DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 01/15/2026. The previous objections to the drawings, specification, and claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1, 7-11, and 14 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “wherein the thermal interference avoidance unit is a branch pipe which is coupled to a surface of the manifold plate … wherein a first branch port and a second branch port for connection of the first pipe and the second pipe are coupled to a second surface of the manifold plate” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing as it seems to indicate that the branch pipe and the branch ports are coupled to different surfaces of the manifold plate. However, the drawings and specification do not support such an arrangement since the branch pipe and the branch ports are described as coupled to the same surface of the manifold plate. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the disclosed “second surface of the manifold plate” and “surface of the manifold plate” will be interpreted as referring to the same structure.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the circulation fluid” in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the circulation fluid” will be interpreted as -- the circulating fluid --
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a manifold plate in which a plurality of fluid flow channels is formed; … the circulation fluid flowing through the first inlet flows into the fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the first outlet or bypasses the fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the second outlet” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, it is not entirely clear which fluid flow channel out of the disclosed plurality channels of the manifold plate is being referred to. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a thermal interference avoidance unit … in which fluid flow channels … are formed … wherein the thermal interference avoidance unit is a branch pipe … in which a fluid flow channel is formed therein” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing as it is not entirely clear if the branch pipe is provided with a plurality of fluid flow channels or a single fluid flow channel. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation “the other surface of the bottom plate” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “a manifold plate in which a plurality of fluid flow channels is formed; … the circulating fluid flowing through the first inlet flows into a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the first outlet or bypasses a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the second outlet” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, it is not entirely clear which fluid flow channel out of the disclosed plurality channels of the manifold plate is being referred to. More clarity is requested.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “…a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate…” and “…a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate…” which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leave the structure ambiguous in nature as it become difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed element or disclosing an element in addition to the previously claimed element.
Claims 7-8 and 11 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 20240025226 A1, herein after refer to as Jin) in view of Oh et al. (US 20210016632 A1, herein after referred to as Oh).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a thermal management fluid module (valve manifold integration module 100 Fig. 3) for a vehicle (paragraph [0004]) using a circulating fluid (paragraphs [0102] and [0164]) such as a refrigerant (paragraph [0102]) or a coolant (paragraph [0164]), the thermal management fluid module comprising: a manifold plate (first half body 1 and a second half body 2 Fig. 5) in which a plurality of fluid flow channels (first flow channels 110 and the second flow channels 120 Fig. 6) is formed; and a thermal interference avoidance unit (external refrigerant line connected to the gas-liquid separator inlet interface 211 and external refrigerant line connected to the air-conditioning heat exchanger outlet interface 204 Fig. 1) which is coupled to the manifold plate (Fig. 1) and in which fluid flow channels (both refrigerant lines are understood to have at least one fluid flow channel each since refrigerant is flowing in and out of them see paragraphs [0102] and [0143]) having a first temperature (temperature of the refrigerant flowing in the external refrigerant line connected to the air-conditioning heat exchanger outlet interface 204 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0102]) or a second temperature (temperature of the refrigerant flowing in the external refrigerant line connected to the gas-liquid separator inlet interface 211 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0143]) that is lower than the first temperature (paragraphs [0102] and [0143]) are formed to be separated and spaced apart from other fluid flow channels (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin) among the plurality of fluid flow channels, wherein the thermal interference avoidance unit is a pipe (Fig. 1) which is coupled to a surface of the manifold plate (first half body 1 Figs. 1 and 9) and in which a fluid flow channel (both refrigerant lines are understood to have at least one fluid flow channel each since refrigerant is flowing in and out of them see paragraphs [0102] and [0143]) is formed therein, wherein the pipe includes a first pipe (external refrigerant line connected to the gas-liquid separator inlet interface 211 Fig. 1) configured to allow a first circulating fluid (the disclosed “refrigerant passing through the evaporator” in paragraph [0143]) to flow out of an evaporator (evaporator 400 Fig. 1) to an accumulator (gas-liquid separator 800 Fig. 1), and a second pipe (external refrigerant line connected to the air-conditioning heat exchanger outlet interface 204 Fig. 1) configured to allow a second circulating fluid (the disclosed “heat-exchanged refrigerant” in paragraph [0102]) to flow out of an external heat exchanger (air-conditioning heat exchanger 300 Fig. 1) to flow to the evaporator (paragraph [0102]), wherein the second circulating fluid has a temperature (understood to be the temperature of the disclosed “heat-exchanged refrigerant” in paragraph [0102]) that is higher than the first circulating fluid (paragraphs [0102] and [0143]), wherein a first branch port (gas-liquid separator inlet interface 211 Fig. 1) and a second branch port (air-conditioning heat exchanger outlet interface 204 Fig. 1) for connection of the first pipe and the second pipe are coupled to the surface of the manifold plate (Figs. 1 and 9), wherein the second branch port includes a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin) in which the circulating fluid flows (paragraph [0136]), a first outlet (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin) connected to the manifold plate (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin), and a second outlet (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin) connected to the pipe (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin).
