Notice of AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
“Display Device With First Routing Section Width Different Second Routing Section In Overlapping Area”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2021/0375702 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0052080 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1: Xiao teaches (e.g., Figs. 3-8) a display panel, comprising an array substrate ([0049]-[0052]) comprising:
a substrate ([0052]: 10) and an array layer ([0052]: layer including 1/2/3 and comprising pixel circuit T3 and T4),
wherein the array layer is disposed on one side (upper side) of the substrate and comprises a pixel circuit ([0052]: pixel circuit T4);
a light-emitting element ([0052]: D) disposed on one side (upper side) of the array layer facing away from the substrate;
a plurality of first connection pads ([0020]-[0053]: 91/92/93) disposed on the substrate and coupled to the pixel circuit (T4); and
a signal line ([0052]: 51) comprising a first wire segment ([0051]: lower portion of 51) and a second wire segment ([0051]: upper portion of 51),
wherein the first wire segment is configured to connect a first connection pad ([0052]: 93) of the plurality of first connection pads (91/92/93) and the second wire segment (upper portion of 51), or the second wire segment is configured to connect a first connection pad of the plurality of first connection pads and the first wire segment (selected the first alternative; the second alternative is not selected);
wherein the display panel further comprises an overlapping region (Fig. 1; region of pad 93), in the overlapping region, the first wire segment (lower portion of 51) and the second wire segment (upper portion of 51) at least partially overlap in a direction perpendicular to a plane where the signal line is located (Fig. 1);
the first direction (horizontal direction) is perpendicular to an extension direction (vertical) of the signal line;
Xiao does not expressly teach that
in the overlapping region, a width of the first wire segment is different from a width of the second wire segment in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to an extension direction of the signal line.
However, Kim teaches (e.g., Fig. 4A-4B) display device comprising a signal line ([0079]-[0080]: 18a/18b) comprising a first wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18a) and a second wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18b);
Kim further teaches that a width of the first wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18a) is different from a width of the second wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18b) in a first direction (horizontal direction), and the first direction is perpendicular to an extension direction (vertical direction) of a signal line ([0094]: 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to include in display device of Xiao, the device wherein, in the overlapping region, a width of the first wire segment is different from a width of the second wire segment in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to an extension direction of the signal line, as taught by Kim, for the benefits, of ensuring good contact connection between the different portions of the wiring and thus improving interconnection reliability.
Regarding independent claim 17: Xiao teaches (e.g., Figs. 3-8) a display device, comprising a display panel ([0049]-[0055] and [0061]), wherein the display panel comprises: an array substrate ([0049]-[0052]) comprising:
a substrate ([0052]: 10) and an array layer ([0052]: layer including 1/2/3 and comprising pixel circuit T3 and T4),
wherein the array layer is disposed on one side (upper side) of the substrate and comprises a pixel circuit ([0052]: T4);
a light-emitting element ([0052]: D) disposed on one side (upper side) of the array layer facing away from the substrate;
a plurality of first connection pads ([0020]-[0053]: 91/92/93) disposed on the substrate and coupled to the pixel circuit (T4); and
a signal line ([0052]: 51) comprising a first wire segment ([0051]: lower portion of 51) and a second wire segment ([0051]: upper portion of 51),
wherein the first wire segment is configured to connect a first connection pad ([0052]: 93) of the plurality of first connection pads (91/92/93) and the second wire segment (upper portion of 51), or the second wire segment is configured to connect a first connection pad of the plurality of first connection pads and the first wire segment (selected the first alternative; the second alternative is not selected);
wherein the display panel further comprises an overlapping region (Fig. 1; region of pad 93), in the overlapping region, the first wire segment (lower portion of 51) and the second wire segment (upper portion of 51) at least partially overlap in a direction perpendicular to a plane where the signal line is located (Fig. 1); the first direction (horizontal direction) is perpendicular to an extension direction (vertical) of the signal line;
Xiao does not expressly teach that in the overlapping region, a width of the first wire segment is different from a width of the second wire segment in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to an extension direction of the signal line.
However, Kim teaches (e.g., Fig. 4A-4B) display device comprising a signal line ([0079]-[0080]: 18a/18b) comprising a first wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18a) and a second wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18b);
Kim further teaches that a width of the first wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18a) is different from a width of the second wire segment ([0079]-[0080]: 18b) in a first direction (horizontal direction), and the first direction is perpendicular to an extension direction (vertical direction) of a signal line ([0094]: 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to include in display device of Xiao, the device wherein, in the overlapping region, a width of the first wire segment is different from a width of the second wire segment in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to an extension direction of the signal line, as taught by Kim, for the benefits, of ensuring good contact connection between the different portions of the wiring and thus improving interconnection reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2: the cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features, a display panel comprising:
“wherein in the overlapping region and in the first direction, a maximum width of the first wire segment is D1 and a maximum width of the second wire segment is D2, wherein D1< D2”.
Claims 3-7 depend from claim 2, and therefore, are allowable for the same reason as claim 2.
Regarding claim 8: the cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features, a display panel comprising:
“at least part of the first wire segment is disposed on the first surface or the third surface, and at least part of the second wire segment is disposed on the second surface; and
at least part of the overlapping region is disposed on at least one of the first surface or the second surface”.
Claims 9-10 depend from claim 8, and therefore, are allowable for the same reason as claim 8.
Regarding claim 11: the cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features, a display panel comprising:
“ wherein a width of the overlapping region in the extension direction of the signal line is H, and H > 5 µm”.
Regarding claim 12: the cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features, a display panel comprising:
“wherein the fourth sub-portion and the fifth sub-portion are connected to each other, the fourth sub-portion is connected to the first connection pad, the fifth sub-portion is connected to the second wire segment, and in the first direction, a width of the fourth sub-portion is less than a width of the fifth sub-portion”.
Claim 13 depends from claim 12, and therefore, is allowable for the same reason as claim 12.
Regarding claim 14: the cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features, a display panel comprising:
“a width of a first wire segment of the first-type signal line is greater than a width of a second wire segment of the first-type signal line in the first direction; and a width of a first wire segment of the second-type signal line is less than a width of a second wire segment of the second-type signal line in the first direction”.
Claims 15-16 depend from claim 14, and therefore, are allowable for the same reason as claim 14.
Regarding claim 18: the cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features, a display panel comprising:
“the display panel comprises a first display panel and a second display panel, at least part of a signal line of the first display panel is disposed on one side of the first display panel facing towards the second display panel, and
at least part of a signal line of the second display panel is disposed on one side of the second display panel facing towards the first display panel; and
an orthographic projection of the signal line of the first display panel and an orthographic projection of the signal line of the second display panel are arranged at intervals in a direction perpendicular to a plane where a second wire segment is located”.
Claims 19-20 depend from claim 18, and therefore, are allowable for the same reason as claim 18.
Conclusion
/HERVE-LOUIS Y ASSOUMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812