DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24-26, 28-31, 33-38 and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabbycreek NPL in view of Vischer (US 3,235,390). Heattransfer NPL is relied on as evidence.
Regarding claim 21, Shabbycreek NPL teaches a method of making a frozen modular meal system comprising a first modular meal component in a first tray and a second modular meal component in a second tray (page 1 figure and second paragraph). The first modular meal component is made by adding lasagna noodles (first meal component) and marinara sauce (first sauce component) to a first tray, wherein the marinara is in fluid form when added to the tray (page 2 “Easy lasagna recipe”). The second modular meal component is made by adding shredded chicken breast (second meal component) and cheddar soup (second sauce component) to a second tray, wherein the soup would have necessarily been in fluid form when added to the tray in order to allow for the ingredients to be mixed (page 3 “Broccoli cheddar chicken pasta bake recipe”). Regarding the trays having a single cavity, Shabbycreek NPL teaches the containers are aluminum pans (page 1; figure 1). The pans are known to comprise a single cavity.
Examiner notes the limitation “sauce component” is not defined by the specification, and therefore the limitation is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to mean any liquid (viscous or otherwise) that can be combined with another food. The limitation “heating efficiency” is not defined by the specification, but is disclosed to include features such as those recited in paragraphs 125-126, 131, 133, and 135-137. The limitation “with the first modular meal component for a same heating time period and at a same heating temperature” is interpreted to mean that the claimed feature occurs when the first and second frozen modular meal components are heated together from frozen and obtain at least 165oF in a single (same) heating cycle. Likewise, the limitation “capable of” is interpreted to mean that the first and second modular meal components are not actually required by the claimed process to be heated from frozen and to reach the claimed temperature, only that the modular meal components can reach the claimed temperature if heated in the recited manner.
Shabbycreek NPL teaches the filled first and second modular meal components are frozen (pages 1-2 and 4-5). The plurality of frozen meals of Shabbycreek NPL are thus construed to be a “modular meal system” since they are made and stored simultaneously, where the end user can choose a desired meal from the plurality of meals (page 5 “Final notes”). When the user is ready to cook the lasagna, the tray is covered with aluminum foil and baked [in a conventional oven] for 35 minutes at 375 degrees (page 2). Likewise for the broccoli cheddar chicken pasta bake, the modular meal is baked in a conventional oven at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes (page 3).
Shabbycreek NPL teaches heating in a conventional oven as recited above, but does not teach the limitation of “each of the sauce components in combination with a configuration and/or formulation of each of the meal components, respectively, provides a heating efficiency so that each of the frozen modular meal components reaches at least 165oF when heated from frozen with the other of the frozen modular meal components in a conventional oven for a same heating time selected from a heating time range of from about 20 minutes to about 60 minutes and at a same heating temperature selected from a heating temperature range of about 350oF to about 450oF.”
Vischer teaches packaging for food in which a plurality of frozen food items are contained in a single container for simultaneous defrosting and cooking and/or heating in a single high temperature operation (column 1 lines 10-15), where the plurality of frozen food items are held within a tray 10 (figures 1-2), where different food items are prepared differently in order to ensure that all items reach the desired serving temperature, and are properly cooked, within a “minimum time for defrosting, heating and cooking” (column 2 lines 4-13 and 27-39; column 2 line 71 to column 3 line 2). Preparation methods include varying degrees of precooking, the physical shape and size, and configuration of the individual portions of food within the container. The features above appear to overlap with those disclosed by applicant to contribute to a “heating efficiency”.
Although Vischer does not specifically teach that the different foods are part of different modular meal components (i.e., in different trays), the reference still teaches the concept of adjusting the characteristics of the packaging and/or contained foods in order to ensure each of the different foods reach a desired serving temperature within a single heating operation. The different foods within the different compartments are analogous to the different modular meal components of Shabbycreek NPL.
