DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 17 October 2023 and claims priority to provisional application 63/416,785 filed 17 October 2022. The effective filing date of the instant application is 17 October 2022.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 01 May 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections
not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 01 May 2026, it is noted that claims 1 and 27 have been amended, claim 2 has been canceled, and claim 32 has been newly added. Support for the amendments and new claim can be found from the canceled claim(s) and para. 104 of the instant specification. No new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-12, 15, 26, 29, 30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shastri et al. (US 20060085063 A1), as evidenced by Giannas (Antineoplastic Effect of Heparin on Colorectal Cancer: A Review of the Literature, Journal of Clinical Medicine, 2023), Li (Suppression of Hypoxia-Inducible Factor 1a by Low-Molecular-Weight Heparin Mitigates Ventilation-Induced Diaphragm Dysfunction in a Murine Endotoxemia Model, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2021), and Palayoor (Ibuprofen-mediated reduction of hypoxia-inducible factors HIF-1alpha and HIF-2alpha in prostate cancer cells, Clin Cancer Res., 2003).
Shastri teaches a drug delivery device (para. 174; entire teaching) comprising circumferential electrospun polymer nanofibers (para. 14), where one technique used to make the material is described using a coaxial spinneret system to produce hollow fibers (para. 200). NanoMesh in the instant claims is interpreted as a network or structure of layered nanofibers. The device may have multiple layers, where the layers may be made of different materials (para. 141), addressing multilayers in claim 32. The layers may also be electrospun with one or more additives or active agents, such as heparin (para. 215), which has antineoplastic properties (evidenced by Giannas, abs) and inhibits HIF-1a (evidenced by Li, abs), addressing claim 1. Other active agents include therapeutic agents that may control tumor growth (para. 64). Other agents may have anti-inflammatory properties, such as ibuprofen, which may have HIF-2a inhibiting properties (evidenced by Palayoor, abs), addressing claims 4 and 5.
Shastri teaches an embodiment where the polymer fibers may be compression molded (para. 93) or cut to form the body shape of the delivery device, such as a prosthesis, stent, scaffold (abs), or tissue construct (para. 129), then electrospun (para. 263), which is interpreted as addressing claims 7, 15, and 32 when the thin layers are shaped or pressed under pressure or compression molded. Cutting to form the shape of the desired delivery device or PU films obtained from silicon wafers (para. 290) are interpreted as round, circular, or disc-shaped, addressing the disc shape of claims 7 and 15. Additionally, a drug delivery device to deliver all kinds of agents (para. 67), either topically or internally (para. 67), would be expected to take the form of different shapes, such as disc shapes, and is obvious to the skilled artisan. Furthermore, the limitations of a disc laser cut from the nanofibers in claims 7 and 15 are interpreted as product-by-process limitations and are given minimal patentable weight. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Given the broadness of Shastri’s teachings of its combination of multiple layers and multiple active agents, the drug delivery device is interpreted as capable of having one layer positioned outward from a first surface and another different layer positioned outward from a second surface in claim 8. The drug delivery device having multiple electrospun layers is interpreted as capable of having intermediate layers between the first, second, and third layers in claims 9 and 11. The layers may be made of polymer fibers, such as polyethylene (para. 89), which is hydrophobic, addressing claim 10. Since the device may include different therapeutic agents, such as ibuprofen or heparin, the combination of agents is interpreted as addressing claim 12.
The device may include a supplementary material, such as a coating, which may be added to the spinning solution to produce polymer fibers or added after spinning in order to change or enhance the properties of the polymer fibers (para. 101). The supplementary material may be fibrin (para. 102), which is interpreted as a hydrophobic polymer. The device may comprise multiple layers, a side that surrounds the circumference of the device, which is interpreted as a material extending around the perimeter with a hydrophobic coating, such as fibrin, with therapeutic agents electrospun into the nanofibers, addressing the sidewall limitation of claim 26. Shastri teaches a uniform fiber deposition (para. 32), as well as non-woven fiber mats (para. 169), which is interpreted as homogeneously distributed, addressing claim 29. Since the nanofibers may be made of different polymers (paras. 89, 90), both hydrophobic and hydrophilic, and may optionally include active agents within these nanofibers, the combination is interpreted as addressing claim 30.
