DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figures 3 and 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites “a sensor configured to;” should be a “position sensor configured to.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites “a sensor configured to;” should be a “position sensor configured to.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 recites “monitored by a sensor;” should be a “monitored by a position sensor.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Drive member (any structure that drives the baffle plate, due to lack of disclosure of corresponding structure in the specification, para. [0089-0090]) in at least claims 1-20.
Substrate support unit (electrostatic chuck, base component, chucking component, para. [0042]) in at least claims 1-20.
Gas supply unit (gas supply source, gas supply line, para. [0047]) in at least claims 7-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190172689 to Nagaseki.
Claim 1: Nagaseki discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a housing (102 [processing chamber], Fig. 8A/8B) configured to provide a processing space (space above 22) therein (para. [0025]); a substrate support unit (13 [stage]) configured to support a substrate (W [wafer]) within the processing space (para. [0025]); and a baffle unit (22/41) provided to surround a circumference of the substrate support unit (13), wherein the baffle unit (22/41) comprises: a baffle plate (22 [baffle plate]) provided to surround the circumference of the substrate support unit (13) and having at least one slit therein (slits of 22); and a drive member (“lifting mechanism”) that lifts and moves the baffle plate (22, para. [0079]), and the housing (102) is provided in a shape capable of changing a size of a space between the processing space (space above 22) and the baffle plate (22) according to a lifting movement of the baffle plate (Fig. 8A/8B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaseki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20170092513 to Hosaka.
Claim 2: Nagaseki does not disclose further comprising: a sensor configured to detect a position of the baffle plate; and a controller configured to control the position of the baffle plate.
Hosaka discloses further comprising: a sensor (90 [displacement gauge], Fig. 9, para. [0064]) configured to detect a position of the baffle plate (60 [baffle structure]); and a controller (Cnt [control unit], Fig. 5-9) configured to control the position of the baffle plate (60 [baffle structure]) for the purpose of controlling conductance between the first space and the second space (para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor and controller as taught by Hosaka with motivation to control controlling conductance between the first space and the second space.
Claims 5-6: The apparatus of Nagaseki in view of Hosaka does not explicitly disclose (claim 5) wherein the controller controls a pressure or plasma density inside the processing space by controlling a height of the baffle plate; (claim 6) wherein a residence time of a process gas in the processing space is controlled according to the height of the baffle plate.
Hosaka discloses (claim 5) wherein the controller controls a pressure or plasma density inside the processing space by controlling a height of the baffle plate (para. [0071], [0093-0095]); (claim 6) wherein a residence time of a process gas in the processing space is controlled according to the height of the baffle plate (para. [0094-0096]) for the purpose of increasing or decreasing the pressure greatly at a high frequency (para. [0094]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Hosaka with motivation to increase or decrease the pressure greatly at a high frequency.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaseki in view of Hosaka as applied to claims 2, 5-6 above, and further in view of US 20110049100 to Han, as evidenced by US 20150228462 to Yoshimura.
Claims 3-4: The apparatus of Nagaseki in view of Hosaka does not disclose (claim 3) wherein an inner wall of the housing has an inclined shape with a circumference thereof widening from bottom to top with respect to a region corresponding to a section in which the baffle plate moves up and down; (claim 4) wherein an inner wall of the housing has an inclined shape with a circumference thereof narrowing from bottom to top with respect to a region corresponding to a section in which the baffle plate moves up and down.
Han teaches that a housing (100 [chamber], Fig. 1-2) may have any shape (para. [0052]). This is evidenced by Yoshimura which teaches for example that an inclined shape of the housing (12 [process chamber], Fig. 4) increases the volume of evacuation for the purpose of obtaining excellent uniformity of evacuation (para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of shapes of the housing as taught by Han as evidence by Yoshimura with motivation to obtain excellent uniformity of evacuation.
Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170092513 to Hosaka in view of US 20110049100 to Han, as evidenced by US 20150228462 to Yoshimura.
Claims 7, 9-10: Hosaka discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a housing (12 [processing chamber], Fig. 1) configured to provide a processing space (S1 [first space]) therein (para. [0045]); a substrate support unit (14 [mounting table]) configured to support a substrate (W [wafer]) within the processing space (S1, para. [0045]); a gas supply unit (GS [gas supply unit]) configured to supply a process gas to the processing space (para. [0041]); a plasma generation unit (18/HFS/LFS/30) configured to generate plasma from the process gas (para. [0075]); and
a baffle unit (60 [baffle structure]) provided to surround a circumference of the substrate support unit (14), wherein the baffle unit (60) comprises: a baffle plate (61a/62a) provided to surround the circumference of the substrate support unit (14) and having at least one slit (61h [through-holes], para. [0049]) therein; and
a drive member (70 [driving unit]) that lifts and moves the baffle plate (60).
