DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,10, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,8,10-12,15,21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim; Jae-Ik et al. (US 20060051109 A1) in view of OHYAMA; Junji (US 20210385431 A1) in view of SUH; Sung Joo et al. (US 20130169643 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches,
A display device (¶39 and fig. 1A, “3D image display device” depicted in fig. 1A) comprising:
a display panel (¶39 and fig. 1A, 3D image display device includes “liquid crystal panel 10 as an image panel”) comprising a plurality of sub-pixels; (¶39,48 and fig. 1A, liquid crystal panel 10 with “at least two pixel arrays”)
an optical member (¶39 and fig. 1A, 3D image display device includes “a lens panel 400” that acts as a 3D image forming device) attached to the display panel, (¶39 and fig. 1A, “liquid crystal panel 10 and the lens panel 400 are combined” as depicted in fig. 1A) the optical member including stereoscopic lenses; (¶39 and 82, 3D image forming device utilizing “lenticular lens array” enabling “to perceive the stereoscopic effect”) and
a test apparatus for the display panel (¶88 and fig. 7, “apparatus for inspecting alignment of the image panel and the 3D image forming device” depicted in fig. 7)
but does not explicitly teach,
a display driver receiving a correction coefficient for each view point of the display panel, the display driver correcting image data for each view point using the correction coefficient for each view point and driving the display panel so that an image associated with the corrected image data is displayed in a display area,
wherein the correction coefficient is calculated by analyzing for each view point a difference value between an average or a sum of optical property values of remaining view points designated by the display driver and an optical property value of each view point.
However, Ohyama teaches additionally,
a display driver (¶351-359 and fig. 34A-34C, display means 25 is connected to “control device 50” depicted in fig. 34A) receiving a correction coefficient (¶351-359,287, and fig. 26, control device 50 adjusts formed-image data according to “difference between the acquired data of the photographed image and the photographing direction”) for each view point of the display panel, (¶351-359 and 284, control device 50 acquires “photographed images in each viewpoint direction”) the display driver correcting image data for each view point (¶284 and 295, control device 50 acquired photographed images in each viewpoint used to “perform image adjustment” to “minimize the difference from the plane image in each viewpoint direction”) using the correction coefficient for each view point (¶287-289 and 273, control device 50 as an “image adjusting means” adjusting formed-image data in accordance with difference between data of the photographed image and the photographing direction” such as for “sequentially generating partial images for each viewpoint direction”) and driving the display panel (¶291, control device 50 adjusting the formed-image data of the “display element image”) so that an image associated with the corrected image data (¶291, “adjusting the formed-image data by adjusting the image data of the display element image”) is displayed in a display area. (¶295 and 291, adjusted formed-image data of extracted “display element image” displayed in the “display device 1”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama which can adjust the display image based on differences of acquired images and the photographing direction. This allows for image generation that can reduce the differences as much as possible.
Suh teaches additionally,
wherein the correction coefficient (¶46-47 and fig. 1, generate refocused images based on “disparity that is set”) is calculated by analyzing for each view point a difference value (¶46-47 and fig. 1, “disparity may be set to a difference value” by images shifted in each of the “plurality of image acquiring areas 113”) between an average or a sum of optical property values of remaining view points designated by the display driver (¶46-47 and fig. 1, generate refocused images based on a disparity set to difference value “averaging the plurality of images shifted” between refence points at which the image is captured and points at which the image is captured in a “remaining image acquiring area”) and an optical property value of each view point. (¶46-47 and fig. 1, generate refocused images based on points “at which the image is captured in a remaining image acquiring area, among the plurality of image acquiring areas 113” as depicted in fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh which teaches refocusing based on an averaging the shift based on disparity set to differences between reference points in a reference area and the points captured in remaining image acquiring areas. This technique can reduce the amount of calculation incurred due to processing.
