DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the heat conductive plate” and “the other heat conductive plate” in claim 2 should read --the heat conduction plate-- and –the other heat conductive plate-- for consistency.
“the second having a long section…” in claim 15 should read -- the second plate having a long section--.
The semicolon in the end of claim 15 should be replaced with a period sign.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the first section" and “the second section”. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
For examination purposes, claim 16 is construed as --wherein a first section of the plates is longer than a second section of the plates--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljungberg (GB 1203303 A) in view of Lamich (US PGPub No. 2002/0108742).
Regarding claim 1, Ljungberg discloses a plate-type heat exchanger comprising a heat transfer assembly (boilers, heat exchangers or the like, page 1, lines 8-10), wherein the heat transfer assembly includes a plurality of heat transfer shells (tubes mentioned in page 1, lines 8-10, see one tube in Fig. 5) stacked in multiple layers, wherein each of the heat transfer shells include a pair of heat conduction plates (profile members 2);
a first heat transfer portion (shorter flat area of the profile members 2, see annotated figure below) and a second heat transfer portion facing each other (longer flat area of the profile members 2, see annotated figure below) at a certain distance (a height between the two heat transfer portions) by a bending portion (see annotated figure below) bent and towards the middle of the first heat transfer portion and the second heat transfer portion (the bending portion bent towards the middle of the two heat transfer portions at two distal ends of the bending portion);
wherein the heat transfer shell includes a first passage (a passage inside the tube in Fig. 5), through which a first fluid passes (one of the gas or water, page 1, lines 59-65), formed by welding (noted that the “welding” is product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. The particular structure of “welding” under broadest reasonable interpretation may be a joined structure) the end of the first heat transfer portion of one of the pair of heat conduction plates and the end of the second heat transfer portion of the other heat conduction plate in contact with each other (weld seam 8 at upper side of the tube joining the first heat transfer portion of right side profile member 2 and the second heat transfer portion of left side profile member 2) and by welding the end of the second heat transfer portion of the one heat conduction plate and the end of the first heat transfer portion of the other heat conduction plate in contact with each other (weld seam 8 at lower side of the tube joining the first heat transfer portion of left side profile member 2 and the second heat transfer portion of right side profile member 2);
a second passage through which a second fluid passes is formed (another of the gas or water, page 1, lines 59-65, flowing outside the tube in Fig. 5); and
wherein heat exchange occurs between the first fluid passing through the first passage and the second fluid passing through the second passage without physical contact (the heat exchanging gas and water in the boiler of Ljungberg, for example, do not make physical contact).
Ljungberg fails to disclose wherein each of the heat conduction plates has a pair of flange portions bent at both side edges;
wherein the plurality of heat transfer shells are stacked in multiple layers by welding the pair of flange portions of the heat conduction plate provided in the heat transfer shell and the pair of flange portions of the other heat conduction plate provided in the other heat transfer shell, whereby a second passage through which a second fluid passes is formed between the adjacent heat transfer shells to intersect the first passage.
Lamich discloses wherein each of the heat conduction plates has a pair of flange portions (a pair of second flare portion 34, one provided to an end of the tube 22 shown in Fig. 6, and another one provided to a distal end of the tube 22, see also paragraph 0038. Each second flare portion 34 includes parts 22a and 22b shown in Fig. 6) bent (flared) at both side edges (at distal ends of the tubes 22);
wherein the plurality of heat transfer shells (flat tubes 22) are stacked in multiple layers (a stack of tubes 22 in Figs. 1 and 4) by welding the pair of flange portions of the heat conduction plate provided in the heat transfer shell and the pair of flange portions of the other heat conduction plate provided in the other heat transfer shell (the pair of second flare portions 34 of one tube 22 is joined to the pair of second flare portions 34 of another tube 22 at their respective end. Also noted that “by welding” is product-by-process limitation, and the particular structure of “welding” may be a joined structure), whereby a second passage (spacing between adjacent tubes 22) through which a second fluid passes (a fluid inherently passes between the tubes 22 to perform heat exchange with a fluid within the tubes 22) is formed between the adjacent heat transfer shells to intersect the first passage (the spacing is located between adjacent tubes 22, and the direction of the fluid in the spacing intersects the direction of the fluid within the tubes 22).
