DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communications received December 30, 2025. No Claim(s) have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17 and 20 have been amended. No new claims have been added. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Application No. 18379992 filed 10/13/2023 is a Continuation of 15199043 , filed 06/30/2016 ,now U.S. Patent # 11861715 and having 3 RCE-type filing therein 18379992 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62326315 , filed 04/22/2016
Applicant Name/Assignee: STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY
Inventor(s): Bellas, Eric; Call, Shawn; Carter, Gregory; Duehr, Ronald; Hevrin, Jeffrey; Collins, Sara
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant's arguments filed December 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks applicant points to MPEP 2026.04(d) arguing that the claimed subject matter under step 2A prong 2, integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application. Applicant points to the limitations “cause a first sensor of a mobile device to output…sensor data…”, “determine, using one or more processors and based on …sensor data whether condition has occurred”, “after determining condition has occurred, determine, using the one or more processors to perform an analysis, whether condition corresponds to an occurrence of a crash of a vehicle”, “after determining that condition corresponds to the occurrence of the crash of the vehicle, cause a second sensor to begin outputting additional sensor data…”, “determine, using the one or more processors and based on …additional sensor data and the base sensor data, whether the crash of the vehicle has occurred”. Applicant argues the specific additional element as a combination of steps/operations improves the technical field of crash detection using the combination of steps in a meaningful way that is not generally linking to a technical environment. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The additional elements recited in the claim include “one or more processors” and a “first sensor of a mobile device” and a “second sensor”. The first sensor performing the operation to “output …data” lacking any technical details, thus performing insignificant extra solution activity. The additional element “one or more processors” performing the operations “determine…whether condition occurred”, “determine …whether condition corresponds to an occurrence…”, “cause a second sensor to begin outputting …data” and “determine…whether crash of the vehicle occurred”. The “determine” steps performed by the “one or more processors” is merely generally linking a technical environment that is applied to analyze received data. The “cause…sensor …to output” operations performed by the “one or more processors” lacks technical disclosure and is merely outputting additional data for analysis which is insignificant extra solution activity. When considered as a combination the operations performed by the “one or more processors” in sequence (“determine…whether condition occurred”, “determine …whether condition corresponds to an occurrence…”, “cause a second sensor to begin outputting …data” and “determine…whether crash of the vehicle occurred”) merely apply or generally link the one or more processors to analyze the data received from the first sensor and based on a condition being met cause at a high level additional data from a different sensor to be outputted for use in further analysis. The analysis performed by the “one or more processors” does not improve upon any underlying technology. The “cause” operation of the mobile device to output first sensor data does not improve upon sensor or mobile device functions or capability. The “cause” a “second sensor” to output additional data based a condition as a result of the data analysis, does not improve upon sensor functions or the one or more processor operations. The conditional analysis and applying conditions in order to cause additional data to be outputted for use in further analysis without any technical details is not an indication of patent eligibility under step 2A prong 2. In Ubicomm LLC v. Zappos IP, Inc. No. 1-13-cv-01029 (d. Del. Nov. 13, 2013), the court found that conditional actions to be abstract. Like as found in UbiComm, the determining function in the current limitations simply describes a conditional actions that are triggered based on a determine analysis result condition. According to UbiComm, citing policy considerations of Mayo, a conditional action is a basic tool used in many disciplines from medicine to economics. The court found that if conditional actions should be protected as an abstract idea because patenting conditional actions would impede innovation. Therefore, the determining steps is abstract and are not considered additional elements beyond the identified abstract idea. The rejection is maintained.
In the remarks applicant argues that the accuracy of an event occurrence can improve by using two sensors of different types with the sensors separate from each other. The reduces the likelihood of a false alarm from faulty, misleading sensors data. The specification discloses the discussion of the technical problem of false alarms and a technical solution (¶ 0036, ¶0056). Applicant is arguing limitations not claimed. Although the limitations do recite two sensors types providing data, the limitations do not disclose the sensors as being separate from each other. Furthermore, the sensor data analysis was not directed toward any processes related to false alarms or sensor data. With respect to the sensors data from different locations being applied for more accurate analysis results, although the sensors as claimed are not distinctly in different locations, such application of sensor technology is well known and prevalent use of sensors in data gathering in the field. The rejection is maintained.
In the remarks applicant points to MPEP 2016.05(I)(A) and MPEP 2106.05(d), stating that under step 2B, the claimed subject matter recite an inventive concept by adding limitations that are not well understood in the field of endeavor. Applicant has not pointed to the technical process or explained how the limitations are unconventional. See previous Office Action rejection.
