DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2023 and 12/01/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 3: “first substrate” should read --- first surface ---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the vertical electrode portion" in lines 1-2. There is both “a first vertical electrode portion” and “a second vertical electrode portion” introduced in claim 1 on which claim 6 depends, rendering it indefinite what “the vertical electrode portion” refers to in claim 6. Therefore, for Examination purposes, “the vertical electrode portion” in claim 6 has been interpreted as --- the first vertical electrode portion and the second vertical electrode portion --- However, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the vertical electrode portion and the electrode pad portion" in lines 1-2. There is both “a first pair of vertical electrode portions” and “a second pair of vertical electrode portions” introduced in claim 12 on which claim 15 depends, rendering it indefinite what “the vertical electrode portion” refers to in claim 15. Likewise, “a first electrode pad portion” and “a second electrode pad portion” are introduced in claim 12 on which claim 15 depends, rendering it indefinite what “the electrode pad portion” refers to in claim 15. Therefore, for Examination purposes, "the vertical electrode portion and the electrode pad portion" in claim 15 has been interpreted as --- the first and second pairs of vertical electrode portions and the first and second electrode pad portions, respectively, --- However, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zang (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/013088564A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zang teaches an image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] (see fig. 6 for top view; see fig. 12 for cross-sectional view) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (610) fig. 12 [0068] having first (top) and second (bottom) surfaces opposed to each other;
a photoelectric conversion region (comprising 640 (1-4)) fig. 6 [0042] in the semiconductor substrate (610);
a floating diffusion region (660) fig. 6 [0042] adjacent to the first (top) surface in the semiconductor substrate (610); and
a vertical transfer gate (680/1280) fig. 6/fig. 12 [0046, 0069] on the first (top) surface of the semiconductor substrate (610), and extending in a (vertical) direction perpendicular to the first (top) surface and connected to (electrically connected to for control of charge) [0042-0043] the photoelectric conversion region (640), and the vertical transfer gate (680/1280) transferring photocharges collected in the photoelectric conversion region (comprising 640 (1-4)) to the floating diffusion region (660) [0042-0043],
wherein the vertical transfer gate (680/1280) includes:
a first vertical electrode portion (left 1282) fig. 12 [0068] and a second vertical electrode portion (right 1282) fig. 12 [0068] extending from the first (top) surface of the semiconductor substrate (610) in the vertical direction, and connected (electrically connected to for control of charge) [0042-0043] to the photoelectric conversion region (comprising 640 (1-4)), respectively, and
an electrode pad portion (surface of 1270 for connections) fig. 12 [0068] on (directly-on) the first (top) surface of the semiconductor substrate (610), connected to the first (left 1282) and second (right 1282) vertical electrode portions (1282), and having a concave portion (CCP) (see annotated fig. 12 below) adjacent to the floating diffusion region (640).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (CCP)][AltContent: textbox (Inward-Indentation creates U-shaped portion of 1270 which is concave)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 12 of Zang
Regarding claim 2, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 1. Zang also teaches wherein the concave portion (CCP) (see annotated fig. 12 above) is located between (outer sidewall) portions of the electrode pad portion (surface of 1270 for connections) fig. 12 [0068] connected to the first (left 1282) fig. 12 [0068] and second (right 1282) fig. 12 [0068] vertical electrode portions.
Regarding claim 3, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 1. Zang also teaches wherein the vertical transfer gate (1280) fig. 12 [0046, 0069] further includes a transfer gate spacer (1275) fig. 12 [0069] along a side (bottom side) surface of the electrode pad portion (surface of 1270 for connections) on the first (top) surface of the semiconductor substrate (610) fig. 12 [0068].
Regarding claim 4, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 3. Zang also teaches wherein the transfer gate spacer (1275) fig. 12 [0069] includes a spacer extension portion (vertically-extending portion of 1275 laterally-surrounding 1282’s) extending into the semiconductor substrate (610) fig. 12 [0068] from the first (top) surface between the vertical transfer gate (1280) fig. 12 [0046, 0069] and the floating diffusion region (660) fig. 6 [0042] (because 1275 surrounds 1282, 1275 between 1282 and 660 of fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 4. Zang also teaches wherein the spacer extension portion (vertically-extending portion of 1275 laterally-surrounding 1282’s) has a portion extending along the (bottom of) concave portion (CCP of 1270) [see annotated fig. 12 above] in (within) plan view.