Therefore, the boiler/heat exchanger of Ljungberg may be provided with the stacked arrangement of the tubes as taught by Lamich. Also, each distal end in each tube in Ljungberg may be provided a second flare portion 34. The respective second flare portions 34 at respective ends of adjacent tubes stack together to form the second passage (between the tubes) as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided
wherein each of the heat conduction plates has a pair of flange portions bent at both side edges;
wherein the plurality of heat transfer shells are stacked in multiple layers by welding both side flange portions of the heat conduction plate provided in the heat transfer shell and both side flange portions of the other heat conduction plate provided in the other heat transfer shell, whereby a second passage through which a second fluid passes is formed between the adjacent heat transfer shells to intersect the first passage in Ljungberg as taught by Lamich in order to connect headers/manifolds at each end of the tubes to supply/receive a heat exchange fluid to/from the tubes; and to define a second passage for passage of a second fluid between the tubes so that performs a heat exchange with the fluid within the tubes.
Regarding claim 2, Ljungberg as modified further discloses wherein the bending portion includes a first bending portion having an arc-shaped cross-section (corners of the bending portion in the annotated figure above are arc shaped), which connects the first heat transfer portion and the second heat transfer portion to each other (the bending portion connect the first and second heat transfer portions), and a second bending portion having a plate shape (flat pieces at “34” and “38” in Fig. 6 of Lamich between parts 22a and 22b of the second flare portions 34), which connects the pair of flange portions of the heat conduction plate and the pair of flange portions of the other heat conduction plate (the flat pieces connect to respective second flare portions 34 in the tubes).
Regarding claim 3, Ljungberg as modified further discloses wherein the pair of heat conduction plates in which a heat transfer area of the first heat transfer portion is different from that of the second heat transfer portion (the first heat transfer portion is shorter than the entire second heat transfer portion shown in Fig. 5. Thus, the heat transfer areas of the portions are at least different in the cross-section view in Fig. 5); and
a plurality of spacing bars (walls 9) that maintain a constant gap formed between the first and second heat transfer portions having different heat transfer areas and facing each other (the walls maintain the height between the first and second heat transfer portions, and the first and second heat transfer portions face each other).
Regarding claim 5, Ljungberg as modified further discloses wherein the pair of heat conduction plates in which a heat transfer area of the first heat transfer portion is the same as that of the second heat transfer portion (the longer second heat transfer portion may include a heat transfer area which is the same as the entire area of the shorter first heat transfer portion, see shaded area in annotated figure below); and
a plurality of spacing bars (walls 9) that maintain a constant gap formed between the first and second heat transfer portions having the same heat transfer areas and facing each other (the walls maintain the height between the first and second heat transfer portions having the same area, and the first and second heat transfer portions face each other).
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljungberg (GB 1203303 A) in view of Lamich (US PGPub No. 2002/0108742) as applied to claim 3 or 5 above, and further in view of Ueki (JP 2017-058065 A).
Regarding claim 4, Ljungberg in claim 3 further discloses wherein the plurality of spacing bars include a first spacing bar (the wall 9 on left side) in which one side thereof is welded and connected to a joint area where the respective ends of the first and second heat transfer portions having different heat transfer areas are welded and connected in contact with each other (bend side of the wall 9 is joined to the weld 8 and ends of the first and second heat transfer portions having different lengths. Also noted that “is welded” is a product-by-process limitation, and the particular structure “is welded” is a joined structure); and a second spacing bar (the wall 9 on right side).
Ljungberg fails to disclose wherein the other side is welded and connected to a heat transfer portion corresponding to the joint area; and a second spacing bar in which both sides thereof are welded and connected in contact with the heat transfer portions facing each other.
Ueki discloses an end of spacing bar (partition part 4) is welded and connected to a heat transfer portion (the partition part 4 is welded and connected at weld 13 and brazed joint 1 to flat surface 3 of the tube 15, see Figs. 3 and 4. Also noted that “is welded” is a product-by-process limitation, and the particular structure “is welded” is a joined structure).
