DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a response dated July 1, 2025 in which claims 1, 3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or § 112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Priority
Application 18/379,692 was filed on October 13, 2023 and claims benefit of JAPAN 2022-166900 filed on October 18, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. (MPEP 2106). The claims are directed to a method, system, and apparatus which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES). The recitation of the claimed invention is analyzed as follows, in which the abstract elements are boldfaced.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of:
An information processing system comprising: a first apparatus configured to manage content of a contract of the first vehicle insurance corresponding to a first vehicle; and
a second apparatus installed at a base where fitting of a vehicle component to the first vehicle is at least performed;
wherein when a first vehicle component is added to the first vehicle later, the second apparatus transmits first data that identifies the first vehicle component to the first apparatus; and
when the contract of first vehicle insurance that covers the first vehicle exists, and the first apparatus receives the first data, the first apparatus registers, with a database managing content of the contract of the first vehicle insurance, that the first vehicle component is covered by the first vehicle insurance,
wherein: transmitting the first data includes: transmitting, by the second apparatus, the first data including at least an identifier of the first vehicle component, and a newly fitting of vehicle component or an exchange of vehicle component as a work classification of a work performed on the first vehicle,
the identifier and the work classification being inputted by a user of the base via a screen of a display of the second apparatus, and
registering that the first vehicle component is covered by the first vehicle insurance includes: receiving, by the first apparatus, the first data transmitted from the second apparatus; and
in response to receiving the first data, storing, in the database by the first apparatus, the identifier of the first vehicle component included in the first data based on the newly fitting of vehicle component or the exchange of vehicle component included in the first data.
The claim as a whole recites a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate management of vehicle insurance. This is a fundamental economic practice of a managing insurance; a commercial interaction, such as for business relations; and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, which are certain methods of organizing human activity.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A, prong 1: YES).
Moreover, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Other than reciting a “An information processing system comprising: a first apparatus configured to”, “a second apparatus”, “a screen of a display of the second apparatus”, and “a database”, to perform the steps of “managing” and “registering”, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being a certain method for organizing human activity. The claim as a whole does not integrate the exception into a practical application. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate management of vehicle insurance in a computer environment. The additional computer elements recited in the claim limitations are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception utilizing generic computer components.
For example, the Specification discloses “[0029] The management server 100 can be configured as a computer that includes a processor such as a CPU or a GPU, a main memory such as a RAM and a ROM, auxiliary storage devices such as an EPROM, a hard disk drive, and a removable medium. In an auxiliary storage device, an operating system (OS), various kinds of programs, various kinds of tables and the like are stored. By loading a program stored therein to a work area of the main memory, executing the program, and each of components and the like being controlled through the execution of the program, each of functions that meet predetermined purposes as described later can be realized. A part or all of the functions may be realized by a hardware circuit like an ASIC and an FPGA. [0030] In the present embodiment, the management server 100 may be configured to be capable of executing a Web server for performing interaction with the base server 200.In this case, for example, by the base server 200 accessing Web services using a browser, input/output of information can be performed. The management server 100 may provide services by techniques other than the Web server. For example, a service of performing interaction with dedicated application software installed in the base server 200 using a predetermined protocol may be executed in the management server 100” and “[0043] Similarly to the management server 100, the base server 200 can be configured as a computer that includes a processor such as a CPU or a GPU, a main memory such as a RAM and a ROM, auxiliary storage devices such as an EPROM, a hard disk drive, and a removable medium.”
Additionally, the display of the second apparatus is merely adding pre-solution activity to the judicial exception, as merely data gathering means of the user's options related to recording information relevant to the fitting of vehicle component as a work classification of a work performed on a vehicle, and the interface objects are generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (e.g. user interface icons). The specification says no more than “The above pieces of information may be inputted, for example, via a screen as illustrated in Fig. 8. In the example of Fig. 8, reference sign 801 represents a GUI part for causing an identifier of a vehicle to be inputted.” (See Spec. [0049]-[0051]).
Thus, the specification supports that general purpose computers or computer components are utilized to implement the steps of the abstract idea.
