DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an amendment filed 2/6/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires having a greater number of nanowires than the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires” and “the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires having a bottommost semiconductor nanowire below a semiconductor bottommost nanowire of the second arrangement of nanowires” in combination with “the first and second vertical arrangements of semiconductor nanowires having uppermost semiconductor nanowires in a same horizontal plane” (from at least claims 1 and 14) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 14 state “the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires having a bottommost semiconductor nanowire below a bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires”. The subject matter of claims 1 and 14 generally appears to coincide with the Fig. 7(e) of the Drawings its associated text from the Specification since only Fig. 7 illustrates at least two vertical arrangements of nanowires having uppermost semiconductor nanowires “at a same level”. However, paragraph [0107] of the Specification discloses “The first and second vertical arrangements of nanowires have co-planar uppermost nanowires and co-planar bottommost nanowires.” Therefore, it is unclear how the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires has a bottommost nanowire below a bottommost nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires when the Specification states when the first and second vertical arrangements of nanowires have co-planar uppermost semiconductor nanowires, they also have co-planar bottommost nanowires. Said another way, if the bottommost nanowires are co-planar according to paragraph [0107], how can the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires have a bottommost semiconductor nanowire below a bottommost nanowire of the second arrangement of nanowires, as required by claims 1 and 14?
Claims 3-13 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections based on their dependencies on claim 1. Claims 15-20 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections based on their dependencies on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an integrated circuit structure, comprising:
A first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) and a second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) above a substrate (102, Fig. 1J), the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) having a greater number of semiconductor nanowires than the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J), the first (123, Fig. 1J) and second (125, Fig. 1J) vertical arrangements of semiconductor nanowires having uppermost semiconductor nanowires in a same horizontal plane, and the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) having a bottommost semiconductor nanowire below a bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) ([0021]);
An oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) vertically beneath the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J), wherein the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is vertically overlapping with the oxide structure along a vertical axis ([0035]: “like the gate structure 124, gate structure 128 may include an interfacial layer, a high-k dielectric layer, and a metal gate layer” in conjunction with [0019]: “interfacial layer may wrap around and contact each side of the elongated semiconductor materials” and “the interfacial layer may include an oxide-containing material….”) and the oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) is in a same horizontal plane as the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (since the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires 125 at least partially laterally overlaps the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors 123, an interfacial layer contacting each side of the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires 125 would necessarily be partially in at least a same horizontal plane as a portion of the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors 123);
A first gate stack (124, Fig. 1J) over the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) ([0027]); and
A second gate stack (128, Fig. 1J) over the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) and over the oxide structure ([0034]-[0035], [0019]; though not illustrated, the interfacial layer of the second gate stack is formed like the first gate stack ([0035]), wherein the interfacial layer is formed first and wraps arounds and contacts each side of the elongated semiconductor materials ([0019]) and wherein the metal gate layer wraps around each side of the elongated semiconductor features ([0034]). If the metal gate layer [of the second gate stack] wraps around each side of the elongated semiconductor features, wherein the interfacial layer wraps around and contacts each side of the elongated semiconductor features but is formed first, then the metal gate layer would necessarily wrap around and be over and contact each side of the interfacial layer).
Alternatively, assuming arguendo that the description in Lee does not implicitly illustrate the oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) vertically beneath the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires wherein the bottom nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is vertically overlapping with the oxide structure along a vertical axis, and the oxide structure is in a same horizontal plane as the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires, Hung discloses an oxide structure (260, Fig. 25) vertically beneath (portion of 260 under 216, Fig. 25) the bottommost semiconductor nanowire (bottommost 216, Fig. 25) of an arrangement of semiconductor nanowires. Hung further discloses a gate stack (290, Fig. 25) over the vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (216, Fig. 25) and over the oxide structure (260, Fig. 25). This has the advantage of enhanced gate control and reduced leakage current.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lee with the oxide structure such that the second gate stack is over and around the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires and over and around the oxide structure, as taught by Hung, so as to enhance gate control and reduce leakage current.
