3DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-14, 23, 26 and 30 have been cancelled; claims 15-17, 24-25, 29, and 33-35 have been amended; and claims 15-22, 24-25, 27-29 and 31-35 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-22, 25, 27-29, and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matyushkin et al. (WO 2018183557 A1, hereinafter “Matyushkin”) in view of Lischer et al. (US 2009/0122458 A1, hereinafter “Lischer”) and Matyushkin et al. (US 2021/0005494 A1, hereinafter “Matyushkin’494”).
In regards to claim 15, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region (See, for example, Fig. 4);
a plurality of first protrusions (632, 636) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface;
at least one outer gas channel (612/620) formed in the body and in communication with the first outer annular groove; and
at least one inner gas channel (624/628) formed in the body and in communication with the first inner annular groove.
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape;
a first outer annular grooves and a second outer annular groove, which are formed in the outer region of the op surface and recessed from the top surface;
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Critically, the coolant gas grooves of Matyushkin’494 are channels formed into (but not through) the top plate body. Gas is supplied to each groove through discrete gas supply holes that penetrate from below the top plate (Pars [0050], [0053], [0061]-[0065], [0067]-[0068], See also Fig. 8). The grooves themselves terminate at a defined depth within the plate body, and therefore each groove inherently has a closed, sealed bottom surface, and that reads on a blind bottom limitation. Since Matyushkin’494’s ESC includes multiple annularly extending grooves organized in both inner and outer concentric zones (Pars [0049]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4), the individual annular grooves within the inner zone(s) each have their own respective blind bottom, as do the annular grooves within the outer zone(s). This maps to the claimed “first blind bottom” of the second outer annular groove and “second blind bottom” of the second inner annular groove. Matyushkin’494 further teaches that none of the coolant gas grooves extend from one sealed zone to another, which aids in maintaining independently controlled pressures and temperatures for each zone (Par [0028], [0048], and [0056]).
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first outer annular groove is disposed at a distance from an inner circumferential surface of the sealing band in a radial direction, and the second outer annular groove is provided along an outer circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin'494 further teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3-4) an electrostatic chuck having annular seals (306A-306C; 406A-406C) that protrude upward from the top plate and separate concentric coolant gas zones (308A-308D; 408A-408C) (Pars [0049], [0057]). The coolant gas grooves are shallow trenches recessed into the top plate (Pars [0044], [0052], [0060]). Matyushkin'494 explicitly teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (410A-410D) extend along an outside of the zone-dividing seal (406B), and that the annular coolant gas grooves (310A-310D) extend along an inside of a seal (306A) (Par [0058]; Figs. 3-4). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that each of the disclosed ESCs may be modified to include any of the features disclosed in Figs. 1-8, and that features of any embodiment may be combined with features of any other embodiment (Pars [0032], [0084]). Accordingly, Matyushkin'494 teaches annular grooves provided along the outer circumferential surface (outside of 406B) and along the inner circumferential surface (inside of 306A) of a protruding annular wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 16, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region (See, for example, Fig. 4);
a plurality of first protrusions (632, 636) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface;
at least one outer gas channel (612/620) formed in the body and in communication with the first outer annular groove; and
at least one inner gas channel (624/628) formed in the body and in communication with the first inner annular groove.
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape;
a first outer annular grooves and a second outer annular groove, which are formed in the outer region of the op surface and recessed from the top surface;
a first inner annular groove and a second inner annular groove which are formed in the inner region of the top surface and recessed from the top surface; and
the second outer annular groove has a first blind bottom, and the second inner annular groove has a second blind bottom.
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Critically, the coolant gas grooves of Matyushkin’494 are channels formed into (but not through) the top plate body. Gas is supplied to each groove through discrete gas supply holes that penetrate from below the top plate (Pars [0050], [0053], [0061]-[0065], [0067]-[0068], See also Fig. 8). The grooves themselves terminate at a defined depth within the plate body, and therefore each groove inherently has a closed, sealed bottom surface, and that reads on a blind bottom limitation. Since Matyushkin’494’s ESC includes multiple annularly extending grooves organized in both inner and outer concentric zones (Pars [0049]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4), the individual annular grooves within the inner zone(s) each have their own respective blind bottom, as do the annular grooves within the outer zone(s). This maps to the claimed “first blind bottom” of the second outer annular groove and “second blind bottom” of the second inner annular groove. Matyushkin’494 further teaches that none of the coolant gas grooves extend from one sealed zone to another, which aids in maintaining independently controlled pressures and temperatures for each zone (Par [0028], [0048], and [0056]).
