DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges the applicant's submission of the amendment dated 1/12/26, which has been entered.
1. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF REFERENCES CITED BY APPLICANT
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. ' 609 (C), the applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statements, dated 11/7/25, 1/8/26, and 4/7/26, is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. ' 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
2. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC ' 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamir (US 20190042419) in view of Joshi (US 20120210066).
With respect to claim 1, the Tamir reference teaches one or more processors, (see fig. 1, processor(s) 108) comprising:
circuity to cause information stored using a first memory path comprising a first cache location (e.g. fig. 1, a first core of cores 110 and its core-local cache) to be stored in a memory location (e.g. shared cache 116) accessible from both the first cache location and a second memory path comprising a second cache location (e.g. fig. 1, a second core of cores 110 and its core-local cache). (paragraph 67, where a cache line demotion operation to demote the data from the one or more core-local cache lines to one or more shared cache lines of a shared cache of the compute device [i.e. each core and its corresponding cache can access the shared cache 116])
However, the Tamir reference does not explicitly teach circuity to have in response to an application programming interface (API) call, perform the steps noted above; (emphasis added) and where the first memory path and the second memory path are indicated as inputs to the API. (emphasis added)
The Joshi reference teaches it is conventional to have in response to an application programming interface (API) call, perform the steps noted above; (emphasis added) and where the first memory path and the second memory path are indicated as inputs to the API. (paragraph 174, where each cache level A-N may comprise a respective I/O request monitor 2614A-N, which may be configured to monitor storage requests of a particular type and/or granularity, as described above. In some embodiments, and as depicted in FIG. 26A, the storage stack 2608 may provide an interface (e.g., API) through which the I/O request monitors are notified of I/O events or requests at a particular layer 2611A-N [analogous to the ‘paths’ as claimed])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the Tamir reference to have in response to an application programming interface (API) call, perform the steps noted above; (emphasis added) and where the first memory path and the second memory path are indicated as inputs to the API, as taught by the Joshi reference.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to intercept I/O operations in the virtualized environment to dynamically allocate resources, such as cache resources, across multiple virtual machines in the virtualized environment; and to improve the performance of the virtual machines and reduce the number of I/O operations handled by the primary storage system. (Joshi, paragraph 42)
Therefore it would have been obvious to combine the Tamir and Joshi references for the benefits shown above to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
With respect to claim 2, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API is to prevent information from being read based, at least in part, on causing a memory update operation followed by a memory ordering operation to be performed. (Tamir, paragraph 41, where there is the promotion of data from the shared cache 116 to the applicable core-local cache 114 [which would not allow data to be read from another core]; and paragraph 13, where a processor core 112 requests access to data which may have been previously stored or moved into shared cache memory, typically on-processor or near-processor cache. The network compute device 106 is configured to move the requested data to a core-local cache (e.g., the core-local cache 114) for quicker access to the requested data by the requesting processor core 112)
With respect to claim 3, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API is to prevent information from being read from the second cache location based, at least in part, on causing a release fence to be performed based, at least in part on a memory update operation. (Tamir, paragraph 41, where there is the promotion of data from the shared cache 116 to the applicable core-local cache 114 [which would not allow data to be read from another core]; and paragraph 13, where a processor core 112 requests access to data which may have been previously stored or moved into shared cache memory, typically on-processor or near-processor cache. The network compute device 106 is configured to move the requested data to a core-local cache (e.g., the core-local cache 114) for quicker access to the requested data by the requesting processor core 112)
With respect to claim 4, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the information being stored in the first cache location corresponds to a single memory update operation and the API is to prevent the information from being read from the second cache location based, at least in part, on an indication of a first path to update memory and an indication of a second path to read from updated memory. (Tamir, paragraph 41, where there is the promotion of data from the shared cache 116 to the applicable core-local cache 114 [which would not allow data to be read from another core]; and paragraph 13, where a processor core 112 requests access to data which may have been previously stored or moved into shared cache memory, typically on-processor or near-processor cache. The network compute device 106 is configured to move the requested data to a core-local cache (e.g., the core-local cache 114) for quicker access to the requested data by the requesting processor core 112)
With respect to claim 5, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API is to cause an order of memory operations that use the second cache location to be performed based, at least in part, on one or more memory update operations of the first cache location. (Tamir, paragraph 41, where there is the promotion of data from the shared cache 116 to the applicable core-local cache 114 [which would not allow data to be read from another core]; and paragraph 13, where a processor core 112 requests access to data which may have been previously stored or moved into shared cache memory, typically on-processor or near-processor cache. The network compute device 106 is configured to move the requested data to a core-local cache (e.g., the core-local cache 114) for quicker access to the requested data by the requesting processor core 112)
With respect to claim 6, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API is generate an indication that the information is stored in the first cache location. (Tamir, paragraph 41, where there is the promotion of data from the shared cache 116 to the applicable core-local cache 114 [which would not allow data to be read from another core]; and paragraph 13, where a processor core 112 requests access to data which may have been previously stored or moved into shared cache memory, typically on-processor or near-processor cache. The network compute device 106 is configured to move the requested data to a core-local cache (e.g., the core-local cache 114) for quicker access to the requested data by the requesting processor core 112)
Claims 8-11 and 13 are the system implementation of claims 1-6 noted above, and rejected under a similar rationale.
