Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (apparatus claim 1-3, 11-20) in the reply filed on 4/23/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that dues to similarity of classification, search for one group would likely identify the same references for the other group.
Hereby the restriction requirement is withdrawn and all claims 1-20 are examined.
Claim Interpretation
In claims 17 and 20, the limitation “aperture” is broadly interpreted a hole or opening and not limited an elongated opening.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The feature "a nozzle clamp" in claim 10 is not referred to in the description. Specification [0049, Fig. 4] states “Each nozzle 144 is coupled to a corresponding fast actuating valve 228 by an adapter 402.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Satoshi (JP 2010-042487).
Regarding claims 1: Satoshi discloses a polishing apparatus comprising: a polishing pad (2) disposed on a platen (1), wherein the polishing pad (2) has a pad radius and a central axis; a carrier (4) configured to be disposed on a surface of the polishing pad (2) and having a carrier radius and a rotational axis; and a slurry delivery assembly comprising a plurality of nozzles (6), each nozzle coupled to a fast (high response speed) solenoid valve (11) (see abstract, paragraphs [0012]-[0016], [0030] and figures 1-2, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 2, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Tung (US 6679765).
Satoshi as discussed above does not explicitly disclose the fluid assembly is coupled to a pad conditioner arm (claim 2).
Regarding claim 2: Satoshi (paragraph [0015] and figure 1) discloses a conditioner (7). Tung discloses (see column 3, lines 10-28 and figure 1) an arc-shaped slurry supplier (50) connected to a supporting arm (30) via a pair of connecting bars (40)). “The slurry supply system further comprises a supporting arm 30 used to support the wafer carrier 20 and an arc-shaped slurry supplier 50 connected to the supporting arm 30 via a pair of connecting bars 40 mounted on the ends of the slurry supplier 50.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi to integrate members (such as the pad conditioner arm and fluid delivery assembly) to a single supporting arm as an obvious rearrangement of parts and to reduce the apparatus footprint.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Chiou US 6398627.
Satoshi as discussed above does not explicitly disclose at least two nozzles having different outlet sizes (claim 3).
Regarding claim 3: Chiou discloses (see column 6, lines 7-24 and figure 5: the plurality of nozzles (98) may have an opening that is different in size than the openings of its immediately adjacent nozzles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi to have openings with different size in order to distribute the slurry across the polishing pad to achieve a desire (even) distribution pattern.
Claim(s) 4-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Keiichi JP 2005-103696 and Takashi (JP 2020082323.
Regarding claim 4: Satoshi as discussed above further discloses a slurry delivery assembly comprising: an arm (5); and a plurality of nozzles (6) configured to dispense slurry, wherein each nozzle (6) is coupled to the arm (5) and to a fast solenoid valve (11), and wherein the nozzle (6) is configured to be slidable along a length of the arm (5) (see paragraphs [0016], [0030], [0075]-[0085], [0119] and figures 1, 4, 14).
Satoshi as discussed above does not explicitly a fluid delivery assembly comprises "a plate coupled to an arm; and one or more fan jet nozzles configured to dispense pressurized fluid having a flat fan jet shape, wherein each nozzle is coupled to a portion of the plate".
Keiichi discloses (see paragraphs [0095]-[0096] and fig. 3, 4, 6) a polishing liquid supply means (410) may have a rectangular parallelepiped shape; a plurality of spray means (414) are coupled to the polishing liquid supply means (410); and a shape of a polishing liquid sprayed by the spray means (414) may be a fan shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi to have fan shape outlet to distribute the liquid over a larger surface area.
Further regarding arm coupled to plate: Takashi discloses (see paragraphs [0024], [0031], and [0039], and Figures 4 and 5) discloses a fluid delivery assembly comprising an arm (30) and a plate (45) coupled to the arm, wherein a nozzle (33) is coupled to the plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi to have couped the arm and the plate together in order to install nozzles on the plate and to support the plate by the arm.
Regarding claims 5-7, 9-10: The additional features of claims 5-6 would be easily derived from the disclosure of Satoshi (paragraphs [0068]-[0071] and figures 11-12): the arm (5) is configured to move in parallel in a horizontal plane by an actuator having belts (23, 24), gears (21, 22), and a motor).
The additional feature of claim 7 would be easily derived from the disclosure of Satoshi (paragraphs [0075]-[0085], [0119] and figures 13-14): the nozzle (6) is configured to be slidable along the length of the arm (5)).
The additional feature of claim 9 is disclosed in Satoshi (see paragraph [0016] and figures I, 4): the nozzles (6) arranged in a row at intervals of 25 mm).
The additional feature of claim 10 is merely a variation of the disclosure of Satoshi (paragraph [0030] and figure 4): each nozzle (6) is connected with the fast solenoid valve (11)).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Keiichi JP 2005-103696 and Takashi (JP 2020082323 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chiou US 6398627.
Satoshi in view of Keiichi and Takashi as discussed above does not explicitly disclose at least two nozzles having different outlet sizes.
Regarding claim 8: Chiou discloses (see column 6, lines 7-24 and figure 5: the plurality of nozzles (98) may have an opening that is different in size than the openings of its immediately adjacent nozzles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi in view of Keiichi and Takashi to have openings with different size in order to distribute the slurry across the polishing pad to achieve a desire (even) distribution pattern.