Further, Heattransfer NPL is relied on as evidence to show that heat transferred from one system to another is given by the equation Q = m x c x ∆T (page 1), where Q is the heat supplied to the system, m is the mass the of system, c is the specific heat capacity of the system and ∆T is the change in temperature of the system. The equation can be rearranged to ∆T = Q / (m x c) to determine a change of temperature in the system based on heat supplied, mass, and specific heat capacity of the system. If Q is known (i.e., the amount of energy provided by the conventional oven at the claimed temperature for the claimed duration), then one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the mass (amount of food) and specific heat capacity (type and water content of food) of the system can be adjusted to obtain a desired temperature change (i.e., ∆T) therein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shabbycreek NPL such that the first and second modular meal components are configured and/or formulated as claimed since controlling parameters of the package and contents such that different components obtain a desired serving temperature at the same time is acknowledged by the prior art, and therefore to similarly ensure optimal heating and cooking of all components during the same heating process, thereby enhancing user convenience, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, and since the claimed values would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to the factors disclosed by Vischer, the type of heating, and the parameters of the heat transfer equation stated above.
Regarding claim 22, Shabbycreek NPL teaches the meal and sauce components of the first and second modular meal components are precooked (page 1 second paragraph; page 5 first paragraph).
Regarding claim 24, Shabbycreek NPL as applied to claim 21 does not specify the dimensions of the tray.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the tray to have the claimed dimensions since the prior art already recognizes adjusting the configuration of the tray to obtain desired heating characteristics as taught by Vischer, since there is no evidence of record indicating criticality or unexpected results, since the claimed values would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as providing sufficient space for a desired number of servings, desired amount of packaging material used and associated material cost, and since the “Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”, see MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.
Regarding claim 25, the claim recites a narrower heating duration of about 25-35 minutes and heating temperature of about 350-425oF. The combination applied to claim 21 renders the limitation of claim 25 obvious for the same reasons stated for said claim. Additionally, there is no evidence of record indicating criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed duration and temperature values.
Regarding claim 26, Shabbycreek NPL as applied to claim 21 does not specify that the modular meal components include 3-6 servings of the meal component. However, the reference teaches a meal component can make multiple meals e.g., “easy lasagna recipe” (page 2), discloses the prepared meals are meant to feed a family (pages 1 and 5), and does not particularly limit the number of servings in each modular meal component (see whole document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Shabbycreek NPL such that at least one of the modular meal components includes the claimed number of servings in order to provide a sufficient amount of the meal component for multiple consumers e.g., a family, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, to provide convenience such that a user does not need to open multiple packages of the same component, and since food packages comprising multiple servings are known in the art.
Regarding claim 28, the claim recites alternatives. For the sake of examination, the limitation “starch component…pasta” is chosen. Shabbycreek NPL teaches one of the first and second modular meal components comprises a starch component i.e., lasagna noodles (page 2 “Easy lasagna recipe”).
Regarding claim 29, the combination applied to claim 21 teaches a method for making a frozen modular meal system as stated for said claim. The same rejection is applied to claim 29 for the same reasons. The difference between the claims is that the latter further recites a third modular meal component having a third meal component and a third sauce component, wherein the third sauce component is in fluid form when added to the tray, and the second and third modular meal components are capable of reaching at least 165oF when heated for the same time and temperature as the first modular meal component.
Shabbycreek NPL teaches a third modular meal component as stated for claim 27, where the marinara would have necessarily been in liquid form when added to the dough in the tray.
Regarding the second and third modular meal components being capable of reaching at least 165oF when heated for the same time and temperature as the first modular meal component, the modular meal components would have been capable of being heated in the claimed manner for the same reasons stated for claim 21. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the heating time and temperature for the same reasons stated for claim 21.
Regarding claim 30, Shabbycreek NPL teaches the lasagna is baked for 35 minutes at 375oF and then an additional 10 minutes without a cover (page 2).
While the reference does not teach a heating time of about 25-35 minutes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Shabbycreek NPL to bake the first modular meal component for the claimed duration and temperature since the ranges of the prior art overlap the claimed ranges, since there does not appear to be any criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, and since the claimed values would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as the type and amount of food, desired serving temperature, and consumer safety.
Regarding claim 31, Shabbycreek NPL teaches the meal and sauce components of the first and second modular meal components are precooked (page 1 second paragraph; page 5 first paragraph).
Regarding claim 33, Shabbycreek NPL as applied to claim 29 does not specify the dimensions of the tray.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tray to have the claimed dimensions for the same reasons stated for claim 24.