Regarding claim 2, Lim with Ohyama with Suh teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Ohyama teaches additionally,
display driver designates a view point (¶351-359 and fig. 3A-3C, display means 25 connected to “control device 50 transmits the formed-image data to each display means 25”) and a view point number (¶351-359 and 228, “each display means 25”, depicted in fig. 34A, “displays the formed-image 5 based on the formed-image data” according to the viewing direction angle or angle range according to the “number in each viewpoint direction”) to each of the plurality of sub-pixels (¶351-359 and 228, fig. 2A and 3A, “number each viewpoint direction” equal to the number of refraction means as part of “each display means 25” that display the formed-image 5) based on relative positions of the plurality of sub-pixels (¶351-359 and 228, each display means 25 displays formed-image data “depending on the viewpoint direction” is displayed on the ”number in each viewpoint direction”) for each stereoscopic lens of the stereoscopic lenses of the optical member, (¶351-359 and fig. 34a, “refraction means 1a” of each display means 25 depicted in fig. 34a “can display a similar image for the movement of the viewpoint 3 from the stereoscopic direction”) aligns positions of the image data in horizontal lines (¶357 and fig. 3c, “round column lens 11 in the same direction covered by the display 26 (an example of the display means 25)” arranged into “cylindrical surface shape” depicted in fig. 3c) according to the view point and the view point number (¶351-359 and 228, “Each display means 25 displays the formed-image 5” depending on the viewpoint direction among the “number” of refraction display means 25 “in each viewpoint direction”) of each of the plurality of sub-pixels, (¶351-359 and 228, each display means 25 displays formed-image data “depending on the viewpoint direction” is displayed on the ”number in each viewpoint direction”) and corrects the image data for each view point (¶284 and 295, control device 50 acquired photographed images in each viewpoint used to “perform image adjustment” to “minimize the difference from the plane image in each viewpoint direction”) with the correction coefficient for each view point (¶287-289 and 273, control device 50 as an “image adjusting means” adjusting formed-image data in accordance with difference between data of the photographed image and the photographing direction” such as for “sequentially generating partial images for each viewpoint direction”) to display the image (¶357 and 291, adjusted formed-image data “depending on the viewpoint direction is displayed on the display device 2”) associated with the corrected image data (¶291, “adjusting the formed-image data by adjusting the image data of the display element image”) in the display area. (¶295 and 291, adjusted formed-image data of extracted “display element image” displayed in the “display device 1”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh which can adjust the display image based on differences of acquired images and the photographing direction. This allows for image generation that can reduce the differences as much as possible.
Regarding claim 3, Lim with Ohyama with Suh teaches the limitations of claim 2,
Lim teaches additionally,
test apparatus (¶88 and fig. 7, “apparatus for inspecting alignment of the image panel and the 3D image forming device” depicted in fig. 7) comprises:
an optical property detector (¶88,91, and fig. 7, inspecting apparatus includes “camera 1310” depicted in fig. 7) detecting optical properties of a display image (¶87, “first image, the second image, and the black stripe may be observed through the camera”) for each view point of the display panel (¶87, “left eye image and the right eye image may be observed by a camera”) and generating and outputting an optical property detection signal; (¶97, “observing an image of the camera 1310 through the monitor 1400”)
a detection position adjuster (¶88,91, and fig. 7, inspecting apparatus includes “camera position controller 1320 for moving the camera 1310” depicted in fig. 7) moving an optical detection position of the optical property detector (¶97 and fig. 7, “camera position controller 1220 may be operated to adjust the position of the camera 1310”) to a predetermined detection position for each view point of the display panel; (¶97,87, and fig. 7, position of the camera 1310 “controlled to perform first and second alignments” so that left eye image and right eye image may be observed “while moving the camera”)
Ohyama teaches additionally,
an optical property analyzer (¶95-96 and fig. 1, “information processing device 8” has extracting means 8a, an image generating means 8b, and an image adjusting means 8c depicted in fig. 8) analyzing the optical property detection signal (¶96, extracting means 8a “extracts an image data of a display element image”) for each view point output from the optical property detector (¶96, image data of a “display element image” so as to look like “three-dimensional spatial representation” in the display device DD) and generating and outputting the correction coefficient (¶95,114, and fig. 1, “image adjusting means 8c” depicted in fig. 8 “difference between the data of the photographed image and the photographed angle, and the three-dimensional spatial representation data”) for each view point (¶114, difference used to “adjust the formed-image data” from image generating means 8b) according to the detected optical properties for each view point. (¶114, adjusts the formed-image data “in accordance with difference between the data of the photographed image photographed by the photographing device 9 and the photographed angle and the three-dimensional spatial representation data”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh which can adjust the display image based on differences of acquired images and the photographing direction. This allows for image generation that can reduce the differences as much as possible.
