DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 1/9/2026. Status of claims are:
** Claims 1-9 are pending in this Office Action.
** Claims 1, 8 and 9 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 1/9/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Prior Art
U. S. Patent Pub No. US6901451 B1 issued to Miyoshi et al., (hereinafter Miyoshi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220015052 A1 to Moon et al., (hereinafter Moon) in view of US 20110051754 A1 to Lansdown et al., (hereinafter Lansdown) and in further view of US 6901451 B1 to Miyoshi et al., (hereinafter Miyoshi).
Claim 1. A time synchronization communication system in which a plurality of nodes perform time synchronization via a communication network, (Moon: See para[0077] and Fig. 6) the plurality of nodes comprising:
a time synchronization end station (i.e., Slave) (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 16 & 17,#1630 & #1230, “Slave” (i.e., end station)) including a first timer recording section (i.e., a storage) that records a time measured by a first timer (i.e., by a clock) at a time of transmission and reception of a message (Moon: See para[0077], Fig. 6, #608 & #614, “TSN” recording “TB2” as reception time of message, and “TB3” as transmission time of message) and a message transmission control section that controls transmission of the message; (Moon: See para[0068], Fig. 4, # 410, “communication unit”) and
(Moon: See para[0074] the “Slave” adjusts its clock by adding the estimated delay time to the timestamp transmitted by “Master” and received by “Slave” for clock synchronization between “Master” and “Slave”.)
a time synchronization bridge (i.e., TSN SW) (Moon: See Fig. 16 & 17, #1620 & #1720, “TSN SW” (i.e., a time synchronization bridge)) including: a second time recording section (i.e., a storage) that records a time measured by a second timer (i.e., by a clock) at a time of transmission and reception of a message, (Moon: Fig. 6, #606 & #614, “TSN” recording “TB2” reception time of message, and “TB3” as transmission time of message) and a time holding section (i.e., a storage) that holds a time recorded by the second time recording section, (Moon: See Fig. 4, # 410, communication unit)
the time synchronization bridge (i.e., TSN SW) relaying a message transmitted to and received from the time synchronization end station;(i.e., Slave) (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 16 & 17, “TSN SW” (i.e., the time synchronization bridge) relaying messages transmitted to and received from the “Slave” (i.e., end station))
after transmitting a first message (i.e., Sync) to the time synchronization bridge (i.e., TSN SW), (Moon: see para[0117],Fig. 17, #1730 slave/master transmitting “Sync” message (i.e., 1st message) to “TSN” (i.e., time synchronization bridge) at “T3”), the message transmission control section transmits a second message (i.e., Follow Up) to the time synchronization bridge (Moon: Fig. 17, #1730 slave/master transmitting “Follow Up” message (i.e., 2nd message) to “TSN” (i.e., time synchronization bridge) at “T3”)
Moon does not seem to explicitly disclose a conditional statement for transmission, indicating that after Sync message (i.e., 1st message) is sent, and after the time of reception of the Sync message (i.e., 1st message) as received by the time synchronization end station, is sent back to the time synchronization bridge via messaging, only then, a second message will be transmitted, as understood by:
on condition that the time synchronization end station has acquired, from the time synchronization bridge, a time held in the time holding section as the first message is received by the time synchronization bridge.