Claim(s) 11, 15, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Takashi (JP 2020082323.
Regarding claim 11: Satoshi discloses a polishing apparatus comprising: a polishing pad (2) disposed on a platen (1), wherein the polishing pad (2) has a pad radius and a central axis; a carrier (4) configured to be disposed on a surface of the polishing pad (2) and having a carrier radius and a rotational axis; and a slurry delivery assembly comprising a plurality of nozzles (6), each nozzle coupled to a fast (high response speed) solenoid valve (11) (see abstract, paragraphs [0012]-[0016], [0030] and figures 1-2, 4).
Satoshi further discloses a slurry delivery assembly comprising: an arm (5) and to a fast solenoid valve (11); and a plurality of nozzles (6) configured to dispense slurry, wherein each nozzle (6) is coupled to the arm (5) (see paragraphs [0016], [0030], [0075]-[0085], [0119] and figures 1, 4, 14).
Satoshi as discussed above does not explicitly disclose one or more nozzle disposed on a plate.
Takashi discloses (see paragraphs [0024], [0031], and [0039], and Figures 4 and 5) discloses a fluid delivery assembly comprising an arm (30) and a plate (45) coupled to the arm, wherein a nozzle (33) is coupled to the plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi to have couped the arm and the plate together in order to install nozzles on the plate and to support the plate by the arm.
Regarding claim 15: as taught by Takashi, the liquid jet nozzle 33 is a fan shaped nozzle (Fig. 5, abstract) as an obvious choice for spreading the liquid over a large area.
Regarding claim 16: It would have been obvious to render the make the outlet of the nozzle removable for replacing the nozzle with a desired flow pattern as well as for cleaning parts. Integration and separation of parts is considered obvious modification for the purpose of replacement of parts rather than replacing the entire integrated part.
It is noted that being separate or integral serving the same purpose would be obvious. According to in re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (MPEP 2144.04 V.C making separable) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a two-piece separable showerhead clamp in order to obtain a simple to assemble and disassemble clamp unit. (Also see MPEP 2144.04 V.B making integral).
Regarding claim 18: Satoshi discloses slurry delivery assembly comprising a plurality of nozzles (6) arranged along the length of the polishing pad (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Takashi (JP 2020082323 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Mavliev (US 7452264).
Regarding claims 12, 13: Satoshi in view of Takashi does not explicitly disclose an actuator coupled to a movable block disposed on a rail.
Mavliev discloses (FIG. 2, 3) a side view of the nozzle 412 mounted to the arm 420 ([27]). The nozzle 412 is attached to a guide 403 that runs along a rail 401 mounted to the arm 420. The nozzle 412 may be dynamically positioned along the rail 401 using an actuator (not shown) or be locked in place using a clamp, detent or set screw 402.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi to have implemented the moving mechanism as taught by Mavliev in order to spread the fluid along the radius of the polishing pad.
Regarding claim 14: as taught by Takashi the plate 45 having one end (the vertical part) extending (extender) and attached to the plate 30.
Claim(s) 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Takashi (JP 2020082323 and Mavliev (US 7452264)as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kohama (JP 2006-147773).
Satoshi in view of Takashi and Mavliev as taught above does not disclose explicitly the distance between nozzle or the distance between nozzles and polishing pas is adjusted.
Kohama discloses ([0083], [0088], and [0094], and Figures 16,17, 24, and 30) a fluid delivery assembly (26c) comprising: an arm; and one or more fan jet nozzles configured to dispense pressurized fluid (Q) having a flat fan jet shape (the polishing liquid Q is distributed while flowing on the distribution skirt 116; see paragraph [0088] and Figure 24), wherein each nozzle (57) is coupled to a portion of the arm and to a fast actuating valve (214) (paragraph [0094] and Figure 30), wherein a spacing between nozzles is adjustable along a length of the plate (see paragraph [0083] and Figure 17), wherein a position of each nozzle is adjustable along a length and a width of a major surface of the plate, wherein the major surface of the plate is on a plane substantially perpendicular to a surface of the pad (the polishing liquid supply ports 57 are linearly movable; see paragraph [0083] and Figure 17).
Mavliev discloses a fastening mechanism such as a screw 402 (Fig. 3, [27]) to clamp the nozzle to a holding pale 401 and depending on the size of the hole (aperture) that the screw passes therethrough and/or the diameter of the screw, the nozzle position can be adjusted in any direction.
It would have been obvious to render the coupling mechanism adjustable to further adjust the distance between the nozzles as well as between nozzles and the polishing pad as desired.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP 2010-042487) in view of Takashi (JP 2020082323 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of and further in view of Chiou US 6398627.
Satoshi in view of Takashi as discussed above does not explicitly disclose at least two nozzles having different outlet sizes.
Chiou discloses (see column 6, lines 7-24 and figure 5: the plurality of nozzles (98) may have an opening that is different in size than the openings of its immediately adjacent nozzles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Satoshi in view of Keiichi and Takashi to have openings with different size in order to distribute the slurry across the polishing pad to achieve a desire (even) distribution pattern.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 20130199726) discloses a treatment apparatus wherein a position of a liquid injection nozzle can be adjusted horizontally and vertically with respect to substrate supporting unit.
/PARVIZ HASSANZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1716