DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2007/0134003 in view of Song et al. KR100924601.
Per claim 1 Lee et al. teaches an enclosure (100; [0018]) comprising: a first outer surface (101, see fig.1) and a second outer surface (102, see fig.1) opposing the first outer surface (see fig.1-2); and a heat sink (105; [0022]-[0023], “…such a structure discharges internal high heat…”) arranged on the first outer surface (see fig.1), the heat sink comprising: a plurality of protrusions (105; [0022]-[0023]) extending outward from the first outer surface (see fig.1), and a discernible component (110), wherein: the discernible component protrudes from the first outer surface, and the discernible component is distinguishable from the plurality of protrusions (see fig.1); wherein: the enclosure is to enclose circuitry between the first outer surface and the second outer surface ([0019]), and the circuitry ([0021], “PCB”) is arranged closer to the second outer surface (102) than to the first outer surface ([0021]).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the discernible component is recessed from the plurality of protrusions.
Song et al. however discloses wherein a discernible component (420, see fig.6, “middle portion including “APACK”) is recessed from the plurality of protrusions (400, see fig.5-6, “edge protrusions portions”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the discernible component of Lee et al. to be recessed from the plurality of protrusions as taught by Song et al. because it enables the discernible component to be distinguishable from the plurality of protrusions.
Per claim 4 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of protrusions comprises a plurality of fins (400; Abstract).
Per claim 5 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of protrusions comprises a plurality of pins (Abstract).
Per claim 6 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein each respective protrusion of the plurality of protrusions is parallel to each other protrusion (see fig.1).
Per claim 7 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the heat sink and the first outer surface are monolithic (see fig.1).
Per claim 8 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the discernible component appears as a recognizable image (see fig.5-6, “APACK”).
Per claim 9 Lee et al. teaches a device (see fig.1-2) comprising: circuitry ([0021]) comprising electrical components ([0042]); and an enclosure (100; [0018]) to enclose the circuitry (see fig.1-4), the enclosure comprising: a first outer surface (101, see fig.1) and a second outer surface (102, see fig.1) opposing the first outer surface (fig.1), wherein the circuitry is enclosed between the first outer surface and the second outer surface ([0019]) and the circuitry ([0021], “PCB”) is arranged closer to the second outer surface (102) than to the first outer surface ([0021]); and a heat sink (105; [0022]-[0023], “…such a structure discharges internal high heat…”) arranged on the first outer surface (see fig.1), the heat sink comprising: a plurality of protrusions (105; [0022]-[0023]) extending outward from the first outer surface (see fig.1), and a discernible component (110), wherein: the discernible component protrudes from the first outer surface (see fig.1), and the discernible component is distinguishable from the plurality of protrusions (see fig.1).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the discernible component is recessed from the plurality of protrusions.
Song et al. however discloses wherein a discernible component (420, see fig.6, “middle portion including “APACK”) is recessed from the plurality of protrusions (400, see fig.5-6, “edge protrusions portions”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the discernible component of Lee et al. to be recessed from the plurality of protrusions as taught by Song et al. because it enables the discernible component to be distinguishable from the plurality of protrusions.
Per claim 12 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the plurality of protrusions comprises a plurality of fins (400; Abstract).
Per claim 13 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the plurality of protrusions comprises a plurality of pins (Abstract).
Per claim 14 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the device of claim 9, wherein each respective protrusion of the plurality of protrusions is parallel to each other protrusion (see fig.1).
Per claim 15 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the heat sink and the first outer surface are monolithic (see fig.1).
Per claim 16 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the discernible component appears as a recognizable image (see fig.5-6, “APACK”).
Claim(s) 2 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2007/0134003 in view of Song et al. KR100924601 as applied to claims 1 & 9 above and further in view of Lin US7773378.
Per claim 2 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1,
Lee et al. in view of Song et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first outer surface comprises a recess in which the plurality of protrusions are arranged.
Lin however discloses wherein the first outer surface (see fig.3) comprises a recess (see fig.3, “recessed plate comprising fins 231”) in which the plurality of protrusions are arranged (see fig.3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first outer surface comprise a recess as taught by Lin in the enclosure of Lee et al. in view of Song et al., because it ensures that the enclosure couples effectively to the heat generating component to ensure adequate thermal dissipation from the heat generating component.
Per claim 10 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the device of claim 9,
Lee et al. in view of Song et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first outer surface comprises a recess in which the plurality of protrusions are arranged.
Lin however discloses wherein the first outer surface (see fig.3) comprises a recess (see fig.3, “recessed plate comprising fins 231”) in which the plurality of protrusions are arranged (see fig.3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first outer surface comprise a recess as taught by Lin in the enclosure of Lee et al. in view of Song et al., because it ensures that the enclosure couples effectively to the heat generating component to ensure adequate thermal dissipation from the heat generating component.