Regarding claim 6, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 1. Zang also teaches wherein the first (left 1282) fig. 12 [0068] and second (right 1282) vertical electrode portion and the electrode pad portion (surface of 1270 for connections) fig. 12 [0068] have an integrated structure (“integrally formed” [0068]) containing the same material (metal) [0068].
Regarding claim 7, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 1. Zang also teaches wherein the concave portion (CCP) [annotated fig. 12 above] includes a concave curved portion (CCP ‘portion’ defined with curved sidewalls, see annotated fig. 12 above) in (within) plan view.
Regarding claim 8, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 1. Zang also teaches wherein the electrode pad portion (surface of 1270 for connections) fig. 12 [0068] has a left-right symmetrical structure (right/left 638 representing underside of 1270 “mirror symmetric” over 626 plane) [see fig. 6, 0049] with respect to the concave portion (CCP) in plan view.
Regarding claim 9, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 1. Zang also teaches wherein the electrode pad portion (surface of 1270 for connections) fig. 12 [0068] has a left-right asymmetric structure (right/left 638 representing underside of 1270 asymmetric over B2-axis) [see fig. 6, 0045] with respect to the concave portion (CCP) in plan view (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 9. Zang also teaches wherein:
the floating diffusion region (660) fig. 6 [0042] is closer to the second vertical electrode portion (closer to inner side of right 1282 / 632 facing towards 660 in fig. 6) [0046] than the first vertical electrode portion (outer side of left 1282 / 631 facing away from 660 in fig. 6) [0046], and the concave portion (CCP) [see annotated fig. 12 above] is located close to (bordering) the second vertical electrode portion (right 1282) fig. 12 [0068] in a region adjacent to the electrode pad portion (surface of 1270 for connections) [0068].
Regarding claim 11, Zang teaches the image sensor (600/1200) [0038, 0068] as claimed in claim 1. Zang also teaches wherein:
the vertical transfer gate (680/1280) fig. 6/fig. 12 [0046, 0069] further includes a gate insulating film (1275) fig. 12 [0069] along an interface with the semiconductor substrate (610) fig. 12 [0068], and the gate insulating film (1275) extends on the first (top) surface of the semiconductor substrate (610).
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0381473A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches an image sensor [0111], comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (110) fig. 17 [0111] having first (top = 110a) [0111] and second (bottom = 110b) [0112] surfaces opposed to each other and having a plurality of pixels (PX1, PX2) fig. 16 [0111] arranged thereon;
a first isolation structure (DI) fig. 17 [0111] penetrating through the semiconductor substrate (110), and defining the plurality of pixels (PX1, PX2);
a second isolation structure (middle 3 between TG 1 and TG2) fig. 17 [0046, 0111] penetrating through the semiconductor substrate (110), and dividing each of the plurality of pixels (PX 1-2) into a first sub-pixel (left half of PX) and a second sub-pixel (right half of PX),
a first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) fig. 17 [0111] and a second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) fig. 17 [0111] in the semiconductor substrate (110), and respectively located (at least partially) in the first sub-pixel (left half of PX) and the second sub-pixel (right half of PX) of each of the plurality of pixels (PX);
a first floating diffusion region (FD1) fig. 17 [0111] and a second floating diffusion region (FD2) fig. 17 [0111] adjacent to the first surface (110a) in the semiconductor substrate (110), and respectively located in the first sub-pixel (left half of PX) and the second sub-pixel (right half of PX) of each of the plurality of pixels (PX);
a first vertical transfer gate (TG1) fig. 17 [0111], in the first sub-pixel (left half of PX) of each of the plurality of pixels (PX), the first vertical transfer gate (TG1) having a first pair of vertical electrode portions (RP1, LP1) [see annotated fig. 17 below] extending from the first surface (110a) and connected to the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1), and a first electrode pad portion (EP1) respectively connected to the first pair (RP1, LP1) of vertical electrode portions on the first surface (110a), and having a first concave portion (CCP1) in a region, adjacent to the first floating diffusion region (FD1) [see annotated fig. 17 below]; and
a second vertical transfer gate (TG2) fig. 17 [0111], in the second sub-pixel (right half of PX) of each of the plurality of pixels (PX), the second vertical transfer gate (TG2) having a second pair of vertical electrode portions (RP2, LP2) extending from the first surface (110a) and connected to the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), and a second electrode pad portion (EP2) respectively connected to the second pair of vertical electrode portions (RP2, LP2) on the first surface (110a), and having a second concave portion (CCP2) in a region, adjacent to the second floating diffusion region (FD2) [see annotated fig. 17 below].
