DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is responsive to the continuation application filed on 02/13/2026. Applicant has submitted Claims 1-13 for examination.
Examiner finds the following: 1) Claims 1-13 are rejected; 2) no claims objected to; and 3) no claims allowable.
Response to Arguments and Remarks
Examiner respectfully acknowledges Applicant's remarks.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks about Raymond and the newly amended language, Examiner is not persuaded.
Applicant has amended in the following language into all independent claims:
… a reference reflection point, provided between the optical brancher and the optical sensor head, to internally reflect the signal light branched by the optical brancher by partially reflecting the signal light; …
Applicant argues that the primary reference, Raymond (US 20190223714 A1), fails to disclose the above limitation. More specifically, as Examiner understands it, Applicant argues that the reference path of Raymond, shown as 1110 in FIG. 1, is being mapped as both the optical brancher and the reference reflection point of the claimed invention.
In an attempt to better clarify, Examiner reviewed Applicant’s remarks and the as-filed specification. Regarding the reference reflection point, the specification states in [0013]:
The reference reflection point 4 internally reflects the signal light by partially reflecting the signal light branched by the optical branching device 2. More specifically, in the first embodiment, the reference reflection point 4 internally reflects the signal light output from the optical circulator 3 by partially reflecting the signal light. The internal reflected light internally reflected by the reference reflection point 4 is output to the optical heterodyne receiver 6 via the optical circulator 3. The signal light having passed through the reference reflection point 4 is output to the optical sensor head 5. Examples of the reference reflection point 4 include a partial reflection mirror or a connector end surface.
Based on information and belief, the above paragraph is the most descriptive regarding the reference reflection point, noting that it (1) receives signal light branched towards it, (2) internally reflects said signal light, and then (3) output the light to next step, which in the claimed invention is the optical heterodyne.
Looking at Raymond, Examiner finds a similar process. (1) The signal is split with fiber splitter 1020, which sends signal light down reference path 1100, (2) said signal goes through variable optical attenuator 1140, which Examiner notes that attenuators based on reflection is well known in the art, and (3) outputs the signal to the next step via optical fiber 1110 via total internal reflection. Examiner directs Applicant to the RP Photonics Encyclopedia page regarding Optical Attenuators (https://www.rp-photonics.com/optical_attenuators.html).
As such, Examiner interprets the language as to include the process discloses by Raymond and disagrees that the amended language is not disclosed by Raymond.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raymond (US 20190223714 A1) in view of Inamdar (US 20220252908 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Raymond discloses:
An optical sensor device, comprising:
a wavelength swept light source to output light whose frequency changes with lapse of time (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], swept laser light source 1010);
an optical brancher to branch light output from the wavelength swept light source into signal light and local oscillation light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020);
an optical sensor head (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], detector 1050) … branched by the optical brancher toward a measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 7, [0040], eye 101) and receive reflected light reflected by the measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0044], “to direct the first portion of the laser light to eye 101 as a probe beam 1214, and to receive a returned portion of the probe beam from eye 101, returned by reflection and/or scattering and to direct the returned portion of probe beam 1214 to detector 1050 via second fiber splitter 1030”); …
… a reference reflection point (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015), provided between the optical brancher and the optical sensor head (See FIG. 1), to internally reflect the signal light branched by the optical brancher by partially reflecting the signal light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015. Examiner notes that attenuators based on reflection is well known in the art);
an analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], Sampler 3110 may include an analog-to-digital converter) to convert the reception signal acquired by the … receiver into a digital signal by sampling the reception signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], “whose output is clocked by the fiducial clock and may be configured to sample the OCT output signal synchronous with the fiducial clock and to produce digital data samples of the OCT output signal”);
a first digital-to-analog converter to generate a first clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], “whose output is clocked by the fiducial clock and may be configured to sample the OCT output signal synchronous with the fiducial clock and to produce digital data samples of the OCT output signal”); …
… a signal processor to calculate measurement data related to the measurement target on a basis of the reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], Digital signal processor 3120), wherein …
… the analog-to-digital converter further converts the internal reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver into a digital signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], Sampler 3110 may include an analog-to-digital converter),
the signal processor further calculates first frequency variation reference signal data serving as a reference for frequency variation of light output from the wavelength swept light source on a basis of the internal reception signal converted into a digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”), …
… the analog-to-digital converter samples the reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver in synchronization with the first frequency variation reference signal generated by the first digital-to-analog converter or, samples the internal reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver in synchronization with the second clock signal generated by the phase-locked loop (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock”).