Merely implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The claim as a whole, in viewing the additional elements both individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A prong two: No)
The claim does not include additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “An information processing system comprising: a first apparatus configured to”, “a second apparatus”, “a screen of a display of the second apparatus”, and “a database”, to perform the steps of “managing” and “registering”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate management of vehicle insurance in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Such additional elements are determined to not contain an inventive concept according to MPEP 2106.05(f). It should be noted that (1) the “recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”, and (2) “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice, commercial interaction, or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, mental process, or mathematical calculation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”.
Claims 1 and 16 are substantially similar to claim 9, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 1 recites the additional elements of “An information processing apparatus comprising: a processor, the processor being configured to execute:”.
For similar reasons as explained above with regard to claim 9, under Step 2A, prong two, these additional elements are merely applying generic computer components to implement the abstract idea. Under Step 2B, when viewing the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to an inventive concept amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception itself as the claimed computer-related technologies are mere tools for implementing the abstract idea as explained with regard to claim 9.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20 merely limit the abstract idea and do not recite any further additional elements beyond the cited abstract idea and the elements addressed above, thus, they do not amount to significantly more. The dependent claims are abstract for the reasons presented above because there are no additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Thus, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2B: No)
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kloeppel, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0119534; in view of Gammelgard, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0148835; Sieger, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0156272.
As per claim 9,
Kloeppel explicitly teaches:
An information processing system comprising: a first apparatus configured to manage content of a contract of the first vehicle insurance corresponding to a first vehicle; and
(Kloeppel US20240119534 at paras. 91-93) ("[0093] As illustrated in FIGS. 1B, the network of computing systems may include a blockchain 160. One or more entities 112 (e.g., an insurance entity 112a, an OEM entity 112b (e.g., the electronic device 102 of the home 103 and/or vehicle 105), a DMV entity (not shown), an emergency response entity 112c, towing services entity 112d, home repair services entity (not shown), vehicle repair services entity 112e, vehicle salvage entity for servicing (not shown), a taxi or ride-share services entity 112f, and/or the like) and/or a customer 170 who owns and/or resides in the home 103 and/or operates the vehicle 105 may be associated with nodes of the blockchain 160. Additionally and/or alternatively, the nodes may receive updates to the blockchain 160 and/or deploy smart contracts to the blockchain 160.)
a second apparatus installed at a base where fitting of a vehicle component to the first vehicle is at least performed;
(Kloeppel US20240119534 at paras. 91-93) ("[0093] As illustrated in FIGS. 1B, the network of computing systems may include a blockchain 160. One or more entities 112 (e.g., an insurance entity 112a, an OEM entity 112b (e.g., the electronic device 102 of the home 103 and/or vehicle 105), a DMV entity (not shown), an emergency response entity 112c, towing services entity 112d, home repair services entity (not shown), vehicle repair services entity 112e, vehicle salvage entity for servicing (not shown), a taxi or ride-share services entity 112f, and/or the like) and/or a customer 170 who owns and/or resides in the home 103 and/or operates the vehicle 105 may be associated with nodes of the blockchain 160. Additionally and/or alternatively, the nodes may receive updates to the blockchain 160 and/or deploy smart contracts to the blockchain 160.)
wherein when a first vehicle component is added to the first vehicle later, the second apparatus transmits first data that identifies the first vehicle component to the first apparatus; and
(Kloeppel US20240119534 at paras. 6-7, 40) ("[0006] In general, the present embodiments may relate to, inter alia, accurate and persistent recordation of vehicle build sheets, calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon the detected driving performance of existing and prospective insurance customers, and/or calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon telematics data of vehicles and/or homes. For instance, the disclosed embodiments generally relate to generating and/or maintaining a record on a blockchain based upon sensor data received from the sensors installed on, or within, the vehicle to initiate a calculation and/or adjustment of an insurance premium. For example, vehicle sensor data may be interpreted to be the “ground truth” of whether a safety feature is installed in a vehicle, and thus need not be necessarily verified with manual inspections of the vehicle. [0007] Advantageously, for example, an insurer of the vehicle may instantaneously determine that a safety feature is installed in the vehicle based upon the received vehicle sensor data in addition to determining when and/or where it was activated (e.g., a smart high beam system active on a highway at night). In this way, the insurer of the vehicle may calculate and/or adjust an insurance premium tailored to a particular operator and/or vehicle. For example, a discount may be provided for the installation of certain safety features and further discounts may be made based upon their enablement and use in certain situations. Thus, having an accurate and up-to-date vehicle record may allow an insurer to properly calculate an insurance premium of new customers." "[0040] For example, safety features that are actually included in the vehicle may never have been initially recorded to the vehicle build sheet (either due to clerical error or a lack of standardization of vehicle build sheets) or have been modified by an after-market alteration (for example, when a vehicle is sold second-hand, either by an individual or used-car dealership). Accordingly, for insurance products that provide discounts based upon usage of safety features, it may be difficult to obtain a ground truth of the set of safety features included in the insured vehicle.")