[AltContent: textbox (Inward-Indentation creates L-shaped portion of TG2 which is concave (CCP2))][AltContent: textbox (Inward-Indentation creates L-shaped portion of TG1 which is concave (CCP1))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (EP2)][AltContent: textbox (EP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (RP2)][AltContent: textbox (LP2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (First subpixel )][AltContent: textbox (Second subpixel )][AltContent: textbox (RP1)][AltContent: textbox (LP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 17 of Kim
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the image sensor [0111] as claimed in claim 12. Kim also teaches wherein each of the first (TG1) fig. 17 [0111] and second (TG2) fig. 17 [0111] vertical transfer gates further includes:
first (left 7) fig. 17 [0049] and second (right 7) fig. 17 [0049] transfer gate spacers alongside (bottom) surfaces of the first (EP1) and second (EP2) electrode pad portions on the first surface (110a) [0043] of the semiconductor substrate (110), and wherein the first (left 7) and second (right 7) transfer gate spacers include first (left 7) and second (right 7) spacer extension portions (comprising entirety of respective 7’s with portions extending horizontally and vertically) extending into the semiconductor substrate (110) fig. 17 [0111] from the first surface (110a) in a region, adjacent to the first (FD1) fig. 17 [0111] and second (FD2) fig. 17 [0111] floating diffusion regions, respectively [see annotated fig. 17 above].
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the image sensor [0111] as claimed in claim 12. Kim also teaches wherein:
the first (CCP1) and second concave portions (CCP2) are located in a central region on one side (central relative to outer sidewalls of TG1) of the first (EP1) and second (EP2) pad portions, and the first (left 7) and second (right 7) spacer extension portions extend along the (bottom peripheries of) first (CCP1) and second (CCP2) concave portions, respectively, in (within) plan view [see annotated fig. 17 above].
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the image sensor [0111] as claimed in claim 12. Kim also teaches wherein the first (LP1, RP1) and second (LP2, RP2) pairs of vertical electrode portions and the first (EP1) and second (EP2) electrode pad portions, respectively, have an integrated structure (forming single TG1, TG2 units, respectively) including the same material (TG1, TG2 respectively shown as formed of a single piece of material) [see annotated fig. 17 above].
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the image sensor [0111] as claimed in claim 12. Kim also teaches wherein the first (CCP1) and second (CCP2) concave portions include a concave curved portion (CCP1, CCP2 defined as curved portions of CCP1, CCP2) in (within) plan view [see annotated fig. 17 above].
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches an image sensor [0111], comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (110) fig. 17 [0111] having first (top = 110a) [0111] and second (bottom = 110b) [0112] surfaces facing each other, and having a plurality of pixels (upper and lower PX1, PX2’s) fig. 16 [0111] arranged thereon;
a first isolation structure (DI) fig. 17 [0111] on the semiconductor substrate (110), and defining the plurality of pixels (upper and lower PX1, PX2);
a second isolation structure (middle 3 between TG 1 and TG2) fig. 17 [0046, 0111] penetrating through the semiconductor substrate (110), and dividing each of the plurality of pixels (PX 1-2) into a plurality of subpixels (left half of PX and a right half of PX = separated sub-pixels),
a plurality of photoelectric conversion regions (PD1, PD2, PD3) fig. 17 [0111-0113] in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (left/right halves of PX);
a plurality of vertical transfer gates (TG1, TG2) fig. 17 [0111] on the plurality of photoelectric conversion regions (PD1, PD2, PD3) on the first surface (110a) of the semiconductor substrate (110), respectively, and respectively connected (electrically connected to for transfer of charge) [0111-0113] to the plurality of photoelectric conversion regions (PD1, PD2, PD3); and
wherein each of the plurality of vertical transfer gates (TG1-2), includes:
first (LP1-2) and second (RP1-2) vertical electrode portions extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (110a) in a (vertical) direction, perpendicular to the first surface (110a), and respectively connected [0111-0113] to each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion regions (PD1, PD2, PD3); and
an electrode pad portion (EP1-2) on the first surface (110a) of the semiconductor substrate (110), connected to the first (LP1-2) and second (RP1-2) vertical electrode portions, and having a concave portion (CCP1-2) in a region, adjacent to the common floating diffusion region (FD3) [see annotated fig. 17 below].