Regarding claim 8, Lim with Ohyama with Suh teaches the limitations of claim 3,
Ohyama teaches additionally,
the optical property analyzer (¶95-96 and fig. 1, “information processing device 8” has extracting means 8a, an image generating means 8b, and an image adjusting means 8c depicted in fig. 8) converts the optical property detection signal for each view point into a digital signal (¶110, “extracts each region image corresponding to predetermined refraction means as region image data from the angle data and plane image data corresponding to the angle among the plane image data”) and calculates the correction coefficient (¶95,114, and fig. 1, “image adjusting means 8c” depicted in fig. 8 “difference between the data of the photographed image and the photographed angle, and the three-dimensional spatial representation data”) for each view point of the display panel (¶114 and 111, difference used to “adjust the formed-image data” from image generating means 8b of the display element image “displayed by a light having passed through the predetermined refraction means 1a”) by comparing and analyzing optical property values for different view points in the converted optical property detection signal with a predetermined calculation formula. (¶114 and 287, control device 50 adjusts the formed-image data in accordance with “difference between the data of the photographed image photographed by the photographing device 9 and the photographed angle and the three-dimensional spatial representation data composed of the plane image data and the angle data” such that “difference is obtained by comparing a partial image corresponding to each refraction means 1a” in the photographed image data and “to a region image corresponding to the photographing direction of the photographing device 9 and the normal direction of each refraction means 1a in the plane image corresponding to the photographing direction of the photographing device 9”)
Ohyama discloses that differences are obtained by a difference as a function that compares image data for each respective refraction means in the photographed image, region images corresponding to the photographing direction of the photographing device, and normal direction corresponding to the photographing direction as an expression that determines a displacement magnitude and direction. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh which can adjust the display image based on differences of acquired images and the photographing direction. This allows for image generation that can reduce the differences as much as possible.
Regarding claim 10, Lim teaches,
A test system (¶88 and fig. 7, “apparatus for inspecting alignment of the image panel and the 3D image forming device” depicted in fig. 7)
a display device (¶88,39, and fig. 7, “image panel” 10 depicted in fig. 7 of the “3D image display” includes “liquid crystal panel 10 as an image panel”) for displaying a stereoscopic image (¶39 and 82, 3D image forming device utilizing “lenticular lens array” enabling “to perceive the stereoscopic effect”) through a display panel (¶39 and fig. 1A, “liquid crystal panel 10 and the lens panel 400 are combined” as depicted in fig. 1A) having an optical member attached thereto; (¶39 and fig. 1A, 3D image display device includes “a lens panel 400” that acts as a 3D image forming device) and
a test apparatus (¶88,91, and fig. 7, “apparatus for inspecting alignment of the image panel and the 3D image forming device” including camera 1310 depicted in fig. 7) for detecting optical properties of a display image (¶87, “first image, the second image, and the black stripe may be observed through the camera”) for each view point of the display panel, (¶87, “left eye image and the right eye image may be observed by a camera”) the test apparatus generating and outputting the detected optical properties (¶97, “observing an image of the camera 1310 through the monitor 1400”) for each view point, (¶96-97, observing an image from the camera 1310 of the “image panel 10” at “first and second alignments”)
But does not explicitly teach,
the test apparatus generating and outputting to the display device a correction coefficient for each view point according to the detected optical properties for each view point,
wherein the test apparatus generates optical property detection signals according to the detected optical properties of the display image for different view points of the display panel, and calculates the correction coefficient for each view point according to analysis results of the optical property detection signals for the view points, the test apparatus calculating the correction coefficient by analyzing for each view point a difference value between an average or a sum of optical property values of remaining view points and optical property value of each view point.
