DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cecil et al. US 2021/0018831 A1 (“Cecil”) in view of Kang et al. US 2020/0192996 A1 (“Kang”).
As to claim 1, Cecil discloses a method of forming a photomask, comprising:
providing a target pattern (Cecil Figures 21-24 or Paragraph 123 – e.g., a desired polygon or polygons);
generating a first offset pattern according to the target pattern and a first offset value (Cecil Figures 21-24 or Paragraph 124-127 – e.g., determination of an offset);
generating a second offset pattern according to the first offset pattern and a second offset value (Cecil Figures 21-24 or Paragraph 124-127 – e.g., determination of multiple offsets, in combination with Kang – see below);
operating the first offset pattern and the second offset pattern with a Boolean operation to obtain a first assist feature (Cecil Figures 21-24 or Paragraph 124-127 – e.g., taking aggregate values of offsets and implementing assist features); and
outputting the target pattern and the first assist feature to form the photomask (Cecil Figure 25 – e.g., the goal of the offset and assist feature steps is to manufacture a photomask and chip).
Cecil discloses many of the elements of claim 1, including the generation of offsets and assist features. Cecil teaches generating multiple offsets based off of the target pattern, rather than generating some offsets based in part on other offsets. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while disclosing an OPC methos, Kang discloses a process in which mask data is iteratively optimized based on previous iterations (Kang Figures 1 or 11 or Paragraph 60). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use iterative changes, as in Kang, in the offset generation of Cecil, because doing so would allow the method to analyze the previous offsets/versions in order to more accurately calculate updated versions.
As to claim 2, Cecil and Kang disclose the method of claim 1. Cecil and Kang further disclose wherein the target pattern and the first assist feature define a light-transmitting region of the photornask (Cecil Paragraphs 3 or 40-41 or Kang Paragraph 3 – e.g., use of lithography and masks).
As to claim 6, Cecil and Kang disclose the method of claim 1. Cecil discloses determining offsets and using those offsets to form assist features (Cecil Paragraphs 124-127) and Kang discloses forming closed patterns according to design analysis (Kang Figures 5A-B or Paragraph 60). The examiner notes that a feature in a circuit design or mask necessarily forms a closed pattern. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for each of the first offset pattern, the second offset pattern and the first assist feature comprises a closed pattern because doing so would allow the design to be evaluated and/or manufactured.
Claim 20 recites elements similar to claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons. The examiner notes that Cecil and Kang disclose the use of lithography/etch and manufacturing (Cecil Paragraphs 3 or 40-41, or Kang Paragraph 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 7-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if withdrawn claims 12-19 are cancelled.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest a method of forming a photomask having the combination of steps of the claims including, among other elements, the offset details of the claims, in combination with the generation and calculation elements of the claims.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851