In the remarks applicant argues that dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are patent eligible based on the arguments above with respect to the independent claims. The examiner respectfully disagrees. See response above, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed December 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks applicant argues the prior art references fail to teach the amended limitations “wherein: the first sensor comprises an accelerometer and the base sensor data comprises accelerometer data;”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art Carberry teaches a accelerometer sensor of a mobile device which provides accelerometer data for analysis – see Col 2 lines 5-6, Col 8 lines 56-Col 9 lines 1-6, lines 40-61,Col 10 lines 33-45
In the remarks applicant argues the prior art references fail to teach the amended limitations “wherein: the second sensor comprises a gyroscope; the gyroscope is different from the accelerometer and the additional sensor data comprises gyroscope data” the examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art Carberry teaches -abstract; “ As described above, the sensors 132 may also comprise a compass, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or any other type of sensor”; Col 9 lines 54-61 “As described above, the sensors 132 may also comprise a compass, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or any other type of sensor”; Col 10 lines 28-45 wherein the prior art teaches “the computing device may request and/or receive additional sensor data from the vehicle sensors 119A and/or sensor data from the mobile device's sensors 118A. The computing device may automatically collect the sensor data. “’ Col 11 lines 14-25 wherein the prior art teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the sensor may comprise a gyroscope, and the measured data indicative of the accident may comprise rotation data.”, teaches “the computing device may determine additional sources of sensor data based on whether the additional data source was involved in the accident. Whether the additional source of data (e.g., devices within another vehicle or a pedestrian's mobile device) was involved in the accident may be determined using location data, as explained above. Whether a secondary data source was involved in the accident may also be determined based on some sensor data from the secondary data source.”
In the remarks applicant argues that dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are allowable subject matter based on the deficits in the prior art references. The examiner respectfully disagrees. See response above. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the instant application is directed to non-patentable subject matter. Specifically, the claims are directed toward at least one judicial exception without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is in accordance with the guidelines of USPTO, applies to all statutory categories, and is explained in detail below.
In reference to Claim(s) 1-7:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a method, as in independent Claim 1 and the dependent claims. Such methods fall under the statutory category of "process." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Method claim 1 recites a method steps (1) outputting data (2) determining whether condition has occurred (3) determining whether condition corresponds to a crash occurrence (4) causing second sensor to output additional data (5) determining whether crash of the vehicle has occurred (6) if it is determined crash of vehicle has not occurred adjusting the analysis to prevent a determination that the condition corresponds to the occurrence of the crash of the vehicle.
The claimed limitations which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance commercial activity as the limitations are directed toward analyzing data for risk analysis. The specification titled “System and Method for Indicating whether a Vehicle crash has occurred” makes clear from the Specification (including the claim language) that claim 1 focuses on an abstract idea, and not on an improvement to technology and/or a technical field. The specification discloses, that using a sensor to detect vehicle crashes has several drawbacks reciting a process that uses technology (sensors) to output sensor data that is analyzed to determine whether a crash has occurred and using a mobile device sensor to collect additional data used for determining whether a crash has occurred (para 0037-0038), where the additional use of sensor data improves the accuracy of an indication of whether a crash has occurred where such data may be used by the insurance provider who is providing coverage for the vehicle (para 0025).
Furthermore, when considered as a whole the claimed subject matter is directed toward outputting and analyzing data for determining indications of a crash and additional data is outputted and analyzed in response to a first determination of an indication of a crash for making a second determination that an indication of a crash has occurred. Such concepts can be found in the abstract category of commercial interactions. These concepts are enumerated in Section I of the 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance published in the federal register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019) is directed toward abstract category of methods of organizing human activity.
STEP 2A Prong 2: The identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to provide indications of patent eligible subject matter that integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include a “first sensor of a mobile device”, the first sensor comprises an accelerometer, “one or more processors”, a “second sensor” the second sensor comprising a gyroscope.
The additional elements “first sensor of a mobile device” and “second sensor” to perform the operations “output…sensor data” and “outputting additional sensor data” respectively. According to MPEP 2106.05(d) II (see also MPEP 2106.05(g)) the courts have recognized the following computer functions are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) where technology is merely applied to perform the abstract idea or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
The claim limitations (output…data) are recited at a high level of generality without details of technical implementation and thus are insignificant extra solution activity.
The additional element “one or more processors” is applied to perform the steps “determining…whether condition occurred”, determine …whether condition corresponds to an occurrence…”, “cause a second sensor to begin outputting …data” and “determine…whether crash of the vehicle occurred”) merely apply or generally link the one or more processors to analyze the data received from the first sensor and based on a condition being met cause at a high level additional data from a different sensor to be outputted for use in further analysis.
The “sensors” and “one or more processors” as claimed are described in general terms with high level functions of “outputting data” and “determining whether conditions occurred”, “determining whether condition corresponds to an occurrence”, “determining whether crash has occurred” and “adjusting the analysis”. The additional step “cause …second sensor to begin outputting additional sensor data” is recited at a high level of generality lacking technical disclosure as to how the operation “causing a second sensor to begin outputting…data”. The limitation is so broad as to include manual or automated implementation of “cause a first sensor of a mobile computing device to output…data” and/or “causing a second sensor to …output[ting]…data”.
The wherein clauses “wherein: the first sensor comprises an accelerometer and the base sensor data comprises accelerometer data;” and “wherein: the second sensor comprises a gyroscope; the gyroscope is different from the accelerometer and the additional sensor data comprises gyroscope data”, does not further limit the operation of the “causing…sensor to output data” or “causing a second sensor to begin outputting …data”. It merely defines the sensor types.
