DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2021/0358875; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Fig 7 of Lee discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) including a first bonding layer (BO1/BO2; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]), the first bonding layer (BO1/BO2; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) including a first chip pad (BP2; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and a first insulating layer (BO2/BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) covering a side surface (Fig 7) of the first chip pad;
a second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) disposed below the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and including a substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) having front (Top surface; Fig 7) and rear surfaces (Bottom surface; Fig 7), a second bonding layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) disposed on the front surface (Top surface; Fig 7) and through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) passing through the substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) and having protrusions (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7) protruding from the rear surface (Bottom surface; Fig 7), the second bonding layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) including a second chip pad (144A; Fig 7; ¶ [0095]) contacting the first chip pad (BP2; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and a second insulating layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0095]) covering a side surface (Fig 7) of the second chip pad (144A; Fig 7; ¶ [0095]);
a redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) disposed below the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and electrically connected to the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
vias (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) disposed between the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) and the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and disposed around (Fig 7) the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]); and
an encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) surrounding the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]), the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]), and the vias (CP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]),
wherein the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact (Fig 7) with the protrusions of the through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) fills space (Fig 7) between the protrusions (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7).
Regarding claim 3, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact with the first bonding layer (BO1/BO2; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and a side surface (Fig 7) of the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the first insulating layer (BO2/BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact with the second insulating layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0095]).
Regarding claim 5, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact with the rear surface (Fig 7) of the substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) of the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Fig 7 of Lee discloses a horizontal width (Fig 7) of the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is greater than a horizontal width of the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Fig 7 of Lee discloses a center of the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is aligned (Fig 7) with a center of the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and the vias (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) are arranged to surround the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) further includes a first circuit layer (152; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) disposed on the first bonding layer (BO1/BO2; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]), and
the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) further includes a second circuit layer (142; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) disposed below the second bonding layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) and electrically connected to the first circuit layer (152; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Fig 7 of Lee discloses a width of each of the through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) is smaller than a width of the via (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 12, Fig 7 of Lee discloses lower surfaces (Fig 7) of the through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) and lower surfaces of the vias (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) are coplanar with a lower surface of the encapsulant.
Regarding claim 13, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) includes a first wiring layer (131LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]), a second wiring layer (120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) below the first wiring layer (131LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) and a via (131VC; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) connecting the first wiring layer (131LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) to the second wiring layer (120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 14, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the encapsulant includes at least one of a thermosetting or photocurable polymer material (¶ [0047]).
Regarding claim 15, Fig 7 of Lee discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) including a first active surface (152; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]);
a second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) including a second active surface (142; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) in contact with the first active surface, the second semiconductor chip including a substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) having front (Top surface; Fig 7) and rear surfaces (Bottom surface; Fig 7) and a through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) passing through the substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) and having protrusions (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7) protruding from the rear surface (Bottom surface; Fig 7) of the substrate;
a redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) disposed below the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and electrically connected to the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
vias (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) disposed between the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) and the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and disposed around (Fig 7) the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]); and
an encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) surrounding the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]), the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]), and the vias (CP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]),
wherein the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact (Fig 7) with the protrusions of the through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Fig 7 of Lee discloses an upper surface of each of the vias (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) is in contact with the first active surface (152; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 17, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact with the first active surface (152; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]).
First Interpretation
Regarding claim 18, Fig 7 of Lee discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) including a first bonding layer (BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
a second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) disposed below the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and including a substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) having front (Top surface; Fig 7) and rear surfaces (Bottom surface), a second bonding layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) disposed on the front surface, and through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) passing through the substrate and having protrusions protruding from the rear surface;
chip connection terminals (BP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) disposed on the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and connecting the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) to the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
a redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and electrically connected to the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
vias (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) disposed between the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) and the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and disposed around (Fig 7) the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]); and
an encapsulant (MD1/BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) surrounding the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]), the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]), and the vias (CP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]),
wherein the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact (Fig 7) with the protrusions of the through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Fig 7 of Lee discloses the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) fills a space between the chip connection terminals (BP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and is in contact with the first bonding layer (BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and the second bonding layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]).
Second Interpretation
Regarding claim 18, Fig 7 of Lee discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) including a first bonding layer (BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
a second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) disposed below the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and including a substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) having front (Top surface; Fig 7) and rear surfaces (Bottom surface), a second bonding layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) disposed on the front surface, and through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) passing through the substrate and having protrusions protruding from the rear surface;
chip connection terminals (BP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) disposed on the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and connecting the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) to the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
a redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and electrically connected to the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]);
vias (CP; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) disposed between the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]) and the first semiconductor chip (150; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and disposed around (Fig 7) the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]); and
an encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) surrounding the second semiconductor chip (140; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]), the redistribution layer (132VC/131LC/131VC/120; Fig 7; ¶ [0057]), and the vias (CP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]),
wherein the encapsulant (MD1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) is in contact (Fig 7) with the protrusions of the through-electrodes (145/144B/132LC; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 20, Fig 7 of Lee discloses an adhesive layer (BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) disposed between the first bonding layer (BO1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]) and the second bonding layer (143A; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) and covering the chip connection terminals (BP1; Fig 7; ¶ [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2021/0358875; hereinafter Lee) in view of Lin et al (US 2012/0193785; hereinafter Lin)
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the substrate (141; Fig 7; ¶ [0041]) comprises silicon or germanium or SiGe (¶ [0042]).
However Lee dose not expressly disclose a thickness of the substrate is about 10 µm to about 40 µm.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses a thickness of the substrate comprising silicon germanium is 20 µm. (¶ [0046])
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a thickness of the substrate is within the claimed range in order to form the substrate within a suitable thickness as taught by Lin (¶ [0046]).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2021/0358875; hereinafter Lee) in view of Shigetoshi et al (US 2024/0055326; hereinafter Shigetoshi).
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not expressly disclose a width of each of the through-electrodes is about 1 µm to about 5 µm.
In the same field of endeavor, Shigetoshi discloses a width of through-electrodes can be 3 µm (¶ [0097]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a width of through-electrodes are within the claimed range in order to form the through-electrodes of desired width so that signal transmission performance can be improved (¶ [0140]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al (US 10985760; This prior art discloses package substrate and plurality of chips stacked on top of one another)
Han et al (US 2021/0013181; This prior art discloses package substrate and plurality of chips stacked on top of one another)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817