when the contract of first vehicle insurance that covers the first vehicle exists, and the first apparatus receives the first data, the first apparatus registers, with a database managing content of the contract of the first vehicle insurance, that the first vehicle component is covered by the first vehicle insurance,
(Kloeppel US20240119534 at paras. 6-7) ("[0006] In general, the present embodiments may relate to, inter alia, accurate and persistent recordation of vehicle build sheets, calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon the detected driving performance of existing and prospective insurance customers, and/or calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon telematics data of vehicles and/or homes. For instance, the disclosed embodiments generally relate to generating and/or maintaining a record on a blockchain based upon sensor data received from the sensors installed on, or within, the vehicle to initiate a calculation and/or adjustment of an insurance premium. For example, vehicle sensor data may be interpreted to be the “ground truth” of whether a safety feature is installed in a vehicle, and thus need not be necessarily verified with manual inspections of the vehicle. [0007] Advantageously, for example, an insurer of the vehicle may instantaneously determine that a safety feature is installed in the vehicle based upon the received vehicle sensor data in addition to determining when and/or where it was activated (e.g., a smart high beam system active on a highway at night). In this way, the insurer of the vehicle may calculate and/or adjust an insurance premium tailored to a particular operator and/or vehicle. For example, a discount may be provided for the installation of certain safety features and further discounts may be made based upon their enablement and use in certain situations. Thus, having an accurate and up-to-date vehicle record may allow an insurer to properly calculate an insurance premium of new customers.")
Kloeppel does not explicitly teach, however, Gammelgard does teach:
wherein: transmitting the first data includes: transmitting, by the second apparatus, the first data including at least an identifier of the first vehicle component, and a newly fitting of vehicle component or an exchange of vehicle component as a work classification of a work performed on the first vehicle,
(Gammelgard US20250148835 at paras. 7-11, 149-152) ("[0149] The system 600 includes a distributed ledger 612 and plurality of nodes 602, 604, 606, 608, and 610, which may be vehicle manufacturer 196 computing devices, treatment facility 192 computing devices, third-party organization 186 computing devices, or any suitable computing devices operating within the recall notification communication system 180. Each node maintains a copy of the distributed ledger 612. As changes are made to the distributed ledger 612, each node receives the change via the network 614 and updates its respective copy of the distributed ledger 612. A consensus mechanism may be used by the nodes 602-610 in the distributed ledger system 600 to decide whether it is appropriate to make received changes to the distributed ledger 612." "[0151] FIG. 7 depicts an exemplary transaction 706 reporting a replacement vehicle part installed within a vehicle. Each time a vehicle part is replaced within a vehicle in the recall notification communication system 180, a transaction is broadcasted to the distributed ledger indicating up-to-date vehicle part information for the vehicle for the distributed ledger to maintain up-to-date records of vehicle parts within the vehicles. The transaction 706 may be generated by a treatment facility 192 acting as an evidence oracle that provides evidence regarding vehicle part information to blockchain 702. When the treatment facility 192 replaces an old vehicle part with a new vehicle part within a vehicle, the treatment facility 192 may broadcast a transaction 706 to blockchain 702 to be included in a block, such as block 704." "[0152] The transaction 706 may include a transaction ID and an originator such as treatment facility 192 (identified by a cryptographic proof-of-identity). The transaction 706 may also include identification information for the vehicle such as a VIN number, and/or identification information for the vehicle owner such as the name, address, and/or phone number for the owner. Furthermore, the transaction 706 may include vehicle part information, such as a type of vehicle part (e.g., an airbag, brakes, suspension systems, etc.), a make, a vehicle part number, a vehicle part name, etc. for a replacement part installed within the vehicle. The vehicle part information may also include an indication of the previous vehicle part which was replaced by the current vehicle part. Moreover, the transaction 706 may include a cryptographic hash of the vehicle part information. In another implementation, the vehicle part information is not stored as a cryptographic hash, but is directly accessible in block 704 by an observer or other network participant.")