Shastri does not teach an exact combination of layers and therapeutic agents in at least claim 1.
In regards to selecting the exact combination of different polymeric nanofiber layers and active agents as recited in at least claim 1, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Shastri teaches a drug delivery device comprising circumferential electrospun polymer nanofibers and active agents, whereas the claimed invention is directed a drug delivery device comprising a first layer of coaxially electrospun nanofibers, a second layer coaxially electrospun nanofibers, and therapeutic agents integrated in the layers. Since Shastri teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1, 3-17, 26, 29, 30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shastri et al. (US 20060085063 A1), Domenech et al. (Hypoxia,: The Cornerstone of Glioblastoma, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2021), and Blakney (Delivery of multipurpose prevention drug combinations from electrospun nanofibers using composite microarchitectures, International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2014), as evidenced by Giannas (Antineoplastic Effect of Heparin on Colorectal Cancer: A Review of the Literature, Journal of Clinical Medicine, 2023), Li (Suppression of Hypoxia-Inducible Factor 1a by Low-Molecular-Weight Heparin Mitigates Ventilation-Induced Diaphragm Dysfunction in a Murine Endotoxemia Model, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2021), and Palayoor (Ibuprofen-mediated reduction of hypoxia-inducible factors HIF-1alpha and HIF-2alpha in prostate cancer cells, Clin Cancer Res., 2003).
In regards to claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-12, 15, 26, 29, 30, 32, Shastri et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a drug delivery device comprising circumferential electrospun polymer nanofibers and active agents.
Shastri does not specifically teach acriflavine, PT2385, or temozolomide in claims 3, 6, 13, 14, 16, and 17.
Domenech teaches that acriflavine has inhibitory activity by blocking HIF-1 DNA binding and antitumoral activity in certain cancers (pg. 10; entire teaching), PT2385 has HIF-2 inhibition properties and antitumoral activity (pg. 12), and that inhibition of HIF-1a sensitizes cancer cells to temozolomide (pg. 6).
Blakney teaches that electrospun fabrics are an ideal topical delivery system for co-delivery of multiple agents because of their ability to encapsulate and deliver diverse drugs to modulate drug release kinetics over short and long timeframes (pg. 2968; entire teaching).
Since Shastri does not specifically teach acriflavine, PT2385, or temozolomide in claims 3, 6, 13, 14, 16, and 17, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Domenech’s teaching of the different anticancer drugs and Blakney’s teaching of using multiple agents in electrospun nanofibers with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the benefit of using multiple active agents to modulate drug release kinetics of different anticancer agents from the teachings to enhance Shastri’s drug delivery device comprising multiple nanofiber layers and therapeutic agents.
Claim(s) 1, 3-17, 26-30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shastri et al. (US 20060085063 A1), Domenech et al. (Hypoxia,: The Cornerstone of Glioblastoma, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2021), Blakney (Delivery of multipurpose prevention drug combinations from electrospun nanofibers using composite microarchitectures, International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2014), and Li (Waterproof-breathable PTFE nano-and Microfiber Membrane as High Efficiency PM2.5 Filter, Polymers, 2019), as evidenced by Giannas (Antineoplastic Effect of Heparin on Colorectal Cancer: A Review of the Literature, Journal of Clinical Medicine, 2023), Li (Suppression of Hypoxia-Inducible Factor 1a by Low-Molecular-Weight Heparin Mitigates Ventilation-Induced Diaphragm Dysfunction in a Murine Endotoxemia Model, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2021), and Palayoor (Ibuprofen-mediated reduction of hypoxia-inducible factors HIF-1alpha and HIF-2alpha in prostate cancer cells, Clin Cancer Res., 2003).
In regards to claim(s) 1, 3-17, 26, 29, 30, 32, Shastri et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a drug delivery device comprising circumferential electrospun polymer nanofibers and active agents.
Shastri does not specifically teach using PTFE as a coating in claim 27 or coating twice in 28.
Li teaches that coating a membrane with PTFE may increase filtration efficiency and hydrophobic properties of the PTFE membrane, therefore improving the performance of the membrane (pgs. 2, 3; entire teaching).