However, in a similar field, Lansdowne in para[0012] and Fig. 2a, teaches a Master (i.e., time synchronization end station) transmits, its 1st Sync message #206, to a Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge) node. Then the Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge) responds back with a “Delay Request” message (#208), that includes the reception time of the 1st Sync message by Slave(i.e., time synchronization bridge). After that, the Master (i.e., time synchronization end station) transmits its 2nd message “Delay Response” message (#210)” to Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, synchronization messaging techniques, as taught by Lansdown, with the teachings of Moon, in order to benefit from such messaging enhancements wherein transmission of signal depends on first receiving the reception time of the first message sent. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
Moon in view of Lansdown does not seem to explicitly teach the concept of “remote register access” applicable towards unintelligent nodes containing no CPU (i.e., no arithmetic logic), as understood by:
wherein: the time synchronization bridge does not have an arithmetic core or has an arithmetic core that is disabled, and is remotely controlled by register access or by a communication protocol from the time synchronization end station; and
However, in a similar field, Miyoshi, in Column 8, lines 50-67, Col. 9 lines 1-15, an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) to implement “remote register access” on it, thus allowing a local node to access such remote registers of the remote device (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
Miyoshi teaches techniques related to bridges over network wherein an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) to implement “remote register access” on it, thus allowing a local node to access such remote registers of the remote device (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, “remote register access” as taught by Miyoshi, with the teachings of Moon in view of Lansdown, in order to benefit from having an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) that can implement “remote register access”, and thus allowing a nodes to access their registers and read and write into such registers. (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
Claim 6. The time synchronization communication system according to claim 1, wherein the time synchronization end station includes a time synchronization master that distributes a reference time to a time synchronization slave. (Moon: See para[0073], Fig. 5, a master refer to a node that provides a reference clock and a slave may refer to a node that performs clock synchronization to adjust it own clock to match the provided reference time.)
Claim 7. The time synchronization communication system according to claim 1, wherein the time synchronization end station includes a time synchronization slave that estimates a clock of a time synchronization master that distributes a reference time. (Moon: See para[0073], Fig. 5, a master refer to a node that provides a reference clock and a slave may refer to a node that performs clock synchronization to adjust it own clock to match the provided reference time.)
Claim 8. A time synchronization end station (i.e., Slave) (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 16 & 17,#1630 & #1230, “Slave” (i.e., end station)) included as a node in a time synchronization communication system together with a time synchronization bridge (i.e., TSN SW) (Moon: See Fig. 16 & 17, #1620 & #1720, “TSN SW” (i.e., a time synchronization bridge)) including a second time recording section (i.e., a storage) that records a time measured by a second timer(i.e., clock) at a time of transmission and reception of a message (Moon: Fig. 6, #606 & #614, “TSN” recording “TB2” reception time of message, and “TB3” as transmission time of message) and a time holding section that holds the time recorded by the second time recording section (Moon: See Fig. 4, # 410, communication unit)
and relaying a message transmitted to and received from the time synchronization end station, (i.e., Slave) (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 16 & 17, “TSN SW” (i.e., the time synchronization bridge) relaying messages transmitted to and received from the “Slave” (i.e., end station)) the time synchronization end station (i.e., Fig. 17, Slave #1730) remotely controlling the time synchronization bridge, (Moon: see Fig. 17, “Slave’ #1730, causes “TSN SW (i.e., the time synchronization bridge) to forward Sync and Follow UP) and
the time synchronization end station (i.e., Slave) (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 16 & 17,#1630 & #1230, “Slave” (i.e., end station))comprising:
a first time recording section (i.e., a storage)that records a time measured by a first timer (i.e., clock)at the time of transmission and reception of a message; (Moon: See para[0077], Fig. 6, #608 & #614, “TSN” recording “TB2” as reception time of message, and “TB3” as transmission time of message) and a message transmission control section that controls transmission of the message, (Moon: See para[0068], Fig. 4, # 410, “communication unit”)
wherein after transmitting a first message (i.e., Sync) to the time synchronization bridge, (i.e., TSN SW), (Moon: see para[0117],Fig. 17, #1730 slave/master transmitting “Sync” message (i.e., 1st message) to “TSN” (i.e., time synchronization bridge) at “T3”), the message transmission control section transmits a second message(i.e., Follow Up) to the time synchronization bridge (Moon: Fig. 17, #1730 slave/master transmitting “Follow Up” message (i.e., 2nd message) to “TSN” (i.e., time synchronization bridge) at “T3”)
Moon does not seem to explicitly disclose a conditional statement for transmission, indicating that after Sync message (i.e., 1st message) is sent, and after the time of reception of the Sync message (i.e., 1st message) as received by the time synchronization end station, is sent back to the time synchronization bridge via messaging, only then, a second message will be transmitted, as understood by:
on condition that the time synchronization end station has acquired, from the time synchronization bridge, a time held in the time holding section as the first message is received by the time synchronization bridge.