However Hosaka does not disclose and an inner wall of the housing includes an inclined surface so that a changing occurs in a distance between the inner wall of the housing and the baffle plate according to a lifting movement of the baffle plate; (claim 9) wherein the inner wall of the housing has an inclined shape with a circumference thereof widening from bottom to top with respect to a region corresponding to a section in which the baffle plate moves up and down; (claim 10) wherein the inner wall of the housing has an inclined shape with a circumference thereof narrowing from bottom to top with respect to a region corresponding to a section in which the baffle plate moves up and down.
Han teaches that a housing (100 [chamber], Fig. 1-2) may have any shape (para. [0052]). This is evidenced by Yoshimura which teaches for example that an inclined shape of the housing (12 [process chamber], Fig. 4) increases the volume of evacuation for the purpose of obtaining excellent uniformity of evacuation (para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of shapes of the housing as taught by Han as evidenced by Yoshimura with motivation to obtain excellent uniformity of evacuation.
Claim 8: The apparatus of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses further comprising: a sensor (90 [displacement gauge], Fig. 9, Hosaka) configured to detect a position of the baffle plate (60); and a controller (Cnt [control unit]) configured to control the position of the baffle plate (para. [0064]).
Claim 11: The apparatus of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses wherein the controller controls a pressure or plasma density inside the processing space by controlling a height of the baffle plate (para. [0071], [0093-0095], Hosaka).
Claim 12: The apparatus of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses wherein a residence time of the process gas in the processing space is controlled according to the height of the baffle plate plate (para. [0093-0096], Hosaka).
Claim 13: The apparatus of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses wherein the plasma generation unit (18/HFS/LFS/30, Fig. 1, Hosaka) comprises: an upper electrode (30 [upper electrode]) disposed above the substrate (W); a lower electrode (18 [lower electrode]) disposed below the substrate (W) to face the upper electrode (30) in a vertical direction (Fig. 1); an upper power source (HFS [high frequency power source], para. [0075]) configured to apply power to the upper electrode (30); and a lower power source (LFS [second high frequency power source], para. [0032]) configured to apply power to the lower electrode (18, para. [0032]).
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170092513 to Hosaka in view of US 20110049100 to Han, as evidenced by US 20150228462 to Yoshimura.
Claims 14, 16-17: Hosaka discloses a substrate processing method characterized in that: plasma is supplied onto a substrate (w [wafer], Fig. 1) placed on a substrate support unit (14 [mounting table]) to treat the substrate (para. [0029-0034]), a baffle plate (60 [baffle structure]) surrounding the substrate support unit (14) is provided, plasma density above the baffle plate is controlled by adjusting a vertical position of the baffle plate (para. [0064], 0094-0096]).
However Hosaka does not disclose (claim 14) and at least a portion of an inner surface of a processing space is formed as an inclined surface so that a space between the baffle plate and the processing space is variable according to a lifting movement of the baffle plate; (claim 16) wherein an inner wall of the housing has an inclined shape with a circumference thereof widening from bottom to top with respect to a region corresponding to a section in which the baffle plate moves up and down; (claim 17) wherein an inner wall of the housing has an inclined shape with a circumference thereof narrowing from bottom to top with respect to a region corresponding to a section in which the baffle plate moves up and down.
Han teaches that a housing (100 [chamber], Fig. 1-2) may have any shape (para. [0052]). This is evidenced by Yoshimura which teaches for example that an inclined shape of the housing (12 [process chamber], Fig. 4) increases the volume of evacuation for the purpose of obtaining excellent uniformity of evacuation (para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of shapes of the housing as taught by Han as evidence by Yoshimura with motivation to obtain excellent uniformity of evacuation.
Claim 15: The method of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses wherein the baffle plate (62a [second cylindrical part] of 60 [baffle structure], Fig. 1-2, Hosaka) is moved up and down by a drive member (70 [driving unit]) and the vertical position of the baffle plate (62a of 60) is monitored by a sensor (90 [displacement gauge], para. [0064], Hosaka).
Claim 18: The method of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses wherein conductance above the baffle plate is controlled by moving a position of the baffle plate up and down (para. [0062], Hosaka).
Claim 19: The method of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses wherein a residence time of a process gas above the baffle plate is controlled by controlling the conductance above the baffle plate (para. [0093-0096], Hosaka).
Claim 20: The method of Hosaka in view of Han, Yoshimura discloses wherein a residence time of a process by-products above the baffle plate is controlled by controlling the conductance above the baffle plate (60, para. [0067], Hosaka).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230114104 discloses a baffle (440, Fig. 4A-4B) into the processing region may include utilizing an actuator (445) to drive the baffle into the chamber (410), operated by a system controller (210, para. [0043]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718