Ohyama teaches additionally,
the test apparatus (¶95-96 and fig. 1, “information processing device 8” has extracting means 8a, an image generating means 8b, and an image adjusting means 8c depicted in fig. 8) generating and outputting to the display device a correction coefficient (¶95,114,117, and fig. 1, “image adjusting means 8c” depicted in fig. 8 “difference between the data of the photographed image and the photographed angle, and the three-dimensional spatial representation data” so that “generated formed-image data is sent from the information processing device 8 to the display device DD”) for each view point (¶114, difference used to “adjust the formed-image data” from image generating means 8b) according to the detected optical properties for each view point, (¶114, adjusts the formed-image data “in accordance with difference between the data of the photographed image photographed by the photographing device 9 and the photographed angle and the three-dimensional spatial representation data”)
wherein the test apparatus (¶95-96 and fig. 1, “information processing device 8” has extracting means 8a, an image generating means 8b, and an image adjusting means 8c depicted in fig. 8) generates optical property detection signals (¶96, extracting means 8a “extracts an image data of a display element image”) according to the detected optical properties (¶96, display element image displayed on each of the refraction means 1a "so as to look like three-dimensional spatial representation”) of the display image for different view points of the display panel, (¶96, “display element image displayed on each of the refraction means 1a” representing a display target in the display device DD) and calculates the correction coefficient (¶95,114, and fig. 1, “image adjusting means 8c” depicted in fig. 8 “difference between the data of the photographed image and the photographed angle, and the three-dimensional spatial representation data”) for each view point (¶114, difference used to “adjust the formed-image data” from image generating means 8b) according to analysis results of the optical property detection signals for the view points, (¶114, adjusts the formed-image data “in accordance with difference between the data of the photographed image photographed by the photographing device 9 and the photographed angle and the three-dimensional spatial representation data”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama which can adjust the display image based on differences of acquired images and the photographing direction. This allows for image generation that can reduce the differences as much as possible.
Suh teaches additionally,
the test apparatus calculating the correction coefficient (¶46-47 and fig. 1, generate refocused images based on “disparity that is set”) by analyzing for each view point a difference value (¶46-47 and fig. 1, “disparity may be set to a difference value” by images shifted in each of the “plurality of image acquiring areas 113”) between an average or a sum of optical property values of remaining view points (¶46-47 and fig. 1, generate refocused images based on a disparity set to difference value “averaging the plurality of images shifted” between refence points at which the image is captured and points at which the image is captured in a “remaining image acquiring area”) and optical property value of each view point. (¶46-47 and fig. 1, generate refocused images based on points “at which the image is captured in a remaining image acquiring area, among the plurality of image acquiring areas 113” as depicted in fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh which teaches refocusing based on an averaging the shift based on disparity set to differences between reference points in a reference area and the points captured in remaining image acquiring areas. This technique can reduce the amount of calculation incurred due to processing.
Regarding claim 11, dependent on claim 10, it is the test system claim that includes limitations previously disclosed in display device claim 1. Refer to rejection of claim 1 to teach the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, dependent on claim 10, it is the test system claim similar to display device claim 3, dependent on claim 2. Refer to rejection of claim 3 to teach the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, dependent on claim 12, it is the test system claim similar to display device claim 8, dependent on claim 3. Refer to rejection of claim 8 to teach the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 21, it is the electronic device claim similar to display device claim 1.