Regarding claim 34, Shabbycreek NPL as applied to claim 29 does not specify that the modular meal components include 3-6 servings of the meal component. However, the modification applied to claim 26 renders obvious providing 3-6 servings for the meal components. It would have been further obvious to provide the same number of servings for each of the components for the same reasons stated for claim 26, and further based on the needs/preferences of the intended consumers.
Regarding claim 35, the claim recites alternatives. For the sake of examination, the limitation “starch component…pasta” is chosen. Shabbycreek NPL teaches one of the first and second modular meal components comprises a starch component i.e., lasagna noodles (page 2 “Easy lasagna recipe”).
Regarding claim 36, Shabbycreek NPL teaches the first modular meal component comprises a starch component including pasta, the second modular meal component comprises a vegetable component including broccoli, and the third modular meal component comprises a protein component including beef (pages 2-3).
Regarding claim 37, the sauce for the first frozen modular meal component can be a marinara sauce as stated for claim 21.
Regarding claim 38, the sauce for the first frozen modular meal component is marinara, and the sauce for the second component is cheddar soup, construed to be a type of sauce, as stated for claim 21. The two components are understood in the art to have different characteristics, and therefore would necessarily have different total solids content, total fat content, and viscosity.
Regarding claim 40, Shabbycreek NPL teaches aluminum containers (page 1 first paragraph and figure), but does not specify that the tray of each of the first and second frozen modular meal components are aluminum.
Vischer teaches the tray is formed of a “suitable material having good heat transfer characteristics such, for example, as aluminum” (column 2 lines 53-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Shabbycreek NPL to use aluminum trays for the first and second modular meal components since the prior art recognizes storing meal components in such materials, where the material is known to have desirable heat conduction properties, and can therefore be used to control “heating efficiency” as claimed, to facilitate heat transfer from the oven to the food components, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, and to use materials that are well known and commonly employed in the food packaging art.
Regarding claim 41, the combination applied to claim 21 teaches configuring and/or formulating each of the meal components and sauce such that each of the modular meal components reaches at least 165oF when heated from frozen with the other respective modular meal component.
Regarding the heating occurring without stirring the modular meal components or rotating the modular meal components in the conventional oven, Shabbycreek NPL teaches the modular food components e.g., lasagna or cheeseburger casserole, are heated in the oven, and does not recite or otherwise indicate mixing or rotating the components in the oven (pages 2-3).
Likewise, Vischer makes no mention of requiring stirring or rotating when heating (see whole document).
Claims 23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabbycreek NPL in view of Vischer as applied to claims 21 and 29 above, and further in view of Shaw et al. (US 9,850,056 B2).
Regarding claims 23 and 32, the combination applied to claims 21 and 29 does not teach making the modular meal components comprises hermetically sealing the meal component and sauce component within the tray with a flexible film.
Shaw et al. teaches an ovenable package for a food product (abstract), the package comprising a tray 10 and lidding film 20 (figures 1-2), where food is placed into the tray and the film is sealed to the tray (column 4 lines 28-45). The reference teaches that it is known to attach the lidding film to the rim of the tray, but the failure rate of said package type is relatively high and can separate from the tray before use, causing issues such as spoilage of the contents, and further teaches the film can shred when a user tries to remove the film from the tray (column 1 lines 30-39). The package of Shaw et al. ensures an airtight seal until the film is first opened, thereby protecting the contents of the tray from the environment (column 5 lines 40-43), provides evidence of tampering (column 6 lines 34-35), and allows the package to be opened prior to heating (column 6 line 64-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tray of Shabbycreek NPL to include a flexible film forming a hermetic seal since the reference already contemplates a cover (figures) but does not specify a hermetic seal, for the advantages taught by Shaw et al., since the prior art acknowledges that films can be sealed to the tray, and therefore to combine prior art elements according to know methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabbycreek NPL in view of Vischer and Jeffcoat et al. (US 2002/0090446 A1). Heattransfer NPL is relied on as evidence.
Regarding claim 42, the combination applied to claim 29 teaches a method of making a frozen modular meal system as recited for said claim. The same combination is applied to claim 42 and would have been obvious for the same reasons.
The difference between the claims is that claim 42 further recites configuring and/or formulating the first multi-serving modular meal component comprises one or more of formulating the density of the first sauce component, formulating an amount of starch in the first sauce component, formulating an amount of saturated fat in the first sauce component, formulating an amount of unsaturated fat in the first sauce component, formulating a total fat content of the first sauce component, formulating a total sugar content of the first sauce component, formulating the total solids of the first sauce component, or formulating the viscosity of the first sauce component, in an amount effective to provide the heating efficiency, and the same for the second multi-serving modular meal component.
