DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither the combined references of Kruit and Firnkes, or Kruit and Liu teach the newly amended element “focusing a cross-over of the primary charged particle
beam with the objective lens” of claim 1. This is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that amended claim 1 requires a “dynamically preserving the focus” of the primary beam through coordinated control of the intermediate and objective lenses while the excitation of the intermediate lens is changes and further argues that the proposed Kruit and Firnkes modification would disrupt Kruit’s primary beam focus. However, these asserted requirements are not recited in claim 1. The amended claim merely requires, “focusing a cross-over of the primary charged particle beam with the objective lens.” The claim does not require that the crossover be generated by the intermediate lens, that the crossover be generated as a result of changing the intermediate lens excitation, that the objective lens excitation be changed to compensate for the intermediate lens excitation, or that a particular coordinated compensation scheme dynamically preserves the primary beam focus. Those additional features discussed by Applicant therefore cannot be read into the claim.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the newly added limitation requires the objective lens to focus the primary beam associated with a crossover. Kruit expressly teaches that a second common crossover of the primary electron beam is formed at variable aperture 16, after which lens system 13, 14 directs the primary beams from the common crossover toward sample 15, and objective lens 14 cerates the focused primary electron beams on the sample surface. Thus, Kruit teaches “focusing a cross-over of the primary charged particle beam with the objective lens” as present claimed.
Applicant further argues that Liu’s control electrode 714 is positioned immediately upstream of the sample and therefore does not teach an intermediate lens located father upstream. The rejection, however, does not rely on the physical location of Liu’s control electrode as satisfying the claimed intermediate lens location. Kruit teaches the intermediate magnetic lens 13 in the claimed location. Liu is cited for its teaching that an adjustable electrostatic lens/control electrode can alter the trajectories and energy-dependent distribution of SEs and BSEs among different detectors by changing the applied voltage. Liu expressly teaches dynamically adjusting the volage to separate Ses and BSEs and improve detector efficiency, and Figs. 7A-7B demonstrate different signal electron distributions resulting from different applies voltages. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art to incorporate Liu’s adjustable electrostatic-lens functionality into Kruit’s intermediate lens region so that Kruit’s intermediate magnetic lens 13 and the electrostatic portion provide controllable signal electron trajectories.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 11-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0270095 A1 [hereinafter Kruit] in view of US 2021/0319977 A1 [hereinafter Liu].
Regarding Claim 1:
Kruit teaches a method of operating a charged particle beam apparatus (abstract) comprising:
guiding a primary charged particle beam (Fig. 6 (8)) through an opening of an on-axis detector (Fig. 6 (17)), through an intermediate lens (Fig. 6 (13)), through an objective lens (Fig. 6 (14)), and onto a specimen (Fig. 6 (15)), wherein the intermediate lens is disposed between the on-axis detector and the objective lens (see Fig. 6, paras. [0057-0059]);
focusing the primary charged particle beam with the objective lens onto the specimen (paras. [0060&0079]);
in the first mode of operation, detecting low energy signal electrons including secondary electrons with the on-axis detector (para. [0078]);
in the first mode of operation, detecting the backscattered electrons with a second electron detector (Fig. 6 (12)) upstream of the on-axis detector (Fig. 6, para. [0078]); and
focusing a cross-over of the primary charged particle beam with the objective lens (Fig. 6 and paras. [0057, 0078]: a second common crossover of the primary electron beams at variable aperture 16 and directing the primary beams from the common crossover through lens system 13, 14 toward sample 15, with objective lens 14 creating focused primary beams on the sample).
However, Kruit does not specifically note that in providing an excitation of the intermediate lens; and adjusting the excitation of the intermediate lens to a second mode of operation, comprising: detecting high energy signal electrons with the on-axis detector; collimating low energy signal electrons to the opening of the on-axis detector.