Raymond discloses the above, but does not explicitly disclose:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal; …
… a phase-locked loop to generate a second clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter; and …
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal, …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal, …
Examiner notes that Raymond does suggest combination with a heterodyne system in [0008].
However, Inamdar, in a similar field of endeavor (PHOTONIC INTEGRATED CIRCUIT-BASED OPTICAL PHASED ARRAY CALIBRATION TECHNIQUE), discloses:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light (Inamdar, [0034], FIG. 1, nodes 102 and 104. Examiner notes that notes 102 and 104 both send and receive signals) …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”); …
… a phase-locked loop to generate a second clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”); and …
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”), …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raymond with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify Raymond. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 2, Raymond discloses:
An optical sensor device, comprising:
a wavelength swept light source to output light whose frequency changes with lapse of time (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], swept laser light source 1010);
an optical brancher to branch light output from the wavelength swept light source into signal light and local oscillation light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020);
an optical sensor head (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], detector 1050) … branched by the optical brancher toward a measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 7, [0040], eye 101) and receive reflected light reflected by the measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0044], “to direct the first portion of the laser light to eye 101 as a probe beam 1214, and to receive a returned portion of the probe beam from eye 101, returned by reflection and/or scattering and to direct the returned portion of probe beam 1214 to detector 1050 via second fiber splitter 1030”);
a reference reflection point (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015), provided between the optical brancher and the optical sensor head (See FIG. 1), to internally reflect the signal light branched by the optical brancher by partially reflecting the signal light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015. Examiner notes that attenuators based on reflection is well known in the art); …
… an analog-to-digital converter to convert the reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver into a digital signal by sampling the reception signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], Sampler 3110 may include an analog-to-digital converter); …
… a signal processor to calculate measurement data related to the measurement target on a basis of the reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog- to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], Digital signal processor 3120), wherein …
… the analog-to-digital converter further converts the internal reception signal acquired by the … receiver into a digital signal by sampling the internal reception signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], “whose output is clocked by the fiducial clock and may be configured to sample the OCT output signal synchronous with the fiducial clock and to produce digital data samples of the OCT output signal”),
the signal processor further calculates an instantaneous frequency of the internal reception signal by performing Hilbert transform on the internal reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter, and calculates first frequency variation reference signal data as a reference to frequency variation of light output by the wavelength swept light source by multiplying the calculated instantaneous frequency (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”), …
… the analog-to-digital converter samples the reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver in synchronization with the first frequency variation reference signal generated by the first digital-to-analog converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock”).
Raymond discloses the above, but does not explicitly disclose:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal; …
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal, …
… a first digital-to-analog converter to generate a first clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter; and …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal, and …
Examiner notes that Raymond does suggest combination with a heterodyne system in [0008].