Lim teaches additionally,
An electronic device including a display device, (¶39-41 and fig. 1, “3D image display device” with the “liquid crystal panel 10” depicted in fig. 1
a display device (¶41 and fig. 1, “liquid crystal panel 10” depicted in fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel (¶41 and fig. 1, “TFT array panel 100”) comprising a plurality of sub-pixels; (¶41 and fig. 1, “TFT array panel 100” with “pixel area” on a liquid crystal panel 10 depicted in fig. 1)
an optical member (¶80-83 and fig. 4, “lenticular lens array” depicted in fig. 4) attached to the display panel, (¶80-83 and fig. 4, “3D image display utilizing the lenticular lens array” and “pixel arrays” refracted by the lenticular “lens array”) the optical member including stereoscopic lenses; (¶80-83 and fig. 4, “lenticular lens array” enabling the viewer to “perceive the stereoscopic effect”)
a test apparatus for the display panel (¶88 and fig. 7, “apparatus for inspecting alignment of the image panel and the 3D image forming device” depicted in fig. 7)
Ohyama teaches additionally,
a display driver (¶351-359 and fig. 34A-34C, display means 25 is connected to “control device 50” depicted in fig. 34A) receiving a correction coefficient (¶351-359,287, and fig. 26, control device 50 adjusts formed-image data according to “difference between the acquired data of the photographed image and the photographing direction”) for each view point of the display panel (¶351-359 and 284, control device 50 acquires “photographed images in each viewpoint direction”) from a test apparatus (¶139 and fig. 1, “photographing device 9”) for the display panel (¶139 and fig. 1, “photographing device 9 for photographing images of the display device 1” as depicted in fig. 1)
Refer to rejection of claim 1 to teach the additional limitations of claim 21.
Claim(s) 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim; Jae-Ik et al. (US 20060051109 A1) in view of OHYAMA; Junji (US 20210385431 A1) in view of SUH; Sung Joo et al. (US 20130169643 A1) in view of YUN; Hae-Young et al. (US 20130229449 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Lim with Ohyama with Suh teaches the limitations of claim 3,
But does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 4,
However, Yun teaches additionally,
view points and view point numbers (¶68-72 and fig. 4, “first view point line (1)”, “second view point line (2)”, and “third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth view point lines (3), (4), (5), (6), (7) and (8)” depicted in fig. 4) of the display panel (¶68, fig. 1 and 4, “unit cells of the display panel” and “lenticular lens” as depicted in fig. 1) are in line with widths of the stereoscopic lenses in a thickness direction, respectively; (¶69 and fig. 4, “single lenticular lens L1” has a “width corresponding to about 8 unit cells arranged along the first direction D1” depicted in fig. 4) and
numbers of the view points and view point numbers (¶68-72 and fig. 4, “first view point line (1)”, “second view point line (2)”, and “third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth view point lines (3), (4), (5), (6), (7) and (8)” depicted in fig. 4) are equal to a number of the plurality of sub-pixels (¶68-72 and fig. 4, view point lines (1)-(8) “in parallel with the lens axis Ax” that pass through “color cells R, G and B” depicted in fig. 4) disposed on a rear side of each of the stereoscopic lenses. (¶68-72,40, fig. 4 and 1, “relationship of unit cells of the display panel of FIG. 1 and lenticular lenses” depicted in fig. 4 of display panel 100 and image-converting sheet or plate 200, depicted in fig. 1, that converts images on “display panel 100 into stereo-scopic images”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh with the display and image-converting plate of Yun which positions parallel lines of color cells behind a lenticular lens. This type of arrangement allows for improvements to display quality.