Liu teaches a charged particle beam apparatus that detects backscattered electrons and secondary electrons with different detectors (abstract; Figs. 7A–7B). Specifically, Liu teaches:
in a first mode, providing an excitation of the intermediate lens to collimate high energy signal electrons including backscattered electrons to the opening of the on-axis detector (Fig. 7B and para. [0092]: apply a voltage to control electrode 714 that changes the trajectory of high energy BSE beam 700B2 so that the BSEs proceed inward through the opening of the local on-axis detector 713 and are detected by upstream detector 712);
adjusting the excitation of the intermediate lens to a second mode of operation, comprising detecting high energy signal electrons with the on-axis detector; collimating low energy signal electrons to the opening of the on-axis detector (Fig. A and para. [0091]: Fig. 6A demonstrates a different voltage condition in which low energy signal electrons/Ses form beam 700B4 and proceed upstream to detector 706, while high energy BSEs form beam 700B2 and are captured by local on-axis detector 713).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement an adjustable electrostatic-lens portion as taught by Liu into the intermediate lens region of Kruit, so that Kruit’s intermediate lens and the added electrostatic portion from a controllable intermediate lens, and to vary its excitation to selectively direct different energy/angle population of SEs and BSEs to Kruit’s detectors. Separating secondary electrons from backscattered electrons so that they can be detected by different detectors would improve the detection efficiency of the individual detectors and the overall detection efficiency, and that the separation may be dynamically adjusted by changing the applied voltage.
Regarding Claim 2:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 1. Liu further teaches a charged particle beam apparatus that detects backscattered electrons and secondary electrons with different detectors (abstract; Figs. 7A–7B). While Kruit teaches limiting acceptance angle of backscattered electrons to allow passage of certain angular directions of backscattered electrons (Kruit para. [0020], Liu likewise divides signal electrons into beams (Fig. A -700B2/700B3/700B4) by emission angle and energy (low, medium, and large) and adjusts the field so that large-angle, high-energy beams (700B2) are selectively directed to a given detector. Thus, the art already treats emission/acceptance angle as a result-effective variable that can be chosen to separate “high-angle” electrons from others (para. [0091]). In view of Kruit and Liu, it would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization and design choice for a person of ordinary skill to select a particular numerical boundary within the known high-angle regime (e.g., “30° or more”) to define the large-angle group, absent any showing in the specification that 30° is critical or produces an unexpected technical effect.
Regarding Claim 4:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 1. Liu further teaches the excitation of the intermediate lens in the second mode of operation is higher as compared to the excitation in the first mode of operation (para. [0090-0092] and [0094-0095]): Liu teaches operating the apparatus in at least two modes in which the excitation of the lens/electrode region is changed so that different energy/angle bands of signal electrons (e.g., high-energy backscattered electrons vs. lower-energy secondary electrons) are collimated along the axis toward an upstream detector or detected at a local on-axis detector). Selecting the mode in which lower-energy signal electrons are collimated upstream (the claimed “second mode”) to use the higher excitation level relative to the mode in which high-energy electrons are collimated (the claimed “first mode”) amounts to a routine optimization of the respective focusing strengths for the different energy bands and would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, without producing any unexpected result or imposing any additional structural limitation beyond the two modes already taught by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 5:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 1. Kruit further teaches separating the primary charged particle beam from signal electrons upstream of the on-axis detector (Kruit Fig. 4 and paras. [0071-0072]), wherein the second electron detector is an off-axis detector (Kruit Fig. 5 and paras. [0075-0076]). Detector 411 in Fig. 4 and detector 511 in Fig. 5 of Kruit are described as alternative implementations of the backscatter detector 12 shown in Fig. 6 (upstream of the on-axis detector 17). Detector 411 has holes that let the primary beams pass while the remaining surface intercepts backscattered electrons. Detector 511 is arranged to one side of the optical axis and thus positioned off-axis.
Regarding Claim 6:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 1, Liu further teaches energy filtering signal electrons between the opening of the on-axis detector and the second electron detector (Fig. 3 and para. [0067]: teaches an emerging filtering device can be placed between the sample 315 and signal electron detector 312. Since detector 312 corresponds upstream 612 in Fig. 6, the same filtering device can be placed local detector 613 and upstream detector 612).
