheel assembly positioned adjacent to a lower side of one end of the elevator in an extension direction of the elevator, and movably supporting the housing and the elevator (Paragraph [0017] [0004]);
and a supporter positioned adjacent to a lower side of another end of the elevator in the extension direction of the elevator, and movably supporting the elevator (Paragraph [0179], Figure 4 – (413)), wherein the elevator comprises:
an arm extending in the width direction of the vehicle and being insertable into the underside space of the vehicle to lift or lower the vehicle elevator (Figure 4 – (403) Paragraph [0007] [0008]);
a housing coupler coupled to one end of the arm in the extension direction of the elevator and movably coupled to the housing (Figure 4 – (407/409));
and a wheel coupler coupled to the housing coupler and rotatably coupled to the wheel assembly (Figure 4 – (417)).
Regarding Claim 13, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 11, wherein the elevator comprises:
a first elevator located to be biased to one side of the housing in the extension direction of the elevator (Figure 4 – (403) Paragraph [0008]);
and a second elevator spaced apart from the first elevator in the extension direction of the housing and located to be biased to the one side of the housing in the extension direction of the elevator (Figure 4 – (403) Paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 14, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
the first elevator and the second elevator are disposed to face each other with a wheel of the vehicle interposed there between (Figure 3A – (301,311,303)),
when the first elevator and the second elevator are moved toward each other, the wheel is supported by the arm (Figure 3A – (301,311,303)),
and when the first elevator and the second elevator are further moved toward each other, the wheel is lifted by the arm (Figure 3A – (301,311,303)).
Regarding Claim 15, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 13, wherein the arm comprises:
a first arm disposed in the first elevator (Figure 3A – (301,311,303));
and a second arm disposed in the second elevator (Figure 3A – (301,311,303)),
wherein the first arm and the second arm comprise rollers disposed at respective edges facing each other and configured to be in contact with a wheel of the vehicle to be rolled (Figure 4 – (419) Paragraph [0146]).
Regarding Claim 16, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 15, wherein:
the rollers of the first arm and the second arm are disposed in parallel to other so as to be adjacent to each other along the extension direction of the housing, and a length of each roller is greater than or equal to a width of the wheel (Figure 4 – (419)).
Regarding Claim 20, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 11, wherein the supporter comprises:
a support body coupled to another end of the arm (Figure 4 – (411)- Circumferential ring Paragraph [0155]);
a caster supporting the support body and rotatably provided with a vertical direction as an axis
(Figure 4 – (413) Paragraph [0181] [0079] [0155]);
and a rotating plate positioned between the support body and the caster, coupled to the
support body, and rotatably coupled to the caster (Figure 4 – (413 and 415) Paragraph [0179] [0155]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Globerman (US 2022/0307281 A1; embodiment of fig. 4. in view of embodiment of fig. 14.)
Regarding claims 3 and 5, in the embodiment of fig. 4. Globerman does not explicitly teach a wheel assembly comprising a gear coupled to the first actuator and the first wheel and;
configured to deliver the power provided by the first actuator to the first wheel.
wherein the wheel assembly comprises a gear accommodating part configured to accommodate the gear and coupled to the elevator.
In the embodiment of fig. 14. Globerman teaches a wheel assembly that comprises a gear
(figure 14 - (1401)), coupled to the first actuator and the first wheel;
and configured to deliver the power provided by the first actuator to the first wheel (Paragraph [0134]).
wherein the wheel assembly comprises a gear accommodating part configured to accommodate the gear and coupled to the elevator (Figure 14 – (1413) – Gear housing).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date to combine both Globerman embodiments to provide precise rotational control for the wheel assembly through the use of gears.
Regarding claim 4, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 3;
wherein the gear comprises: a first gear coupled to the first wheel; and a second gear gear-fitted with the first gear and coupled to the first actuator (Paragraph [0134]).
Claims 12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Globerman (US PG PUB. 2022/0307281), in view of Shani (US PG PUB 2013/0251481).
Regarding claim 12, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus, wherein the arm comprises:
an arm body extending in the width direction of the vehicle (Figure 4 – (403));
a coupling plate positioned at one end of the arm body and extending at a predetermined angle with the arm body to be coupled to the housing coupler (Figure 4 – (407));
Globerman fails to teach a reinforcing rib extending along a surface of the coupling plate and coupled to the arm body and the coupling plate to maintain a coupling state of the arm body and the coupling plate.
However, Shani teaches a reinforcing rib (Figure 1 – (called out below)) along a surface of the coupling plate (Figure 1 – (120)) and coupled to the arm body (Figure 1 – (112)) and the coupling plate to maintain a coupling state of the arm body and the coupling plate.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date to modify Globerman’s coupling plate to include a reinforcing rib as taught by Shina to increase the structural strength and load capacity of the vehicle moving apparatus.
Regarding Claim 17, Globerman fails to teach, the vehicle moving apparatus, wherein:
each roller is provided in plural, and the plurality of rollers are disposed to be spaced apart from each other along the extension direction of the elevator,
and the plurality of rollers are configured to be respectively in contact with a pair of wheels of the vehicle disposed on the left side and the right side of the vehicle, respectively.
However, Shani teaches the vehicle moving apparatus wherein:
each roller is provided in plural (Figure 1 – (128)), and the plurality of rollers are disposed to be spaced apart from each other along the extension direction of the elevator (Figure 1 – (128)),
and the plurality of rollers are configured to be respectively in contact with a pair of wheels of the vehicle disposed on the left side and the right side of the vehicle, respectively (Figure 1 – (128)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date to modify Globerman’s vehicle moving apparatus to include a plurality of rollers disposed to be spaced apart from each other along the extension direction of the elevator and are configured to be respectively in contact with a pair of wheels of the vehicle disposed on the left side and the right side of the vehicle as taught by Shani. Doing so would simplify the vehicle movement system, by limiting repeating parts and decreasing the number of apparatuses necessary to move a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 18 and 19, Globerman teaches, the vehicle moving apparatus of claim 11, wherein the arm comprises:
an arm body extending in the width direction of the vehicle (Figure 4 – (403), Paragraph [0007] [0008]);
Globerman fails to teach a friction pad positioned on an upper surface of the arm body, extending along an extension direction of the arm body, and configured to increase frictional force by contact with a wheel of the vehicle;
wherein: the friction pad is provided in plural, and the plurality of friction pads are disposed to be spaced apart from each other along the extension direction of the arm body,
and the plurality of friction pads are configured to be respectively in contact with a pair of wheels of the vehicle disposed on the left side and the right side of the vehicle, respectively.
However, Shani teaches a vehicle moving apparatus, wherein:
a friction pad positioned on an upper surface of the arm body, extending along an extension direction of the arm body, and configured to increase frictional force by contact with a wheel of the vehicle (Figure 1 – (130));
the friction pad is provided in plural, and the plurality of friction pads are disposed to be spaced apart from each other along the extension direction of the arm body (Figure 1 – (130)),
and the plurality of friction pads are configured to be respectively in contact with a pair of wheels of the vehicle disposed on the left side and the right side of the vehicle, respectively (Figure 1 – (130)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date to modify Globerman’s vehicle moving apparatus to include a plurality of friction pads that contact a pair of wheels to increase grip on the wheel surface to improve transit speeds and lateral stability, as well as simplify the vehicle movement system, by limiting repeating parts and decreasing the number of apparatuses necessary to move a vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure.
Friend (U.S Pub No. 2020/0298806) describes a vehicle moving device with multiple rollers
coupled to vehicle wheels.
Tzivanopoulos (C.N 111287524 B) describes a parking robot with rollers that lift a single
vehicle wheel.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JSM/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652