DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the election filed 15 December 2025. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, claims 1-4, 6-9, and 11-18, in the reply filed on 22 January 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-18 are drawn to non-elected Species I, Figs. 10-22, a display device including a portion of the insulating layer is located between the wiring and the common electrode, wherein the pixel electrode is in contact with a first portion of the first region and not in contact with a second portion of the first region.
Claims 5 and 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 January 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “recess portion extending over a plurality of pixels arranged side-by-side in the second direction, the recess portion is arranged continuously with the contact hole” (as in claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0308379 A1 to Ozeki et al. (hereinafter “Ozeki”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses a display device comprising a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix on a substrate along a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction, each of the plurality of pixels comprises:
a transistor Tr1 (¶ 0041);
a first wiring W1 (¶ 0044) arranged over the transistor and electrically connected to the transistor (Fig. 1);
a first transparent conductive layer ZTCO (¶ 0044) arranged over the first wiring W1 and electrically connected to the transistor Tr1 (Fig. 1);
a first insulating layer IL4 (¶ 0047) arranged on the first transparent conductive layer ZTCO, and having a contact hole PCON (¶ 0047); and
a second transparent conductive layer PTCO (¶ 0047) arranged on the first insulating layer IL4 and electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer ZTCO via the contact hole (Fig. 1), wherein the first insulating layer IL4 has a recess portion (Fig. 1 - SP/CTCO2/IL6/PTCO disposed therein) overlapping the first transparent conductive layer ZTCO, the recess portion is continuous with the contact hole PCON, and the contact hole is arranged at a bottom part of the recess portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first insulating layer IL4 in the recess portion is 70% or more and 75% or less with respect to the thickness of the first insulating layer without the recess portion (“recess portion” may be interpreted and defined to meet the recited thickness range).
Regarding claim 4, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a common auxiliary electrode CMTL (¶ 0041) arranged over the second transparent conductive layer PTCO; and a third transparent conductive layer CTCO2 (¶ 0041) arranged over the common auxiliary electrode, wherein the recess portion (Fig. 1 - SP/CTCO2/IL6/PTCO disposed therein) overlaps the common auxiliary electrode CMTL (Fig. 1).
Regarding independent claim 6, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses a display device comprising a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix on a substrate along a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction, each of the plurality of pixels comprises:
a transistor Tr1 (¶ 0041);
a first wiring W1 (¶ 0044) arranged over the transistor and electrically connected to the transistor (Fig. 1);
a first transparent conductive layer ZTCO (¶ 0044) arranged over the first wiring W1 and electrically connected to the transistor Tr1 (Fig. 1);
a first insulating layer IL4 (¶ 0047) arranged on the first transparent conductive layer ZTCO, and having a contact hole PCON (¶ 0047); and
a second transparent conductive layer PTCO (¶ 0047) arranged on the first insulating layer IL4 and electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer ZTCO via the contact hole (Fig. 1), wherein the first insulating layer IL4 has a recess portion (Fig. 1 - extends downward from PCON into IL4, SP/CTCO2/IL6/PTCO disposed therein) extending over a plurality of pixels arranged side-by-side in the second direction (Fig. 12, “recess portion” is interpreted to include multiple PCON from side-by-side pixels in D1 direction), the recess portion is arranged continuously with the contact hole PCON (Fig. 1), and the contact hole is arranged at a bottom part of the recess portion overlapping the first transparent conductive layer ZTCO (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses the display device according to claim 6, wherein a thickness of the first insulating layer IL4 in the recess portion is 70% or more and 75% or less of the thickness of the first insulating layer without the recess portion (“recess portion” may be interpreted and defined to meet the recited thickness range).
`Regarding claim 9, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses the display device according to claim 6, further comprising: a common auxiliary electrode CMTL (¶ 0041) arranged over the second transparent conductive layer PTCO; and a third transparent conductive layer CTCO2 (¶ 0041) arranged over the common auxiliary electrode, wherein the recess portion (Fig. 1 - SP/CTCO2/IL6/PTCO disposed therein) overlaps the common auxiliary electrode CMTL (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozeki.
Regarding claim 2, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses the display device according to claim 1, however fails to expressly disclose wherein an interval between the first wirings of two pixels adjacent to each other in the second direction is 4 μm or more and 8 μm or less, and a contact area between the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer is 40% or more of the interval between the first wirings.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the above interval between the first wirings of two pixels adjacent to each other in the second direction and contact area size, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F .2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Here, the interval and contact area size are result effective variables because they affect the overall size and resolution of the display device. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify pitch and contact area size for the purpose of increasing display device resolution.
Regarding claim 7, Ozeki (Fig. 1) discloses the display device according to claim 6, wherein an interval of the first wirings of two pixels adjacent to each other in the second direction is 4 μm or more and 8 μm or less, and a contact area between the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer is 40% or more of the interval between the first wirings.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the above interval between the first wirings of two pixels adjacent to each other in the second direction and contact area size, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F .2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Here, the interval and contact area size are result effective variables because they affect the overall size and resolution of the display device. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify pitch and contact area size for the purpose of increasing display device resolution.
Conclusion
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
21 March 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813