DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein the metal pattern and the metal oxide pattern comprise a same metallic material, and
wherein the metallic material comprises at least one selected from Ti, Ta, W, Al, Cu, and In”, as recited in claim 2.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein the metal oxide pattern further comprises nitrogen (N)”, as recited in claim 3.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein the metal oxide pattern comprises at least one selected from TiOx, TiON, and ITO”, as recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. 2022/0293651 A1, hereinafter refer to Chen).
Regarding Claim 1: Chen discloses an image sensor (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown below and ¶ [0035]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (304) comprising pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a fence structure (324/326/328/330) that defines openings corresponding to the pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above), wherein the fence structure (324/326/328/330) comprises:
a metal pattern (324/326) on the semiconductor substrate (304) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]);
a low-refractive pattern (330) on the metal pattern (324/326) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0052]); and
a metal oxide pattern (328/ hafnium oxide (e.g., hafnium dioxide (HfO.sub.2)) between the metal pattern (324/326) and the low-refractive pattern (330) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4: Chen discloses an image sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. Chen further teaches wherein a thickness of the metal oxide pattern (328/ hafnium oxide (e.g., hafnium dioxide (HfO.sub.2)) is less than a thickness of the metal pattern (324/326) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]).
Regarding Claim 6: Chen discloses an image sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. Chen further teaches wherein the metal pattern comprises at least one selected from TiN, TaN, Ti, Ta, Al, W, Cu, and ITO (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]).
Regarding Claim 11: Chen discloses an image sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. Chen further teaches wherein a photoelectric conversion region (306) provided in the semiconductor substrate (304) on each of the pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a pixel isolation structure (308) in the semiconductor substrate (304) and defining each of the pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above),
wherein the fence structure (324/326/328/330) overlaps the pixel isolation structure (308) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 12: Chen discloses an image sensor (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0035]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (304) comprising pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a fence structure (324/326/328/330) that defines openings that correspond to the pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above), wherein the fence structure (324/326/328/330) comprises:
a barrier pattern (328/326) on the semiconductor substrate (304) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a low-refractive pattern (330) on the barrier pattern (328/326) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above),
wherein the barrier pattern (328/326) comprises metal and oxygen (328/ hafnium oxide (e.g., hafnium dioxide (HfO.sub.2)) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0052]),
wherein the barrier pattern (328/326) comprises:
a lower portion adjacent to the semiconductor substrate (304) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
an upper portion adjacent to the low-refractive pattern (330) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above), and
wherein an oxygen concentration of the upper portion of the barrier pattern (328) is greater than an oxygen concentration of the lower portion of the barrier pattern (326) (note: lower portion of the barrier pattern is indirect contact with metal layer and the upper portion of the barrier layer is in direct contact with silicon oxynitride (SiON) layer. Hence, ordinary skill in the art recognize that the upper portion of the barrier pattern to have greater than an oxygen concentration of the lower portion of the barrier pattern) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0052]).
Note: the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical materials, since a prima facie case of either anticipation has been established for the oxygen concentration of the barrier pattern at the lower and upper surface.
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s property, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 13: Chen discloses an image sensor as set forth in claim 12 as above. Chen further teaches wherein a transmittance in the upper portion of the barrier pattern (328) is greater than a transmittance in the lower portion of the barrier pattern (326) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0052]).
Note: the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical materials, since a prima facie case of either anticipation has been established for the oxygen concentration of the barrier pattern at the lower and upper surface.
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s property, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 14: Chen discloses an image sensor as set forth in claim 12 as above. Chen further teaches wherein the lower portion of the barrier pattern (326) is oxygen free (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]).
Regarding Claim 15: Chen discloses an image sensor as set forth in claim 12 as above. Chen further teaches wherein the barrier pattern (324/326/328) further comprises nitrogen (N) (titanium nitride (TiN)) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]).
Regarding Claim 16: Chen discloses an image sensor as set forth in claim 12 as above. Chen further teaches wherein the metal (326) in the barrier pattern (326/328) comprises at least one selected from Ti, Ta, W, Al, Cu, and In (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2022/0293651 A1, hereinafter refer to Chen).
Regarding Claims 5, 8, and 9: Chen discloses an image sensor as applied to claim 1 above. Chen further teaches wherein a sum of a thickness of the metal pattern and a thickness of the metal oxide pattern (328/ hafnium oxide (e.g., hafnium dioxide (HfO.sub.2)) is in a range from about 40 Å to about 100 Å (approximately 600 angstroms) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]) (as claimed in claim 5);
wherein the metal pattern (324/326) has a thickness from about 30 Å to about 60 Å (approximately 2000 angstroms) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]) (as claimed in claim 8);
wherein the metal oxide pattern (328/ hafnium oxide (e.g., hafnium dioxide (HfO.sub.2)) has a thickness from about 30 Å to about 60 Å (approximately 600 angstroms) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]) (as claimed in claim 9).
Chen teaches a larger thickness of metal oxide pattern and metal pattern as shown above; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the thickness of metal oxide pattern and metal pattern through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired thickness and device performance because the thickness of metal oxide pattern and metal pattern is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2022/0293651 A1, hereinafter refer to Chen) as applied to claims 1, 12, and 18 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (U.S. 2020/0119072 A1, hereinafter refer to Lim).
Regarding Claim 10: Chen discloses an image sensor as applied to claim 1 above. Chen further teaches wherein color filters (332) provided in corresponding openings of the fence structure (324/326/328/330) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a protection layer (334) that covers sidewalls of the fence structure (324/326/328/330) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above).
