Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2013/0092810.
Regarding claims 1-10, the claims are identical to the published claims of ‘810 and the disclosure of ‘810 is substantially similar to the written description of the instantly claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Herr (4254341) and further in view of Maruoka (6460232) and Rees (20070138415).
Regarding Claim 1, Herr teaches an system for suspending a personal radiation protection garment above a work surface defining an area, the suspension system comprising: a support member adapted to be positioned above the work surface (Figure 1, part 10a, 10b); a cable mechanically suspended from the support member (part 17); means for counter-balancing the weight of the personal radiation protection garment, the counter-balancing means attached to the cable (part 15); the personal radiation protection garment further comprising a body portion (Figure 1, part 20) having a front and a back (front side and back side, surrounding part 43) and a longitudinal axis (Figure 1, many axes can be constructed relative to the garment), a strap portion having an upper end and a lower end (shoulder portions underneath parts 41 and 42), the strap portion extending between and joining the front and the back of the body portion and with the body portion defining openings for passing a head and arms of a user (arms come out the sides, head comes out from part 43), and means for attaching the counter-balancing means to the personal radiation protection garment for suspending the personal radiation protection garment, the attaching means including means for disconnecting the garment from the counter-balancing means (part 16), wherein the personal radiation protection garment is supported in suspension when attached to the counter-balancing means, and wherein the personal radiation protection garment may be disconnected for releasing the personal radiation protection garment from suspension while still being worn by the user (unhook the hanger, Figure 1, part 16, still have head through opening 43 and still be wearing the apron).
Herr fails to explicitly teach wherein the disconnecting means is manually operable by one hand of a user and disposed within reach of the user while wearing the personal radiation protection garment attached to the counter-balancing means and wherein the personal radiation protection garment may be disconnected from the counter-balancing means by the one hand of the user while still being worn by the user.
Maruoka teaches a disconnecting means that is manually operable by one hand of a user and disposed within reach of the user and maybe disconnected by the one hand of the user (Figure 2, Figure 3).
Modification would have entailed swapping the disconnecting means of Herr for that of Maruoka in order to make the disconnecting means manually operable by one hand of a user and disposed within reach of the user while wearing the personal radiation protection garment attached to the counter- balancing means and wherein the personal radiation protection garment may be disconnected from the counter-balancing means by the one hand of the user while still being worn by the user.
It would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made since it would have been a matter of a substitution of one known device (the hook of Herr) for another (buckle and straps of Maruoka) to yield predictable results. Additionally, a buckle would have been less likely to slip off a hook, such as the hanger combination of Herr would be at risk for doing. And a buckle such as that of Maruoka is also disclosed as being strong, so it would have been good for use in the radiation protection garment system. Lastly, a person with ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options (in this case, trying buckles instead of hooks) within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense; see Pfizer, Ine. v. Apotex, Inc. (480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007)).
Herr and Maruoka fail to teach an elongated reinforcing member secured to the back of the body portion and extending substantially between the lower ends of the strap portions transverse to the longitudinal axis of the body portion; and means for attaching the counter-balancing means to the reinforcing member.
Rees teaches wherein a personal radiation protection garment includes a body portion having a front (Figure 2c) and a back (Figure 2B) and a longitudinal axis, a strap portion having an upper end and a lower end, the strap portion extending between and joining the front and the back of the body portion (part of protective garment 20 in Figure 2c that passes over part 84, shown in dashed lines as being under the strap portions) and with the body portion defining openings for passing a head and arms of a user (parts 12 and 32 of Figure 2c), and an elongated reinforcing member secured to the back of the body portion and extending substantially between the lower ends of the strap portions transverse to the longitudinal axis of the body portion ([74] “shoulder plates 84 can be one piece that extends over both shoulders” embodiment); and means for attaching the counter-balancing means to the reinforcing member for suspending the personal radiation protection garment (Figure 2c, parts 8o are attached to 84 via 86).
Modification would have entailed using a reinforcing member between the shoulder straps of Herr and Maruoka.
It would have been an obvious modification for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made since it would have added strength, ensured that the shoulder segments are “made of a material that can support at least a minimum weight of the suspended personal radiation protection garment” (Rees at [74]) and allowed less wear and tear on the material at points of high stress due to the connections to the hanger by spreading the weight over a larger area.
Regarding claim 2. Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 1, wherein the counter-balancing means comprises a zero gravity balancer (Herr, “no remaining weight at all” 2, 10-15).
Claim 3. Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 2, wherein the zero gravity balancer is operable to balance weight substantially equal to the weight of the personal radiation protection garment (Herr, 2, 10-15).
Claim 4. Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 1, wherein the counter-balancing means comprises a spring balancer (Herr, tension spring, part 15).
Regarding Claim 5, Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 1.
They fail to further teach wherein the counter-balancing means comprises at least one counterweight.
Rees teaches wherein a counter-balancing means comprises at least one counterweight (Claim 8, part b).
Modification would have entailed using the at least one counterweight of Rees in the system of Herr, Maruoka, and Rees in place of the counterbalancing means of Herr and Maruoka.
It would have been an obvious modification to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made since they are means designed to perform the same function (functional equivalents) and would have preserved the utility of the system of Herr and Maruoka, allowing the weight of the garment on the operator to be offset. The person of skill in the art might further look to the counter balancing means at hand or those obtained inexpensively / easily in order to select the means which would have been a good modification at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 1. Rees teaches wherein a counter-balancing means comprises an air balancer (Claim 8, part e).
Modification would have entailed using the air balancer of Rees in the system of Herr, Maruoka, and Rees in place of the counterbalancing means disclosed in Herr.
It would have been an obvious modification to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made since they are means designed to perform the same function (functional equivalents) and would have preserved the utility of the system of Herr and Maruoka, allowing the weight of the garment on the operator to be offset. The person of skill in the art might further look to the counter balancing means at hand or those obtained inexpensively / easily in order to select the means which would have been a good modification at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 1. Rees teaches wherein a counter-balancing means is a pneumatic balancer (Claim 8, part d). Modification would have entailed using the pneumatic balancer of Rees in the system of Herr, Maruoka, and Rees in place of the counterbalancing means disclosed in Herr. It would have been an obvious modification to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made since they are means designed to perform the same function (functional equivalents) and would have preserved the utility of the system of Herr and Maruoka, allowing the weight of the garment on the operator to be offset. The person of skill in the art might further look to the counter balancing means at hand or those obtained inexpensively / easily in order to select the means which would have been a good modification at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 8, Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 1. Rees teaches wherein the counter-balancing means comprises a spring motor (Claim 8, part f). Modification would have entailed using the spring motor of Rees in the system of Herr, Maruoka, and Rees in place of the counterbalancing means disclosed by Herr. It would have been an obvious modification to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made since they are means designed to perform the same function (functional equivalents) and would have preserved the utility of the system of Herr and Maruoka, allowing the weight of the garment on theoperator to be offset. The person of skill in the art might further look to the counter balancing means at hand or those obtained inexpensively / easily in order to select the means which would have been a good modification at the time of the invention.
Claim 9. Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 1, wherein the support member comprises a rail having a longitudinal axis (Herr, part 10a, 10b); and a trolley disposed on the rail for movement relative to the rail along the longitudinal axis, wherein the cable is connected to the trolley (Herr, part 12).
Claim 10. Herr, Maruoka, and Rees teach the system as recited in claim 9, wherein the rail comprises a means for attaching to the ceiling of a room (Herr, part 11).
Conclusion
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881