Regarding Independent Claim 7:
Kruit teaches a charged particle beam apparatus (abstract) comprising:
a charged particle beam source (Fig. 6 (4)) configured to generate a primary charged particle beam (Fig. 6 (8)) (see Fig. 6 and para. [0054]);
one or more lenses configured to guide the primary charged particle beam towards a specimen stage (Fig. 6 (15)) (see Fig. 6 and paras. [0054-0055]);
an on-axis detector (Fig. 6 (17)) having an opening configured to allow the primary charged particle beam to pass therethrough (Fig. 6 (8)) (see Fig. 6 and para. [0078]);
a second detector (Fig. 6 (12)) upstream of the on-axis detector (see Fig. 6 and para. [0078]);
wherein the one or more lenses comprise:
an intermediate lens (Fig. 6 (13)) disposed between the on-axis detector and the specimen stage (see Fig. 6); and
an objective lens (Fig. 6 (14)) disposed between the intermediate lens and the specimen stage (see Fig. 6).
a controller with a processor and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the charged particle beam apparatus to perform a method of operating the charged particle beam apparatus (the lens system are described as “controllable” hence the system necessary has a controlling device), the method comprising:
guiding the primary charged particle beam through the opening of the on-axis detector, through the intermediate lens, through the objective lens, and onto a specimen, wherein the intermediate lens is disposed between the on-axis detector and the objective lens (see Kruit Fig. 6, paras. [0057-0059]);
focusing the primary charged particle beam with the objective lens onto the specimen lens (Fig. 6 and paras. [0057, 0078];
in a first mode of operation, collimate high energy signal electrons including backscattered electrons to the opening of the on-axis detector (para. [0078]);
in the first mode of operation, detecting low energy signal electrons including secondary electrons with the on-axis detector (see Kruit Fig. 6, para. [0078]);
in the first mode of operation, detecting the backscattered electrons with a second electron detector upstream of the on-axis detector (Fig. 6, para. [0078])
However, Kruit does not expressly teach an energy filter along a signal beam path between the opening of the on-axis detector and the second detector, in a first mode of operation, providing an excitation of the intermediate lens, and adjusting the excitation of the intermediate lens to a second mode of operation, comprising: detecting high energy signal electrons with the on-axis detector; collimating low energy signal electrons to the opening of the on-axis detector.
Liu teaches an energy filter along a signal beam path between the opening of the on-axis detector and the second detector (See Fig. 3 and para [0067] as discussed in claim 6), and in a first mode of operation, providing an excitation of the intermediate lens, and adjusting the excitation of the intermediate lens to a second mode of operation, comprising: detecting high energy signal electrons with the on-axis detector; collimating low energy signal electrons to the opening of the on-axis detector (see Figs. 6A-6B and paras. 0091-0092 of Liu, as discussed in claim 1).
Regarding Claim 9:
Kruit in view of Liu discloses the modified invention of claim 7. Liu further teaches a charged particle beam apparatus that detects backscattered electrons and secondary electrons with different detectors (abstract; Figs. 7A–7B). While Kruit teaches limiting acceptance angle of backscattered electrons to allow passage of certain angular directions of the backscattered electrons (Kruit para. [0020], Liu likewise divides signal electrons into beams (Fig. A -700B2/700B3/700B4) by emission angle and energy (low, medium, and large) and adjusts the field so that large-angle, high-energy beams (700B2) are selectively directed to a given detector. Thus, the art already treats emission/acceptance angle as a result-effective variable that can be chosen to separate “high-angle” electrons from others (para. [0091]). In view of Kruit and Liu, it would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization and design choice for a person of ordinary skill to select a particular numerical boundary within the known high-angle regime (e.g., “30° or more”) to define the large-angle group, absent any showing in the specification that 30° is critical or produces an unexpected technical effect.
Regarding Claim 11:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 7. Kruit further teaches wherein the objective lens is a combined magnetic-electrostatic objective lens (Kruit para. [0044]).
Regarding Claim 12:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 7. Kruit further teaches wherein the intermediate lens is a magnetic lens (Kruit para. [0057]).
Regarding Claim 13:
Kruit in view of Liu disclose the modified invention of claim 12. Kruit explicitly discloses an intermediate magnetic lens 13. Liu teaches that a magnetic lens in an electron-optical column is conventionally implemented as axial-gap pole piece lens (see Liu Fig. 3 and para. [0058]: a magnetic lens 307M comprises a cavity around the primary optical axis 300-1, bounded by the internal surface of the magnetic lens and imaginary planes 307A and 307B, with a polepiece 307P having an opening along the primary optical axis, i.e., a conventional axial-gap magnetic lens configuration). It would therefore have been an obvious design choice to implement Kruit’s intermediate magnetic lens 13 using the same conventional axial-gap magnetic lens structure exemplified by Liu’s 307M, so that the immediate lens is an axial-gap lens as claimed.