[AltContent: textbox (Inward-Indentation creates L-shaped portion of TG2 which is concave (CCP2))][AltContent: textbox (Inward-Indentation creates L-shaped portion of TG1 which is concave (CCP1))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (EP2)][AltContent: textbox (EP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (RP2)][AltContent: textbox (LP2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (First subpixel )][AltContent: textbox (Second subpixel )][AltContent: textbox (RP1)][AltContent: textbox (LP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 17 of Kim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0381473A1), as applied in claim 17 above, in view of Takada (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0310913A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the image sensor [0111] as claimed in claim 17. Kim also teaches wherein:
each of the plurality of pixels (upper and lower PX1, PX2’s) fig. 16 [0111] includes first to fourth sub-pixels (SPa, SPb, SPc, SPd), the plurality of photoelectric conversion regions (comprising PD1, PD2, PD3) fig. 17 [0111-0113] include first to fourth photoelectric conversion regions (distinct sub-regions of PD3 in SPa-d quadrants, as defined below) respectively in the first to fourth sub-pixels (SPa, SPb, SPc, SPd) (see annotated fig. 16 of Kim below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Central region of SPa-d)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (SPc)][AltContent: textbox (SPb)][AltContent: textbox (SPd)][AltContent: textbox (SPa)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 16 of Kim
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose and the plurality of vertical transfer gates (TG1-2) include first to fourth vertical transfer gates respectively in the first to fourth sub-pixels (SPa, SPb, SPc, SPd) (only two transfer gates shown for 4 sub-pixels) (as defined in annotated fig. 16 above).
Takada teaches an image sensor [see fig. 8E, 0068, 0075] wherein the plurality of vertical transfer gates (204a-d in each pixel 22E) fig. 8E [0071, 0075] include first to fourth vertical transfer gates (204a-d) fig. respectively in the first to fourth sub-pixels (4 quadrants of 22E divided by 202 + shaped borders) fig. 8E [0075].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each of the pixels of the image sensor of Km to include 4 separate transfer gates [0075] in order to enhance the ability of the pixels to read out signals from the sub-pixels separately [0076], thereby enhancing image sensor focus detection accuracy [0076-0078], as taught by Takada. Moreover, the modification reflects a mere duplication of parts (transfer gates) which has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. (See MPEP 2144.04, VI, B).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Takada teaches the image sensor [0111] as claimed in claim 18. Kim also teaches wherein the plurality of pixels (upper and lower PX1, PX2’s) fig. 16 [0111] include first to fourth sub-pixels (SPa, SPb, SPc, SPd) in a matrix form of two rows and two columns, respectively (as defined in annotated fig. 16 above).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Takada teaches the image sensor [0111] as claimed in claim 19. Kim also teaches wherein the common floating diffusion region (FD3) fig. 17 [0113] is in a central region (as defined in annotated fig. 16 above) of each of the plurality of pixels (upper and lower PX1, PX2’s) fig. 16 [0111], where the first to fourth sub-pixels (SPa-d) meet.
Further, Kim in view of Takada teaches the first to fourth vertical transfer gates (204a-d incorporated from fig. 8E [0071] of Takeda) are respectively in a region, adjacent to the central region in the first to fourth sub-pixels (SPa-d of Kim), respectively, and the concave portion (CCP 1-4, when each transfer gate modified to have the T-shaped structure of annotated fig. 17 of Kim) of each of the first to fourth vertical transfer gates (204a-d incorporated from fig. 8E [0071] of Takeda) is located on a side (supported by an inner side of TG facing FD3) from the electrode pad portion (EP1-4) toward the common floating diffusion region (FD3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining refences made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature image sensors with transfer gates.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 01/24/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892