Based on the teaching of Ueki, the unjointed ends of the two walls 9 and the “second heat transfer portion” in annotated figure above may be welded and connected together. As a result, the other side (the end of the wall 9 on left side opposite to the weld 8) is welded and connected to a heat transfer portion corresponding to the joint area (joined and connected to the “second heat transfer portion” opposite to the weld 8. The opposition is a correspondence to the weld 8, and the recited “a heat transfer portion” is understood as one of the first and second transfer portions); and a second spacing bar (the another one of the walls 9 on right side) in which both sides thereof (the two ends of the wall 9) are welded and connected in contact with the heat transfer portions facing each other (the wall 9 on right side has an end welded at weld 8 and another end welded to another “second heat transfer portion” so that they are in contact with the first and second transfer portions facing each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the other side is welded and connected to a heat transfer portion corresponding to the joint area; and a second spacing bar in which both sides thereof are welded and connected in contact with the heat transfer portions facing each other in Ljungberg as taught by Ueki in order to allow the tube to be also resistant to an internal pressure of the fluid flowing within the tubes.
Regarding claim 6, Ljungberg in claim 5 further discloses wherein the plurality of spacing bars include a first spacing bar (the wall 9 on left side) in which one side thereof (an end of the wall 9 on left side at weld 8) is welded and connected to a joint area (at the weld 8) where the respective ends of the first and second heat transfer portions having the same heat transfer area are welded and connected in contact with each other (the weld 8 is at the joint between the first heat transfer portion and a portion of the second heat transfer portion having the same area as the first heat transfer portion); and a second spacing bar (the wall 9 on right side).
Ljungberg fails to disclose a first spacing bar in which both sides thereof are welded and connected to joint areas where the respective ends of the first and second heat transfer portions having the same heat transfer area are welded and connected in contact with each other; and a second spacing bar in which both sides thereof are welded and connected in contact with the first and second heat transfer portions facing each other.
As noted above, Ueki discloses an end of spacing bar (partition part 4) is welded and connected to a heat transfer portion (the partition part 4 is welded and connected at weld 13 and brazed joint 1 to flat surface 3 of the tube 15, see Figs. 3 and 4. Also noted that “is welded” is a product-by-process limitation, and the particular structure “is welded” is a joined structure).
Similar to claim 4 above, the unjointed ends of the two walls 9 and the “second heat transfer portion” in annotated figure above may be welded and connected together in view of Ueki. As a result, the other side (the end of the wall 9 on left side opposite to the weld 8 on left side) is welded and connected (through the “second heat transfer portion”) to a joint area where the respective ends of the first and second heat transfer portions having the same heat transfer area are welded and connected in contact with each other (at another weld 8 on right side, and the modified end of wall 9 is welded and connected to the another weld 8 on right side through the “second heat transfer portion”); and a second spacing bar (the wall 9 on right side) in which both sides thereof (the two ends of the wall 9) are welded and connected in contact with the heat transfer portions facing each other (the wall 9 on right side has an end welded at weld 8 and another end welded to another “second heat transfer portion” so that they are in contact with the first and second transfer portions facing each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a first spacing bar in which both sides thereof are welded and connected to joint areas where the respective ends of the first and second heat transfer portions having the same heat transfer area are welded and connected in contact with each other; and a second spacing bar in which both sides thereof are welded and connected in contact with the first and second heat transfer portions facing each other in Ljungberg as taught by Ueki in order to allow the tube to be also resistant to an internal pressure of the fluid flowing within the tubes.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljungberg (GB 1203303 A) in view of Lamich (US PGPub No. 2002/0108742) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dinolescu (US Patent No. 9,273,907).
Regarding claim 7, Ljungberg as modified fails to disclose wherein the heat exchanger includes a plurality of vertical frames located at each corner of the heat transfer assembly, an upper frame fixed to each upper end of the plurality of vertical frames so that its lower surface is in contact with the uppermost heat transfer shell among the plurality of stacked heat transfer shells, a lower frame fixed to each lower end of the plurality of vertical frames so that its upper surface is in contact with the lowest heat transfer shell among the plurality of stacked heat transfer shells, and a plurality of stopper bars that are fixed to one side of each of the plurality of vertical frames corresponding to the flange portion of the heat conduction plate to come into contact with the end of the flange portion.