The first sensors of the mobile device, one or more processors or second sensor, as claimed are not attempting to impose meaningful limits upon the judicial exception or improve technology or provide a solution to a problem rooted in technology. The claimed steps focus on outputting and analyzing data and not on any of the indications of patent eligible subject matter as set forth under step 2A prong 2. When considered as an ordered combination of parts or as a whole the focus of the claimed steps is to analyze outputted data in order to determine a condition and output additional that is analyzed in order (according to the specification) more accurately determined a condition that an accident has occurred based on the data outputted. The claim limitations and specification lacks technical disclosure how the outputting of data, determining of a condition, or causing sensors to collect additional data or analyze/determine a condition using the additional data. Taking the claim elements separately, the operation performed by the sensors and/or one or more processors used to apply the method at each step of the process is purely in terms of results desired and devoid of implementation of details. This is true with respect to the limitations when considered as a combination. The combination of parts do not go beyond the concept of analyzing outputted data and not directed toward a process where the combination of generic high level results is an attempt to address issues within technology itself (see Enfish/BASCOM) as the claimed limitations do not change the operations of any technology. The claimed subject matter is so high level that any generic programming could be applied and the functions could be performed by any known means. Furthermore, the claimed functions do not provide an operation that could be considered as sufficient to provide a technological implementation or application of/or improvement to this concept (i.e. integrated into a practical application).
Accordingly the claim limitations whether considered individually or when the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of steps not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as the claim process fails to impose meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. This is because the claimed subject matter fails to provide additional elements or combination or elements to apply or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The steps recited in the claims recite the concept of outputting and analyzing data for indications of an accident of a vehicle in order to determine the accuracy of the data outputted and analyzed.
The integration of elements do not improve upon technology or improve upon computer functionality or capability in how computers carry out one of their basic functions. The integration of elements do not provide a process that allows computers to perform functions that previously could not be performed. The integration of elements do not provide a process which applies a relationship to apply a new way of using an application. The instant application, therefore, still appears only to implement the abstract idea to the particular technological environments apply what generic computer functionality in the related arts. The steps are still a combination made to output and analyze data, output additional data based on the result of the analysis in order to confirm the original analysis and does not provide any of the determined indications of patent eligibility set forth in the 2019 USPTO 101 guidance. The additional limitations beyond the abstract idea only add technology as a tool in order to implement abstract ideas using generic functions, and the claims do not show improved ways of, for example, an particular technical function for performing the abstract idea that imposes meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. Moreover, Examiner was not able to identify any specific technological processes that goes beyond merely confining the abstract idea in a particular technological environment, which, when considered in the ordered combination with the other steps, could have transformed the nature of the abstract idea previously identified. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
There is no indication in the claim language that the structure and/or the manner in which the sensors and/or one or processors operations or capability is changed in any way.
The claim provides no technical details regarding how the sensors “outputting” data and/or the “one or more processors” determining “condition” or “location”. Instead, similar to the claims at issue in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Financial Corp., 850 F.3d 1332 (Fed. Cir. 2017), “the claim language . . . provides only a result-oriented solution with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it. Our law demands more.” Intellectual Ventures, 850 F.3d at 1342 (citing Elec. Power Grp. LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim limitations beyond the abstract idea include a “a first sensor of a mobile device” and “a second sensor” for outputting data and “one or more processors” used for “determining” a “conditions” in the data analysis.
Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the computer at each step of the process is purely conventional. Using a “sensor” to output data and “one or more processors” used for “determining” a “condition” and “location” ----are some of the most basic functions of a computer. According to Alice using sensors to output data and one or more processors to analyze data and determine location of a device is not enough to qualify as “significantly more”. The application of the claimed “sensors” and “one or more processors” used with the abstract idea, amount to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using technology requiring no more than generic sensors and one or more processors to perform generic computer functions that are well understood activities known to the industry. As a result, none of the hardware recited by the system claims offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the method to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via computers. .. . The claim limitations do not recite that any of the “devices” perform more than a high level generic function ... . None of the limitations recite technological implementation details for any of these steps, but instead recite only results desired to be achieved by any and all possible means. .. . Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
With respect to the conditional analysis of the data received for determining accident occurrences, the conditional analysis and applying conditions in order to cause additional data to be outputted for use in further analysis without any technical details is not an indication of patent eligibility under step 2A prong 2. In Ubicomm LLC v. Zappos IP, Inc. No. 1-13-cv-01029 (d. Del. Nov. 13, 2013), the court found that conditional actions to be abstract. Like as found in UbiComm, the determining function in the current limitations simply describes a conditional actions that are triggered based on a determine analysis result condition. According to UbiComm, citing policy considerations of Mayo, a conditional action is a basic tool used in many disciplines from medicine to economics. The court found that if conditional actions should be protected as an abstract idea because patenting conditional actions would impede innovation. Therefore, the determining steps is abstract and are not considered additional elements beyond the identified abstract idea.
When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of steps does not add “significantly more” by virtue of considering the steps as a whole, as an ordered combination. All of these computer functions are generic, routine, conventional computer activities that are performed only for their conventional uses. See Elec. Power Grp. v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Also see In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("Absent a possible narrower construction of the terms “generating”, “transmitting”, “intercepting”, identifying”, “determining”, “replacing” and “routing' ... are functions can be achieved by any general purpose computer without special programming"). None of these activities are used in some unconventional manner nor do any produce some unexpected result. Applicants do not contend they invented any of these activities. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions.