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first outer annular groove is disposed at a distance from an inner circumferential surface of the sealing band in a radial direction, and the second outer annular groove is provided along an outer circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin'494 further teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3-4) an electrostatic chuck having annular seals (306A-306C; 406A-406C) that protrude upward from the top plate and separate concentric coolant gas zones (308A-308D; 408A-408C) (Pars [0049], [0057]). The coolant gas grooves are shallow trenches recessed into the top plate (Pars [0044], [0052], [0060]). Matyushkin'494 explicitly teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (410A-410D) extend along an outside of the zone-dividing seal (406B), and that the annular coolant gas grooves (310A-310D) extend along an inside of a seal (306A) (Par [0058]; Figs. 3-4). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that each of the disclosed ESCs may be modified to include any of the features disclosed in Figs. 1-8, and that features of any embodiment may be combined with features of any other embodiment (Pars [0032], [0084]). Accordingly, Matyushkin'494 teaches annular grooves provided along the outer circumferential surface (outside of 406B) and along the inner circumferential surface (inside of 306A) of a protruding annular wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 17, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region (See, for example, Fig. 4);
a plurality of first protrusions (632, 636) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface;
at least one outer gas channel (612/620) formed in the body and in communication with the first outer annular groove; and
at least one inner gas channel (624/628) formed in the body and in communication with the first inner annular groove.
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape;
a first outer annular grooves and a second outer annular groove, which are formed in the outer region of the op surface and recessed from the top surface;
a first inner annular groove and a second inner annular groove which are formed in the inner region of the top surface and recessed from the top surface; and
the second outer annular groove has a first blind bottom, and the second inner annular groove has a second blind bottom.
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Critically, the coolant gas grooves of Matyushkin’494 are channels formed into (but not through) the top plate body. Gas is supplied to each groove through discrete gas supply holes that penetrate from below the top plate (Pars [0050], [0053], [0061]-[0065], [0067]-[0068], See also Fig. 8). The grooves themselves terminate at a defined depth within the plate body, and therefore each groove inherently has a closed, sealed bottom surface, and that reads on a blind bottom limitation. Since Matyushkin’494’s ESC includes multiple annularly extending grooves organized in both inner and outer concentric zones (Pars [0049]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4), the individual annular grooves within the inner zone(s) each have their own respective blind bottom, as do the annular grooves within the outer zone(s). This maps to the claimed “first blind bottom” of the second outer annular groove and “second blind bottom” of the second inner annular groove. Matyushkin’494 further teaches that none of the coolant gas grooves extend from one sealed zone to another, which aids in maintaining independently controlled pressures and temperatures for each zone (Par [0028], [0048], and [0056]).
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first outer annular groove is disposed at a distance from an inner circumferential surface of the sealing band in a radial direction, and the second outer annular groove is provided along an outer circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin'494 further teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3-4) an electrostatic chuck having annular seals (306A-306C; 406A-406C) that protrude upward from the top plate and separate concentric coolant gas zones (308A-308D; 408A-408C) (Pars [0049], [0057]). The coolant gas grooves are shallow trenches recessed into the top plate (Pars [0044], [0052], [0060]). Matyushkin'494 explicitly teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (410A-410D) extend along an outside of the zone-dividing seal (406B), and that the annular coolant gas grooves (310A-310D) extend along an inside of a seal (306A) (Par [0058]; Figs. 3-4). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that each of the disclosed ESCs may be modified to include any of the features disclosed in Figs. 1-8, and that features of any embodiment may be combined with features of any other embodiment (Pars [0032], [0084]). Accordingly, Matyushkin'494 teaches annular grooves provided along the outer circumferential surface (outside of 406B) and along the inner circumferential surface (inside of 306A) of a protruding annular wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 25, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region;
a plurality of first protrusions (632…640) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface;
at least one outer gas channel (the channel formed between protruding structures 608 and 632, 632 and 636) formed in the body and in communication with the first outer annular groove (formed between protruding structures between 608 and 632, 632 and 636).
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape;
a first outer annular grooves and a second outer annular groove, which are formed in the outer region of the op surface and recessed from the top surface;
a first inner annular groove and a second inner annular groove which are formed in the inner region of the top surface and recessed from the top surface; and
the second outer annular groove has a first blind bottom, and the second inner annular groove has a second blind bottom.