Jin teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the thermal interference avoidance unit is a branch pipe; wherein, according to a fluid circulation mode, the circulating fluid flowing through the first inlet flows into the fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the first outlet or bypasses the fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the second outlet”.
However, Oh teaches wherein a thermal interference avoidance unit (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Oh) is a branch pipe (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Oh); wherein, according to a fluid circulation mode (the conditioning mode disclosed in paragraph [0075] and Fig. 4, and the conditioning mode disclosed in paragraph [0083] and Fig. 6), a circulating fluid (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh ) flowing through a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh) flows into a fluid flow channel of a manifold plate (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh) through a first outlet (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh) or bypasses the fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the second outlet (Figs. 4 illustrates when the circulating fluid flows into thermal management module 1000 which corresponds to the manifold plate of Jin, and Fig. 6 illustrates when the circulating fluid bypasses thermal management module 1000) to provide a dehumidification mode in which the absolute humidity of the air flowing into the interior of the vehicle reduces and then the relative humidity thereof increases due to the temperature rise to discharge the dry air into the indoor may be implemented (paragraph [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Jin to include “wherein the thermal interference avoidance unit is a branch pipe; wherein, according to a fluid circulation mode, the circulating fluid flowing through the first inlet flows into the fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the first outlet or bypasses the fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the second outlet” in view of the teachings of Oh to provide a dehumidification mode in which the absolute humidity of the air flowing into the interior of the vehicle reduces and then the relative humidity thereof increases due to the temperature rise to discharge the dry air into the indoor may be implemented.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the manifold plate includes a bottom plate (first half body 1 Fig. 5 of Jin) and a top plate (second half body 2 Fig. 5 of Jin) coupled to protrude from a surface of the bottom plate (connection surface 1001 Figs. 5-6 of Jin) and form the fluid flow channels (paragraph [0077] of Jin), and the branch pipe is connected to the other surface of the bottom plate (side surface of first half body 1 Figs. 1 and 9 of Jin).
Regarding claim 10, Jin teaches a thermal management fluid module (valve manifold integration module 100 Fig. 3) for a vehicle (paragraph [0004]) using a circulating fluid (paragraphs [0102] and [0164]) such as a refrigerant (paragraph [0102]) or a coolant (paragraph [0164]), the thermal management fluid module comprising: a manifold plate (first half body 1 and a second half body 2 Fig. 5) in which a plurality of fluid flow channels (first flow channels 110 and the second flow channels 120 Fig. 6) is formed; and a pipe (Fig. 1) coupled to the manifold plate (Figs. 1 and 9); wherein a first branch port (gas-liquid separator inlet interface 211 Fig. 1) to which the pipe is connected is provided on a surface of the manifold plate (Figs. 1 and 9), wherein a second branch port (air-conditioning heat exchanger outlet interface 204 Fig. 1) includes a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin) through which the circulating fluid flows (paragraph [0136]), a first outlet (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin) connected to the manifold plate (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin), and a second outlet (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin) connected to the pipe (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Jin).
Jin teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the pipe is a branch pipe formed to allow the circulating fluid to flow into or bypass at least one of the plurality of fluid flow channels in the manifold plate according to a fluid circulation mode; wherein, according to the fluid circulation mode, the circulating fluid flowing through the first inlet flows into a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the first outlet or bypasses a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the second outlet”.