Claim(s) 3 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2007/0134003 in view of Song et al. KR100924601 and Lin US7773378 as applied to claim 2 & 10 above and further in view of Matsuda et al. US2017/0188477.
Per claim 3 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. and Lin teaches the enclosure of claim 2,
Lee et al. in view of Song et al. and Lin does not explicitly teach further comprising a thermal interface material (TIM) layer disposed between the first outer surface and the circuitry, wherein a first amount of TIM disposed between the recess and the circuitry is less than a second amount of TIM disposed between a non-recessed portion of the first outer surface and the circuitry.
Matsuda et al. however discloses a thermal interface material (TIM) layer (18a. see fig.2; [0015]) disposed between a first outer surface (14a) and a circuitry (see fig.6), wherein a first amount of TIM (see fig.6, “18a on the left side coupled to 31”) disposed between the recess and the circuitry is less than a second amount of TIM (see fig.6, “18a on the right side coupled to 30a) disposed between a non-recessed portion of the first outer surface and the circuitry (see fig.6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a TIM amount coupled to a circuitry as taught by Matsuda et al. in the enclosure of Lee in view of Song et al. and Lin, because it ensures effective thermal communication between the heat sink enclosure and the circuitry, thus ensuring effective thermal dissipation and cooling of the heat generating component.
Per claim 11 Lee et al. in view of Song et al. teaches the device of claim 10,
Lee et al. in view of Song et al. and Lin does not explicitly teach further comprising a thermal interface material (TIM) layer disposed between the first outer surface and the circuitry, wherein a first amount of TIM disposed between the recess and the circuitry is less than a second amount of TIM disposed between a non-recessed portion of the first outer surface and the circuitry.
Matsuda et al. however discloses a thermal interface material (TIM) layer (18a. see fig.2; [0015]) disposed between a first outer surface (14a) and a circuitry (see fig.6), wherein a first amount of TIM (see fig.6, “18a on the left side coupled to 31”) disposed between the recess and the circuitry is less than a second amount of TIM (see fig.6, “18a on the right side coupled to 30a) disposed between a non-recessed portion of the first outer surface and the circuitry (see fig.6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a TIM amount coupled to a circuitry as taught by Matsuda et al. in the enclosure of Lee in view of Song et al. and Lin, because it ensures effective thermal communication between the heat sink enclosure and the circuitry, thus ensuring effective thermal dissipation and cooling of the heat generating component.
Email Communication
2. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks on page 7 that:
1) Song does not describe “wherein the discernible component is recessed from the plurality of protrusions” because Song describes an arrangement of separate fins such that the edges of the fins appear as a logo when viewing the edges of the fins from above. Song describes that fin edges forming the logo are part of the fins and accordingly cannot be recessed from the fins.
2) The proposed modification renders the prior art unsatisfactory for its intended purpose because the combination of Lee and Song replaces the information print plate of Lee with a stack of fins arranged such that the fin edges show a logo as described in Song… Therefore, the proposed modification of Lee in view of Song would render the optical transceiver case of Lee unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.
Examiner disagrees and asserts that page 5, paragraph 1 after DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS discloses that Figure.6 is a partially assembled view for explaining a method of stamping the company logo on the heat radiation fins by stacking the fins produced differently, the height is different. Paragraph 3 of page 5 discloses that the heat dissipation fin 400 is engraved with a letter or a picture indicating a manufacturer or a supplier of the cooler assembly. The logo display unit 420 is characterized in that it is included. Paragraph 4 on page 6 discloses that the Logo display unit 420 of the present invention is displayed on the heat dissipation fin 400 on the opposite side of the cooling fan 300 in an intaglio or embossed. The intaglio or embossed is implemented in the shape of each fin constituting the heat dissipation fin 400. As shown in Fig.6, each fin is press-processed to freely change the height in the longitudinal direction, and is laminated to the heat pipe. Paragraph 5 of page 6 discloses on the other hand, the display of the logo is not limited to the intaglio or embossed due to the change in height, the portion corresponding to the logo, that is, the portion representing the letter or pattern may be implemented by bending, After stacking the fins having a constant height to form a heat radiation fin 400, it is possible to bend the top of the heat radiation fin 400 as printing by pressing the frame having a logo with a press. Paragraph 6 of page 6 discloses that in addition, the display of the logo may be implemented by surface treatment. The upper end of the heat dissipation fin 400 may be processed by sandpaper, or the like, and a logo may be expressed.
Examiner asserts that Song teaches various methods of forming a logo on a heat dissipation fin before and after stacking a set of fins together and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to press process, bend, emboss, stamp, or engrave a logo to a structure before stacking, after stacking or without stacking a set of fins or any other structure together.
Examiner concludes that it would be obvious to use any of the methods taught by Song above in the enclosure of Lee to make a discernible component recessed in the enclosure.
It is well settled that "product by process" limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Conclusion
4. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835