Claim(s) 5,7,13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim; Jae-Ik et al. (US 20060051109 A1) in view of OHYAMA; Junji (US 20210385431 A1) in view of SUH; Sung Joo et al. (US 20130169643 A1) in view of ZHU; Jinye et al. (US 20230188700 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Lim with Ohyama with Suh teaches the limitations of claim 3,
Ohyama teaches additionally,
the detection position adjuster (¶187, “control device 50 may control the position of the imaging device 9”) sequentially moves the optical property detector to the predetermined detection position (¶187 and 228, control device 50 “controls the photographing direction (viewpoint direction) of the photographing device 9” in a predetermined photographing direction for the “number in each viewpoint direction” equal to the number of refraction means) for each view point; (¶228, “number in each viewpoint direction may be equal to the number of refraction means”)
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 5,
However, Zhu teaches additionally,
the optical property detector (¶63-69 and fig. 5, “brightness meter 20” depicted in fig. 5) detects one of optical properties selected from luminance, illuminance and amount of light of the display image (¶63-69, brightness meter by which “brightness values of light at different test angles are acquired”) displayed on the display panel for each view point (¶68, brightness meter moved “counterclockwise to measure the brightness value of emergent light” at radian angles of “5°, 10°, 15°, 20°, and so on” and moved “clockwise to measure the brightness values of emergent light” at radian angles of “ −5°, −10°, −15°, −20°, and so on”) and transmits the optical property detection signal (¶70-74, “white light brightness distribution curve with brightness varying with the test angle is generated” according to acquired “brightness values”) corresponding to the one of the optical properties selected from luminance, illuminance and amount of light (¶63-69, measured “brightness values of emergent light”) to the optical property analyzer. (¶63-69 and 102, brightness values collected by optical test device under control of “processor 1510” executes instructions to “compare image spot radius of each viewpoint”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh with the viewpoint density evaluation of Zhu which measures brightness at different viewpoints. This can help by improving the accuracy of evaluating the advantages and the disadvantages of the viewpoint density for the auto-stereoscopic display.
Regarding claim 7, Lim with Ohyama with Suh teaches the limitations of claim 3,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 7,
However, Zhu teaches additionally,
detection position adjuster moves the optical property detector (¶69 and fig. 5, “brightness meter 20 is moved at different positions on an arc with the center” depicted in fig. 5) along a curved track in a circular, elliptical or semi-circular shape (¶69, brightness meter 20 is moved “on an arc with the center” O of the display panel 10 as “center of a circle and an optimal viewing distance R of the viewer viewing the image as a radius”) with respect to a center point of the display panel, (¶69, “center “O of the display panel 10 as a center”) wherein a distance between the center point of the display panel and the optical property detector is maintained along the curved track. (¶69 and fig. 5, brightness meter 20 moved at different positions on an arc with center O as “center of a circle and an optimal viewing distance R of the viewer viewing the image as a radius to measure the brightness of the light” depicted in fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh with the viewpoint density evaluation of Zhu which measures brightness at different viewpoints. This can help by improving the accuracy of evaluating the advantages and the disadvantages of the viewpoint density for the auto-stereoscopic display.
Regarding claim 13, dependent on claim 12, it is the test system claim similar to display device claim 5, dependent on claim 3. Refer to rejection of claim 5 to teach the limitations of claim 13.
Claim(s) 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim; Jae-Ik et al. (US 20060051109 A1) in view of OHYAMA; Junji (US 20210385431 A1) in view of SUH; Sung Joo et al. (US 20130169643 A1) in view of ZHU; Jinye et al. (US 20230188700 A1) in view of Siminoff; James (US 20150022618 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Lim with Ohyama with Suh with Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 5,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 6,
However, Siminoff teaches additionally,
optical property detector (¶49 and fig. 8, housing 5 containing “camera 18” depicted in fig. 8 that records “still or moving video”) comprises:
at least one integrating sphere; (¶49 and fig. 8, “housing 5” containing “Camera Ball Assembly 15” depicted in fig. 8) and
at least one optical property detection sensor (¶49 and fig. 8, “camera 18” depicted in fig. 8) disposed inside the at least one integrating sphere. (¶49 and fig. 8, “Camera Ball Assembly 15” containing “Camera 18” within housing 5 depicted in fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Lim with the display device of Ohyama with the refocused image generation of Suh with the viewpoint density evaluation of Zhu with the camera ball assembly of Siminoff that contains a camera. This type of housing contains and protects all necessary components without limiting functionality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 and 16-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH G USTARIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2483
/JIMMY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2483