However, in a similar field, Lansdowne in para[0012] and Fig. 2a, teaches a Master (i.e., time synchronization end station) transmits, its 1st Sync message #206, to a Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge) node. Then the Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge) responds back with a “Delay Request” message (#208), that includes the reception time of the 1st Sync message by Slave(i.e., time synchronization bridge). After that, the Master (i.e., time synchronization end station) transmits its 2nd message “Delay Response” message (#210)” to Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, synchronization messaging techniques, as taught by Lansdown, with the teachings of Moon, in order to benefit from such messaging enhancements wherein transmission of signal depends on first receiving the reception time of the first message sent. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
Moon in view of Lansdown does not seem to explicitly teach the concept of “remote register access” applicable towards unintelligent nodes containing no CPU (i.e., no arithmetic logic), as understood by:
wherein: the time synchronization bridge does not have an arithmetic core or has an arithmetic core that is disabled, and is remotely controlled by register access or by a communication protocol from the time synchronization end station; and
However, in a similar field, Miyoshi, in Column 8, lines 50-67, Col. 9 lines 1-15, an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) to implement “remote register access” on it, thus allowing a local node to access such remote registers of the remote device (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
Miyoshi teaches techniques related to bridges over network wherein an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) to implement “remote register access” on it, thus allowing a local node to access such remote registers of the remote device (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, “remote register access” as taught by Miyoshi, with the teachings of Moon in view of Lansdown, in order to benefit from having an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) that can implement “remote register access”, and thus allowing a nodes to access their registers and read and write into such registers. (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
Claim 9. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a message transmission control program causing a time synchronization end station (i.e., Slave) (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 16 & 17,#1630 & #1230, “Slave” (i.e., end station))included as a node in a time synchronization communication system together with a time synchronization bridge(i.e., TSN SW) (Moon: See Fig. 16 & 17, #1620 & #1720, “TSN SW” (i.e., a time synchronization bridge)) including a second time recording section (i.e., a storage)that records a time measured by a second timer (i.e., by a clock)at a time of transmission and reception of a message (Moon: Fig. 6, #606 & #614, “TSN” recording “TB2” reception time of message, and “TB3” as transmission time of message)and a time holding section(i.e., a storage) that holds a time recorded by the second time recording section (Moon: See Fig. 4, # 410, communication unit)
and relaying a message transmitted to and received from the time synchronization end station, (i.e., Slave) (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 16 & 17, “TSN SW” (i.e., the time synchronization bridge) relaying messages transmitted to and received from the “Slave” (i.e., end station)) the time synchronization end station (i.e., Fig. 17, Slave #1730) remotely controlling the time synchronization bridge(Moon: see Fig. 17, “Slave’ #1730, causes “TSN SW (i.e., the time synchronization bridge) to forward Sync and Follow UP) to execute: a first message (i.e., Sync) transmission procedure to transmit a first message to the time synchronization bridge; (i.e., TSN SW) (Moon: see para[0117],Fig. 17, #1730 slave/master transmitting “Sync” message (i.e., 1st message) to “TSN” (i.e., time synchronization bridge) at “T3”)and a second message transmission procedure to transmit a second message(i.e., Follow Up) to the time synchronization bridge (Moon: Fig. 17, #1730 slave/master transmitting “Follow Up” message (i.e., 2nd message) to “TSN” (i.e., time synchronization bridge) at “T3”)
Moon does not seem to explicitly disclose a conditional statement for transmission, indicating that after Sync message (i.e., 1st message) is sent, and after the time of reception of the Sync message (i.e., 1st message) as received by the time synchronization end station, is sent back to the time synchronization bridge via messaging, only then, a second message will be transmitted, as understood by:
on condition that the time synchronization end station has acquired, from the time synchronization bridge, a time held in the time holding section as the first message is received by the time synchronization bridge.
