DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status This Office action is based on the 18/379,939 application filed 13 October 2023, which is is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been fully considered. Claim Interpretation Applicant is reminded that “[u] nder a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms . ” Phillips v. AWH Corp. , 415 F.3d 1303, 1315, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1327 . In the instant case, a binding site has been interpreted as comprising “ a linking group, wherein the linking group couples the substrate to the molecule. For example, in some embodiments, the linking group is selected from the group consisting of —COOH, —PO 3 H 2 , —SO 3 H, —OPO 3 H, —OSO 3 H, C(O)NHOH, silatranes , silanes, siloxanes, disulfides, and thiols ” [see paragraph 0052 of the published application]. While the instant application further states, with regard to the term binding site , “[ i ]n some embodiments,… ,” the instant application does not disclose anything else that the binding site comprises. Therefore, if applicant believes that binding sites include something other than what has been disclosed above , it is unclear what that something is and , the metes and bounds of the claimed invention cannot be determined. Likewise, coating at least a portion of the binding site has been interpreted as comprising “ one or more cycles of a vapor deposition process that undergoes self-limiting sequential reactions ” [see paragraph 0059 of the published application]. While the instant application further states, with regard to the phrase coating at least a portion of the binding site , “ [ i ] n some embodiments of the method , the coating at least a portion of the binding site comprises …,” the instant application does not disclose anything else that coating at least a portion of the binding sites comprises. If applicant believes that coating…binding site include s something other tha n what has been disclosed above , it is unclear what the something is, and the metes and bounds of the claimed invention cannot be determined . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation metal oxides , and the claim also recites aluminum oxide, titanium oxide ,…, which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.— Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claims 4-6 , 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. See interpretation of binding site discussed above. Claim 4 does not further limit claim 1 because binding site has been interpreted as recited claim 4 (as well as paragraph 0052 of the published application). With respect to claim 12, the body of the claim does not appear to further limit the structure of the heterogeneous chemical catalyst . Instead, the claim is directed to something outside the catalyst, namely, a solvent. With respect to claims 15 and 16, note that said claims depend from claim 13, which is directed to “[a] method of preparing a heterogeneous chemical catalyst…” However, the limitations of claims 15 and 16 are not directed to preparing said catalyst but to the use of the catalyst after its preparation . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1- 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al (CN 109718855). Note: in the discussion that follows, reference will be made to the WIPO machine translation of the aforesaid document. With respect to claims 1 - 3, 5, 8-11, and 17-20 , Qin et al discloses a “ method that utilizes selective atomic layer deposition (ALO) to encapsulate metal complexes with certain characteristics to surfaces of various materials in a non-covalent bond to obtain easy separation, highly active and highly selective encapsulated heterogeneous catalysts . In order to solve the above technical problems, the present invention is to load a homogeneous catalyst on the surface of a material by means of physical adsorption, since the adsorbed homogeneous catalyst is a metal complex composed of a central atom and a hydrophobic ligand , an oxide can be deposited around the hydrophobic metal complex by means of selective atomic layer deposition , so as to construct a perforated nano -reactor on the surface of the carrier . By adjusting the number of cycles deposited, the thickness of the oxide film is controlled in the sub-nanometer size for coating the metal complex on the surface of the carrier to produce a heterogeneous catalyst encapsulating the metal complex on any surface of the material … The present invention provides a method for packaging a metal complex on a surface of a material , and the technical solution is as follows: (1) The load of the metal complex on the surface of the material The volume ratio of the material to the flask is 1: 2 to 100, the material is loaded into the reactor, the volume ratio of the material to the solvent is 1:1 to 10, the material is dispersed in the solvent, and the material is sonicated for 0.5-4 h, so that the material is uniformly dispersed. The metal complex was weighed and dissolved into a solvent, and configured to be 0.001-1 g/mL of a homogeneous solution, and then the prepared homogeneous solution was quickly poured into the reactor according to the mass ratio of the metal complex and the material , and after 12-24 h of vigorous stirring, the solvent of the system was removed by suction filtration to obtain a filter cake, and dried under a vacuum condition of 40-1 00 o C to obtain a sample . (2) Selective Atomic Layer Deposition of Oxide to Achieve Complex Packaging 5-20 mg of the sample was weighed and placed on a quartz plate, 1-10 ml of diluent was added dropwise to uniformly disperse the sample on the quartz plate, the thickness was controlled to be 0.01-2 mm, and the quartz plate was placed in a low-temperature vacuum atomic layer deposition (ALD) device after the diluent is volatilized to dryness. The set atomic layer deposition parameter is: a nitrogen flow rate of 50 s cc m , a deposition temperature of 30-150° C. , an oxide precursor temperature of 25-1 00 o C. , and a water temperature of 25° C. Firstly, the precursor of the oxide is introduced into the deposition chamber with a steam pulse, the pulse time is 0.01-2 s, the gas-gas time is 0.1-20 s, and the gas extraction time is 20-300 s; then the water vapor pulse is introduced into the deposition chamber, the pulse time is 0.01-2 s, the gas-gas time is 0.1-20 s, and the gas extraction time is 20-300 s, so that the deposition cycle is