Since Shastri does not specifically teach using Teflon as a coating in claim 27, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Li’s teaching of using a PTFE coating to increase the filtration efficiency and properties of the membrane with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the benefit of using a PTFE coating to improve and enhance the nanofiber layers in Shastri’s teaching. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to coat the layers more than once in claim 28 in order to further enhance and improve the performance of the layers for drug delivery.
Claim(s) 1, 3-17, 26-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shastri et al. (US 20060085063 A1), Domenech et al. (Hypoxia,: The Cornerstone of Glioblastoma, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2021), Blakney (Delivery of multipurpose prevention drug combinations from electrospun nanofibers using composite microarchitectures, International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2014), Li (Waterproof-breathable PTFE nano-and Microfiber Membrane as High Efficiency PM2.5 Filter, Polymers, 2019), and Vlachou (Electrospinning and Drug Delivery, Electrospinning and Electrospraying – Techniques and Applications, 2019), as evidenced by Giannas (Antineoplastic Effect of Heparin on Colorectal Cancer: A Review of the Literature, Journal of Clinical Medicine, 2023), Li (Suppression of Hypoxia-Inducible Factor 1a by Low-Molecular-Weight Heparin Mitigates Ventilation-Induced Diaphragm Dysfunction in a Murine Endotoxemia Model, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2021), and Palayoor (Ibuprofen-mediated reduction of hypoxia-inducible factors HIF-1alpha and HIF-2alpha in prostate cancer cells, Clin Cancer Res., 2003).
In regards to claim(s) 1, 3-17, 26-30, 32, Shastri et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a drug delivery device comprising circumferential electrospun polymer nanofibers and active agents.
Shastri does not specifically teach alternating coaxially electrospun nanofiber layers and homogeneously electrospun nanofiber layers in claim 31.
Vlachou teaches that homogeneously or blending electrospinning is simple and improves the mechanical and physicochemical properties to enhance drug release (section 2.2.2.1; entire teaching). Additionally, coaxial electrospinning is useful in multidrug delivery systems, controlled drug release, and prolonged release of therapeutic agents (section 2.2.2.2).
Since Shastri does not specifically teach alternating coaxially electrospun nanofiber layers and homogeneously electrospun nanofiber layers in claim 31, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Vlachou’s teaching of the benefits of homogeneously electrospinning and coaxially electrospinning nanofibers with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the improved drug delivery properties by utilizing both types of electrospun nanofibers in Shastri’s drug delivery device, especially since Shastri’s teaching is broad to the number of layers, active agents, and the way in which the layers are electrospun. For example, the layers may be co-electrospun sequentially or simultaneously (para. 216).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Shastri does not teach an antineoplastic drug delivery device (Remarks, pg. 13).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. As mentioned by Applicant, Shastri’s composition may include drugs, such as heparin (para. 215), which has antineoplastic properties (evidenced by Giannas, abs) and inhibits HIF-1a (evidenced by Li, abs). Other active agents include therapeutic agents that may control tumor growth (para. 64). Therefore, art is art, not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would reasonably suggest to the skilled artisan, including alternative or non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123).
The Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify Shastri’s teaching to include a first therapeutic agent in one layer and a second therapeutic agent in another layer (Remarks, pg. 14).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In regards to selecting the exact combination of different polymeric nanofiber layers and active agents as recited in at least claim 1, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Since Shastri teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
The Applicant argues that there is no reason for combining the art to reach the claimed invention (Remarks, pgs. 14-15).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The Applicant is reminded that the teachings of KSR are actually an endorsement and expansion of the flexible and expansive approach to obviousness, which clearly invites continued reliance on such broad and flexible analyses concerning the utility of selecting alternative embodiments of components providing art-recognized utility, with no substantial change in the overall utility of a composition so formulated. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-96 (U.S.2007) (“the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results”; “When a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”; “a court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions” exemplified by the holdings of cases such as Merck v. Biocraft.