registering that the first vehicle component is covered by the first vehicle insurance includes: receiving, by the first apparatus, the first data transmitted from the second apparatus; and
(Gammelgard US20250148835 at paras. 7-11, 149-152) ("[0149] The system 600 includes a distributed ledger 612 and plurality of nodes 602, 604, 606, 608, and 610, which may be vehicle manufacturer 196 computing devices, treatment facility 192 computing devices, third-party organization 186 computing devices, or any suitable computing devices operating within the recall notification communication system 180. Each node maintains a copy of the distributed ledger 612. As changes are made to the distributed ledger 612, each node receives the change via the network 614 and updates its respective copy of the distributed ledger 612. A consensus mechanism may be used by the nodes 602-610 in the distributed ledger system 600 to decide whether it is appropriate to make received changes to the distributed ledger 612." "[0151] FIG. 7 depicts an exemplary transaction 706 reporting a replacement vehicle part installed within a vehicle. Each time a vehicle part is replaced within a vehicle in the recall notification communication system 180, a transaction is broadcasted to the distributed ledger indicating up-to-date vehicle part information for the vehicle for the distributed ledger to maintain up-to-date records of vehicle parts within the vehicles. The transaction 706 may be generated by a treatment facility 192 acting as an evidence oracle that provides evidence regarding vehicle part information to blockchain 702. When the treatment facility 192 replaces an old vehicle part with a new vehicle part within a vehicle, the treatment facility 192 may broadcast a transaction 706 to blockchain 702 to be included in a block, such as block 704." "[0152] The transaction 706 may include a transaction ID and an originator such as treatment facility 192 (identified by a cryptographic proof-of-identity). The transaction 706 may also include identification information for the vehicle such as a VIN number, and/or identification information for the vehicle owner such as the name, address, and/or phone number for the owner. Furthermore, the transaction 706 may include vehicle part information, such as a type of vehicle part (e.g., an airbag, brakes, suspension systems, etc.), a make, a vehicle part number, a vehicle part name, etc. for a replacement part installed within the vehicle. The vehicle part information may also include an indication of the previous vehicle part which was replaced by the current vehicle part. Moreover, the transaction 706 may include a cryptographic hash of the vehicle part information. In another implementation, the vehicle part information is not stored as a cryptographic hash, but is directly accessible in block 704 by an observer or other network participant.")
in response to receiving the first data, storing, in the database by the first apparatus, the identifier of the first vehicle component included in the first data based on the newly fitting of vehicle component or the exchange of vehicle component included in the first data.