completed at this point . Repeating 20-500 cycles to obtain an oxide film for encapsulating a metal complex on a surface of a carrier, and constructing a nanoreactor with pores to obtain a corresponding multi-phase catalyst ” [see page 2 of translation]. The reference further discloses “ The metal complex in step (1) is as follows: center 0 0 …The carrier material in step (1) includes one of titanium oxide nanospheres (P25), silicon oxide nanospheres (SiO 2 ), aluminum oxide spheres (Al 2 O 3 ) , cerium oxide nanowires (CeO 2 nanowires) , non-open carbon nanotubes (CNTs), carbon nanofibers (CNF), titanium oxide nanowires (TiO 2 nanowires) , and the like. The diluent in step (2) includes one of n-hexane, petroleum ether, water, methanol, ethanol, or the like. The oxide precursor in step (2) is titanium tetraisopropoxide , trimethylaluminum, diethylzinc, dimethyl zinc, zirconium tert-butoxide, triethylgallium or trimethyl indium, etc. ” [see bottom of page 2 and page 3 of translation]. More particularly, the reference discloses “ Example 1 : The volume ratio of material P25 and flask was 1: 1. The proportion of P25 was charged into the flask and the volume ratio of P25 to dichloromethane was 1 :1… P25 was dispersed in dichloromethane and sonicated for 0.5 h, uniformly dispersed, the metal complex b was weighed and dissolved in dichloromethane to prepare 0.001 g/mL solution, and then the mass ratio of metal complex b to P25 was 1:100, the prepared b-phase solution was quickly poured into a flask equipped with P25 and stirred vigorously for 12 h, the dichloromethane in the system was removed by suction filtration to obtain a filter cake, and dried at 40°C under vacuum, and the obtained sample was b P25 … Then, 5 mg of sample b P25 was weighed and placed on a quartz plate, 1 ml of n-hexane was added dropwise to uniformly disperse the sample on the quartz plate, the thickness was controlled to be 0.05 mm, and after the n-hexane was volatilized to dryness, the quartz plate was placed in a low-temperature vacuum atomic layer deposition ( A L D ) device. A nano-reactor was deposited on sample b P25 by atomic layer deposition to realize the packaging of metal complex b . The set deposition parameter is: the nitrogen flow rate is 50 s cc m , the deposition temperature is 60° C. the temperature of the reaction source tetraisopropoxide is 6 0° C. and the temperature of the water is 25° C. Firstly, the reaction source tetraisopropoxide is introduced into the deposition chamber, the pulse time is 0.05 s, the gas-gas time is 0.6 s, and the gas extraction time is 50 s; then the water vapor pulse is introduced into the deposition chamber, the pulse time is 0.01 s, the gas - gas time is 0.6 s, and the gas extraction time is 50 s, so that the deposition cycle is completed at this point. The TiO 2 thin film was repeated for 60 cycles to coat the b P25 nanowire to form a nano reactor to obtain the multi-phase catalyst as b P25/60 TiO 2 content ICP: Co 0.17 wt % and Ti 0.45 wt % ” [Example 1]. The multi-phase catalyst , particularly, b P25/60 TiO 2 , corresponds to the heterogeneous catalyst of the instant application, where the carrier material corresponds to the recited substrate; the metal(s) in the metal complexes above correspond(s) to the molecule; the complex comprising a ligand (such as b above) of the metal complex corresponds to the binding site; and the “ oxide film for encapsulating a metal complex on a surface of a carrier ,” particularly, the aforesaid TiO 2 thin film, corresponds to the coating, wherein it is expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that said film coats at least a portion of the complex (or all the complex-see instant claim 5 ) since the method of preparation, atomic layer deposition, is the same as disclosed in the instant application and, therefore, the limitation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The same applies to the adhesion requirement of instant claim 2 . With respect to claim 4, the ligands in complexes (a)-(n) above correspond to the linking group. With respect to claim 6, the - OAc in complexes (b)-(d) correspond s to -COOH or renders such obvious . With respect to claim 7, Qin et al does not appear to explicitly disclose the thickness of the film (coating). However, the reference discloses “[r] epeating 20 -500 cycles [of ALD—Examiner’s insertion] to obtain an oxide film for encapsulating a metal complex on a surface of a carrier, and constructing a nanoreactor with pores to obtain a corresponding multi-phase catalyst ” [see bottom of page 2 of translation]. Since the number of cycles of ALD may be the same as disclosed in the instant application [see, e.g., paragraph 0059 of the publication of the same: “ in some embodiments the coating comprises … 10 to 20 cycles , or 15 to 20 cycles of a vapor deposition process ”], it is expected that the thickness is the same or similar as well. With respect to claims 12 and 15, since the catalyst of Qin et al is a multi-phase catalyst [see discussions above concerning such], suspending said catalyst in any solvent would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. With respect to claim s 1 3 and 14 , the teaching of, for example, “ P25 was charged into the flask ” corresponds to the providing step; “ P25 was dispersed in dichloromethane and sonicated for 0.5 h, uniformly dispersed, the metal complex b was weighed and dissolved in dichloromethane to prepare 0.001 g/mL solution, and then the mass ratio of metal complex b to P25 was 1:100, the prepared b-phase solution was quickly poured into a flask equipped with P25 and stirred vigorously for 12 h, the dichloromethane in the system was removed by suction filtration to obtain a filter cake, and dried at 40°C under vacuum, and the obtained sample was b P25 ” corresponds to the attaching step; and the atomic layer deposition corresponds to the coating step comprising one or more cycles of vapor deposition that undergoes self-limiting sequential reactions . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BRIAN A MCCAIG whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5548 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday to Friday 8 to 4:30 Mountain Time . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT In Suk Bullock can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-5954 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN A MCCAIG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772 21 March 2026