Regarding Claim 14:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 7. Kruit further teaches a first distance of the on-axis detector is about 100 mm to 300 mm and a second distance of the intermediate lens is about 33.3 mm to 150 mm (see Kruit Fig. 6: teaches an on-axis detector (17) disposed upstream of an intermediate lens (13) along the optical axis). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the axial “first distance” from the specimen to the on-axis detector is inherently greater than the “second distance” to the immediate lens, as claimed here. The specific numerical ranges (about 100-300mm and about 33.3-150mm) are not described in the specification as critical or producing any particular technical effect. In commercial SEMs, axial spacing relative to the specimen (working distance and detector height) is treated as a normal design/operating parameter selected within a broad range. For example, the TESCAN VEGA3 Manual teaches different preferred specimen-detector distances for SE vs. BSE imaging and provides recommended centering conditions with a working-distance range that the user adjusts depending on the modes (see VEGA3 User Manual, 2014, pp. 17 and 35). Taken together, this shows that SEM designers and users routinely vary these distances to suit packaging and imaging condition. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality, choosing particular absolute values within a workable range for this known geometry would have been an obvious matter of design choice and routine engineering optimization to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 15:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the modified invention of claim 7. Kruit further teaches a beam separator upstream of the on-axis detector (para. [0045]: the detector 411 in Fig. 4 (an alternative implementation of the BSE detector 12 in Fig. 6 which is upstream of the on-axis detector 17) has an array of holes for letting the primary charged particle beam pass through while the remaining surface intercepts the backscattered electrons).
Regarding Independent Claim 18:
Kruit in view of Liu teaches the charged particle beam apparatus of claim 8, which includes all limitations recited in claim 18, therefore Kruit in view of Liu also teaches claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19:
Kruit in view of Liu disclose the modified invention of claim 18 Liu further teaches a charged particle beam apparatus that detects backscattered electrons and secondary electrons with different detectors (abstract; Figs. 7A–7B). While Kruit teaches limiting acceptance angle of backscattered electrons to allow passage of certain angular directions of the backscattered electrons (Kruit para. [0020], Liu likewise divides signal electrons into beams (Fig. A -700B2/700B3/700B4) by emission angle and energy (low, medium, and large) and adjusts the field so that large-angle, high-energy beams (700B2) are selectively directed to a given detector. Thus, the art already treats emission/acceptance angle as a result-effective variable that can be chosen to separate “high-angle” electrons from others (para. [0091]). In view of Kruit and Liu, it would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization and design choice for a person of ordinary skill to select a particular numerical boundary within the known high-angle regime (e.g., “30° or more”) to define the large-angle group, absent any showing in the specification that 30° is critical or produces an unexpected technical effect.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruit and Liu, further in view of US 6452175 B1 [hereinafter Adamec].
Regarding Claim 16:
Kruit in view of Liu disclose the modified invention of claim 7. However, the combination references do not specifically note that the objective lens and the intermediate lens have a common pole piece.
Adamec teaches a charged particle beam column (abstract), wherein the objective lens and the intermediate lens have a common pole piece (see Adamec Fig. 10: upper lens and lower lens share the pole piece 654). Kruit teaches an intermediate lens and an objective lens arranged in series along the optical axis, but shows them as separate lenses. Adamec teaches a two-stage magnetic objective lens in which an upper lens and a lower lens share a common pole piece and thus form a compound lens. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Kruit’s immediate lens and objective lens as stages of a common, compound lens sharing a pole piece, as taught by Adamec, in order to shorten the column, improve mechanical alignment, and simplify the magnetic circuit, which are predictable benefits of multi-stage, shared-pole piece designs.
Regarding Claim 17:
Kruit in view of Liu disclose the modified invention of claim 7. Adamec further teaches wherein a first distance of one or more first pole pieces of the intermediate lens from an optical axis is larger than a second distance of one or more second pole pieces of the objective lens from the optical axis (see Adamec Fig. 10, Col. 10; Lls. 65-67 & Col, 11; Lls. 1-8: teaches a two-stage lens in which the radical spacing of pole pieces (652 vs. 656) from the optical axis differs between stages). Adamec illustrates that the bore radium/pole-piece distance from the axis is a routine design parameter that can be set differently for successive lens stages. In light of Adamec, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to select the intermediate lens to have a larger pole distance than the objective lens as one obvious geometric variation of that known design parameter.
Conclusion
/JING WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881