As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP America, Inc. v. Invest Pic LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicant’s claimed functions add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The sequence of data reception-analysis modification-transmission is equally generic and conventional. See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (sequence of receiving, selecting, offering for exchange, display, allowing access, and receiving payment recited as an abstraction), Inventor Holdings, LLC v. Bed Bath & Beyond, Inc., 876 F.3d 1372, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of data retrieval, analysis, modification, generation, display, and transmission), Two-Way Media Ltd. v. Comcast Cable Communications, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of processing, routing, controlling, and monitoring). The ordering of the steps is therefore ordinary and conventional. The analysis concludes that the claims do not provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
According to 2106.05 well-understood and routine processes to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform the claim into patent eligibility. As evidence the examiner provides:
The specification discloses the sensors included in a mobile computing device (spec ¶ 0027) to perform the operations of collecting and outputting data, where the sensors may include any of a “gyroscope 152, a pressure sensor 154 (e.g., a barometric
pressure sensor), a sound monitoring component 156 (e.g., a microphone), a magnetic sensor 158 (e.g., a magnetometer), and an accelerometer” (spec ¶ 0029). The specification further disclose the sensors be any “suitable number of each of the sensors (¶ 0029).
With respect to the “one or more processors”, the specification discloses:
[00108]… A hardware module may also comprise programmable logic or circuitry (e.g., as encompassed
within a general-purpose processor or other programmable processor) that is temporarily
configured by software to perform certain operations. It will be appreciated that the decision to
implement a hardware module mechanically, in dedicated and permanently configured circuitry,
or in temporarily configured circuitry (e.g., configured by software) may be driven by cost and
time considerations.
[00109] Accordingly, the term hardware should be understood to encompass a tangible entity,
be that an entity that is physically constructed, permanently configured (e.g., hardwired), or
temporarily configured (e.g., programmed) to operate in a certain manner or to perform certain
operations described herein. Considering embodiments in which hardware modules are
temporarily configured (e.g., programmed), each of the hardware modules need not be
configured or instantiated at any one instance in time. For example, where the hardware
modules comprise a general-purpose processor configured using software, the general-purpose
processor may be configured as respective different hardware modules at different times.
Software may accordingly configure a processor, for example, to constitute a particular hardware
module at one instance of time and to constitute a different hardware module at a different
instance of time.
US Patent No. 9,925,940 B1 by Christensen et al-Col 19 lines 3-24 wherein the prior art teaches the devices determining an accident occurred based on sensor data and Col 19 lines 47-53 wherein the prior art teaches the device prompting for confirmation an accident occurred.
With respect to multi-sensor data for vehicle event analysis the examiner provides:
Evaluating Localization Accuracy of Automated Driving systems by Rehrl et al. (2021); A Comprehensive Study of IoT based Accident Detection Systems for Smart Vehicles by Alvi et al. (2017); Deep Crash Detection from Vehicular Sensor Data with Multimodal Self-Supervision by Kubin et al. (2021); A Sensor and Sensor Fusion Technology in Autonomous Vehicle a review” by Yeong (2021); Vehicle Sensor Data-based transportation research: Modeling, analysis and management by He et al. (2019); An Automotive Distributed Mobile Sensor Data Collection with machine learning based data fusion and analysis on a Central backend system by Tiedemann et al (2016)
The instant application, therefore, still appears to only implement the abstract ideas to the particular technological environments using what is generic components and functions in the related arts. The claim is not patent eligible.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 2-7 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 1. Dependent claim 2 is directed toward generating location of the device and indication of whether crash has occurred- using technology to analyze crash related data- a business process. Dependent claim 3 is directed toward listing of sensor type options- further limiting the tool applied for collecting/outputting data to generic known sensor types well understood to one of ordinary skill in the art. Dependent claim 4 is directed toward collating data at a time at which additional data is outputted – insignificant extra solution activity of collecting and data manipulation of combining data. Dependent claim 5 is directed toward generating location data- well understood in the art. Dependent claim 6 is directed toward determining whether vehicle is stopped, and when an indication of crash occurred a notification of the crash or prompt provided- data analysis and output- mere data analysis and output - well understood and a business practice. Dependent claim 7 is directed toward adding additional sensor to mobile device- well understood technology.
The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 1. Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 2-7 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
In reference to Claim(s) 8-14:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a system, as in independent Claim 8 and the dependent claims. Such systems fall under the statutory category of "machine." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The operations of system claim 8 corresponds to steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected as being directed toward an abstract idea of the categories of concepts directed toward methods of organizing human activity previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
STEP 2A Prong 2: The operations of system claim 8 corresponds to steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected as failing to provide limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application, as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements beyond the abstract idea include a system processor comprising a mobile device sensor, memory storing instructions, processor interfaced with the sensor and memory to execute the instructions–is purely functional and generic. Nearly every computer system for implementing an operations of outputting sensor data and/or determining a condition found in the analysis of data or a location of a device will include a “sensors” and/ “processor” capable of performing the basic computer functions -of causing sensors to “output” data, “determine” condition in analysis of data and/or location of a device “ - As a result, none of the hardware recited by the system claims offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via computers.