However, Inamdar, in a similar field of endeavor (PHOTONIC INTEGRATED CIRCUIT-BASED OPTICAL PHASED ARRAY CALIBRATION TECHNIQUE), discloses:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light (Inamdar, [0034], FIG. 1, nodes 102 and 104. Examiner notes that notes 102 and 104 both send and receive signals) …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”); …
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), …
… a first digital-to-analog converter to generate a first clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”); and …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”), and …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raymond with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify Raymond. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 3, Raymond discloses:
An optical sensor device, comprising:
a wavelength swept light source to output light whose frequency changes with lapse of time (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], swept laser light source 1010);
an optical brancher to branch light output from the wavelength swept light source into signal light and local oscillation light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020);
an optical sensor head (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], detector 1050) … branched by the optical brancher toward a measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 7, [0040], eye 101) and receive reflected light reflected by the measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0044], “to direct the first portion of the laser light to eye 101 as a probe beam 1214, and to receive a returned portion of the probe beam from eye 101, returned by reflection and/or scattering and to direct the returned portion of probe beam 1214 to detector 1050 via second fiber splitter 1030”);
a reference reflection point (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015), provided between the optical brancher and the optical sensor head (See FIG. 1), to internally reflect the signal light branched by the optical brancher by partially reflecting the signal light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015. Examiner notes that attenuators based on reflection is well known in the art); …
… an analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], Sampler 3110 may include an analog-to-digital converter) to convert the reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver into a digital signal by sampling the reception signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], “whose output is clocked by the fiducial clock and may be configured to sample the OCT output signal synchronous with the fiducial clock and to produce digital data samples of the OCT output signal”); …
… a signal processor to calculate measurement data related to the measurement target on a basis of the reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”),
a brancher (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020); …
… a frequency phase comparator (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”); and …
… the analog-to-digital converter further converts the internal reception signal acquired by the … receiver into a digital signal by sampling the internal reception signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], “whose output is clocked by the fiducial clock and may be configured to sample the OCT output signal synchronous with the fiducial clock and to produce digital data samples of the OCT output signal”),
the signal processor further calculates first frequency variation reference signal data serving as a reference for frequency variation of light output from the wavelength swept light source on a basis of the internal reception signal converted into a digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”), …
… the analog-to-digital converter samples the reception signal acquired by the receiver in synchronization with the first frequency variation reference signal …, the brancher branches the internal reception signal acquired by the … receiver into the frequency phase comparator and the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”),
the signal processor further calculates second frequency variation reference signal data on a basis of the internal reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”), …
… the frequency phase comparator generates an error signal of frequency by comparing the internal reception signal branched by the brancher with the second frequency variation reference signal generated by the second digital-to-analog converter (Raymond, [0035], “Because the depth or location of surface whose reflected or scattered light produces the fiducial peak is known a priori, the time delay of the fiducial peak provides a known reference for correcting the nonlinear frequency-versus-time response of a swept frequency laser source. In particular, the fiducial peak may be isolated from the OCT signal, and be used to generate a data acquisition clock for capturing the OCT signal, performing a similar function as a k-clock”), …
… the wavelength swept light source adjusts a frequency of light to be output on a basis of the control signal generated (Raymond, [0035], “Because the depth or location of surface whose reflected or scattered light produces the fiducial peak is known a priori, the time delay of the fiducial peak provides a known reference for correcting the nonlinear frequency-versus-time response of a swept frequency laser source. In particular, the fiducial peak may be isolated from the OCT signal, and be used to generate a data acquisition clock for capturing the OCT signal, performing a similar function as a k-clock”).
Raymond discloses the above, but does not explicitly disclose:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal; …
… a first digital-to-analog converter to generate a first clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter; …
… a second digital-to-analog converter; …
… a loop filter, wherein …
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal, …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal, …
… the second digital-to-analog converter generates a second frequency variation reference signal by converting the second frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal, …
… the loop filter generates a control signal by integrating the error signal generated by the frequency phase comparator, and …
Raymond does suggest combination with a heterodyne system in [0008].
However, Inamdar, in a similar field of endeavor (PHOTONIC INTEGRATED CIRCUIT-BASED OPTICAL PHASED ARRAY CALIBRATION TECHNIQUE), discloses:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light (Inamdar, [0034], FIG. 1, nodes 102 and 104. Examiner notes that notes 102 and 104 both send and receive signals) …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”); …
… a first digital-to-analog converter to generate a first clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”); …