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Critically, the coolant gas grooves of Matyushkin’494 are channels formed into (but not through) the top plate body. Gas is supplied to each groove through discrete gas supply holes that penetrate from below the top plate (Pars [0050], [0053], [0061]-[0065], [0067]-[0068], See also Fig. 8). The grooves themselves terminate at a defined depth within the plate body, and therefore each groove inherently has a closed, sealed bottom surface, and that reads on a blind bottom limitation. Since Matyushkin’494’s ESC includes multiple annularly extending grooves organized in both inner and outer concentric zones (Pars [0049]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4), the individual annular grooves within the inner zone(s) each have their own respective blind bottom, as do the annular grooves within the outer zone(s). This maps to the claimed “first blind bottom” of the second outer annular groove and “second blind bottom” of the second inner annular groove. Matyushkin’494 further teaches that none of the coolant gas grooves extend from one sealed zone to another, which aids in maintaining independently controlled pressures and temperatures for each zone (Par [0028], [0048], and [0056]).
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first outer annular groove is disposed at a distance from an inner circumferential surface of the sealing band in a radial direction, and the second outer annular groove is provided along an outer circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin'494 further teaches (See, for example, Figs. 2 and 4) an outermost seal (206A; 406A) that separates the radially outermost zone (208A; 408A) from the processing chamber interior (Pars [0041], [0057]). Within the sealed zones, annularly extending grooves (branch pairs 222, 224, 226, 228; 422, 424, 426, 428) are formed in the top plate at a distance radially inward from the outermost seal and are supplied with coolant gas through a coolant gas supply hole located at the groove intersection (Pars [0043], [0045], [0059], [0061]). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (410A-410D) extend along an outside of the zone-dividing seal (406B) (Par [0058]; Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 29, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region;
a plurality of first protrusions (632…640) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface;
at least one inner gas channel (628/624) formed in the body and in communication with the first inner annular groove (grooves formed between protrusions 636&640).
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape;
a first outer annular grooves and a second outer annular groove, which are formed in the outer region of the op surface and recessed from the top surface;
a first inner annular groove and a second inner annular groove which are formed in the inner region of the top surface and recessed from the top surface; and
the second outer annular groove has a first blind bottom, and the second inner annular groove has a second blind bottom.
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Critically, the coolant gas grooves of Matyushkin’494 are channels formed into (but not through) the top plate body. Gas is supplied to each groove through discrete gas supply holes that penetrate from below the top plate (Pars [0050], [0053], [0061]-[0065], [0067]-[0068], See also Fig. 8). The grooves themselves terminate at a defined depth within the plate body, and therefore each groove inherently has a closed, sealed bottom surface, and that reads on a blind bottom limitation. Since Matyushkin’494’s ESC includes multiple annularly extending grooves organized in both inner and outer concentric zones (Pars [0049]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4), the individual annular grooves within the inner zone(s) each have their own respective blind bottom, as do the annular grooves within the outer zone(s). This maps to the claimed “first blind bottom” of the second outer annular groove and “second blind bottom” of the second inner annular groove. Matyushkin’494 further teaches that none of the coolant gas grooves extend from one sealed zone to another, which aids in maintaining independently controlled pressures and temperatures for each zone (Par [0028], [0048], and [0056]).
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first inner annular groove is disposed between a center of the top surface and an inner circumferential surface of the annular partition wall in a radial direction, and the second inner annular groove is provided along the inner circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin, as modified, discloses the first inner annular groove (grooves formed by 640s on opposite sides of the center point 616, Figs. 4 and 6) located radially between the center (616) and the annular partition wall (632…640). Matyushkin'494 likewise teaches coolant gas groove sets (240; 340) in the radially innermost sealed zone (208D; 308D), between the center of the top plate and the surrounding seal (Pars [0043], [0051]; Figs. 2-3). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (310A-310D) extend along an inside of a seal (306A) (Par [0058]; Fig. 3), and that features of any embodiment may be combined with features of any other embodiment (Pars [0032], [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 33, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region (See, for example, Fig. 4);
a plurality of first protrusions (632, 636) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface;
at least one outer gas channel (612/620) formed in the body and in communication with the first outer annular groove; and
at least one inner gas channel (624/628) formed in the body and in communication with the first inner annular groove.
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape;
first and second outer annular grooves formed in the outer region of the top surface;
first and second inner annular grooves formed in the inner region of the top surface;
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first outer annular groove is disposed at a distance from an inner circumferential surface of the sealing band in a radial direction, and the second outer annular groove is provided along an outer circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin'494 further teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3-4) an electrostatic chuck having annular seals (306A-306C; 406A-406C) that protrude upward from the top plate and separate concentric coolant gas zones (308A-308D; 408A-408C) (Pars [0049], [0057]). The coolant gas grooves are shallow trenches recessed into the top plate (Pars [0044], [0052], [0060]). Matyushkin'494 explicitly teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (410A-410D) extend along an outside of the zone-dividing seal (406B), and that the annular coolant gas grooves (310A-310D) extend along an inside of a seal (306A) (Par [0058]; Figs. 3-4). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that each of the disclosed ESCs may be modified to include any of the features disclosed in Figs. 1-8, and that features of any embodiment may be combined with features of any other embodiment (Pars [0032], [0084]). Accordingly, Matyushkin'494 teaches annular grooves provided along the outer circumferential surface (outside of 406B) and along the inner circumferential surface (inside of 306A) of a protruding annular wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 34, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region (See, for example, Fig. 4);
a plurality of first protrusions (632, 636) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface; and
at least one outer gas channel (612/620) formed in the body and in communication with the first outer annular groove.
