DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lou et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,205,976).
Regarding to claim 1, Lou teaches a display module comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 2, Fig. 4, element 910; column 6, line 7), a plurality of pixel units are arrayed on the substrate (Fig. 2, elements 100; column 3, line 56), and each of the pixel units is provided with at least three light-emitting chips (Fig. 2, please see the attached figure, the three LE chips in each pixel), and centers of at least three light-emitting chips are not collinear (Fig 2, the three chips are not arranged in a line, instead they are arranged as triangle); and
projections of at least three light-emitting chips along a first direction at least partially overlap, and projections of at least three light-emitting chips along a second direction at least partially overlap, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 2, Lou teaches each of the pixel units is provided with three light-emitting chips, and lines connecting the centers of the three light-emitting chips form an acute-angled triangle (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,205,976), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Peng (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0191669).
Regarding to claim 4, Lou discloses a surface of the substrate is covered with exposure glue, the exposure glue forms grooves on surfaces of the light-emitting chips (Fig. 4, element 930).
Lou does not disclose the glue is dissolving glue, and the grooves are filled with colloids, colors of the colloids are basically the same as that of the exposure dissolving glue.
Peng discloses a glue is dissolving glue, and the grooves are filled with colloids, colors of the colloids are basically the same as that of the exposure dissolving glue (Fig. 3, steps A-C, [0018], lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the grooves with colloids, colors of the colloids are basically the same as that of the exposure dissolving glue, in order secure the light-emitting chips on precise positions on the substrate.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,205,976) in view of Peng (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0191669).
Regarding to claim 6, Lou teaches a method for manufacturing a first display module, the method comprising:
fixing at least three first light-emitting chips (Fig. 2, please see the attached figure, the three LE chips in each pixel) into one pixel unit (Fig. 2, element 100; column 3, line 56) of a first substrate so as to make centers of at least three first light-emitting chips not collinear (Fig. 2, the three chips are not arranged in a line, instead they are arranged as triangle), projections of at least three first light-emitting chips along a first direction at least partially overlap, and projections of at least three first light-emitting chips along a second direction at least partially overlap, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Fig. 2);
covering a surface of the first substrate with exposure glue so as to make the exposure glue cover the first light-emitting chips (Fig. 4, element 930).
Lou does not disclose the glue is dissolving glue, lighting up the first light-emitting chips, and dissolving the exposure dissolving glue at the corresponding positions of the first light-emitting chips.
Peng discloses covering a surface of a substrate with exposure dissolving glue so as
to make the exposure dissolving glue cover a chip, lighting up the chips and dissolving the exposure dissolving glue at the corresponding positions of the chip (Fig. 3, steps A-C, [0018], lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lou in view of Peng to light up the first light-emitting chips, and dissolve the exposure dissolving glue at the corresponding positions of the first light-emitting chips, in order secure the light-emitting chips on precise positions on the substrate.
Regarding to claim 7, Lou as modified discloses the exposure dissolving glue forms first grooves on the surfaces of the first light-emitting chips (Peng, Fig. 3, step A), after dissolving the exposure dissolving glue at the corresponding positions of the first light-emitting chips, filling first colloids into the grooves, wherein colors of the first colloids are basically the same as that of the exposure dissolving glue (Peng, Fig. 3, step B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 3, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “one side of the substrate is provided with at least one common A-pole pad and a plurality of B-pole pads in each of the pixel units, the A-poles of at least three light-emitting chips are electrically connected to the common A-pole pad, and the B-poles of the light-emitting chips are respectively electrically connected to the corresponding B-pole pads, wherein polarities of the A-poles and the B-poles are opposite; and another side of the substrate is provided with a common pin in each of the pixel units, and the common pin is electrically connected to the common A-pole pad” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 5, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the surfaces of the exposure dissolving glue and the colloids are covered with optical glue, and the surface of the optical glue is covered with a polarizer” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 4.
Regarding to claim 8, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “after filling the first colloids into the grooves, the method further comprising covering the surfaces of the first colloids and the exposure-dissolving glue with optical glue; and covering the surface of the optical glue with a polarizer” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 6 and claim 7.
Regarding to claim 9, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “fixing at least three second light-emitting chips to one pixel unit of a second substrate so as to make the second light-emitting chips in the same pixel unit and the first light-emitting chips of the first display module according to claim 6 mirror images of each other; covering a surface of the second substrate with exposure dissolving glue so as to make the exposure dissolving glue cover the second light-emitting chips; and aligning the first display module according to claim 6 with the second substrate so that the first light-emitting chips face the second light-emitting chips” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 6 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 9.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-10763415-B2, US-11895888-B2, US-11545472-B2, US-20150077645-A1, US-11943986-B2, US-20230180551-A1, US-20180233492-A1, US-12185584-B2, and US-20100181582-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references disclose the claimed limitation except for covering a surface of the first substrate with exposure dissolving glue so as to make the exposure dissolving glue cover the first light-emitting chips; and lighting up the first light-emitting chips, and dissolving the exposure dissolving glue at the corresponding positions of the first light-emitting chips.
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897