DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amendment filed 2/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 6-16 are pending. Claims 9-16 remain withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are under examination. In the amendment filed 2/10/2026, claims 1, 3, and 6 were amended, claims 4-5 were canceled, and no claims were newly added.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9-16 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 of the claim, the word “face” should be “faced” or “facing” so that the text reads “is configured to be faced to a bottom” or “is configured to be facing to a bottom”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 3 is directed to an apparatus but recites “the chamber further comprises etching plasma between the wafer carrier and a bottom surface of the chamber”. This limitation is being interpreted inclusive of being directed to the intended use and contents of the apparatus. The limitation is being interpreted inclusive of requiring the structures of claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, to be arranged in a manner that allows for formation of plasma between the wafer carrier and a bottom surface of the chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaramakrishnan (prev. presented US 6,132,517), as evidenced by Kim (prev. presented US 2007/0068623), in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0325414 of Dhindsa et al., hereinafter Dhindsa.
Regarding claim 1, Sivaramakrishnan teaches a processing apparatus (Fig 3), comprising: a chamber (chamber housing 14 including sidewall 16 and upper dome 18 and lower dome 20 Fig 3; col 3, ln 50-60 ); a wafer carrier (34 Fig 3), extended into the chamber (Fig 3), wherein the wafer carrier further comprises a reversible plane (col 4, ln 5-15; may be surface 40) which is configured to be faced to a bottom surface of the chamber (may be surface 40 as shown in Fig 3); at least one gas inlet (26, 28 Fig 3), disposed around the chamber (Fig 3); and at least one electrode (RF induction coils 48, 50, 52, 54 Fig 3; col 4, ln 10-15) disposed on the chamber (Fig 3). Kim provides evidence that the RF induction coils are electrodes (see [0026] and [0039] which indicate that induction coils are considered plasma chamber electrodes). Sivaramakrishnan fails to teach a containment ring, disposed between the reversible plane and the bottom surface of the chamber. In the same field of endeavor of plasma apparatuses (abstract), Dhindsa teaches a containment ring (confinement ring 202 Fig 2 used to contain or confine plasma [0041] or 110a-d Fig 1) disposed between he substrate supporting surface (see substrate 102 on surface of 104 Fig 1 or see unnumbered substrate support within ring 210 Fig 2 with surface facing 204 to support substrate) and the upper surface of the chamber (Fig 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sivaramakrishnan to include the containment ring (confinement ring) taught by Dhindsa because Dhindsa teaches this arrangement allow for confining and pressure control of the plasma region [0005] and to control plasma formation and protect processing chamber parts [0032]. Regarding being disposed between the reversible plane and the bottom surface of the chamber, the position as taught by Dhindsa is between the substrate supporting surface and the surface of the chamber facing the substrate supporting surface. Therefore in Sivaramakrishnan in which the substrate supporting surface faces the bottom surface of the chamber, the positioning of the containment (confinement) ring is between the reversible plane and the bottom surface of the chamber.
Regarding claim 2, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the gas inlet (28 Fig 3) is disposed on a sidewall below the wafer carrier (gas inlets 28 Fig 3 are below wafer carrier 34 and on the sidewall 16).
Regarding claim 3, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the chamber is configured to generate etching plasma between the wafer carrier and a bottom surface of the chamber (apparatus of Fig 3 is capable of forming plasma below the wafer carrier 34 (col 4, ln 15-20); note that while the specific plasma being etching is directed to the contents of the apparatus during operation, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the apparatus may be used with etching and therefore is configured to generate etching plasma (col 6, ln 67)).
Regarding claim 6, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the reversible plane comprises an electrostatic chuck (abstract and col 4, ln 37-57 chucking surface 40 is an electrostatic chuck).
Regarding claim 7, Sivaramakrishnan, as evidenced by Kim, remains as applied to claim 1 above. Sivaramakrishnan further teaches an air valve (valve 62 Fig 4) connected to the chamber (Fig 4). Sivaramakrishnan fails to teach the valve is disposed below the chamber. This represents a mere rearrangement of parts of the position of the valve in the exhaust line 58 to be positioned below the chamber (note this is inclusive of either changing the position of where the exhaust line is attached to the chamber or changing the positioning of the exhaust line outside of the chamber to be bent under the chamber). Mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 8, Sivaramakrishnan teaches a pump (60 Fig 4) disposed under the air valve (62 Fig 4).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are additionally and/or alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaramakrishnan in view of Forster (prev. presented US 5,685,941) and Dhindsa.
This rejection is provided additionally and/or alternatively in the event applicant can demonstrate that inductive coils are not a type of electrode.