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape; and
first and second outer annular grooves formed in the outer region of the top surface.
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first outer annular groove is disposed at a distance from an inner circumferential surface of the sealing band in a radial direction, and the second outer annular groove is provided along an outer circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin'494 further teaches (See, for example, Figs. 2 and 4) an outermost seal (206A; 406A) that separates the radially outermost zone (208A; 408A) from the processing chamber interior (Pars [0041], [0057]). Within the sealed zones, annularly extending grooves (branch pairs 222, 224, 226, 228; 422, 424, 426, 428) are formed in the top plate at a distance radially inward from the outermost seal and are supplied with coolant gas through a coolant gas supply hole located at the groove intersection (Pars [0043], [0045], [0059], [0061]). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (410A-410D) extend along an outside of the zone-dividing seal (406B) (Par [0058]; Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 35, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region (See, for example, Fig. 4);
a plurality of first protrusions (632, 636) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface; and
at least one inner gas channel (624/628) formed in the body and in communication with the first inner annular groove.
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape; and
first and second inner annular grooves formed in the inner region of the top surface;
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first inner annular groove is disposed between a center of the top surface and an inner circumferential surface of the annular partition wall in a radial direction, and the second inner annular groove is provided along the inner circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin, as modified, discloses the first inner annular groove (grooves formed by 640s on opposite sides of the center point 616, Figs. 4 and 6) located radially between the center (616) and the annular partition wall (632…640). Matyushkin'494 likewise teaches coolant gas groove sets (240; 340) in the radially innermost sealed zone (208D; 308D), between the center of the top plate and the surrounding seal (Pars [0043], [0051]; Figs. 2-3). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (310A-310D) extend along an inside of a seal (306A) (Par [0058]; Fig. 3), and that features of any embodiment may be combined with features of any other embodiment (Pars [0032], [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
In regards to claim 18, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Figs. 4 and 6) the at least one outer gas channel (612/620) includes a plurality of outer gas channels arranged in a circumferential direction (See, Fig. 4 for details of the top view shows the plurality of the outer gas channels).
In regards to claims 19 and 27, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Figs. 4 and 6) the first outer annular groove (grooves formed between protrusions 632&608) surrounds the second outer annular groove (grooves formed between protrusions 632&636).
In regards to claim 20, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Figs. 4 and 6) the second inner annular groove (grooves formed between protrusions 636&640) surrounds the first inner annular groove (grooves formed by 640s in opposite sides of the center point 616).
In regards to claims 21 and 31, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Figs. 4 and 6) the second inner annular groove (grooves formed between protrusions 636&640) surrounds the first inner annular groove (grooves formed by 640s in opposite sides of the center point 616).
In regards to claim 22, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Figs. 4 and 6) the at least one inner gas channel (628/624) includes a plurality of inner gas channels arranged in a circumferential direction (See, Fig. 4 for details of the top view shows the plurality of the inner gas channels).
In regards to claim 28 and 32, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a height of the annular partition wall (632…640) is lower than a height of the sealing band (608).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matyushkin in view of Lischer, Matyushkin’494, and Sasaki (US 2014/0076515, hereinafter “Sasaki”).
In regards to claim 24, Matyushkin discloses (See, for example, Fig. 6) a substrate stage, comprising:
a body (108) having a top surface;
an annular partition wall (632…640) protruding from the top surface so as to divide the top surface into an outer region and an inner region (See, for example, Fig. 4);
a plurality of first protrusions (632, 636) protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface;
a sealing band (608) protruding from the top surface and extending along a circumference of the top surface;
at least one outer gas channel (612/620) formed in the body and in communication with the first outer annular groove; and
at least one inner gas channel (624/628) formed in the body and in communication with the first inner annular groove.