(Gammelgard US20250148835 at paras. 7-11, 149-152) ("[0149] The system 600 includes a distributed ledger 612 and plurality of nodes 602, 604, 606, 608, and 610, which may be vehicle manufacturer 196 computing devices, treatment facility 192 computing devices, third-party organization 186 computing devices, or any suitable computing devices operating within the recall notification communication system 180. Each node maintains a copy of the distributed ledger 612. As changes are made to the distributed ledger 612, each node receives the change via the network 614 and updates its respective copy of the distributed ledger 612. A consensus mechanism may be used by the nodes 602-610 in the distributed ledger system 600 to decide whether it is appropriate to make received changes to the distributed ledger 612." "[0151] FIG. 7 depicts an exemplary transaction 706 reporting a replacement vehicle part installed within a vehicle. Each time a vehicle part is replaced within a vehicle in the recall notification communication system 180, a transaction is broadcasted to the distributed ledger indicating up-to-date vehicle part information for the vehicle for the distributed ledger to maintain up-to-date records of vehicle parts within the vehicles. The transaction 706 may be generated by a treatment facility 192 acting as an evidence oracle that provides evidence regarding vehicle part information to blockchain 702. When the treatment facility 192 replaces an old vehicle part with a new vehicle part within a vehicle, the treatment facility 192 may broadcast a transaction 706 to blockchain 702 to be included in a block, such as block 704." "[0152] The transaction 706 may include a transaction ID and an originator such as treatment facility 192 (identified by a cryptographic proof-of-identity). The transaction 706 may also include identification information for the vehicle such as a VIN number, and/or identification information for the vehicle owner such as the name, address, and/or phone number for the owner. Furthermore, the transaction 706 may include vehicle part information, such as a type of vehicle part (e.g., an airbag, brakes, suspension systems, etc.), a make, a vehicle part number, a vehicle part name, etc. for a replacement part installed within the vehicle. The vehicle part information may also include an indication of the previous vehicle part which was replaced by the current vehicle part. Moreover, the transaction 706 may include a cryptographic hash of the vehicle part information. In another implementation, the vehicle part information is not stored as a cryptographic hash, but is directly accessible in block 704 by an observer or other network participant.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kloeppel and Gammelgard, because provides that appropriate vehicle part(s) may be replaced and the safety of the autonomous vehicle operation is improved by ensuring that dangerous or potentially dangerous vehicle parts are no longer within the vehicle. The system is further improved by (i) communicating with a distributed ledger network that records current vehicle part information for vehicles, or (ii) by retrieving a list of vehicles associated with the server computing device (e.g., a list of vehicles insured by an insurance provider operating the server computing device). (Gammelgard at Abstract and paras. 3-8, 121).
Kloeppel and Gammelgard do not explicitly teach, however, Sieger does teach:
the identifier and the work classification being inputted by a user of the base via a screen of a display of the second apparatus, and
(Sieger US20140156272 at paras. 11-14, 43-45) ("[0011] The computer device or other device used in the method is preferably portable and includes a display so that the user may bring the device to the vehicle, read aloud the VIN information from VIN tag on the vehicle, view the interpreted letter and number sequence shown on the display of the device, and compare the displayed letter and number sequence to the VIN on the vehicle. If the correct VIN is shown, the user may confirm the text sequence and move on to the next vehicle for entry of the next VIN. In an optional configuration, as a further verification of correct entry of the VIN, the device communicate wirelessly to a database or network in which is stored vehicle information and may retrieve and the make, model, model year, and/or other information about the vehicle that corresponds to the VIN. The user can compare the characteristics of the vehicle to the information retrieved from the database or network as further assurance that the vehicle is being correctly identified, in other words, that a correct VIN has been read into the device by the user and that the device has correctly interpreted by the voice input. [0012] The present system and method has utility not only for vehicle auction services but also for insurance companies, vehicle rental companies, new or used vehicle sales companies, vehicle towing services, vehicle repair shops, or other entities having a need to identify a vehicle. The principles of the voice entry VIN system may also be used to input other information as well, such as stock numbers, serial numbers, part numbers, ticket numbers, or other information in a wide range of industries, services, or situations." "[0044] It is also possible that the spoken word entry by the user may be garbled or jumbled words. The user may try speaking the VIN information again or may choose an alternate entry method for the VIN or stock number information. For example, the user may may select manual entry of the VIN or stock number information using a keypad entry on the touch screen of the device, for example. This alternate entry may be useful where the user is in a noisy environment such as near a busy roadway or near active machinery. The system can again be used for voice entry of the information when the noise subsides, or the user can try speaking the information again more closely to the microphone or more distinctly.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kloeppel, Gammelgard, and Sieger, because it allows for an improved system to provide accurate and persistent recordation of vehicle build sheets, calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon the detected driving performance of existing and prospective insurance customers, and/or calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon telematics data of vehicles and/or homes. (Sieger at Abstract and paras. 3-8).
As per claim 2,
Kloeppel explicitly teaches:
further comprising the database configured to store vehicle insurance coverage for each of a plurality of vehicles.
