DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/18/2023. These drawings are considered acceptable by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pixel electrodes" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purposes of expediting prosecution, Applicant is advised that, when comparing the claim with the Prior Art, the Examiner is assuming, based on the originally filed description and drawings, that Examiner will interpret the initial introduction of the pixel electrode, of line 3, in its plural form.
Claim(s) 2-11 are rejected at least for their dependency on Claim 1.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-13, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0328199 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yao et al., teaches a display panel comprising: a substrate (10, substrate, ¶ [0029]; see at least Figs. 1-3); a pixel electrode (30, anode layer) disposed on the substrate (10); a pixel-defining layer (40, a pixel defining layer) disposed between the pixel electrodes (30), wherein an opening corresponding to a portion of the pixel electrode (30) is defined in the pixel-defining layer (40) and at least one groove (groove/indention of 40 that accommodates 30) is defined around the pixel electrode (30); a color filter (color filter layer, ¶ [0081]) arranged to correspond to the opening (in order to filter the respective emission) of the pixel-defining layer (40); and a black matrix (50) arranged to correspond to the pixel-defining layer (40), wherein the groove (groove/indention of 40 that accommodates 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40) is located within a width of the black matrix (50).
Regarding Claim 2, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 1, further comprising: an opposing electrode (60) facing the pixel electrode (30); and an intermediate layer (of 401, light-emitting layer, ¶ [0032]) disposed between the pixel electrode (30) and the opposing electrode (60), wherein a hole (401) corresponding to the groove in the pixel-defining layer (40) is defined in the opposing electrode (60) and the intermediate layer (of 401).
Regarding Claim 4, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein an opening (501) corresponding to the opening of the pixel-defining layer (40) is defined in the black matrix (50), wherein an area of the opening (501) of the black matrix (50) is greater than an area of the opening (401) of the pixel-defining layer (40).
Regarding Claim 5, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein there is a plurality of grooves (at least two grooves that are in the same plane and are both orthogonally parallel to one another, each groove accommodates each respective end of 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40), and the plurality of grooves are arranged in parallel to each other.
Regarding Claim 6, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein there is a plurality of grooves (at least two grooves that are in the same plane and are both orthogonally parallel to one another, each groove accommodates each respective end of 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40), and the plurality of grooves are spaced apart from each other along an edge of the pixel electrode (30).
Regarding Claim 7, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the groove (at least two grooves that are in the same plane and are both orthogonally parallel to one another, each groove accommodates each respective end of 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40) extends along an edge of the pixel electrode (30) and surrounds a portion of the pixel electrode (30).
Regarding Claim 8, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 2, further comprising an upper layer (upper-most surface of 40) disposed on the opposing electrode (60), wherein a hole (401) corresponding to the groove in the pixel-defining layer (40) is defined in the upper layer (upper-most surface of 40).
Regarding Claim 10, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 2, further comprising a thin-film encapsulation layer (70) disposed between the opposing electrode (60) and the color filter, wherein the thin-film encapsulation layer covers the groove (401) in the pixel-defining layer (40).
Regarding Claim 11, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 10, further comprising a touch screen (via touch display screen, ¶ [0092]) disposed between the thin-film encapsulation layer (70) and the color filter (color filter, ¶ [0081]), wherein a touch electrode (of touch display, ¶ [0092]) of the touch screen layer is covered by (either in plan or side-view or bottom-view) the black matrix (50).
Regarding Claim 12, Yao et al., teaches a display panel comprising: a substrate (10) including a display area, in which an emission area and a non-emission area surrounding the emission area are defined; a pixel-defining layer (40) arranged to correspond to the non-emission area in which a groove (groove/indention of 40 that accommodates 30) is defined, wherein a first opening (region of 40 that is open to accommodate 401) corresponding to the emission area is defined in the pixel-defining layer (40); a black matrix (50) arranged to corresponding to the non-emission area, wherein a second opening (region of 50 that is open to accommodate 501) corresponding to the emission area is defined in the black matrix (50) and has a greater area than the first opening (region of 40 that is open to accommodate 401); and a color filter arranged in the second opening (region of 50 that is open to accommodate 501) of the black matrix (50), wherein an entirety of the black matrix (entirety of 50 covers the indentation corner of the groove) covers the groove (groove/indention of 40 that accommodates 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40).