Dinolescu discloses wherein the heat exchanger (Fig. 1) includes a plurality of vertical frames located at each corner of the heat transfer assembly (corner beams 108), an upper frame (upper panel 106) fixed to each upper end of the plurality of vertical frames (fixed to upper end of corner beams 108 through connection members 108) so that its lower surface is in contact with the uppermost heat transfer shell among the plurality of stacked heat transfer shells (the lower surface of the upper panel 106 connects to upper end heat exchange plate 114, at least through upper flat portions 210, see Figs. 3a and 3b), a lower frame (upper panel 106) fixed to each lower end of the plurality of vertical frames (fixed to lower end of corner beams 108 through connection members 118) so that its upper surface is in contact with the lowest heat transfer shell among the plurality of stacked heat transfer shells (the upper surface of the lower panel 106 connects to lower end heat exchange plate 114, at least through lower flat portions 210, see Figs. 3a and 3b), and a plurality of stopper bars (seals 134) that are fixed to one side of each of the plurality of vertical frames (fixed to corner beams 108, see Fig. 1)
Lamich further discloses a plurality of stopper bars (connecting edges 27 of tank 25 Figs. 1-3) corresponding to the flange portions of the heat conduction plates to come into contact with the end of the flange portion (connecting edges 27 contact each end of the flange portions 34 or 38 of each tube 22).
Therefore, the modified tubes in Ljungberg may be provided within the box structure having the upper panel 106, the lower panel 106 and corner beams 108 as taught by Dinolescu. Further, each flared end 34 of the modified tubes in Ljungberg may be provided with connecting edges 27 as taught by Lamich that close openings defined by cuts 38 on lateral sides of the modified tubes. Finally, the connecting edges 27 may extend to connect the corner beams 108 in the box structure in the same manner as the seal 134 disclosed in Dinolescu so that a fluid may only be directed into inside of the stacked tubes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the heat exchanger includes a plurality of vertical frames located at each corner of the heat transfer assembly, an upper frame fixed to each upper end of the plurality of vertical frames so that its lower surface is in contact with the uppermost heat transfer shell among the plurality of stacked heat transfer shells, a lower frame fixed to each lower end of the plurality of vertical frames so that its upper surface is in contact with the lowest heat transfer shell among the plurality of stacked heat transfer shells, and a plurality of stopper bars that are fixed to one side of each of the plurality of vertical frames corresponding to the flange portion of the heat conduction plate to come into contact with the end of the flange portion in Ljungberg as taught by Dinolescu and Lamich in order to define manifolds or headers for directing a first fluid flow into/from inside the tubes; and to define manifolds or headers for directing a second fluid flow between the tubes.
Regarding claim 8, Ljungberg as modified in claim 7 further discloses wherein the heat exchanger includes at least one sealing material (the seals 134 in Dinolescu or the equivalent seal materials extended from connecting edges 27 of Lamich to corner beams 108 of Dinolescu) which is interposed between each other side of the plurality of vertical frames (the seals 134 are provided at sides of the corner beams 108 facing each other see Fig. 1 of Dinolescu) corresponding to a second bending portion formed at both ends of the bending portion (the seals 134 extend from the flat pieces at “34” and “38” in Fig. 6 of Lamich between parts 22a and 22b), and the second bending portion formed in a flat plate shape (the flat pieces between the parts 22a and 22b are flat).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueki (JP 2007-058065 A) in view of Lamich (US PGPub No. 2002/0108742).
Regarding claim 15, Ueki discloses a plate-type heat exchanger comprising a heat transfer assembly (a heat exchanger having an assembly of flattened tubes inserted into a tube plate, paragraphs 0029 and 0030), wherein the heat transfer assembly includes a plurality of heat transfer shells (flattened tubes, see one tube in Fig. 1b), wherein each of the heat transfer shells include:
first and second substantially identical heat conduction plates (identical shaped plates 2); the first plate having a long section (see annotated figure below) with a first inner edge (an edge of the long section at an inner side of the joint 8) and a shorter section (see annotated figure below) with a second edge (an edge of the short section at an outer side of the joint 8), the long section and short section being connected by an outer bent portion (a curved portion 6), the second plate having a long section (a long section of another identical plate 2, see annotated figure below) with a first inner edge (an edge of the long section at an inner side of the joint 8 of the another identical plate 2) and a shorter section with a second edge (an edge of the short section at an outer side of the joint 8 of the another identical plate 2), the long section and short section being connected by an outer bent portion (a curved portion 6 of the another identical plate 2),
the second plate being rotated (the another identical plate 2 rotated 180 degrees with respected to the identical plate 2) such that the first inner edge of the longer section (the edge of the long section of the another identical plate 2) abuts the second edge of the shorter section of the first plate (abuts the edge of the short section of the identical plate 2), and such that the second edge of the shorter section (the edge of the short section of the another identical plate 2) abuts the first inner edge of the first plate (abuts the edge of the long section of the identical plate 2);
spacer bars (partition 4) running transversely between opposing faces of the first plate and second plate (between opposing faces of the plates 2); and
weld holes (slit 5) in at least one of the plates (in both plates 2) providing access for welding the plates to the spacer bars (for brazing material to penetrate through or laser weld 13, see Fig. 4, “welding” may be defined as to unite pieces together but does not necessary means to unite pieces by heating and melting materials).
