DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed on June 15, 2026, is acknowledged. Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
3. Applicant’s arguments/remarks, see pgs. 7-12, with respect to the immediate allowance of the current application have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Pertaining to the Applicant’s arguments/remarks, pgs. 7-12, regarding the newly amended limitations of claim 1:
The Examiner notes a new combination of prior art are presented in light of the amendments such that arguments directed solely to the previously presented rejection is now moot.
Pertaining to the arguments directed towards the preamble, the Examiner notes that the claims as currently recited do not specify the elements which are associated with the FEOL level which is argued must be inherently present based on the claimed BEOL interconnect structure. As such the FEOL level of the prior art K1 can be, for example, up to element 212; also see evidentiary reference Rzepiela et al. (US 2007/0069759 A1) [0140] “the FEOL process involves forming junction regions 16, trench 18, and gate dielectric 20”.
Claims 7-8 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and claims 26-34 are allowed.
Note by the Examiner
4. For clarity, the reference to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented un-bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and Examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections have been provided in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. (US 2015/0262860 A1), hereinafter as K1, in view of Lur et al. (US 2004/0094821 A1), hereinafter as L1
6. Regarding Claim 1, K1 discloses a back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) interconnect structure (see Fig. 12 interconnect structure over the substrate 210 and dielectric 212, also see [0012-0013] “The substrate 210 may also include gate stacks formed by dielectric layers and electrode layers”
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “back end-of-the-line (BEOL) is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.) comprising:
a top via structure (element 610, see [0024] “metal plug 610”) located on, and in direct physical contact with, a metal line (element 214A see [0018] “conductive features 214A”, see [0014] “conductive features 214 may include … metal via, or metal line”) (see Fig. 12); and
an air gap (element 820,720 see [0029] “enclosure-air-gap 820 all around the metal via 610A and the conductive feature 214A”) located adjacent to, and around, both the metal line and the top via structure (see [0029]), wherein the air gap has a lower air gap portion (element 820 portion which is adjacent to element 214A) that is located adjacent to the metal line and an upper air gap portion (element 720,820 portion that is adjacent to element 610) that is located adjacent to the top via structure (see Fig. 12).
K1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper gap portion extends to a topmost surface of the top via structure
L1 discloses wherein the upper gap portion extends to a topmost surface of the top via structure (see Fig. 12B-13 the height of the air gap element 34 or 42 can exceed a height of the immediately adjacent via structure, see [0066] “it is preferable (to the exent possible within available process constraints) to maximize such air gap heights (in relation to the height HL of the conductive lines 28) by extending them above and below an interconnect structure 28 to reduce the capacitance between adjacent lines”)
The extending vertical length of the air gap with respect to the adjacent via structure as taught by L1 is incorporated as an extending vertical length of the air gap with respect to the adjacent via structure of K1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of L1 with K1 because the combination allows for reduced capacitance between adjacent conductive lines (see K1 [0066]); and
the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known air gap height for another in a similar device to obtain predictable results (see K1 Fig. 12B-13 and [0066]).
7. Regarding Claim 2, K1, L1 disclose the BEOL structure of Claim 1, wherein the lower air gap portion of the air gap has a first width (see K1 a width of element 405,820 portion of the air gap), and the upper air gap portion of the air gap has a second width (a width of element 720 area of the air gap), wherein the first width is different from the second width (see Fig. 12).
8. Regarding Claim 3, K1, L1 disclose the BEOL structure of Claim 2, wherein the first width is greater than the second width (see K1 Fig. 12).
9. Regarding Claim 4, K1, L1 disclose the BEOL structure of Claim 1, wherein the air gap extends substantially to a topmost surface of the top via structure (see K1 Fig. 12 substantially to the top).
10. Regarding Claim 5, K1, L1 disclose the BEOL structure of Claim 1, wherein a portion of the air gap is sandwich between a first dielectric liner (see K1 element 405, see [0019] “etch-stop-layer (ESL) 405 … may include silicon nitride, silicon oxide …”) and a second dielectric liner (element 810, see [0029] “dielectric layer 810”).