The operations of system claim 8 corresponds to steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected as failing to provide additional elements that amount to an inventive concept –i.e. significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Furthermore, as previously discussed with respect to claim 1, the limitations when considered individually, as a combination of parts or as a whole fail to provide any indication that the elements recited are unconventional or otherwise more than what is well understood, conventional, routine activity in the field and/or fail to provide significantly more than the identified abstract idea itself.
The claimed system and its memory, sensors and processors executing instructions is not truly drawn to a specific system but rather is directed toward the identified abstract idea of analyzing outputted sensor data in order to determine whether an accident has occurred and then outputting additional data that is analyzed if the previous determination indicates the accident condition in order to provide more accurate determination that an accident occurred. Simply reciting the use of a system and its components will not change that the system is merely applied to perform the abstract idea as determined under step 2A prong 1. The “incidental use” of a system does not allow the claim to meet the Alice 2A prong 2 or 2B requirements. Accordingly the claimed limitations do not meet the requirements that the use of a system for performing the abstract idea becomes a special purpose computer once is confined to performing the abstract idea.
According to 2106.05 well-understood and routine processes to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform the claim into patent eligibility. As evidence the examiner provides:
The specification discloses the sensors included in a mobile computing device (spec ¶ 0027) to perform the operations of collecting and outputting data, where the sensors may include any of a “gyroscope 152, a pressure sensor 154 (e.g., a barometric
pressure sensor), a sound monitoring component 156 (e.g., a microphone), a magnetic sensor 158 (e.g., a magnetometer), and an accelerometer” (spec ¶ 0029). The specification further disclose the sensors be any “suitable number of each of the sensors (¶ 0029).
With respect to the “one or more processors”, the specification discloses:
[00108]… A hardware module may also comprise programmable logic or circuitry (e.g., as encompassed
within a general-purpose processor or other programmable processor) that is temporarily
configured by software to perform certain operations. It will be appreciated that the decision to
implement a hardware module mechanically, in dedicated and permanently configured circuitry,
or in temporarily configured circuitry (e.g., configured by software) may be driven by cost and
time considerations.
[00109] Accordingly, the term hardware should be understood to encompass a tangible entity,
be that an entity that is physically constructed, permanently configured (e.g., hardwired), or
temporarily configured (e.g., programmed) to operate in a certain manner or to perform certain
operations described herein. Considering embodiments in which hardware modules are
temporarily configured (e.g., programmed), each of the hardware modules need not be
configured or instantiated at any one instance in time. For example, where the hardware
modules comprise a general-purpose processor configured using software, the general-purpose
processor may be configured as respective different hardware modules at different times.
Software may accordingly configure a processor, for example, to constitute a particular hardware
module at one instance of time and to constitute a different hardware module at a different
instance of time.
US Patent No. 9,925,940 B1 by Christensen et al-Col 19 lines 3-24 wherein the prior art teaches the devices determining an accident occurred based on sensor data and Col 19 lines 47-53 wherein the prior art teaches the device prompting for confirmation an accident occurred.
With respect to multi-sensor data for vehicle event analysis the examiner provides:
Evaluating Localization Accuracy of Automated Driving systems by Rehrl et al. (2021); A Comprehensive Study of IoT based Accident Detection Systems for Smart Vehicles by Alvi et al. (2017); Deep Crash Detection from Vehicular Sensor Data with Multimodal Self-Supervision by Kubin et al. (2021); A Sensor and Sensor Fusion Technology in Autonomous Vehicle a review” by Yeong (2021); Vehicle Sensor Data-based transportation research: Modeling, analysis and management by He et al. (2019); An Automotive Distributed Mobile Sensor Data Collection with machine learning based data fusion and analysis on a Central backend system by Tiedemann et al (2016)
The instant application, therefore, still appears to only implement the abstract ideas to the particular technological environments using what is generic components and functions in the related arts. The claim is not patent eligible.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 9-14 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 8. Dependent claim 9 is directed toward generate location of the device and indication of whether crash has occurred- using technology to analyze crash related data- a business process. Dependent claim 10 is directed toward listing of sensor type options- further limiting the tool applied for collecting/outputting data to generic known sensor types well understood to one of ordinary skill in the art. Dependent claim 11 is directed toward collate data at a time at which additional data is outputted – insignificant extra solution activity of collecting and data manipulation of combining data. Dependent claim 12 is directed toward generate location data- well understood in the art. Dependent claim 13 is directed toward a mobile device interface and processor used to determine whether vehicle is stopped, and when an indication of crash occurred a notification of the crash or prompt provided- data analysis and output- mere data analysis and output – applying known technology in a generic manner - well understood application of technology and a business practice. Dependent claim 14 is directed toward adding additional sensor to mobile device- well understood technology.