… a second digital-to-analog converter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”); …
… a loop filter (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), wherein …
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”), …
… the second digital-to-analog converter generates a second frequency variation reference signal by converting the second frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”), …
… the loop filter generates a control signal by integrating the error signal generated by the frequency phase comparator (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), and …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raymond with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify Raymond. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 4, Raymond discloses:
An optical sensor device, comprising:
a wavelength swept light source to output light whose frequency changes with lapse of time (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], swept laser light source 1010);
an optical brancher to branch light output from the wavelength swept light source into signal light and local oscillation light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020);
an optical sensor head (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], detector 1050) … branched by the optical brancher toward a measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 7, [0040], eye 101) and receive reflected light reflected by the measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0044], “to direct the first portion of the laser light to eye 101 as a probe beam 1214, and to receive a returned portion of the probe beam from eye 101, returned by reflection and/or scattering and to direct the returned portion of probe beam 1214 to detector 1050 via second fiber splitter 1030”); …
… a reference reflection point (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015), provided between the optical brancher and the optical sensor head (See FIG. 1), to internally reflect the signal light branched by the optical brancher by partially reflecting the signal light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], variable optical attenuator (VOA) 1015. Examiner notes that attenuators based on reflection is well known in the art);
an analog-to-digital converter to convert the reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver into a digital signal by sampling the reception signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], Sampler 3110 may include an analog-to-digital converter); …
… a signal processor to calculate measurement data related to the measurement target on a basis of the reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”);
a brancher (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020); …
… a frequency phase comparator (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”); …
… the analog-to-digital converter further converts the internal reception signal acquired by the receiver into a digital signal by sampling the internal reception signal (Raymond, FIG. 3, [0055], “whose output is clocked by the fiducial clock and may be configured to sample the OCT output signal synchronous with the fiducial clock and to produce digital data samples of the OCT output signal”),
the signal processor further calculates first frequency variation reference signal data serving as a reference for frequency variation of light output from the wavelength swept light source on a basis of the internal reception signal converted into a digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”), …
… the analog-to-digital converter samples the reception signal acquired by the … receiver in synchronization with the first frequency variation reference signal (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”) …,
the brancher branches the internal reception signal acquired by the … receiver into the frequency phase comparator and the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, [0035], “Because the depth or location of surface whose reflected or scattered light produces the fiducial peak is known a priori, the time delay of the fiducial peak provides a known reference for correcting the nonlinear frequency-versus-time response of a swept frequency laser source. In particular, the fiducial peak may be isolated from the OCT signal, and be used to generate a data acquisition clock for capturing the OCT signal, performing a similar function as a k-clock”),
the signal processor further calculates second frequency variation reference signal data on a basis of the internal reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”), …
… the frequency phase comparator generates an error signal of frequency by comparing the internal reception signal branched by the brancher with the second frequency variation reference signal (Raymond, [0035], “Because the depth or location of surface whose reflected or scattered light produces the fiducial peak is known a priori, the time delay of the fiducial peak provides a known reference for correcting the nonlinear frequency-versus-time response of a swept frequency laser source. In particular, the fiducial peak may be isolated from the OCT signal, and be used to generate a data acquisition clock for capturing the OCT signal, performing a similar function as a k-clock”) …, …
Raymond discloses the above, but does not explicitly disclose:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal; …
… a first digital-to-analog converter to generate a first clock signal of the analog- to-digital converter; …
… a second digital-to-analog converter; …
… a loop filter; …
… a voltage-controlled oscillator; and
an optical frequency shifter, wherein
the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal, …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal, …
… the second digital-to-analog converter generates a second frequency variation reference signal by converting the second frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal, …
… the loop filter generates a control signal by integrating the error signal generated by the frequency phase comparator, …
… the voltage-controlled oscillator generates a control signal of the optical frequency shifter on a basis of the control signal generated by the loop filter,
the optical frequency shifter frequency-shifts the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher on a basis of the control signal generated by the voltage-controlled oscillator, and
the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light frequency-shifted by the optical frequency shifter and the internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to acquire a internal reception signal, multiplexes the local oscillation light frequency-shifted by the optical frequency shifter and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal.
Examiner notes that Raymond does suggest combination with a heterodyne system in [0008].