As to the limitation the oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) is in a same horizontal plane as the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires, since according to Lee the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (Lee: 125, Fig. 1J) at least partially laterally overlaps the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors (Lee: 123, Fig. 1J), an interfacial layer, as taught by Hung, contacting each side of the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires would necessarily be partially in at least a same horizontal plane as a portion of the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) is over a first fin (vertically protruding portion of 102 under 223, Fig. 1J), and the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) is over a second fin (vertically protruding portion of 102 under 225, Fig. 1J).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the first (124, Fig. 1J) and second (128, Fig. 1J) gate stacks each comprise a high-k gate dielectric layer and a metal gate electrode ([0029], [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) or Lee (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (U.S. 2014/0151638 A1; “Chang”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) have a horizontal width and the nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) have a horizontal width ([0026], [0033]). Yet, Lee does not explicitly disclose the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is same as the horizontal width of the nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires. However, Chang discloses a horizontal width of semiconductor nanowires of a first vertical arrangement of nanowires is the same as the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of a second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires ([0081]). This has the advantage of increasing uniformity of the overall device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lee or Lee in view of Hung with a horizontal width of semiconductor nanowires of a first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is the same as the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of a second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires, as taught by Chang, so as to increase uniformity of the overall device.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) or Lee (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 4, Lee discloses the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) have a horizontal width and the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) have a horizontal width ([0026], [0033]). Lee further discloses the horizontal widths of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires and the horizontals widths of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires may differ from each other ([0026], [0033]). Yet, Lee does not explicitly disclose the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is greater than the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions to differ the horizontal widths between the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires and the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires: either the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is greater than the horizontal width of the nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires; or, the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of nanowires is less than the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires. Thus, it would have been obvious to select dimensions such that the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is greater than the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires since it has been held that it is obvious to try from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 5, Lee discloses the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) have a horizontal width and the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) have a horizontal width ([0026], [0033]). Lee further discloses the horizontal widths of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires and the semiconductor horizontals widths of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires may differ from each other ([0026], [0033]). Yet, Lee does not explicitly disclose the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is less than the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions to differ the horizontal widths between the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires and the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires: either the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is greater than the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires; or, the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is less than the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires. Thus, it would have been obvious to select dimensions such that the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is less than the horizontal width of the semiconductor nanowires of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires since it has been held that it is obvious to try from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) or Lee (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ching et al. (U.S. 2017/0141112 A1; “Ching”).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Lee discloses first source or drain structures at ends of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires and second source or drain structures at ends of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires ([0024]) but does not disclose the first source or drain structures and the second source or drain structures are epitaxially formed. However, Ching discloses non-discrete source or drain structures (835, Fig. 18B) at ends of a vertical arrangement of nanowire (316, Fig. 18B) which are epitaxially formed ([0045]). This has the advantage of forming high film quality source or drain structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lee or Lee in view of Hung with the source or drain structures at the ends of the semiconductor nanowires being epitaxial, as taught by Ching, so as to form high film quality source or drain structures.
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) or Lee (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) as modified by Ching et al. (U.S. 2017/0141112 A1; “Ching”) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Balakrishnan et al. (U.S. 9,837,414 B1; “Balakrishnan”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee and Ching disclose epitaxial source or drain structures (see claim 6 rejection above) but do not disclose they are discrete structures. However, Balakrishnan discloses discrete epitaxial source and drain structures (col 10, lines 23-35). This has the advantage of forming a stacked device which advantageously increases chip density. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Lee or Lee in view of Hung and Ching with the epitaxial source and drain structures comprising discrete structures, as taught by Balakrishnan, so as to increase chip density.
Regarding claim 10, Lee and Ching disclose epitaxial source or drain structures (see claim 6 rejection above) but do not disclose a pair of conductive contact structures coupled to the source or drain structures. However, Balakrishnan discloses a pair of conductive contact structures (86, 98, Fig. 17) coupled to source or drain structures (col 14, lines 13-16; col 15, lines 4-15). This has the advantage of forming electrical connections to the source and drain structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Lee or Lee and Hung and Ching with a pair of conductive contact structures, as taught by Balakrishnan, so as to form electrical connections to the source and drain structures.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) or Lee (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) as modified by Ching et al. (U.S. 2017/0141112 A1; “Ching”) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Bi et al. (U.S. 2018/0190545 A1; “Bi”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee and Ching disclose gate stacks (Lee: 124, 128, Fig. 1J; [0027], [0034]) but do not disclose the gate stacks each comprise dielectric sidewall spacers. However, Bi discloses a gate stack comprising dielectric sidewall spacers such that the source or drain structures extend beneath the dielectric sidewall spacers ([0027], [0036]). This has the advantage of reducing leakage current. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Lee or Lee in view of Hung and Ching with the first gate stack and the second gate stack each comprising dielectric sidewall spacers, as taught by Bi, so as to reduce leakage current.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) or Lee (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guha et al. (U.S. 2019/0393352 A1; “Guha”).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a first gate stack (124, Fig. 1J) and a second gate stack (128, Fig. 1J) ([0027], [0034]) but does not disclose a gate endcap isolation structure. However, Guha discloses a gate endcap isolation structure between and in contact with a first gate stack and a second gate stack ([0048], [0051]; Fig. 5(c)). This has the advantage of shrinking the transistor layout to increase chip density. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lee or Lee in view of Hung with a gate endcap isolation structure between and in contact with the first gate stack and the second gate stack, as taught by Guha, so as to increase chip density.
