DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claim 44, in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4-11, 15, 39-43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarez et al (WO 2011/123468, October 2011, cited from IDS) and in further view of Hobo et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother, published online 19 August 2012, 62: 285-297).
Alvarez teach siRNA for reducing expression of transthyretin (TTR) mRNA with sense and antisense strands of SEQ ID NOs: 1009 and 1010, respectively, on page 100, such siRNA strands are identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. Alvarez teach salts of such compounds (see lines 17-18 on page 19). Alvarez teach delivery of such siRNA using stable nucleic acid lipid particles (SNALP) in isotonic phosphate buffered saline, such SNALP can be a lipid formulation comprising lipids DLinDMA, PEG2000-C-DMA, DPPC and cholesterol (see lines 5-10 on page 121). Alvarez further teach different combinations and substitutions of lipids in SNALP formulation (see lines 11-12 on page 37, table bridging pages 40-41), such as lipid nanoparticle LNP11 comprising MC3 (same as instant Dlin-MC3-DMA), DSPC, cholesterol and PEG-DMG (see Table on page 41).
Alvarez do not teach exactly the same mix of lipids as instantly claimed.
Hobo teach lipid nanoparticles for siRNA delivery such as comprising cationic lipid DLin-MC3-DMA and DSPC, cholesterol, PEG2000-C-DMG (see “Preparation of LNP” portion in first column on page 287).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to encapsulate siRNA taught by Alvarez in lipid nanoparticle taught by Hobo, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to further improve delivery of siRNA as described by Alvarez using effective lipid nanoparticle described by Hobo, which is similar in composition to particles described by Alvarez.
Double Patenting
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 8,168,775 in view of Hobo, above. Claims from ‘775 recite siRNA with sense and antisense strands of SEQ ID NOs: 1009 and 1010, respectively, such siRNA strands are identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. Specification of ‘775 teaches delivery of siRNA in lipid formations (see lines 4-6 in column 3). Teachings of Hobo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to encapsulate siRNA of SEQ ID NOs: 1009-1010 in lipid formation taught by Hobo, arriving at instant invention.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 8,741,866 in view of Hobo, above. Claims from ‘866 recite siRNA with sense and antisense strands of SEQ ID NOs: 1009 and 1010, respectively, in a lipid formation, such siRNA strands are identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. Teachings of Hobo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to encapsulate siRNA of SEQ ID NOs: 1009-1010 in lipid formation taught by Hobo, arriving at instant invention.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 9,234,196 in view of Hobo, above. Claims from ‘196 recite siRNA with sense and antisense strands of SEQ ID NOs: 1009 and 1010, respectively, in a lipid formation comprising MC3 (same as instant DLin-MC3-DMA), such siRNA strands are identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. Teachings of Hobo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to encapsulate siRNA of SEQ ID NOs: 1009-1010 in lipid formation taught by Hobo, arriving at instant invention.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-53 of U.S. Patent No. 10,240,152 in view of Hobo, above. Claims from ‘152 recite siRNA with sense and antisense strands of SEQ ID NOs: 1009 and 1010, respectively, in a lipid formation comprising MC3 (same as instant DLin-MC3-DMA), such siRNA strands are identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. Teachings of Hobo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to encapsulate siRNA of SEQ ID NOs: 1009-1010 in lipid formation taught by Hobo, arriving at instant invention.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,227,744 in view of Hobo, above. Claims from ‘744 recite siRNA with sense and antisense strands of SEQ ID NOs: 1009 and 1010, respectively, in a lipid formation comprising MC3 (same as instant DLin-MC3-DMA) and DSPC, such siRNA strands are identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. Teachings of Hobo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to encapsulate siRNA of SEQ ID NOs: 1009-1010 in lipid formation taught by Hobo, arriving at instant invention.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,101,643 in view of Hobo, above. Claims from ‘643 recite siRNA with sense and antisense strands of SEQ ID NOs: 1009 and 1010, respectively, in a lipid formation comprising cationic lipid, such siRNA strands are identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. Teachings of Hobo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to encapsulate siRNA of SEQ ID NOs: 1009-1010 in lipid formation taught by Hobo, arriving at instant invention.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,060,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘921 recite patisiran, which is the same compound claimed in instant claim 44.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,079,379. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘379 recite patisiran, which is the same compound claimed in instant claim 44.
Claim 44 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,806,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘360 recite patisiran, which is the same compound claimed in instant claim 44.
Claim 44 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-7, 13-14, 18-20, 42-43, 46-48, 52-53, 55 of copending Application No. 17/672,771 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘771 recite patisiran, the same compound claimed in instant claim 44.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637