Shabbycreek NPL does not teach a “multi-serving” modular meal system.
However, the reference teaches a meal component can make multiple meals e.g., “easy lasagna recipe” (page 2), discloses the prepared meals are meant to feed a family (pages 1 and 5), and does not particularly limit the number of servings in each modular meal component (see whole document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shabbycreek NPL such that the modular meal components are “multi-serving” components in order to provide a sufficient amount of the meal component for multiple consumers e.g., a family, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, to provide convenience such that a user does not need to open multiple packages of the same component, and since food packages comprising multiple servings are known in the art.
Shabbycreek NPL teaches a plurality of different dishes comprising different sauces e.g., “meat marinara,” “easy cheeseburger casserole,” “tex mex chicken casserole,” etc. (pages 2-4). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect different types of sauces to have different formulations of starches, fats, sugars, solids, and viscosities based on known factors such as flavor, texture/mouthfeel, aroma, and nutritional profile.
Jeffcoat et al. teaches thickening compositions of foodstuffs by including an effective amount of stabilized waxy potato starch (abstract), where a sauce can be formulated with said starch to have “improved heat penetration during retorting” (paragraph 86). The teaching indicates to one of ordinary skill that the art recognizes sauce formulations including particular types of starches can be used to modify heat transfer characteristics of the sauce.
Further, the cited prior art suggests to one of ordinary skill that heat transfer characteristics can be controlled by adjusting the heat capacity of the system based on the heat transfer equation as explained for claims 21 and 29, where different substances are recognized to have different specific heat capacities. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that different sauces having different formulations, and therefore overall heat capacities, would similarly have different heat transfer characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shabbycreek NPL to configure and/or formulate the amount of starch in the first and second sauce components in order to similarly control heating of each modular meal component, thereby allowing each component to complete cooking within the same cooking step as taught by Vischer.
Regarding claim 43, Shabbycreek NPL teaches a plurality of different dishes comprising different sauces e.g., “meat marinara,” “easy cheeseburger casserole,” “text mex chicken casserole,” etc. (pages 2-4). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect different types of sauces to have different formulations of starches, fats, sugars, solids, and viscosities based on known factors such as flavor, texture/mouthfeel, aroma, and nutritional profile.
Response to Amendment
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 5/26/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 21-22, 24-31 and 41-43 based upon 35 USC 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
Applicant argues on pages 2-3 that Vischer teaches the gravy or sauces are frozen in the form of small, separate pellets in order to avoid problems caused by the gravy forming a block of ice with the meat, whereas the claimed invention uses the sauce to improve or reduce the heating efficiency of the meal component, which allows for a large variety of modular meal components that can be cooked from frozen in the same amount of time at the same temperature. Applicant argues the ingredients of each sauce component are carefully considered so the meal component would have a desired heating efficiency, where properties of the sauce were found to contribute to heating efficiency and said properties can be adjusted to provide a desired heating rate. Applicant argues the importance of viscosity of the sauce component and its impact on heat conduction to the meal component. Applicant argues on page 4 that increasing the composition of fat, sugar and/or solids affects heat conductivity and can be selected to provide desired heating efficiency.
This is not persuasive since Vischer is relied on to show that different food items can be formulated/prepared differently in order to ensure that all items reach the desired serving temperature during a single cooking operation. While the reference teaches issues with gravy forming a block of ice, there is no indication that the same effect is observed with other types of sauces. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the formulation of the sauce can have an impact on heating characteristics. For example, a formulation comprising high water content would necessarily absorb more energy during heating than a lower water content formulation. Likewise, viscosity is expected to affect how the sauce coats the food item. The type of fats, total fat content, solids content, etc. are well-understood to impact viscosity of a food product. Therefore, adjusting sauce formulation to control heating characteristics would have been expected by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Further, the effect of sauce formulation is predictable in view of Heattransfer NPL based on the heat transfer equation Q = m x c x ∆T (page 1) as stated for claim 21. The equation can be rearranged to ∆T = Q / (m x c) to determine a change of temperature in the system based on heat supplied, mass, and specific heat capacity of the system. If Q is known (i.e., the amount of energy provided by the conventional oven at the claimed temperature for the claimed duration), then one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the mass (amount of food) and specific heat capacity (type and water content of food) of the system can be adjusted to obtain a desired temperature change (i.e., ∆T) therein. The equation can also be used to explain why heating a single meal component in an oven is not the same as heating multiple meal components. That is, less mass and/or lower specific heat capacity of the system would necessarily cause more of the oven’s total energy to be transferred into said mass, necessarily resulting in a greater final temperature of said mass, and vice versa. Since the amount of heat transferred into a system is defined by the specific heat capacity of the system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that heating characteristics of a food product can be controlled by adjusting the formulation to obtain a desired increased or decreased overall heat capacity.