However, Inamdar, in a similar field of endeavor (PHOTONIC INTEGRATED CIRCUIT-BASED OPTICAL PHASED ARRAY CALIBRATION TECHNIQUE), discloses:
… an optical sensor head to emit the signal light (Inamdar, [0034], FIG. 1, nodes 102 and 104. Examiner notes that notes 102 and 104 both send and receive signals) …
… an optical heterodyne receiver to multiplex the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically convert the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”); …
… a first digital-to-analog converter to generate a first clock signal of the analog- to-digital converter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”); …
… a second digital-to-analog converter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”); …
… a loop filter (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”); …
… a voltage-controlled oscillator (Inamdar, FIG. 12, [0094], “The additional antenna element 1204 here is positioned at an appropriate distance from the area 1202 and operates as a local oscillator to produce a reference signal to allow for digital holography Fourier processing”); and
an optical frequency shifter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0056], “each DRIIC cell 512 may include a register 514 configured to store values associated with different phase shifts to be applied by the modulator 508 of its corresponding array element 502”), wherein
the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), …
… the first digital-to-analog converter generates a first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal by converting the first frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”), …
… the second digital-to-analog converter generates a second frequency variation reference signal by converting the second frequency variation reference signal data calculated by the signal processor into an analog signal (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”), …
… the loop filter generates a control signal by integrating the error signal generated by the frequency phase comparator (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), …
… the voltage-controlled oscillator generates a control signal of the optical frequency shifter on a basis of the control signal generated by the loop filter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0060], “any suitable technique may be used to provide suitable control voltages or other control signals to the modulators 508 for use in controlling the phase shifts provided by the modulators 508”),
the optical frequency shifter frequency-shifts the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher on a basis of the control signal generated by the voltage-controlled oscillator (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), and
the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light frequency-shifted by the optical frequency shifter and the internal reflected light obtained by internally reflecting the signal light branched by the optical brancher (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to acquire a internal reception signal, multiplexes the local oscillation light frequency-shifted by the optical frequency shifter and the reflected light received by the optical sensor head, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to acquire a reception signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raymond with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify Raymond. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 1, and Inamdar further discloses:
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the internal reflected light reflected by the reference reflection point, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 2, and Inamdar further discloses:
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the internal reflected light reflected by the reference reflection point, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 3, and Inamdar further discloses:
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the internal reflected light reflected by the reference reflection point, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 4, and Inamdar further discloses:
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the internal reflected light reflected by the reference reflection point, and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 1, and Raymond further discloses:
… further comprising a switch to switch a clock signal of the analog-to-digital converter to either the first frequency variation reference signal as the first clock signal generated by the first digital-to-analog converter or the second clock signal generated by the phase-locked loop (Raymond, ]0035], “the fiducial peak may be isolated from the OCT signal, and be used to generate a data acquisition clock for capturing the OCT signal, performing a similar function as a k-clock”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 3, and Raymond further discloses:
… further comprising a reference reflection point (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020. Examiner notes this is inherent to a fiber splitter), an optical frequency shifter, a first filter (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0054], “Detector block 3050 may include: a detector, such as detector 1050 discussed above, which may be a balanced photo-detector; an analog filter (e.g., a high pass filter), and a digital clock generator”), and a second filter (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal”), wherein
the reference reflection point internally reflects the signal light branched by the optical brancher by partially reflecting the signal light (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020. Examiner notes this is inherent to a fiber splitter), …
… the optical sensor head emits (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], detector 1050) the signal light frequency-shifted by the optical frequency shifter toward the measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 7, [0040], eye 101) and receives reflected light reflected by the measurement target (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0044], “to direct the first portion of the laser light to eye 101 as a probe beam 1214, and to receive a returned portion of the probe beam from eye 101, returned by reflection and/or scattering and to direct the returned portion of probe beam 1214 to detector 1050 via second fiber splitter 1030”), …
… the brancher branches the reception signal and the internal reception signal acquired by the optical heterodyne receiver into the first filter and the second filter (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0038], first fiber splitter 1020),
the first filter passes the internal reception signal branched by the brancher and blocks the reception signal branched by the brancher (Raymond, FIG. 1, [0054], “Detector block 3050 may include: a detector, such as detector 1050 discussed above, which may be a balanced photo-detector; an analog filter (e.g., a high pass filter), and a digital clock generator.” Examiner notes that PHOSITA would know how to use filters to isolate particular signals),
the second filter passes the reception signal branched by the brancher and blocks the internal reception signal branched by the brancher (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal.” Examiner notes that PHOSITA would know how to use filters to isolate particular signals), …
… the frequency phase comparator generates an error signal of frequency by comparing the internal reception signal passed by the first filter with the second frequency variation reference signal generated (Raymond, [0035], “Because the depth or location of surface whose reflected or scattered light produces the fiducial peak is known a priori, the time delay of the fiducial peak provides a known reference for correcting the nonlinear frequency-versus-time response of a swept frequency laser source. In particular, the fiducial peak may be isolated from the OCT signal, and be used to generate a data acquisition clock for capturing the OCT signal, performing a similar function as a k-clock”) …
… the analog-to-digital converter samples the reception signal passed by the second filter in synchronization with the first frequency variation reference signal generated (Raymond, FIG. 4, [0060], “Digital signal processor 3120 may be configured to: digitally isolate the fiducial peak in the digital data samples of the OCT output signal, for example by digitally filtering the digital data samples of the OCT output signal; generate a fiducial clock from the isolated fiducial peak; resample the digital data samples of the OCT output signal with the fiducial clock; and process the resampled digital data samples of the OCT output signal to produce data indicating the depths of surfaces of structures of the eye, which may be read out, for example, via a USB 3.0 interface”)...
