DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims of the following: U.S. Patent No. 11,490,995. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,490,995 and independent claims of the present application share the following: system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer- readable medium, the one or more processors configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: capture, at a first client device, video of a presenting user, the first client device connected to a video conference hosted by a video conference provider; transmit, by the first client device using a first communication channel, a video stream based on the captured video for the video conference to the video conference provider; and transmit, by the first client device using a second communication channel, presentation content for the video conference to the video conference provider.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1- 3, 6-10, 13-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pell (Pub. No.: US 2019/0082142 A1; hereinafter Pell) in view of Zhang et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0184721 A1; hereinafter Zhang)
Consider claims 1, 8, and 15, Pell clearly shows and discloses a method, a non-transitory computer, and a system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer- readable medium, the one or more processors configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: capture, at a first client device, video of a presenting user, the first client device connected to a video conference hosted by a video conference provider (e video conferencing system 100 is implemented across client-computing devices 102a, 102b, 102c; the video channel 202a includes a live video stream of the video conference participants who are utilizing the client-computing device 102b to participate in the video conference. Similarly, the video channel 202b includes a live video stream of the video conference participant who is utilizing the client-computing device 102c) (paragraphs: 0035 and 0039); transmit, by the first client device using a first communication channel, a video stream based on the captured video for the video conference to the video conference provider (the video conferencing system, includes client-computing devices that can both send and receive video conference data streams; contents of a video conference channel within a video conference data stream is a video channel that includes conference participants) (paragraph 0009, 0025, 0027, and 0030); and transmit, by the first client device using a second communication channel, presentation content for the video conference to the video conference provider (the video conferencing system, includes client-computing devices that can both send and receive video conference data streams; the video conference channel is a presentation channel that includes presentation content (e.g., slide presentation); he context manager 108a, 108b, 108c installed on the client-computing device 102a, 102b, 102c, respectively as shown in FIG. 1, identifies one or more areas of importance in a broadcast video channel and compresses the broadcast video channel around the areas of importance. Thus, the video conference system 100 broadcasts the areas of interest with greater clarity than the areas of non-interest) (paragraphs:0009, 0032, 0034, 0038, 0041-0042, 0059 and figs. 1-2A); however, Pell does not specifically disclose another example for capture, at a first client device, video of a presenting user, the first client device connected to a video conference hosted by a video conference provider.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang clearly specifically discloses combining, by a second client device, the video stream and the presentation content into a combined video signal (paragraphs: 0007, 0023, 0026, 0035-0036 and fig. 1-5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Zhang into teaching of Pell for the purpose of combining the video stream and the presentation content into a combined video signal.
Consider claims 2, and 9, Pell and Zhang clearly show the method and the system, further comprising receiving a selection, by the first client device, of the presentation content by the presenting user (Pell: paragraph 0023).
Consider claims 3, 10, and 16, Pell and Zhang clearly show the method, the non-transitory computer, and the system, further comprising extracting, from the captured video by the first client device, portraits of the presenting user and generating the video stream based on the extracted portraits of the presenting user (Pell: paragraphs 0059).
Consider claims 6, 13, and 19, Pell and Zhang clearly show the method, the non-transitory computer, and the system, wherein the presentation content comprises a screenshot of a displayed file (Pell: paragraph: 0179).
Consider claims 7, 14, and 20, Pell and Zhang clearly show the method, the non-transitory computer, and the system, wherein the presentation content comprises a second video stream received from a remote computing device (Pell: paragraphs: 0003, 0005 and fig. 2A).
4. Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pell (Pub. No.: US 2019/0082142 A1; hereinafter Pell) in view of Zhang et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0184721 A1; hereinafter Zhang) and further in view of Kasabwala et al (Pub. No. US 2020/0228973 A1; hereinafter Kasabwala)
Consider claims 4-5, 11-12, and 17-18, Pell and Zhang clearly show and discloses the claim invention above but lack teaching further comprising encrypting the video stream and the presentation content before transmitting; wherein the video conference is end-to-end encrypted.
In the same field of endeavor, Kasabwala clearly specifically discloses further comprising encrypting the video stream and the presentation content before transmitting; wherein the video conference is end-to-end encrypted (paragraphs: 0016)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Kasabwala into teaching of Pell and Zhang for the purpose of securing transmission of video content.
Response to Arguments
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on November 26, 2025. Claims 1-11 are now pending in the present application.
Applicant argues on the Applicant’s Response that McBride and Chau fail to teach the limitation “combining, by a second client device, the video stream and the presentation content into a combined video signal."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ arguments regarding claims 11, 8, and 15. Zhang teaches the processing device 310 may include a decoder which is configured to decode the media content (e.g., video and/or audio) received from the MCU or one or more of the conferencing devices 220-240. The processing device 310 may identify and extract key elements (e.g., text, face) from the media contents, and combine and/or rearrange the key elements to form a video signal for display on the display device of the mobile phone 210 (paragraph 0026, and fig. 2, labael 210, fig. 3, label 310, fig. 5, labels 210 and 23, compare it with fig. 1) As a result, both Pell and Zhang teach the above limitation as broadly claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/AMAL S ZENATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693