Matyushkin is silent about
a plurality of first protrusions protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, each first protrusion having a columnar shape;
a first outer annular grooves and a second outer annular groove, which are formed in the outer region of the op surface and recessed from the top surface;
a first inner annular groove and a second inner annular groove which are formed in the inner region of the top surface and recessed from the top surface; and
the second outer annular groove has a first blind bottom, and the second inner annular groove has a second blind bottom.
Lischer while disclosing an electrostatic chuck teaches (see, for example, Figs. 3-5) an embossed electrostatic chuck having a plurality of protrusions on the clamping surface of the chuck to support a workpiece (Abstract; Figs. 3-5). Lischer explicitly discloses that these protrusions may be referred to as “pins,” “mesas,” “bumps,” or “embossments” (See, for example, Par [0003]). The protrusions are discrete, individual raised structures that project upward from the chuck surface, each having a columnar shape (pillars/column/post configuration) (Figs. 3–5; Pars [0017]-[0021]). The protrusions are distributed across the clamping surface in a patterned arrangement (e.g., hexagonal spacing) spanning both inner and outer regions of the top surface (Pars [0017]-[0019]; Figs. 3–5).
Lischer teaches that supporting the workpiece on such discrete columnar protrusions is beneficial because it decreases the contact area with the backside of the workpiece compared to a non-embossed clamping surface, thereby reducing particle generation (Par [0003]). Additionally, the gaps between the protrusions facilitate the distribution of backside cooling gas (Par [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin to include a plurality of first protrusions having a columnar shape protruding from the outer and inner regions of the top surface, as taught by Lischer because discrete columnar protrusions reduce particle generation by minimizing contact area with the workpiece backside and improve backside gas distribution for thermal management.
Matyushkin’494 while disclosing an electrostatic huck teaches an electrostatic chuck having a top plate with multiple concentric sealed coolant gas zones separated by annular-shaped seals that protrude upward from the top plate (Pars [0048]-[0051]; Figs. 3-4). Within each sealed zone, Matyushkin’494 discloses multiple coolant gas groove sets formed in the top plate surface. Each coolant gas groove set is tree-patterned and includes a radially extending groove and multiple pairs of annularly extending grooves (referred to as “branch pairs”) (Pars [0043] and [0051]). The annularly extending grooves are concentric with respect to the top plate and are recessed from the top surface thereof.
Matyushkin is further silent about wherein the first outer annular groove is disposed at a distance from an inner circumferential surface of the sealing band in a radial direction, and the second outer annular groove is provided along an outer circumferential surface of the annular partition wall.
Matyushkin'494 further teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3-4) an electrostatic chuck having annular seals (306A-306C; 406A-406C) that protrude upward from the top plate and separate concentric coolant gas zones (308A-308D; 408A-408C) (Pars [0049], [0057]). The coolant gas grooves are shallow trenches recessed into the top plate (Pars [0044], [0052], [0060]). Matyushkin'494 explicitly teaches that the annular coolant gas grooves (410A-410D) extend along an outside of the zone-dividing seal (406B), and that the annular coolant gas grooves (310A-310D) extend along an inside of a seal (306A) (Par [0058]; Figs. 3-4). Matyushkin'494 further teaches that each of the disclosed ESCs may be modified to include any of the features disclosed in Figs. 1-8, and that features of any embodiment may be combined with features of any other embodiment (Pars [0032], [0084]). Accordingly, Matyushkin'494 teaches annular grooves provided along the outer circumferential surface (outside of 406B) and along the inner circumferential surface (inside of 306A) of a protruding annular wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ESC of Matyushkin, as already modified by Lischer, to incorporate first and second outer annular grooves and first and second inner annular grooves recessed from the top surface and each having a respective blind bottom, as taught by Matyushkin’494 because arranging multiple concentric annular grooves within distinct inner and outer zones, each groove having a blind bottom and being supplied with gas through discrete supply holes, provides aid in uniformly distributing coolant gas to prevent the temperature non-uniformities.
Matyushkin is silent about that a plurality of second protruding from the annular partition wall, wherein a height of the annular partition wall is lower than a height of the sealing band.
Sasaki while disclosing a substrate processing apparatus teaches (See, for example, Fig. 3) a plurality of second protruding from the annular partition wall (19), wherein a height of the annular partition wall (19) is lower than a height of the sealing band (4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matyushkin by Sasaki because this would help efficiently perform the temperature control process of the substate and that would help control the whole mounting base to a uniform and desired temperature without any local change in the amount of heating in the mounting base. Furthermore, this would provide easier control to the flow of gas, conductance, and pressure difference values can be set appropriately.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations of claims 15-17, 24-25, 29 and 33-35 have been considered but are moot, because the new ground of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, relies on additional teachings of Martyushkin’494 that were not applied in the prior rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893