The Applicant argues that a skilled artisan would not have been motivated to use Blakney’s teachings with Shastri’s, since Shastri allegedly does not teach an antineoplastic drug delivery device (Remarks, pgs. 15-16).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In regards to Applicant’s argument that Shastri is not directed to an antineoplastic drug delivery device, art is art, not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would reasonably suggest to the skilled artisan, including alternative or non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123). Furthermore, Domenech teaches that acriflavine has inhibitory activity by blocking HIF-1 DNA binding and antitumoral activity in certain cancers (pg. 10; entire teaching), PT2385 has HIF-2 inhibition properties and antitumoral activity (pg. 12), and that inhibition of HIF-1a sensitizes cancer cells to temozolomide (pg. 6). Blakney teaches that electrospun fabrics are an ideal topical delivery system for co-delivery of multiple agents because of their ability to encapsulate and deliver diverse drugs to modulate drug release kinetics over short and long timeframes (pg. 2968; entire teaching). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Domenech’s teaching of the different anticancer drugs and Blakney’s teaching of using multiple agents in electrospun nanofibers with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the benefit of using multiple active agents to modulate drug release kinetics of different anticancer agents from the teachings to enhance Shastri’s drug delivery device comprising multiple nanofiber layers and therapeutic agents.
The Applicant argues that a skilled artisan would not have been motivated to integrate HIF-1a and HIF-2a inhibitors into the first coaxially electrospun nanofiber membrane and an alkylating agent into a second coaxially electrospun nanofiber membrane, as recited in instant claim 5 (Remarks, pgs. 16-17).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In regards to selecting the exact combination of different polymeric nanofiber layers and active agents as recited in claim 5, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Since Shastri teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
The Applicant argues that a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established in regards to the limitation of “folded and compressed” of instant claim 7 (Remarks, pgs. 17-18).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Shastri teaches an embodiment where the polymer fibers may be compression molded (para. 93) or cut to form the body shape of the delivery device, such as a prosthesis, stent, scaffold (abs), or tissue construct (para. 129), then electrospun (para. 263), which is interpreted as addressing claims 7, 15, and 32 when the thin layers are shaped under pressure or compression molded. The limitation of folded and compressed is interpreted broadly to mean pressed into a flat shape under pressure.
The Applicant argues that a skilled artisan would not have been motivated to modify Shastri’s teaching to include a third therapeutic agent, wherein the first therapeutic agent is configured to inhibit HIF-1a, the third therapeutic agent is configured to inhibit HIF-2a, and the second therapeutic agent is an alkylating agent and integrated into the second coaxially electrospun nanofiber membrane (Remarks, pgs. 18-19).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In regards to selecting the exact combination of different polymeric nanofiber layers and active agents as recited in claim 13, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Since Shastri teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, since Shastri does not specifically teach acriflavine, PT2385, or temozolomide in at least instant claim 13, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Domenech’s teaching of the different anticancer drugs and Blakney’s teaching of using multiple agents in electrospun nanofibers with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the benefit of using multiple active agents to modulate drug release kinetics of different anticancer agents from the teachings to enhance Shastri’s drug delivery device comprising multiple nanofiber layers and therapeutic agents.
The Applicant argues that Shastri does not disclose the hydrophobic coating or sidewall, as recited in instant claim 26 (Remarks, pgs. 20-21).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The supplementary material may be fibrin (para. 102), which is interpreted as a hydrophobic polymer. The device may comprise multiple layers, a side that surrounds the circumference of the device, which is interpreted as a material extending around the perimeter with a hydrophobic coating, such as fibrin, with therapeutic agents electrospun into the nanofibers, addressing the sidewall limitation of claim 26. The material surrounding the outside circumference of the device is interpreted broadly as a sidewall.
The Applicant argues that new claim 32 is distinguishable from the cited references (Remarks, pgs. 21-22).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The device in Shastri’s teaching may have multiple layers, where the layers may be made of different materials (para. 141), addressing multilayers in claim 32. Shastri teaches an embodiment where the polymer fibers may be compression molded (para. 93) or cut to form the body shape of the delivery device, such as a prosthesis, stent, scaffold (abs), or tissue construct (para. 129), then electrospun (para. 263), which is interpreted as addressing claim 32 when the thin layers are shaped or pressed under pressure or compression molded. In regards to selecting the exact combination of different polymeric nanofiber layers and active agents as recited in at least claim 32, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Since Shastri teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613