(Kloeppel US20240119534 at paras. 72-74, 89-91) ("[0072] In some embodiments, the node 120 is a server computing device associated with an insurer of vehicles and/or property, a provider of loss event response services, a personal electronic device, and/or other types of computing devices. While FIG. 1A depicts the node 120 being a separate entity as the electronic device 102, in some embodiments, the electronic device 102 may be configured to also operate as the node 120. [0073] The node 120 may include a database 130 to store the sensor data generated by the sensors 101a-b and collected from the home 103 and/or vehicle 105 and/or any other data collected from the home 103 and/or vehicle 105 or other entities 112. The node 120 may also include one or more processors configured to execute a data analysis application (not pictured) that is programmed to analyze data that is collected and/or stored in the database 130 (e.g., the sensor data).")
As per claim 3,
Kloeppel explicitly teaches:
wherein the processor further acquires second data indicating that a second vehicle component has been removed from the first vehicle; and when the contract of the first vehicle insurance that covers the first vehicle exists, and the second data is acquired, the processor registers with the database that the second vehicle component is not covered by the first vehicle insurance any more,
(Kloeppel US20240119534 at paras. 74-76, 79-81) ("[0075] In these embodiments, home 103 and/or vehicle 105 may transmit the telematics data to the node 120. The node 120 may then analyze the telematics data to determine aspects about the home 103 and/or vehicle 105 (e.g., such as determining whether a safety feature was enabled and/or disabled in the appropriate contexts). For example, based upon geolocation data and vehicle sensor data, the node 120 may determine that automated cruise control was enabled and activated while the vehicle 105 was on a highway. Further, the node 120 may also determine whether the safety features were activated in response to road conditions context based upon the analysis of additional data (e.g., date data, time data, and/or weather data). For example, the server may recognize that smart headlights were not enabled during a heavy rain context." "[0080] The node 120 may also be configured to deploy the smart contracts onto a blockchain 160. In one example, the smart contracts may be configured to maintain a set of indications related to operation of the home 103 and/or the vehicle 105. For example, a first smart contract may be configured to detect whether safety features installed in the home 103 and/or vehicle 105 have been activated. In this example, a second smart contract may be configured to automatically execute on the blockchain 160 to generate an updated insurance premium based upon the set of indications maintained at the first smart contract. As another example, a smart contract may be configured to control access to telematics data generated at the home 103 and/or vehicle 105. In this example, and the smart contract may be configured to automatically execute on the blockchain 160 to enforce access controls to the telematics data.")
Kloeppel does not explicitly teach, however, Gammelgard does teach:
wherein: acquiring the second data includes: receiving the second data transmitted from the external apparatus, the second data including at least an identifier of the second vehicle component, and a removal of vehicle component or an exchange of vehicle component as the work classification of the work performed on the first vehicle,
(Gammelgard US20250148835 at paras. 7-11, 149-152) ("[0149] The system 600 includes a distributed ledger 612 and plurality of nodes 602, 604, 606, 608, and 610, which may be vehicle manufacturer 196 computing devices, treatment facility 192 computing devices, third-party organization 186 computing devices, or any suitable computing devices operating within the recall notification communication system 180. Each node maintains a copy of the distributed ledger 612. As changes are made to the distributed ledger 612, each node receives the change via the network 614 and updates its respective copy of the distributed ledger 612. A consensus mechanism may be used by the nodes 602-610 in the distributed ledger system 600 to decide whether it is appropriate to make received changes to the distributed ledger 612." "[0151] FIG. 7 depicts an exemplary transaction 706 reporting a replacement vehicle part installed within a vehicle. Each time a vehicle part is replaced within a vehicle in the recall notification communication system 180, a transaction is broadcasted to the distributed ledger indicating up-to-date vehicle part information for the vehicle for the distributed ledger to maintain up-to-date records of vehicle parts within the vehicles. The transaction 706 may be generated by a treatment facility 192 acting as an evidence oracle that provides evidence regarding vehicle part information to blockchain 702. When the treatment facility 192 replaces an old vehicle part with a new vehicle part within a vehicle, the treatment facility 192 may broadcast a transaction 706 to blockchain 702 to be included in a block, such as block 704." "[0152] The transaction 706 may include a transaction ID and an originator such as treatment facility 192 (identified by a cryptographic proof-of-identity). The transaction 706 may also include identification information for the vehicle such as a VIN number, and/or identification information for the vehicle owner such as the name, address, and/or phone number for the owner. Furthermore, the transaction 706 may include vehicle part information, such as a type of vehicle part (e.g., an airbag, brakes, suspension systems, etc.), a make, a vehicle part number, a vehicle part name, etc. for a replacement part installed within the vehicle. The vehicle part information may also include an indication of the previous vehicle part which was replaced by the current vehicle part. Moreover, the transaction 706 may include a cryptographic hash of the vehicle part information. In another implementation, the vehicle part information is not stored as a cryptographic hash, but is directly accessible in block 704 by an observer or other network participant.")