Regarding Claim 13, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 12, further comprising: a plurality of pixel electrodes (30), each of the plurality of pixel electrodes (30) arranged to a corresponding emission area; an opposing electrode (60) facing the plurality of pixel electrodes (30); and an intermediate layer (of 401) between the plurality of pixel electrodes (30) and the opposing electrode (60), wherein the opposing electrode (60) and the intermediate layer (of 401) each include a hole (401) corresponding to the groove in the pixel-defining layer (40).
Regarding Claim 15, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 12, wherein there is a plurality of grooves (at least two grooves that are in the same plane and are both orthogonally parallel to one another, each groove accommodates each respective end of 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40), and the plurality of grooves are arranged in parallel to each other.
Regarding Claim 16, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 13, wherein there is a plurality of grooves (at least two grooves that are in the same plane and are both orthogonally parallel to one another, each groove accommodates each respective end of 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40), and the plurality of grooves are spaced apart from each other along edges of the plurality of pixel electrodes (30).
Regarding Claim 17, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 13, wherein the groove (at least two grooves that are in the same plane and are both orthogonally parallel to one another, each groove accommodates each respective end of 30) in the pixel-defining layer (40) extends along edges of the plurality of pixel electrodes (30) and surrounds portions of the plurality of pixel electrodes (30).
Regarding Claim 18, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 13, further comprising an upper layer (upper-most surface of 40) disposed on the opposing electrode (60), wherein the upper layer (upper-most surface of 40) includes a hole (401) corresponding to the groove in the pixel-defining layer (40).
Regarding Claim 20, Yao et al., teaches the display panel of claim 13, further comprising a thin-film encapsulation layer (70) disposed between the opposing electrode (60) and the color filter, wherein the thin-film encapsulation layer (70) covers the groove in the pixel-defining layer (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 3, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yao et al., in view of Haas et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0102684 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, 14, Yao et al., teaches the invention set forth above (see rejection in the corresponding claim(s) above). Yao et al., is silent regarding/lacks a -.
In the same field of endeavor, Haas et al., teaches a display device with an intermediate layer that further includes an organic functional layer (62) and a charge generation layer (66) in order to optimize and increase the luminance without sacrificing the operating lifespan (¶ [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the additional layers to the intermediate layer, as disclosed by Haas et al., in the display of Yao et al., in order to optimize and increase the luminance without sacrificing the operating lifespan (¶ [0005]).
3. Claim(s) 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yao et al., in view of Byun et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0066419 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, 19, Yao et al., teaches the invention set forth above (see rejection in the corresponding claim(s) above). Yao et al., is silent regarding a spacer.
In the same field of endeavor, Byun et al., teaches a display device wherein a spacer (115-1, first spacer, ¶ [0163]; see at least Figs. 4, 8) disposed on the pixel-defining layer (109 or 113), wherein the groove (indentation created to accommodate 20 or alternatively grooves in 113) is not located in the pixel-defining layer (109 or 113) where the spacer (115-1) is disposed in order to protect the display area from external moisture or impurities (¶ [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the spacer, as disclosed by Byun et al., in the display of Yao et al., in order to protect the display area from external moisture or impurities (¶ [0004]).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to using a spacer as a matter of choice. Applicant(s) has not disclosed that the materials is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected or significant result, or are otherwise critical and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another configuration (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
The phrase “wherein the groove is not located in the pixel-defining layer” does not recite a positive limitation and instead attempts to claim the disclosed invention by excluding what the applicants did not disclose or invent, rather than distinctly and particularly pointing out what the applicants did disclose or invent. Essentially this claim language fails to provide any structural element or concrete component.
Examiner's Note
The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/H. Featherly/
Examiner Featherly
Art Unit 2875 Patent Examiner
/JAMES R GREECE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875