Inamdar further discloses:
… the optical frequency shifter frequency-shifts the signal light having passed through the reference reflection point (Inamdar, FIG. 7, [0075], “linear or other phase shifters may be used to compensate for the different path lengths between the input of the feed path 702 and each array element 502”), …
… the optical heterodyne receiver multiplexes the local oscillation light branched by the optical brancher and the internal reflected light reflected by the reference reflection point (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may operate as a coherent receiver with an active laser source for local oscillator heterodyne mixing. For example, the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), and photoelectrically converts the multiplexed light to further acquire an internal reception signal as an electric signal (Inamdar, [0026], “the receiver may support frequency and phase locking of a local oscillator and a reference frequency to accommodate Doppler-shifted signals for coherent reception”), …
… by the second digital-to-analog converter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”), and …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 10, and Inamdar further discloses:
… further comprising a frequency mixer (Inamdar, FIG. 17, [0107], “heterodyne coherent mixing in the near-field”), wherein
the optical frequency shifter further frequency-shifts the reflected light received by the optical sensor head (Inamdar, FIG. 7, [0075], “linear or other phase shifters may be used to compensate for the different path lengths between the input of the feed path 702 and each array element 502”),
the frequency mixer frequency-shifts the reception signal passed by the second filter by a frequency that is twice the shift amount by the optical frequency shifter (Inamdar, FIG. 7, [0075], “linear or other phase shifters may be used to compensate for the different path lengths between the input of the feed path 702 and each array element 502”), and
the analog-to-digital converter samples the reception signal frequency-shifted by the frequency mixer in synchronization with the first frequency variation reference signal generated by the first digital-to-analog converter (Inamdar, FIG. 5, [0055], “The DRIIC cells 512 may essentially function as digital-to-analog conversion devices, where digital programming (such as 2-bit, 8-bit, or other digital values) are converted into appropriately-scaled direct current (DC) analog voltages spanning a specific range of voltages. As a particular example, the DRIIC cells 512 may operate to convert digital values into suitable DC analog voltages between 0 V and 3.3 V, although other voltages (including negative voltages) can be supported depending on the implementation”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 10, and Inamdar further discloses:
… wherein the signal processor compensates for nonlinearity of the reception signal caused by the frequency shift by the optical frequency shifter when calculating the measurement data related to the measurement target on a basis of the reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Inamdar, FIG. 7, [0075], “linear or other phase shifters may be used to compensate for the different path lengths between the input of the feed path 702 and each array element 502”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Raymond and Inamdar discloses Claim 4, and Inamdar further discloses:
… further comprising a frequency mixer (Inamdar, FIG. 17, [0107], “heterodyne coherent mixing in the near-field”), wherein
the signal processor calculates the second frequency variation reference signal data by giving an offset to a frequency of the internal reception signal converted into the digital signal by the analog-to-digital converter (Inamdar, FIG. 7, [0075], “linear or other phase shifters may be used to compensate for the different path lengths between the input of the feed path 702 and each array element 502”), and
the frequency mixer downshifts each frequency of the reception signal and the internal reception signal branched by the brancher by an amount corresponding to the offset (Inamdar, FIG. 7, [0075], “linear or other phase shifters may be used to compensate for the different path lengths between the input of the feed path 702 and each array element 502”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar with the optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion of Inamdar. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of optical heterodyne receivers or digital-to-analog conversion as disclosed by Inamdar and how to use them to modify the combination of Raymond and Inamdar. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)), specifically the combination of a heterodyne system with Raymond as suggested by Raymond.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD ANDREW REVERMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877