DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on
applications filed in JP on October 28, 2022. It is noted, however, that the
foreign priority date is the effective filing date of the claimed invention if
a. The foreign application supports the claimed invention under 112(a), and
b. The applicant has perfected the right of priority by providing
i. A certified copy of the priority application, and
ii. A translation of the priority application (if not in English).
In the instant case, the applicant has submitted a certified copy of the priority application, but it is not in English, and the examiner cannot determine if it
supports the claimed invention. The effective filing date of the application is considered to be October 23, 2023, which is the actual filing date of instant application 18/362,851.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the amine" in “wherein in the case where R21 to R29 and R1 to R16 except for being bonded to nitrogen of the amine represent hydrogen”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to which amine “the amine” refers to. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret “the amine” to refer to any amine.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1-5 and 8 recites “hydrogen in the organic compound…includes deuterium.” It is unclear how a hydrogen atom may include a deuterium atom. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret claim 1 wherein the definition of hydrogen in the organic compound represented by General Formula G1 and General Formula G1-1 includes deuterium.
Claims 6-7 and 9-15 are also rejected as they depend from claim 1 and do not cure the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (CN 108947902A, hereinafter "Zhou"). Note that a machine-generated English translation is relied upon and provided with this office action.
In the pertinent art of organic light-emitting devices, Zhou teaches a heterocyclic compound HT2-133, shown below (Description, pg 7).
Compound HT2-133 of Zhou is a compound of instant General Formula (G1) of instant claim 1 wherein:
X is O;
R21 to R29 are H;
Ar2 is represented by G1-1;
R1 bonded to an amine in G1;
R14 is unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbons “phenyl”;
R2 to R13 and R15 to R16 are H;
And in the case where R14 is “phenyl” Ar1 represents an unsubstituted aryl group having 12 carbon atoms;
Represented by G2-1 in claim 2;
Ar1 represents an unsubstituted biphenyl-yl group in claim 6.
Represented by G3-1 in claim 8;
Wherein R14 is phenyl and Ar1 is biphenyl-yl;
Therefore, the compound HT2-129 of Zhou anticipates claims 1-2, 6, and 8.
Regarding claims 10-13, Zhou discloses the organic light-emitting and electronic device, Example 28, that includes compound HT2-133 (Table 1, Description pg 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7, 9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN 108947902A, hereinafter "Zhou"), that reads on claims 1-2, 6, 8, and 10-13 described above. Note that a machine-generated English translation is relied upon and provided with this office action.
Zhou teaches the compound HT2-133, described above, that reads on claims 1-2, 6, 8, and 10-13. Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches compound HT2-92 which is a heterocyclic compound shown below (Description pg 7 col II row I).
The compound HT2-92 of Zhou teaches that a heterocyclic compound with the “fused tetracyclic core” may be substituted with a diarylamine moiety wherein the two aryl groups are both spiro-bifluorene attached at positions corresponding to the R2 and R3 positions.
Zhou teaches that the heterocyclic aromatic amine compounds containing spirodifluorene have a low HOMO value and high T1 values that results in a light-emitting device with higher color purity, efficiency, and life-span (Description pg 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the compound HT2-133 of Zhou with a diarylamine of two spiro-bifluorene groups attached at positions corresponding to the R2 and R3 positions, similar to the compound HT2-92 of Zhou, in the light-emitting device of Zhou, based on the teachings of Zhou. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with light-emitting device with higher color purity, efficiency, and life-span as taught by Zhou (Description pg 2-3).
The resulting Modified Compound HT2-133 is shown below.
Modified Compound HT2-133
The Modified Compound HT2-133 of Zhou is a compound of instant claim 3 wherein:
Represented by G2-2 in claim 3;
X is O;
R1, R3-R16, and R21-R29 are H;
Ar1 represents an unsubstituted aryl group having 25 C;
Represented by G2-3 in claim 4;
R1-R2, R4-R16, and R21-R29 are H;
Ar1 represents an unsubstituted aryl group having 25 C;
Ar1 is unsubstituted 9,9’-spirobi[9H-fluoren]-yl in claim 7;
Represented by G3-3 in claim 9;
R6, R11, R14, and R26 are H;
Ar1 is unsubstituted 9,9’-spirobi[9H-fluoren]-yl.
Therefore, the Modified Compound HT2-133 of Zhou reads on instant claims 3-4, 7, and 9; and the modified organic light-emitting, electronic device containing the Modified Compound HT2-133 of Zhou reads on instant claims 14-15.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the compound HT2-13, shown below, that is a heterocycle with a fused tetracyclic core wherein the diarylamine is substituted with a spiro-bifluorene attached at a position corresponding to the R4 position (Description pg 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Modified Compound HT2-133 with a diarylamine wherein the spiro-bifluorene group is attached at the R4 position, similar to the compound HT2-13 of Zhou, in the light-emitting device of Zhou, based on the teachings of Zhou. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with light-emitting device with higher color purity, efficiency, and life-span as taught by Zhou (Description pg 2-3).
The resulting Modified Compound II HT2-133 is shown below.
Modified Compound II HT2-133
The Modified Compound HT2-133 of Zhou is a compound of instant claim 5 wherein:
Represented by G2-4;
X is O;
R1-R3, R5-R16, and R21-R29 are H;
Ar1 represents an unsubstituted aryl group having 25 C;
Therefore, the Modified Compound II HT2-133 of Zhou reads on instant claims 5.
Conclusion
/L.Q.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786