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) and Kim et al. (U.S. 2016/0211322 A1; “Kim”).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses an integrated circuit structure, comprising:
A first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) and a second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) above a substrate (102, Fig. 1J), the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) having a greater number of semiconductor nanowires than the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J), the first (123, Fig. 1J) and second (125, Fig. 1J) vertical arrangements of semiconductor nanowires having uppermost semiconductor nanowires in a same horizontal plane, and the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) having a bottommost semiconductor nanowire below a bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) ([0021]);
An oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) vertically beneath the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J), wherein the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is vertically overlapping with the oxide structure along a vertical axis ([0035]: “like the gate structure 124, gate structure 128 may include an interfacial layer, a high-k dielectric layer, and a metal gate layer” in conjunction with [0019]: “interfacial layer may wrap around and contact each side of the elongated semiconductor materials” and “the interfacial layer may include an oxide-containing material….”) and the oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) is in a same horizontal plane as the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (since the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires 125 at least partially laterally overlaps the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors 123, an interfacial layer contacting each side of the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires 125 would necessarily be partially in at least a same horizontal plane as a portion of the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors 123);
A first gate stack (124, Fig. 1J) over the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (123, Fig. 1J) ([0027]); and
A second gate stack (128, Fig. 1J) over the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (125, Fig. 1J) and over the oxide structure ([0034]-[0035], [0019]; though not illustrated, the interfacial layer of the second gate stack is formed like the first gate stack ([0035]), wherein the interfacial layer is formed first and wraps arounds and contacts each side of the elongated semiconductor materials ([0019]) and wherein the metal gate layer wraps around each side of the elongated semiconductor features ([0034]). If the metal gate layer [of the second gate stack] wraps around each side of the elongated semiconductor features, wherein the interfacial layer wraps around and contacts each side of the elongated semiconductor features but is formed first, then the metal gate layer would necessarily wrap around and be over and contact each side of the interfacial layer).
Alternatively, assuming arguendo that the description in Lee does not implicitly illustrate the oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) vertically beneath the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires wherein the bottom nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is vertically overlapping with the oxide structure along a vertical axis, and the oxide structure is in a same horizontal plane as the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires, Hung discloses an oxide structure (260, Fig. 25) vertically beneath (portion of 260 under 216, Fig. 25) the bottommost semiconductor nanowire (bottommost 216, Fig. 25) of an arrangement of semiconductor nanowires. Hung further discloses a gate stack (290, Fig. 25) over the vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (216, Fig. 25) and over the oxide structure (260, Fig. 25). This has the advantage of enhanced gate control and reduced leakage current.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lee with the oxide structure such that the second gate stack is over and around the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires and over and around the oxide structure, as taught by Hung, so as to enhance gate control and reduce leakage current.
As to the limitation the oxide structure (“interfacial layer”) is in a same horizontal plane as the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires, since according to Lee the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires (Lee: 125, Fig. 1J) at least partially laterally overlaps the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors (Lee: 123, Fig. 1J), an interfacial layer, as taught by Hung, contacting each side of the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second vertical arrangement of semiconductor nanowires would necessarily be partially in at least a same horizontal plane as a portion of the bottommost semiconductor of the first vertical arrangement of semiconductors.
Yet, Lee does not disclose the integrated circuit structure is incorporated into a component coupled to a board. However, Kim discloses disclose an integrated circuit structure is incorporated into a component coupled to a board ([0031]). This has the advantage of forming parts of a computing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lee with the integrated circuit incorporated into a component, as taught by Kim, so as to form a computing device.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a memory coupled to the board to form the computing device ([0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a communication chip coupled to the board to form the computing device ([0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a battery coupled to the board to form the computing device ([0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a camera coupled to the board to form the computing device ([0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the component is a packaged integrated circuit die ([0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the component is a processor ([0031], [0034]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 2-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Even with the new ground(s) of rejection, Examiner addresses Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 14 to correct a mischaracterization of Examiner’s previous interpretation and clarify Examiner’s current interpretation.
Claim 1 was and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”). Claim 14 was and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2017/0140933 A1; “Lee”) in view of Hung et al. (U.S. 2023/0065195 A1; “Hung”) and Kim et al. (U.S. 2016/0211322 A1; “Kim”).
Applicant states that claims 1 and 14 have been amended with the subject matter that the bottommost semiconductor nanowire of the second arrangement of semiconductor nanowires is “vertically overlapping” with the oxide structure along a vertical axis (Remarks, pp 10-12). Applicant argues that this feature is not taught by the Lee reference because Examiner has alleged that “a trench isolation structure 116 reads on Applicant’s claimed “oxide structure”” and the nanowire stacks 123 or 125 therefore do not “vertically overlap” with the oxide structure (Remarks, pp 10-13).
Examiner responds by pointing out that Applicant is incorrect as to Examiner’s characterization of the “oxide structure” as it pertains to the most recent Office Action (Non-Final Rejection, 11/10/25). In the most recent Office Action (Non-Final Rejection, 11/10/25), Examiner interpreted the interfacial layer described within Lee ([0035]) as reading on or correlating to Applicant’s “oxide structure” (pp 10). Furthermore, Examiner notes that in this Office Action, the “interfacial layer” of Lee is again interpreted as correlating to Applicant’s “oxide structure”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 4/22/2026