Claims 14-17 are the method implementation of claims 1-6 noted above, and rejected under a similar rationale. The Examiners notes paragraphs 69-70 of the Joshi reference as teaching the limitations of “generating an indication that the information has been stored”.
Claim 20 is the non-transitory computer-readable medium implementation of claims 1-6 noted above, and rejected under a similar rationale.
Claims 7, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamir (US 20190042419) in view of Joshi (US 20120210066) as shown in the rejections above, and further view of Chao (US 20200065250).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references does teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the information being stored in the first cache location includes data, the first cache location is in a second level cache, and the second cache location is in a first level cache, not included in a path to store the data in the first cache location. (Tamir, paragraph 41, where there is the promotion of data from the shared cache 116 to the applicable core-local cache 114 [which would not allow data to be read from another core]; and paragraph 13, where a processor core 112 requests access to data which may have been previously stored or moved into shared cache memory, typically on-processor or near-processor cache. The network compute device 106 is configured to move the requested data to a core-local cache (e.g., the core-local cache 114) for quicker access to the requested data by the requesting processor core 112)
However, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references does not explicitly teach that the data includes a tensor map.
The Chao reference teaches it is conventional to have the data be a tensor map. (abstract, where there is a feature map caching method of a convolutional neural network includes a connection analyzing step and a plurality of layer operation steps. The connection analyzing step is for analyzing a network to establish a convolutional neural network connection list. The convolutional neural network connection list includes a plurality of tensors and a plurality of layer operation coefficients)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references to have the data be a tensor map, as taught by the Chao reference.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to optimize the DRAM access times so as to reduce the DRAM bandwidth power consumption because the DRAM access times will consume most of the DRAM bandwidth power consumption in the system. (Chao, paragraph 15)
Therefore it would have been obvious to combine the Tamir, Joshi, and Chao references for the benefits shown above to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 12 is the system implementation of claim 7 noted above, and rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim 19 is the method implementation of claim 7 noted above, and rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamir (US 20190042419) in view of Joshi (US 20120210066) as shown in the rejections above, and further view of FEEHRER (US 20210133123).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of the Tamir and Joshi references does not explicitly teach the method of claim 14, wherein a memory address in shared memory of a graphics processing unit (GPU) and a memory address in global memory of the GPU are provided as input to the API.
The FEEHRER reference teaches it is conventional to have wherein a memory address in shared memory of a graphics processing unit (GPU) and a memory address in global memory of the GPU are provided as input to the API. (paragraph 166, where multiple compute applications are simultaneously executed by the GPU 102 and the GPU 102 provides isolation, quality of service (QoS), and independent address spaces for the multiple compute applications. An application may generate instructions (e.g., API calls) that cause the driver kernel to generate one or more tasks for execution by the GPU 102. The driver kernel outputs tasks to one or more streams being processed by the GPU 102. Each task may comprise one or more groups of related threads, referred to herein as a warp. In an embodiment, a warp comprises plural (e.g., 32) related threads that may be executed in parallel. Cooperating threads may refer to a plurality of threads including instructions to perform the task and that may exchange data through shared memory)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the combination Tamir and Joshi references to have wherein a memory address in shared memory of a graphics processing unit (GPU) and a memory address in global memory of the GPU are provided as input to the API, as taught by the Joshi reference.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide techniques and mechanisms for automatically handling address mapping and request routing between source GPU-generated physical addresses and fabric attached memory address locations so that the capacity of fabric attached memory can be fully utilized even though the source GPU may generate physical addresses that define address spaces much larger than those of any particular fabric attached memory device and even though the source GPU may send such physical addresses over entropy-selected interconnect links, while efficiently and flexibly supporting data striping across an array of such fabric attached memory devices. (FEEHRER, paragraph 16)
Therefore it would have been obvious to combine the Tamir, Joshi, and FEEHRER references for the benefits shown above to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
3. ARGUMENTS CONCERNING PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Rejections - USC 102/103
Applicant's arguments (see pages 5-8 of the remarks) and amendments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered, and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tamir reference to teach the newly added claim language as shown in the rejections above.
4. CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASITH THAMMAVONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137