Additionally, independent claims 21 and 30 as currently drafted do not require formulation based on viscosity. Regarding new claims 42-43, formulating the sauce to obtain particular characteristics does not appear to yield unexpected results as explained above.
Applicant argues on page 4 that the sauce component is not frozen before adding to the tray in order to insulate the meal component from heat and lowering the heating efficiency of the meal component, where the amount, viscosity, and location of the sauce can modulate the heating time of the meal component by improving heating efficiency.
This is not persuasive for the same reasons stated above. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have considered the argued feature to yield unexpected results. Transfer of heat into a material is defined as explained for claim 21, and includes mass of the system, where one of ordinary skill would have been able to predict the effects of formulation based on known associations with the specific heat of the components. Since the heat transfer can be predicted, and since the prior art recognizes wanting different food components of a meal to simultaneously reach a serving temperature using a single cooking step as taught by Vischer, one of ordinary skill would have subjected the sauce formulation to routine experimentation and optimization based on desired heating characteristics.
Applicant argues on pages 5-6 that example 5 of the application illustrates differing heating efficiency depending on placement of the sauce component, the composition of the meal component, and the properties of the sauce itself. Applicant argues countless tests pertaining to sauce formulation and placement were conducted to achieve uniform heating when sauce is added to the tray in fluid form and together with the meal component.
This is not persuasive since example 5 and cited tables do not indicate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the results are unexpected. Heating characteristics can be predicted and is known to vary based on the amount and heat capacity of the material. Conducting a number of tests to obtain desired heating characteristics amounts of routine experimentation and optimization.
Additionally, Applicant’s arguments and data are not commensurate in scope with the claimed method. The inventive feature is argued to be a specific combination of features of the modular meal components that result in simultaneous heating as claimed, the features depending on a variety of factors. However, Applicant’s claims only require a tray, generic meal components, and generic sauce components placed in the tray prior to freezing. The presented data only compares a single embodiment (potatoes alone, or potatoes with ice) of a large variety of potential embodiments. It is not clear if the results of the declaration (figure 5 and table 7) are observed across all combinations encompassed by the claims. It is also unclear if the results are observed with additional meal components that are not simply trays of ice. It is also unclear how the claimed method accounts for well-known variances in “conventional ovens”, such as gas or electric as acknowledged by Applicant, or other features such as variations in oven configuration and power output.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the previous notice of non-compliant amendment, Examiner acknowledges the notice was made in error and the status of claim 40 is clear.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 11-12 that Vischer does not contemplate heating more than one tray of food together at the same time and same temperature, and is only concerned with heating food located within a single tray, as opposed to configuring and/or formulating first and second modular meal components are recited in claims 21 and 42.
This is not persuasive since Vischer teaches adjusting characteristics of different foods in order to achieve simultaneous heating, and since the relationship between heat transferred into a system and the components of that system is defined and predictable as explained for the declaration above. While heating multiple trays of different foods is not explicitly taught, Vischer nonetheless suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art that different foods can be formulated and/or configured to obtain desired heating characteristics and complete heating within the same heating step.
Similarly, while Shabbycreek does not explicitly recite that the different foods are intended to be heated simultaneously, it would have been well within the capability of a skilled artisan to select multiple types of food components to be served at the same meal e.g., large gatherings and special occasions. In such cases, preparing a variety of meal components such that all components can be cooked and finished simultaneously would provide the advantage of convenience, reduced overall time spent cooking, and reduced margin of error with respect to optimal heating/cooking.