The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 8. Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 9-14 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
In reference to Claim(s) 15-20:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a non-transitory computer readable medium, as in independent Claim 15 and the dependent claims. Such mediums fall under the statutory category of "manufacture." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The instructions of medium claim 15 corresponds to steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected as being directed toward an abstract idea of the categories of concepts directed toward mental processes and methods of organizing human activity previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
STEP 2A Prong 2: The instructions of medium claim 15 corresponds to steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected as failing to provide limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application, as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements beyond the abstract idea include a computer readable storage medium comprising non-transitory readable instructions executable by one or more processors–is purely functional and generic. Nearly every computer readable medium instruction for implementing a processor is executable by a “processor” capable of performing the basic computer functions -of outputting sensor data and/or determining a condition found in the analysis of data or a location of a device will include a mobile device “sensors” and/ “processor” capable of performing the basic computer functions -of causing sensors to “output” data, “determine” condition in analysis of data and/or location of a device “ - As a result, none of the hardware recited by the system claims offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via computers.
The instructions of medium claim 15 corresponds to steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected as failing to provide additional elements that amount to an inventive concept –i.e. significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Furthermore, as previously discussed with respect to claim 1, the limitations when considered individually, as a combination of parts or as a whole fail to provide any indication that the elements recited are unconventional or otherwise more than what is well understood, conventional, routine activity in the field and/or fail to provide significantly more than the identified abstract idea itself.
The claimed manufacture is not truly drawn to a specific readable medium containing non-generic instructions but rather is directed toward the identified abstract idea of analyzing outputted sensor data in order to determine whether an accident has occurred and then outputting additional data that is analyzed if the previous determination indicates the accident condition in order to provide more accurate determination that an accident occurred. Simply reciting the use of a medium as executed by one or more processors will not change that the system is medium is being applied to perform the abstract idea as determined under step 2A prong 1. The “incidental use” of a medium does not allow the claim to meet the Alice 2A prong 2 or 2B requirements. Accordingly the claimed limitations do not meet the requirements that the use of a system for performing the abstract idea becomes a special purpose computer once is confined to performing the abstract idea.
According to 2106.05 well-understood and routine processes to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform the claim into patent eligibility. As evidence the examiner provides:
The specification discloses:
[0007] In yet another embodiment, a computer readable storage medium may be provided that
includes non-transitory computer readable instructions stored thereon for generating an
indication of whether a vehicle crash has occurred. The instructions, when executed on one or
more processors, may cause the one or more processors to determine whether base sensor data
output by at least one base sensor of a mobile computing device indicates that a condition
corresponding to a crash of a vehicle has occurred, where the mobile computing device may be
within the vehicle. …
[00106] The methods described in this application may include one or more functions or
routines in the form of non-transitory computer-executable instructions that are stored in a
tangible computer-readable storage medium and executed using a processor of a computing
device (e.g., the first mobile computing device 116, one or more of the remote computing
device(s) 106, and/or any other computing devices within the example system 100 in any
suitable combination). The routines may be included as part of any of the modules described in
relation to Figure 1 or as part of a module that is external to the system illustrated by Figure 1….
[00107] Additionally, certain aspects are described herein as including logic or a number of
functions, components, modules, blocks, or mechanisms. Functions may constitute either
software modules (e.g., non-transitory code stored on a tangible machine-readable storage
medium) or hardware modules. A hardware module is a tangible unit capable of performing
certain operations and may be configured or arranged in a certain manner. In example
embodiments, one or more computer systems (e.g., a standalone, client or server computer
system) or one or more hardware modules of a computer system (e.g., a processor or a group of
processors) may be configured by software (e.g., an application or application portion) as a
hardware module that operates to perform certain operations as described herein.
[00108] In various embodiments, a hardware module may be implemented mechanically or
electronically. For example, a hardware module may comprise dedicated circuitry or logic that is
permanently configured (e.g., as a special-purpose processor, such as a field programmable gate
array (FPGA) or an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) to perform certain functions).
A hardware module may also comprise programmable logic or circuitry (e.g., as encompassed
within a general-purpose processor or other programmable processor) that is temporarily
configured by software to perform certain operations. It will be appreciated that the decision to
implement a hardware module mechanically, in dedicated and permanently configured circuitry,
or in temporarily configured circuitry (e.g., configured by software) may be driven by cost and
time considerations.
US Patent No. 9,925,940 B1 by Christensen et al-Col 19 lines 3-24 wherein the prior art teaches the devices determining an accident occurred based on sensor data and Col 19 lines 47-53 wherein the prior art teaches the device prompting for confirmation an accident occurred.
