DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has amended the claims and asserted that the prior art does not teach the new claim amendments. The examiner disagrees with the applicant and has addressed the new claim limitations in the below office action. Furthermore, the examiner asserts that the claim limitations are broad and do not define the limits of the pixel region and therefore, an entire imaging system can be broadly viewed as a pixel region since the claim fails to limit the structure of the pixel region or require certain components to be on the same substrate etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1: Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0350575 A1 Agranov et al in view of CN 106874906 A Guo (For examination purposes the examiner has relied upon the provides English translation.
2: As for Claim 2, Agranov et al depicts in Figure 11 and teaches in Paragraphs [0060, 0062 and 0064] An imaging device comprising: pixel region (element 504 depicted in Figure 5 and in Paragraphs [0041 and 0042]); and a driver (512 and 508) electrically connected to the pixel region (504), wherein the pixel region (can be viewed as the entire imaging system) comprises a pooling module (binning) comprising a plurality of pixels (1104), first circuits (1106 and 1108), wherein the plurality of pixels (1104) each comprise a photoelectric conversion element (element 904 depicted in Figure 9), wherein the first circuits (1106 and 1108) are configured to generate second signals (summed output) by adding first signals (signals output from individual photodiodes 904) obtained by the plurality of pixels (Paragraph [0060]), However, Agranov et al does not teach the determination circuit is configured to determine the largest second signal and generate a third signal by binarizing the largest second signal
Guo teaches on Page 9, and Page 10, Lines 7-11 and Page 11, Lines 1-4 a system for processing captured image data and teaches that it is advantageous when processing captured image data to process the captured image data with a neural network that uses max-pooling to reduce the amount of image data processed in order to improve the speed of image processing and then further process the max-pooled image data in a binarization layer along with other layers in order to perform advanced image processing on captured images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the advanced image processing using the neural network of Guo on the outputted binned image data of the camera system of Agranov et al in order to enable the camera system to process the captured image data with a neural network that uses max-pooling to reduce the amount of image data processed in order to improve the speed of image processing and then further process the max-pooled image data in a binarization layer along with other layers in order to perform advanced image processing on captured images.
3: As for Claim 3, Agranov et al teaches in Paragraph [0026] and depicts in Figure 2A An electronic device (200) comprising: the imaging device (202 and 204) according to claim 2; and a display device (210).
4: As for Claim 4, Agranov et al depicts in Figure 11 and teaches in Paragraphs [0060, 0062 and 0064] An imaging device comprising: pixel region (element 504 depicted in Figure 5 and in Paragraphs [0041 and 0042]); and a driver (512 and 508) electrically connected to the pixel region (504), wherein the pixel region (can be viewed as the entire imaging system) a pooling module (binning) comprising a plurality of pixels (1104), first circuits (1106 and 1108), wherein the plurality of pixels (1104) each comprise a photoelectric conversion element (element 904 depicted in Figure 9), wherein the first circuits (1106 and 1108) are configured to generate second signals (summed output) by adding first signals (signals output from individual photodiodes 904) obtained by the plurality of pixels (Paragraph [0060]), wherein the first circuits are configured to generate a fourth signal by averaging the second signals (Paragraph [0005 and 0058]). However, Agranov et al does not teach the determination circuit is configured to determine the largest second signal and generate a third signal by binarizing the largest second signal.
Guo teaches on Page 9, and Page 10, Lines 7-11 and Page 11, Lines 1-4 a system for processing captured image data and teaches that it is advantageous when processing captured image data to process the captured image data with a neural network that uses max-pooling to reduce the amount of image data processed in order to improve the speed of image processing and then further process the max-pooled image data in a binarization layer along with other layers in order to perform advanced image processing on captured images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the advanced image processing using the neural network of Guo on the outputted binned image data of the camera system of Agranov et al in order to enable the camera system to process the captured image data with a neural network that uses max-pooling to reduce the amount of image data processed in order to improve the speed of image processing and then further process the max-pooled image data in a binarization layer along with other layers in order to perform advanced image processing on captured images.
5: As for Claim 5, Agranov et al teaches in Paragraph [0026] and depicts in Figure 2A An electronic device (200) comprising: the imaging device (202 and 204) according to claim 4; and a display device (210).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
September 23, 2025