registering that the second vehicle component is not covered by the first vehicle insurance any more includes: in response to receiving the second data, deleting, from the database, the identifier of the second vehicle component included in the second data based on the removal of vehicle component or the exchange of vehicle component included in the second data.
(Gammelgard US20250148835 at paras. 70-73, 130-132) ("In response to transmitting the notification, the external computing device 186 may receive a response notification from the vehicle, vehicle owner's mobile device 110, and/or the treatment facility 192 indicating that the vehicle part has been replaced. The response notification may include status updates, such as the recall is in progress, the recall has been completed, etc. The response notification may also include identification information for a replacement vehicle part installed within the vehicle. In this manner, the third-party organization may maintain an up-to-date record of the vehicle parts within each vehicle.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kloeppel and Gammelgard, because provides that appropriate vehicle part(s) may be replaced and the safety of the autonomous vehicle operation is improved by ensuring that dangerous or potentially dangerous vehicle parts are no longer within the vehicle. The system is further improved by (i) communicating with a distributed ledger network that records current vehicle part information for vehicles, or (ii) by retrieving a list of vehicles associated with the server computing device (e.g., a list of vehicles insured by an insurance provider operating the server computing device). (Gammelgard at Abstract and paras. 3-8, 121).
Kloeppel and Gammelgard do not explicitly teach, however, Sieger does teach:
the identifier and the work classification being inputted by the user of the base via the screen of the display of the external apparatus, and
(Sieger US20140156272 at paras. 11-14, 43-45) ("[0011] The computer device or other device used in the method is preferably portable and includes a display so that the user may bring the device to the vehicle, read aloud the VIN information from VIN tag on the vehicle, view the interpreted letter and number sequence shown on the display of the device, and compare the displayed letter and number sequence to the VIN on the vehicle. If the correct VIN is shown, the user may confirm the text sequence and move on to the next vehicle for entry of the next VIN. In an optional configuration, as a further verification of correct entry of the VIN, the device communicate wirelessly to a database or network in which is stored vehicle information and may retrieve and the make, model, model year, and/or other information about the vehicle that corresponds to the VIN. The user can compare the characteristics of the vehicle to the information retrieved from the database or network as further assurance that the vehicle is being correctly identified, in other words, that a correct VIN has been read into the device by the user and that the device has correctly interpreted by the voice input. [0012] The present system and method has utility not only for vehicle auction services but also for insurance companies, vehicle rental companies, new or used vehicle sales companies, vehicle towing services, vehicle repair shops, or other entities having a need to identify a vehicle. The principles of the voice entry VIN system may also be used to input other information as well, such as stock numbers, serial numbers, part numbers, ticket numbers, or other information in a wide range of industries, services, or situations." "[0044] It is also possible that the spoken word entry by the user may be garbled or jumbled words. The user may try speaking the VIN information again or may choose an alternate entry method for the VIN or stock number information. For example, the user may may select manual entry of the VIN or stock number information using a keypad entry on the touch screen of the device, for example. This alternate entry may be useful where the user is in a noisy environment such as near a busy roadway or near active machinery. The system can again be used for voice entry of the information when the noise subsides, or the user can try speaking the information again more closely to the microphone or more distinctly.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kloeppel, Gammelgard, and Sieger, because it allows for an improved system to provide accurate and persistent recordation of vehicle build sheets, calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon the detected driving performance of existing and prospective insurance customers, and/or calculating and/or adjusting insurance premiums based upon telematics data of vehicles and/or homes. (Sieger at Abstract and paras. 3-8).
As per claim 4,
Kloeppel explicitly teaches:
wherein the processor recalculates an insurance premium of the first vehicle insurance based on content of the database after the registration.