With respect to multi-sensor data for vehicle event analysis the examiner provides:
Evaluating Localization Accuracy of Automated Driving systems by Rehrl et al. (2021); A Comprehensive Study of IoT based Accident Detection Systems for Smart Vehicles by Alvi et al. (2017); Deep Crash Detection from Vehicular Sensor Data with Multimodal Self-Supervision by Kubin et al. (2021); A Sensor and Sensor Fusion Technology in Autonomous Vehicle a review” by Yeong (2021); Vehicle Sensor Data-based transportation research: Modeling, analysis and management by He et al. (2019); An Automotive Distributed Mobile Sensor Data Collection with machine learning based data fusion and analysis on a Central backend system by Tiedemann et al (2016)
The instant application, therefore, still appears to only implement the abstract ideas to the particular technological environments using what is generic components and functions in the related arts. The claim is not patent eligible.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 16-20 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 15. Dependent claim 16 is directed toward generate whether crash has occurred based on sensor data- using technology to analyze crash related data- a business process. Dependent claim 17 is directed toward listing of sensor type options- further limiting the tool applied for collecting/outputting data to generic known sensor types well understood to one of ordinary skill in the art. Dependent claim 18 is directed toward collate data at a time at which additional data is outputted – insignificant extra solution activity of collecting and data manipulation of combining data. Dependent claim 19 is directed toward generate location data- well understood in the art. Dependent claim 20 is directed toward a mobile device interface and processor used to determine whether vehicle is stopped, and when an indication of crash occurred a notification of the crash or prompt provided- data analysis and output- mere data analysis and output – applying known technology in a generic manner - well understood application of technology and a business practice.
The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 15. Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 16-20 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7; Claim(s) 8- 14; Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,162,800 B1 by Carberry et al (Carberry) and further in view of US Pub No. 2012/0130586 A1 by Ehrman et al. (Ehrman)
(Currently Amended) A computer-implemented method for determining whether a vehicle crash has occurred ((Carberry) in at least Abstract), the method comprising:
causing a first sensor of a mobile computing device to output base sensor data ((Carberry) in at least Col 1 lines 35-51), wherein the first sensor comprises an accelerometer ((Carberry)in at least Col 2 lines 1-4, Col 5 lines 65-Col 6 lines 1-4, Col 9 lines 1-6, lines 50-61); and
the base sensor data comprises accelerometer data ((Carberry)in at least Col 2 lines 1-4, Col 5 lines 65-Col 6 lines 1-46, Col 9 lines 50-61, col 10 lines 28-36);
determining, using one or more processors and based at least on the base sensor data, whether a condition has occurred ((Carberry) in at least Col 9 lines 20-34, Col 11 lines 14-34);
after determining that the condition has occurred, determining, using the one or more processors to perform an analysis, whether the condition corresponds to an occurrence of a crash of a vehicle has occurred ((Carberry) in at least FIG. 2; Col 9 lines 20-34, Col 11 lines 14-34, Col 15 lines 22-59);
after determining that the condition corresponds to the occurrence of the crash of the vehicle, causing a second sensor to begin outputting additional sensor data ((Carberry) in at least Col 9 lines 20-34, Col 11 lines 14-34 wherein the prior art teaches determining whether secondary data source involved and data from one or more sensors of the mobile device), wherein the second sensor comprises a gyroscope ((Carberry) in at least Col 2 lines 5-6, Col 8 lines 56-Col 9 lines 1-6, lines 40-61, Col 10 lines 28-45); and
the gyroscope is different from the accelerometer ((Carberry) in at least Col 2 lines 5-6, Col 8 lines 56-Col 9 lines 1-6, lines 40-61,Col 10 lines 33-45); and
the additional sensor data comprises gyroscope data ((Carberry) in at least abstract; “ As described above, the sensors 132 may also comprise a compass, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or any other type of sensor”; Col 2 lines 5-6, Col 8 lines 56-Col 9 lines 1-6, lines 40-61, Col 9 lines 54-61 “As described above, the sensors 132 may also comprise a compass, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or any other type of sensor”; Col 10 lines 28-45 wherein the prior art teaches “the computing device may request and/or receive additional sensor data from the vehicle sensors 119A and/or sensor data from the mobile device’s sensors 118A. The computing device may automatically collect the sensor data. “’ Col 11 lines 14-25 wherein the prior art teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the sensor may comprise a gyroscope, and the measured data indicative of the accident may comprise rotation data.”, teaches “the computing device may determine additional sources of sensor data based on whether the additional data source was involved in the accident. Whether the additional source of data (e.g., devices within another vehicle or a pedestrian’s mobile device) was involved in the accident may be determined using location data, as explained above. Whether a secondary data source was involved in the accident may also be determined based on some sensor data from the secondary data source[AltContent: ];
determining, using the one or more processors and based at least on the additional sensor data and the base sensor data, whether the crash of the vehicle has occurred ((Carberry) in at least Col 9 lines 20-Col 10 lines 1-57, Col 11 lines 14-34); and
if it is determined that the crash of the vehicle has not occurred ((Carberry) in at least Col 6 lines 15-18, lines 33-37, Col 10 lines 20-24),
Carberry does not explicitly teach:
adjusting the analysis to prevent a determination that the condition corresponds to the occurrence of the crash of the vehicle.
Ehrman teaches:
if it is determined that the crash of the vehicle has not occurred, adjusting the analysis to prevent a determination that the condition corresponds to the occurrence of the crash of the vehicle.((Ehrman) in at least Fig. 3; para 0031-0033, para 0036, Table 2; para 0037-0044)
Both Carberry and Ehrman are directed toward analyzing received sensor data in order to identify impact events of the vehicles. Ehrman teaches the motivation of adjusting the parameters for analyzing and determining possible impact events in response to identifying false alarm impacts in the analysis in order to ensure that the sensor setting are effective to distinguish a lower floor level for event data. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis process for detecting possible impacts of Carberry to include modifying the analysis in response to a false detection as taught by Ehrman since Ehrman teaches the motivation of adjusting the parameters for analyzing and determining possible impact events in response to identifying false alarm impacts in the analysis in order to ensure that the sensor setting are effective to distinguish a lower floor level for event data.