Ueki fails to explicitly disclose wherein the heat transfer assembly includes a plurality of heat transfer shells stacked in multiple layers.
Lamich discloses wherein the heat transfer assembly includes a plurality of heat transfer shells (flat tubes 22) stacked in multiple layers (a stack of tubes 22 in Figs. 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the heat transfer assembly includes a plurality of heat transfer shells stacked in multiple layers in Ueki as taught by Lamich in order to define a passage between the tubes so that performs a heat exchange with the fluid within the tubes.
Regarding claim 16, Ueki as modified in claim 15, as best understood, further discloses wherein a first section of the plates is longer than a second section of the plates (see Fig. 2D, for example, a first section of the identical plates 2 between two partitions 4 is longer than a second section of the identical plates 2 between reference numerals 10 and 12).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljungberg (GB 1203303 A) in view of Lamich (US PGPub No. 2002/0108742) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueki (JP 2007-058065 A).
Regarding claim 17, Ljungberg fails to disclose weld holes in at least one of the heat conduction plates providing access for welding the heat conduction plates to the spacer bars.
Ueki discloses weld holes (slit 5) in at least one of the plates (in both plates 2) providing access for welding the plates to the spacer bars (for brazing material to penetrate through or laser weld 13, see Fig. 4, “welding” may be defined as to unite pieces together but does not necessary means to unite pieces by heating and melting materials).
Therefore, the section of a plate 2 in contact with a partition 9 of another plate 2 may be provided with weld holes or slits 5 along a contact line of the plate 2 and the partition 9 for access of the brazing material or laser weld 13 along the slit 5. It is expected that the tube strength against fluid pressure is increased due to the fixation of the partition 9 and the plate 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided weld holes in at least one of the heat conduction plates providing access for welding the heat conduction plates to the spacer bars in Ljungberg as taught by Ueki in order to fix the partition 9 and the plate 2 for increased fluid pressure resistance dependent upon different applications of the heat exchanger.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (Ueki, JP 2007-058065 A).
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that claim 1 calls for the plates to have bent portion defining two separate sections in which opposing edges of the plates are welded together (pages 9 and 10 of remarks), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., opposing edges of the plates are welded together, the edges may be terminal edges of respective plate, shown in Fig. 3 in the application) are not recited in the rejected claim 1.
The only relevant portion of the claim is: “wherein the heat transfer shell includes a first passage, through which a first fluid passes, formed by welding the end of the first heat transfer portion of one of the pair of heat conduction plates and the end of the second heat transfer portion of the other heat conduction plate in contact with each other and by welding the end of the second heat transfer portion of the one heat conduction plate and the end of the first heat transfer portion of the other heat conduction plate in contact with each other”. Since “end” may be any end or edge portion at any section of the plate, as noted in the rejection above, Ljungberg discloses a weld 8 connects a corner end of the second heat transfer portion and a terminal end of the first heat transfer portion.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Ljungberg in view of Lamich fails to disclose two intersecting and isolated flow paths in claim 1, the tubes of Ljungberg are arranged by a stacking the tubes as taught by Lamich; and the distal ends of the tube are flared as taught by Lamich so that a spacing between the tube is defined for a second flow outside the tubes. The annotated figure 11 of Lamich shows a flow inside tubes and a flow between the tubes are intersecting and isolated flows. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the tube ends of Ljungberg and stack the tubes as taught by Lamich in order to supply/receive a heat exchange fluid to/from the tubes; and to define a second passage for a second fluid between the tubes to perform a heat exchange with the fluid flowing within the tubes.
In response to applicant's argument that Ljungberg fails to disclose 2 essentially identical heat exchanger plates (page 15 of remarks), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., identical heat exchanger plates) are not recited in the rejected claim 1. Also, as evidenced in Fig. 5 of Ljungberg, the tube has two identical plates 2 with the same reference number. Based on the context on page 2, lines 121-130 of Ljungberg, plates 2 are respectively two G sectioned members provided to form the embodiment in Fig. 5. Therefore, the plates 2 are identical having the same size and the same G profile.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763