Regarding claim 1, Sivaramakrishnan teaches a processing apparatus (Fig 3), comprising: a chamber (chamber housing 14 including sidewall 16 and upper dome 18 and lower dome 20 Fig 3; col 3, ln 50-60 ); a wafer carrier (34 Fig 3), extended into the chamber (Fig 3), wherein the wafer carrier further comprises a reversible plane (col 4, ln 5-15; may be surface 40) which is configured to be faced to a bottom surface of the chamber (may be surface 40 as shown in Fig 3); at least one gas inlet (26, 28 Fig 3), disposed around the chamber (Fig 3); and at least one electrode (RF induction coils 48, 50, 52, 54 Fig 3; col 4, ln 10-15) disposed on the chamber (Fig 3). In the same field of endeavor of plasma processing (abstract), Forster teaches that an auxiliary electrode (180 Fig 3) is provided with induction coils (140 Fig 3) to enhance the reliability of plasma ignition (col 4, ln 10-25). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an auxiliary electrode with the RF induction coils of Sivaramakrishnan because Forster teaches this improves reliability of plasma ignition. Sivaramakrishnan fails to teach a containment ring, disposed between the reversible plane and the bottom surface of the chamber. In the same field of endeavor of plasma apparatuses (abstract), Dhindsa teaches a containment ring (confinement ring 202 Fig 2 used to contain or confine plasma [0041] or 110a-d Fig 1) disposed between he substrate supporting surface (see substrate 102 on surface of 104 Fig 1 or see unnumbered substrate support within ring 210 Fig 2 with surface facing 204 to support substrate) and the upper surface of the chamber (Fig 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sivaramakrishnan to include the containment ring (confinement ring) taught by Dhindsa because Dhindsa teaches this arrangement allow for confining and pressure control of the plasma region [0005] and to control plasma formation and protect processing chamber parts [0032]. Regarding being disposed between the reversible plane and the bottom surface of the chamber, the position as taught by Dhindsa is between the substrate supporting surface and the surface of the chamber facing the substrate supporting surface. Therefore in Sivaramakrishnan in which the substrate supporting surface faces the bottom surface of the chamber, the positioning of the containment (confinement) ring is between the reversible plane and the bottom surface of the chamber.
Regarding claim 2, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the gas inlet (28 Fig 3) is disposed on a sidewall below the wafer carrier (gas inlets 28 Fig 3 are below wafer carrier 34 and on the sidewall 16).
Regarding claim 3, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the chamber is configured to generate etching plasma between the wafer carrier and a bottom surface of the chamber (apparatus of Fig 3 is capable of forming plasma below the wafer carrier 34 (col 4, ln 15-20); note that while the specific plasma being etching is directed to the contents of the apparatus during operation, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the apparatus may be used with etching and therefore is configured to generate etching plasma (col 6, ln 67)).
Regarding claim 6, Sivaramakrishnan teaches the reversible plane comprises an electrostatic chuck (abstract and col 4, ln 37-57 chucking surface 40 is an electrostatic chuck).
Regarding claim 7, Sivaramakrishnan in view of Forster, remains as applied to claim 1 above. Sivaramakrishnan further teaches an air valve (valve 62 Fig 4) connected to the chamber (Fig 4). Sivaramakrishnan fails to teach the valve is disposed below the chamber. This represents a mere rearrangement of parts of the position of the valve in the exhaust line 58 to be positioned below the chamber (note this is inclusive of either changing the position of where the exhaust line is attached to the chamber or changing the positioning of the exhaust line outside of the chamber to be bent under the chamber). Mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Additionally, Forster teaches a valve (shown not numbered in exhaust line connected to the pump in Fig 3) below the chamber (chamber is 110 in Fig 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sivaramakrishnan to include the air valve below the chamber because Forster demonstrates this as a functional alternative position for exhausting the chamber (pumping down see col 2, ln 15-22).
Regarding claim 8, Sivaramakrishnan teaches a pump (60 Fig 4) disposed under the air valve (62 Fig 4). Further Forster teaches a pump disposed below the air valve (see “pump” in Fig 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026, hereinafter reply, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The arguments regarding the anticipation rejection over Shimizu (reply p6-7) are moot because the rejection is no longer being applied. The arguments regarding Sivaramakrishnan not teaching the amended limitations of claim 1 (reply p6-7) are moot because the rejection is now applied as an obviousness rejection including Dhindsa which teaches the containment (confinement) ring and renders obvious the limitations regarding the positioning. The arguments regarding the obviousness combinations previously applied (reply p8-9) rely on the arguments directed to Sivaramakrishnan not teaching the amended limitations which has been addressed by the inclusion of Dhindsa as explained above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6,019,060 teaches an containment ring (102 Fig 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716