In reference to Claim 2:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 2
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the crash of the vehicle has occurred comprises:
using the one or more processors: based on the additional sensor data, determining a location of the mobile computing device. ((Carberry) in at least Col 1 lines 38-51, Col 2 lines 8-19, Col 5 lines 26-45, lines 55-65)
In reference to Claim 4:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 4
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1 (, further comprising:
collating the additional sensor data with a location of the mobile computing device at a time at which the additional sensor data was output. ((Carberry) in at least Col 2 lines 7-33, Col 5 lines 30-45, Col 8 lines 16-37)
In reference to Claim 5:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 5
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
receiving, from a location module of the mobile computing device, a location of the mobile computing device. ((Carberry) in at least Col 5 lines 30-45, lines 58-Col 6 lines 1-2)
In reference to Claim 6:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 6.
(Currently Amended) The computer-implemented method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
determining, using the one or more processors, whether the vehicle is stopped ((Carberry) in at least Col 16 lines 19-27)
In reference to Claim 3:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of dependent claim 6. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 3
(Currently Amended) The computer-implemented method of claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), further comprising:
when it is determined that the vehicle is stopped and when it is determined that the crash of the vehicle has occurred, causing, using the one or more processors, at least one of a notification of the crash of the vehicle or a prompt associated with the crash of the vehicle to be provided via a user interface of the mobile computing device ((Carberry) in at least Col 16 lines 13-27 wherein the prior art teaches sending simulation to displays).
In reference to Claim 7:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 7
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the second sensor is included in an additional mobile computing device ((Carberry) in at least Col 2 lines 23-33, Col 9 lines 20-40, Col 11 lines 14-34).
In reference to Claim 8:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 8.
The mobile computing device operations of claim 8 correspond to the steps of method claim 1. The additional limitations recited in claim 8 that go beyond the limitations of claim 1 include a mobile computing device ((Carberry) in at least Fig. 1) to perform the operation that correspond to claim 1 include the structure comprising:
a first sensor ((Carberry) in at least Abstract);
memory storing computer-executable instructions ((Carberry) in at least Col 1 lines 38-51); and
a processor interfaced with the first sensor and the memory, and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the processor ((Carberry) in at least Col 1 lines 38-51)to perform the operations corresponding to claim 1
Therefore, claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
In reference to Claim 9:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 9
The operations of device claim 9 corresponds to steps of method claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 2
In reference to Claim 11:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 11
The operations of device claim 11 corresponds to steps of method claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 4
In reference to Claim 12:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 12
The operations of device claim 12 corresponds to steps of method claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 5
In reference to Claim 13:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 13
The operations of device claim 6 corresponds to steps of method claim 13. Therefore, claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 6
In reference to Claim 10:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of dependent claim 13. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 10
The operations of device claim 10 corresponds to steps of method claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 3
In reference to Claim 14:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 14
The operations of device claim 14 corresponds to steps of method claim 7. Therefore, claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 7
In reference to Claim 15:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 15.
The instructions of non-transitory computer-medium medium of claim 15 correspond to the steps of method claim 1. The additional limitations recited in claim 15 that go beyond the limitations of claim 1 include a non-transitory computer-medium medium ((Carberry) in at least Claim 11) to perform the operation that correspond to claim 1
Therefore, claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
In reference to Claim 16:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 16
(Previously Presented) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above),
wherein determining whether the crash of the vehicle has occurred comprises using the one or more processors, based on the additional sensor data, determining a location of the mobile computing device is ((Carberry) in at least Col 5 lines 30-45, lines 58-Col 6 lines 1-2)
In reference to Claim 18:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 18
(Previously Presented) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), further comprising instructions that when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
collate the additional sensor data with a location of the mobile computing device at a time at which the additional sensor data was output. ((Carberry) in at least Col 2 lines 7-33, Col 5 lines 30-45, Col 8 lines 16-37)
In reference to Claim 19:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 19
(Previously Presented) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), further comprising instructions stored thereon that when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
receiving, from cause a location module of the mobile computing device, to generate the a location of the mobile computing device. ((Carberry) in at least Col 5 lines 30-45, lines 58-Col 6 lines 1-2)
In reference to Claim 20:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 13
The instructions of manufacture claim 20 corresponds to steps of method claim 6. Therefore, claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 6
In reference to Claim 17:
The combination of Carberry and Ehrman discloses the limitations of dependent claim 20. Carberry further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 17
(The instructions of manufacture claim 17 corresponds to steps of method claim 3. Therefore, claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 3
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 10,572,943 B1 by Tye et al; US Patent No. 10,445,758 B1 by Bryer et al; US Patent No. 9,338,605 B2 by Guba et al; US Patent No. 9,164,957 B2 by Hassib et al; US Pub No. 2015/0084757 A1 by Annibale et al.
/MARY M GREGG/Examiner, Art Unit 3695