(Kloeppel US20240119534 at paras. 74-76, 79-81) ("[0075] In these embodiments, home 103 and/or vehicle 105 may transmit the telematics data to the node 120. The node 120 may then analyze the telematics data to determine aspects about the home 103 and/or vehicle 105 (e.g., such as determining whether a safety feature was enabled and/or disabled in the appropriate contexts). For example, based upon geolocation data and vehicle sensor data, the node 120 may determine that automated cruise control was enabled and activated while the vehicle 105 was on a highway. Further, the node 120 may also determine whether the safety features were activated in response to road conditions context based upon the analysis of additional data (e.g., date data, time data, and/or weather data). For example, the server may recognize that smart headlights were not enabled during a heavy rain context." "[0080] The node 120 may also be configured to deploy the smart contracts onto a blockchain 160. In one example, the smart contracts may be configured to maintain a set of indications related to operation of the home 103 and/or the vehicle 105. For example, a first smart contract may be configured to detect whether safety features installed in the home 103 and/or vehicle 105 have been activated. In this example, a second smart contract may be configured to automatically execute on the blockchain 160 to generate an updated insurance premium based upon the set of indications maintained at the first smart contract. As another example, a smart contract may be configured to control access to telematics data generated at the home 103 and/or vehicle 105. In this example, and the smart contract may be configured to automatically execute on the blockchain 160 to enforce access controls to the telematics data.")
Claims 1 and 16 are substantially similar to claim 9, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 10 and 17 are substantially similar to claim 3, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 11 and 18 are substantially similar to claim 4, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kloeppel, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0119534; in view of Gammelgard, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0148835; Sieger, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0156272; in view of Iida, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0153915.
As per claim 5,
Kloeppel, Gammelgard, and Sieger do not explicitly teach, however, Iida does teach:
wherein the processor further acquires third data indicating whether the first vehicle is a leased vehicle or not.
(Iida US20230153915 at paras. 181-183) ("[0182] Insurance as an object of the server device according to the first modification may be driver insurance applied to a driver himself/herself, one-day automobile insurance, and the like in a case in which the driver rents a vehicle of a friend or an acquaintance, in a case in which the driver drives a vehicle of a ride-sharing service or a car-sharing service, and the like. In this case, the vehicle to be covered by the insurance may be, for example, a vehicle rented from a friend or an acquaintance, an allocated vehicle that is allocated by a ride-sharing service, a car-sharing service, or the like, a vehicle used for commodity distribution such as delivery work, a leased vehicle, and the like. In a case in which the vehicle for which the insurance is contracted is a leased vehicle, by providing information for a lease dealer, for example, the lease dealer can variously use the provided information by reflecting an amount of the insurance premium in a lease price." "[0183] The server device according to the first modification associates the driver ID with which the insured person can be uniquely identified with the information concerning handling of the battery to be managed. The insurance premium determined by the server device is set for the insured person. Due to this, the insurance premium can be determined for driver insurance, one-day automobile insurance, and the like, and convenience for the insured person is improved.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kloeppel, Gammelgard, Sieger, and Iida, because it allows for information processing device, an insurance premium determining method, and a system that can appropriately set an insurance premium, which can be determined for driver insurance, one-day automobile insurance, and the like, and convenience for the insured person is improved. (Iida at Abstract and paras. 2-13, 181-183).
As per claim 6,
Kloeppel, Gammelgard, and Sieger do not explicitly teach, however, Iida does teach:
wherein, when the first vehicle is a leased vehicle, the processor recalculates a lease fee of the first vehicle based on the recalculated insurance premium.
(IIDA US20230153915 at paras. 181-183) ("[0182] Insurance as an object of the server device according to the first modification may be driver insurance applied to a driver himself/herself, one-day automobile insurance, and the like in a case in which the driver rents a vehicle of a friend or an acquaintance, in a case in which the driver drives a vehicle of a ride-sharing service or a car-sharing service, and the like. In this case, the vehicle to be covered by the insurance may be, for example, a vehicle rented from a friend or an acquaintance, an allocated vehicle that is allocated by a ride-sharing service, a car-sharing service, or the like, a vehicle used for commodity distribution such as delivery work, a leased vehicle, and the like. In a case in which the vehicle for which the insurance is contracted is a leased vehicle, by providing information for a lease dealer, for ex