Further, Shabbycreek NPL teaches producing a plurality of different meals, each meal having a sauce that is formulated differently from the others as stated for claim 21, including a third modular meal as stated for claim 27. Since the prior art recognizes that it is desirable to heat different foods at the same time and temperature, where the foods can be configured and/or formulated to achieve desired heating conditions as taught by Vischer, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated modify the configuration and/or formulation of the various meals taught by Shabbycreek NPL for the same advantages explained above.
Applicant argues on page 13 that Vischer teaches gravy freezes solid during the freezing operation and causes the meat to be frozen into a solid block of ice, and therefore provides the gravy or sauces in the form of frozen separate pellets. This is in contrast to the claims which add the sauce component in fluid form prior to freezing, and the respective meal components and sauce components are in a single cavity of the respective trays.
This is not persuasive since Shabbycreek NPL already teaches adding liquid sauce to the meal components prior to freezing as stated for claim 21. While Vischer teaches issues with gravy freezing into ice blocks, there is no indication that this an issue for all sauces. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of determining the appropriate formulation for a sauce that would obtain desired heating characteristics as explained in the response to the declaration above.
Applicant argues on pages 13-14 inventors found that the sauce was a very important component of the modular meal components and could be advantageously used to increase or decrease heating efficiency, which enables creation of a wide variety of modular meal components that can be heated together from frozen in the same amount of time and at the same temperature. Applicant argues the ingredients of each sauce component were carefully considered to achieve the desired heating efficiency, where properties that contribute to heating efficiency can be adjusted to provide desired heating rate of each component, and Vischer would not lead one of ordinary skill to the claimed invention.
This is not persuasive since the argued features amount to routine experimentation and optimization as explained in the response to the declaration above. The prior art recognizes different meals comprising respective liquid sauce components and meal components into single cavity trays and freezing as taught by Shabbycreek NPL and the formulation/configuration of the components can be controlled based on desired heating as taught by Vischer. Energy transfer into a system is based on the specific heat capacity and mass of the system. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine the appropriate substances and amounts to obtain a desired overall heat capacity of the sauce such that heat transfer into the food is increased or decreased.
Applicant argues on pages 14-15 that new claim 42 recites formulating the first and second sauce components comprise one or more of formulating various characteristics of the sauces, and where the cited references fail to suggest a first multi-serving modular meal component including a first meal component and a first sauce component as claimed, and a second multi-serving modular meal component including a second meal component and a second sauce component as claimed, the first and second sauces configured and formulated based on the argued characteristics.
This is not persuasive since modifying the meal components of Shabbycreek NPL to comprise multiple servings would have been obvious as stated for claim 26. Further, the rejection of claims 42-43 rely on Jeffcoat, which teaches that formulating sauces to comprise an effective amount of starch causes “improved heat penetration during retorting,” which indicates to one of ordinary skill that sauce formulations including particular types of starches can be used to modify heat transfer characteristics of the sauce. Shabbycreek NPL teaches producing a plurality of different meals, each meal having a sauce that is formulated differently from the others as stated for claim 21. The cited prior art suggests to one of ordinary skill that the formulation and/or configuration of food components can be controlled to obtain desired heating characteristics, thereby allowing different foods to be simultaneously heated to a desired temperature. Modification of the various sauces of Shabbycreek NPL to comprise different formulations of density, an amount of starch, etc. such that the simultaneous heating of different foods is obtained would have been within the level of predictability of a skilled artisan.
Applicant argues against Shaw, stating the reference does not teach the argued features.
This is not persuasive since the reference is not relied on to teach the argued features, where said features are rendered obvious for the reasons stated above. Rather, the Shaw is relied on to show that food containers are known to be hermetically sealed by flexible films for preservation, where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the containers of Shabbycreek NPL to have the same features for the same preservation benefit.
Applicant’s arguments against the dependent claims are not persuasive for the same reasons stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Virtanen (US 2007/0269556 A1) teaches thickening sauces to obtain a desired viscosity (abstract), where the sauce is frozen and the characteristics of the sauce is such that, in connection with heating, the frozen mixture defrosts and gets thickened in the free space at the bottom of the closed container. At least one of the following components is included in the other above-mentioned sauce components: liquid, fat, oil, spices, or salt (paragraph 65).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792