Lim is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a protection layer that covers sidewalls of the fence structure and covers bottom surfaces of the color filters.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed protection layer were known to cover sidewalls of the fence structure and covers bottom surfaces of the color filters in order to reduce or prevent dispersion degradation of the color filter.
For support see Lim, which teaches wherein a protection layer (50) that covers sidewalls of the fence structure (41/42) and covers bottom surfaces of the color filters (CF) (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown below and ¶ [0029]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Lim to enable the Chen’s protection layer to cover sidewalls of the fence structure and covers bottom surfaces of the color filters as taught by Lim in order to reduce or prevent dispersion degradation of the color filter.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2022/0293651 A1, hereinafter refer to Chen).
Regarding Claim 17: Chen discloses an image sensor as applied to claim 12 above. Chen further teaches wherein the barrier pattern (324/326/328) has a thickness from about 40 Å to about 100 Å (approximately 2600 angstroms) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]).
Chen teaches a larger thickness of barrier pattern as shown above; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the thickness of barrier pattern through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired thickness and device performance because the thickness of barrier pattern is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2022/0293651 A1, hereinafter refer to Chen) in view of Lim et al. (U.S. 2020/0119072 A1, hereinafter refer to Lim).
Regarding Claim 18: Chen discloses an image sensor (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0035]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (304) comprising: a first surface; a second surface opposite to the first surface (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above);
a light-receiving area (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a pixel isolation structure (308) in the semiconductor substrate (304) on the light-receiving area, the pixel isolation structure (308) defining a plurality of pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above);
a plurality of photoelectric conversion regions (306) in the semiconductor substrate (304) of the pixel regions (302) on the light-receiving area (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above);
a plurality of microlenses (336) on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate (304), each of the plurality of microlenses (336) being provided on a corresponding one of the plurality of pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above);
a plurality of color filters (332) between the microlenses (336) and the second surface of the semiconductor substrate (304), each of the plurality of color filters (332) being provided on a corresponding one of the plurality of pixel regions (302) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above);
an antireflection layer (312/316/318/320) between the plurality of color filters (336) and the second surface of the semiconductor substrate (304) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a fence structure (324/326/328/330) on the antireflection layer (312/316/318/320) and between neighboring ones of the plurality of color filters (332) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]), wherein the fence structure (324/326/328/330) comprises:
a barrier pattern (324/326) on the antireflection layer (312/316/318/320) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a low-refractive pattern (330) on the barrier pattern (324/326), and wherein the barrier pattern (324/326) comprises: a metal pattern (324/326) on the antireflection layer (312/316/318/320) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]); and
a metal oxide pattern (328/ hafnium oxide (e.g., hafnium dioxide (HfO.sub.2)) between the metal pattern and the low-refractive pattern (330) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]).
Chen is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a semiconductor substrate comprising: a light-shielding area;
a pixel isolation structure in the semiconductor substrate on the light-shielding area;
a plurality of photoelectric conversion regions in the semiconductor substrate of the pixel regions the light-shielding area.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed semiconductor substrate were known to comprise: a light-receiving area and a light-shielding area, wherein a pixel isolation structure in the semiconductor substrate on the light-receiving area and the light-shielding area and a plurality of photoelectric conversion regions in the semiconductor substrate of the pixel regions on the light-receiving area and the light-shielding area in order to obtain an image sensor having improved sensitivity.
For support see Lim, which teaches wherein a semiconductor substrate (10) (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0005]) comprising:
a light-receiving area (PIX); and a light-shielding area (OB) (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0005]);
a pixel isolation structure (13) in the semiconductor substrate (10) on the light-receiving area (PIX) and the light-shielding area (OB) (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0005]),
a plurality of photoelectric conversion regions (PD) in the semiconductor substrate (10) of the pixel regions on the light-receiving area (PIX) and the light-shielding area (OB) (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Lim to enable the Chen’s semiconductor substrate to comprise the light-receiving area and the light-shielding area, wherein the pixel isolation structure in the semiconductor substrate on the light-receiving area and the light-shielding area and the plurality of photoelectric conversion regions in the semiconductor substrate of the pixel regions on the light-receiving area and the light-shielding area as taught by Lim in order to obtain an image sensor having improved sensitivity.
Regarding Claim 19: Chen as modified teaches an image sensor as set forth in claim 18 above. The combination of Chen and Lim further teaches wherein a light-shielding pattern on the antireflection layer on the light-shielding area, wherein the light-shielding pattern (47) overlaps the photoelectric conversion region (pd) on the light-shielding area (OB) (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown above), and
wherein the light-shielding pattern (47) and the barrier pattern (41/42) comprise a same material (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0054]).
Regarding Claim 20: Chen as modified teaches an image sensor as set forth in claim 18 above. The combination of Chen and Lim further teaches wherein the barrier pattern (41a) and the light-shielding pattern (47a) comprise metal and oxygen (lanthanum oxide (LaO)) (see Lim, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0054]),
wherein the barrier pattern (324/326/328) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]) comprises:
a lower portion adjacent to the semiconductor substrate (304) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]); and
an upper portion adjacent to the low-refractive pattern (330), and wherein an oxygen concentration of the upper portion of the barrier pattern (328) is greater than an oxygen concentration of the lower portion of the barrier pattern (324/326) (see Chen, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812