However, in a similar field, Lansdowne in para[0012] and Fig. 2a, teaches a Master (i.e., time synchronization end station) transmits, its 1st Sync message #206, to a Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge) node. Then the Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge) responds back with a “Delay Request” message (#208), that includes the reception time of the 1st Sync message by Slave(i.e., time synchronization bridge). After that, the Master (i.e., time synchronization end station) transmits its 2nd message “Delay Response” message (#210)” to Slave (i.e., time synchronization bridge)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, synchronization messaging techniques, as taught by Lansdown, with the teachings of Moon, in order to benefit from such messaging enhancements wherein transmission of signal depends on first receiving the reception time of the first message sent. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
Moon in view of Lansdown does not seem to explicitly teach the concept of “remote register access” applicable towards unintelligent nodes containing no CPU (i.e., no arithmetic logic), as understood by:
wherein the time synchronization bridge does not have an arithmetic core or has an arithmetic core that is disabled, and is remotely controlled by register access or by a communication protocol from the time synchronization end station; and
However, in a similar field, Miyoshi, in Column 8, lines 50-67, Col. 9 lines 1-15, an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) to implement “remote register access” on it, thus allowing a local node to access such remote registers of the remote device (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
Miyoshi teaches techniques related to bridges over network wherein an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) to implement “remote register access” on it, thus allowing a local node to access such remote registers of the remote device (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, “remote register access” as taught by Miyoshi, with the teachings of Moon in view of Lansdown, in order to benefit from having an unintelligent node containing no CPU (i.e., a node having no arithmetic core) that can implement “remote register access”, and thus allowing a nodes to access their registers and read and write into such registers. (i.e., the time synchronization bridge without arithmetic core is remotely controlled by register access) and read and write to their registers. (Miyoshi: See Col. 8, lines 50-60, and Col. 9, lines 1-15)
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220015052 A1 to Moon in view of Lansdown and Miyoshi, in further view of NPL “Timing and Synchronization for Time-Sensitive Applications”, IEEE Std 802.1AS – 2020, (hereinafter 802.1AS).
Claim 2. Moon in view of Lansdown and Miyoshi teaches the time synchronization communication system according to claim 1, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose, a duration of time or an interval timer, that a device has to wait, or cannot transmit a second message after first message, until it receives the reception time of the first message that was sent during this time interval, from another device receiving the first message, as understood by:
wherein the message transmission control section is capable of measuring a predetermined time during which the time synchronization end station is capable of acquiring, from the time synchronization bridge, a time held in the time holding section as the first message is received by the time synchronization bridge, starts measuring the predetermined time and transmits the first message to the time synchronization bridge (Sync), and prohibits transmission of the second message to the time synchronization bridge while measuring the predetermined time.
However, in a similar filed, 802.1AS, in section 11.2.19.2.1 teaches “pdelayIntervalTimer” wherein upon expiry of this timer, then the “PDelay Req” message can be transmitted. As such, and since “pDelay Req” message is initiated after transmission of Sync message, (Lansdown: see Fig. 2a), it is understood that Sync message (1st message) is sent 1st, while a timer pdelayinervalTimer is being counted down to expire. Once pdelayIntervalTimer expires, then “Delay Req” message is sent, which includes in it the reception time of 1st Sync message, and after the “Delay Req” is received, then a “Delay Resp” (i.e., 2nd message) is transmitted.
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
802.1AS teaches Synchronization Standards for Time-Sensitive Applications including protocols, parameters and procedures to ensure the synchronization requirements are met for time-sensitive applications. (802.1AS: See section 1.1 Scope)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, synchronization standards for time sensitive applications, as taught by 802.1AS, with the teachings of Moon in view of Lansdown, in order to benefit from such messaging standard parameters that are specifically for synchronization purposes, such as “pdelayInterevalTimer”, in order to benefit from enhancement of using such industry acceptable standards and parameters, that allows for Delay Req to be transmitted only after a timer expires. (802.1AS: see section 11.2.19.2.1)
Claim 3. The time synchronization communication system according to claim 2, wherein the message transmission control section individually measures a predetermined time for each of a plurality of first messages.