11. Regarding Claim 14, K1, L1 disclose the BEOL structure of Claim 1, further comprising a substrate (see K1 element 210, see [0012-0013] “The substrate 210”) located beneath the metal line, wherein the substrate comprises at least one lower interconnect level, a middle-of-the line (MOL) level, a front-end-of-the-line (FEOL) level or any combination of said levels (see [0012-0013] “The substrate 210 may also include gate stacks formed by dielectric layers and electrode layers”).
12. Claims 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. (US 2015/0262860 A1), hereinafter as K1, in view of Lur et al. (US 2004/0094821 A1), hereinafter as L1, in view of Cheng et al. (US 9,892,961 B1), hereinafter as C1
13. Regarding Claim 6, K1, L1 disclose the BEOL structure of Claim 5.
K1, L1 do not explicitly disclose wherein the first dielectric liner is located on a sidewall of the metal line and a sidewall of the top via structure.
C1 discloses (see Fig. 11) wherein the first dielectric liner (element 250, see Column 14 lines 57-60 “insulating material layers 234, 250, 260, and air gap spacers 262”) is located on a sidewall of the air gap and a sidewall of the top via structure (see Fig. 11 entire sidewall of element 262 and element 245, see Column 14 line 54).
The first dielectric liner as taught by C1 is incorporated as the first dielectric liner of K1, wherein the combination discloses wherein the first dielectric liner is located on a sidewall of the metal line and a sidewall of the top via structure (see K1 lining along at least sidewall portions of elements 214 and 610 and upper surface of element 212 in the same manner as C1 element 250)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of C1 with K1 because the combination provides conformal insulating liner material for protection for structural damage or contamination (see C1 Column 14 lines 63-67).
14. Regarding Claim 9, K1, L1 disclose the BEOL structure of Claim 1.
K1, L1 do not explicitly disclose wherein the air gap is spaced apart from the metal line and top via structure by a dielectric liner.
C1 discloses wherein the air gap is spaced apart from the metal line and top via structure by a dielectric liner (element 250, see Column 14 lines 57-60 “insulating material layers 234, 250, 260, and air gap spacers 262”) (see Fig. 11 element 262 spaced apart from element 230-1 upper and lower portions by element 250).
The dielectric liner as taught by C1 is incorporated as the dielectric liner of K1 (see K1 lining along at least sidewall portions of elements 214 and 610 and upper surface of element 212 in the same manner as C1 element 250).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of C1 with K1 because the combination provides conformal insulating liner material for protection for structural damage or contamination (see C1 Column 14 lines 63-67).
15. Regarding Claim 10, K1, L1, C1 discloses the BEOL structure of Claim 9, further comprising (see K1) an additional metal line (element 214, [0014] “conductive features 214”) located adjacent to the metal line that is located beneath the top via structure (see Fig. 12 adjacent to element 214A).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 7-8 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 26-34 are allowed
The following is an examiner’s statement of reason for indicating allowable subject matter:
The prior art made of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest at least the claim limitations of:
17. Claim 7, “an interlayer dielectric layer located on the second dielectric liner and having a topmost surface that is substantially coplanar with a topmost surface of the top via structure” – as instantly claimed and in combination with the additionally claimed limitations.
All claims depending on the current claim incorporate the same allowable subject matter.
18. Claim 11, “a dielectric layer located above the additional metal line, wherein dielectric layer has a middle portion having a first thickness, and end portions having a second thickness, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness” – as instantly claimed and in combination with the additionally claimed limitations.
All claims depending on the current claim incorporate the same allowable subject matter.
19. Claim 26, “an interlayer dielectric layer located on the second dielectric liner and having a topmost surface that is substantially coplanar with a topmost surface of the top via structure” – as instantly claimed and in combination with the additionally claimed limitations.
All claims depending on the current claim incorporate the same allowable subject matter.
20. Claim 30, “a dielectric layer located above the additional metal line, wherein dielectric layer has a middle portion having a first thickness, and end portions having a second thickness, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness” – as instantly claimed and in combination with the additionally claimed limitations.
All claims depending on the current claim incorporate the same allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; pertinent prior art(s) and most relevant portion(s) is provided:
US 20070069759 ([0140])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2818