However, Oh teaches a pipe(see below annotated Fig. 1 of Oh) that is a branch pipe (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Oh) formed to allow a circulating fluid (the disclosed “refrigerant” in paragraph [0075] corresponds to the circulating fluid of Jin) to flow into (the conditioning mode disclosed in paragraph [0075] and Fig. 4 where the refrigerant flows into thermal management module 1000) or bypass (the conditioning mode disclosed in paragraph [0083] and Fig. 6 where the refrigerant bypasses thermal management module 1000) at least one of a plurality of fluid flow channels (referring to Fig. 6, all the internal fluid flow channels of thermal management module 1000 are bypassed by the refrigerant) in a manifold plate (thermal management module 1000 Fig. 9 corresponds to the manifold plate of Jin) according to a fluid circulation mode (the conditioning modes disclosed in paragraphs [0075] and [0083]); wherein, according to the fluid circulation mode, the circulating fluid flowing through a first inlet flows (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh ) into a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh ) through a first outlet (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh ) or bypasses a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh ) through a second outlet (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Oh ) to provide a dehumidification mode in which the absolute humidity of the air flowing into the interior of the vehicle reduces and then the relative humidity thereof increases due to the temperature rise to discharge the dry air into the indoor may be implemented (paragraph [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Jin to include “the pipe is a branch pipe formed to allow the circulating fluid to flow into or bypass at least one of the plurality of fluid flow channels in the manifold plate according to a fluid circulation mode; wherein, according to the fluid circulation mode, the circulating fluid flowing through the first inlet flows into a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the first outlet or bypasses a fluid flow channel of the manifold plate through the second outlet” in view of the teachings of Oh to provide a dehumidification mode in which the absolute humidity of the air flowing into the interior of the vehicle reduces and then the relative humidity thereof increases due to the temperature rise to discharge the dry air into the indoor may be implemented.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein a heat exchanger (battery pack heat exchanger 500 Fig. 1 of Jin) and a valve (fourth switch valve 24 Fig. 1 of Jin) are coupled to a second surface of the manifold plate (left side surface Fig. 1 of Jin).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin and Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong (US 20200011547 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein a diameter of the first pipe is greater than a diameter of the second pipe”.
However, Hong teaches wherein a diameter of a first pipe (diameter of suction pipe 210 Fig. 5 where suction pipe 210 corresponds to the first pipe of Jin) is greater than a diameter of a second pipe (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0155] where discharge pipe 220 corresponds to the second pipe of Jin) to reduce flow resistance of the refrigerant, thereby improving the circulation efficiency of the refrigerant (paragraph [0272]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein a diameter of the first pipe is greater than a diameter of the second pipe” in view of the teachings of Hong to reduce flow resistance of the refrigerant, thereby improving the circulation efficiency of the refrigerant.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin and Oh as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN109910590A, herein after referred to as Wang).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the fluid circulation mode includes a heating mode and a cooling mode, wherein, in the heating mode, the circulating fluid flows into at least one of the plurality of fluid flow channels of the manifold plate, and in the cooling mode, the circulating fluid bypasses the manifold plate”.
However, Wang teaches wherein a fluid circulation mode (the heating and cooling modes described in paragraph [32] correspond to the circulation mode of Oh) includes a heating mode (paragraph [32]) and a cooling mode (paragraph [32]), wherein, in the heating mode (paragraph [32]), a circulating fluid (the disclosed “refrigerant” in paragraph [32] corresponds to the circulating fluid of Jin) flows into at least one of a plurality of fluid flow channels (paragraph [32] where it is disclosed that the refrigerant flows into the fluid flow channels that connect A2 to B2 and C2 to D2 respectively Figs. 5-6) of a manifold plate (refrigerant-coolant heat exchanger 5 Fig. 6 corresponds to the manifold plate of Jin), and in the cooling mode (paragraph [32]), the circulating fluid bypasses the manifold plate (paragraph [0032]) to maximize the absorption of waste heat of the motor (paragraph [34]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the fluid circulation mode includes a heating mode and a cooling mode, wherein, in the heating mode, the circulating fluid flows into at least one of the plurality of fluid flow channels of the manifold plate, and in the cooling mode, the circulating fluid bypasses the manifold plate” in view of the teachings of Wang to maximize the absorption of waste heat of the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record when consider as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious the “wherein the second pipe includes a first connection portion configured to connect the external heat exchanger and the second branch port, a second connection portion configured to connect the second branch port and one side of the first pipe, and a third connection portion configured to connect the one side of the first pipe and the evaporator”.
The closet prior art references, Jin (US 20240025226 A1) and Oh (US 20210016632 A1), teach a “second pipe”, an “external heat exchanger”, a “second branch port”, a “first pipe”, and an “evaporator”.
However, the references fail to disclose, suggest or teach “wherein the second pipe includes a first connection portion configured to connect the external heat exchanger and the second branch port, a second connection portion configured to connect the second branch port and one side of the first pipe, and a third connection portion configured to connect the one side of the first pipe and the evaporator”.
Therefore, dependent claim 7 is considered allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763