(802.1AS: See section 10.2.9.1.1, for variable “syncSendTime”, which indicates the time in seconds, relative to the LocalClock, when a Sync message (e.g., among plurality of Sync messages) will next be transmitted)
Claim 4. Moon in view of Lansdown the time synchronization communication system according to claim 1, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the message transmission control section is capable of setting a transmission permission flag indicating whether to transmit a message, sets the transmission permission flag to not-transmittable, transmits the first message to the time synchronization bridge prohibits transmission of the second message to the time synchronization bridge while setting the transmission permission flag to not-transmittable, and sets the transmission permission flag to transmittable after the time synchronization end station acquires, from the time synchronization bridge, a time held in the time holding section as the first message is received by the time synchronization bridge.
However, in a similar field, 802.1AS teaches:
wherein the message transmission control section is capable of setting a transmission permission flag (802.1.AS see section 10.6.2.2.8, Table 10-9, flag bits that can be set for a variety of parameters) indicating whether to transmit a message, sets the transmission permission flag to not-transmittable, (802.1AS: See 10.4.1.1., intervalTimer, a variable timer that allows a signaling message to be transmitted only if this timer expires), transmits the first message to the time synchronization bridge (Lansdown: See Fig. 2a, Sync message (1st message transmuted)) prohibits transmission of the second message to the time synchronization bridge while setting the transmission permission flag to not-transmittable, and sets the transmission permission flag to transmittable after the time synchronization end station acquires, from the time synchronization bridge, a time held in the time holding section as the first message is received by the time synchronization bridge. (802.1AS; see section 11.2.19.2.1 teaches “pdelayIntervalTimer” wherein upon expiry of this timer, only then the “PDelay Req” message can be transmitted. As such, and since “pDelay Req” message is initiated after transmission of Sync message, (Lansdown: see Fig. 2a), it is understood that Sync message (1st message) is sent 1st, while a timer pdelayinervalTimer is being counted down to expire. Once pdelayIntervalTimer expires, then “Delay Req” message is sent, which includes the reception time of 1st Sync message, and after the “Delay Req” is received, then a “Delay Resp” (i.e., 2nd message) is transmitted.)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
802.1AS teaches Synchronization Standards for Time-Sensitive Applications including protocols, parameters and procedures to ensure the synchronization requirements are met for time-sensitive applications. (802.1AS: See section 1.1 Scope)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, synchronization standards for time sensitive applications, as taught by 802.1AS, with the teachings of Moon in view of Lansdown, in order to benefit from such messaging standard parameters that are specifically for synchronization purposes, such as “pdelayInterevalTimer”, in order to benefit from enhancement of using such industry acceptable standards and parameters, that allows for Delay Req to be transmitted only after a timer expires. (802.1AS: see section 11.2.19.2.1)
Claim 5. The time synchronization communication system according to claim 4, wherein the message transmission control section individually sets a transmission permission flag for each of a plurality of first messages.
(802.1AS: See section 10.2.9.1.1, for variable “syncSendTime”, which indicates the time in seconds, relative to the LocalClock, when a Sync message (e.g., among plurality of Sync messages) will next be transmitted)
Moon teaches various time synchronization techniques, wherein a TSN Switch (TSN SW) relays such synchronization messages like “Sync”, ‘Delay Req”, Delay Response”, and “follow Up” messages, between a Master and Slave node. (Moon: See para[0117], Fig. 11, Fig. 12 & 17)
Lansdown teaches techniques related to time synchronization wherein after a sync message is sent by a device to another device, then the sending device waits to receive a message back from another device including the time of reception of the first message by the other device, before it transmits the second message. (Lansdown: See para[0012] and Fig. 2a)
802.1AS teaches Synchronization Standards for Time-Sensitive Applications including protocols, parameters and procedures to ensure the synchronization requirements are met for time-sensitive applications. (802.1AS: See section 1.1 Scope)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included, synchronization standards for time sensitive applications, as taught by 802.1AS, with the teachings of Moon in view of Lansdown, in order to benefit from such messaging standard parameters that are specifically for synchronization purposes, such as “pdelayInterevalTimer”, in order to benefit from enhancement of using such industry acceptable standards and parameters, that allows for Delay Req to be transmitted only after a timer expires. (802.1AS: see section 11.2.19.2.1)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477