Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 10658593).
Regarding claim 1, Kim, in Figure 1 below, discloses an organic light emitting element (100), comprising: a first electrode (110); a second electrode (220); and an organic material layer (120/130/140/150/210) positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode.
In addition, Kim discloses wherein the organic material layer (120) includes a compound represented by chemical formula 1 below:
R1 and R2 are each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen; deuterium; tritium; a halogen; a cyano group; an alkyl group of C1-C5o; a haloalkyl group of C1-C5o; an alkoxy group of C1-C30; a haloalkoxy group of C1-C30; an aryl group of C6-C60; a haloaryl group of C6-C60; a heterocyclic group of C2- C60 including at least one heteroatom among O, N, S, Si and P; a haloheterocyclic group of C2-C60 including at least one heteroatom among O, N, S, Si and P; and malononitrile,
R3 is each independently selected from the group consisting 99of hydrogen; deuterium; tritium; a halogen; a cyano group; a malononitrile group; an alkyl group of C1-C50; a haloalkyl group of C1-C50; an alkoxy group of C1-C30; a haloalkoxy group of C1-C30; an aryl group of C6-C60; a haloaryl group of C6-C60; a heterocyclic group of C2-C60 including at least one heteroatom among O, N, S, Si and P; and a haloheterocyclic group of C2-C60 including at least one heteroatom among O, N, S, Si and P,
X1 to X5 are each independently CRa or N, and at least two of X1 to X5 are CRa, wherein Ra is each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen; deuterium; tritium; a halogen; an alkyl group of C1-C50; a haloalkyl group of C1-C50; an alkoxy group of C1-C50; and a haloalkoxy group of Ci-C5o, and at least one of Ra is selected from the group consisting of a halogen; a haloalkyl group of C1-C50; and a haloalkoxy group of Ci-C50,
X6 to X10 are each independently CRb or N, and at least two of X4 to X6 are CRb, wherein Rb is each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen; deuterium; tritium; a halogen; an alkyl group of C1-C50; a haloalkyl group of C1-C50; an alkoxy group of C1-C50; and a haloalkoxy group of Ci-C50, and at least one of Rb is selected from the group consisting of a halogen; a haloalkyl group of C1-C50; and a haloalkoxy group of C1-C50, and
wherein in the alkyl group, the haloalkyl group, the alkoxy group, the haloalkoxy group, the aryl group, the haloaryl group, the heterocyclic group, and the haloheterocyclic group, at least one substituent selected from the group consisting of deuterium; a nitro group; a cyano group; an amino group; an alkoxy group of 100 C1-C20; a haloalkoxy group of C1-C20; an alkyl group of C1-C20; a haloalkyl group of C1-C20; an alkenyl group of C2-C20; an alkynyl group of C2-C20; an aryl group of C6-C20; an aryl group of C6-C20 substituted with deuterium; a fluorenyl group; a heterocyclic group of C2-C20; an alkylsilyl group of C3-C60; an arylsilyl group of C18-C60; and an alkylarylsilyl group of C8-C60 may be further substituted.
For example, Kim discloses compound: A31, A32, B31 and B32 (see col. 71, ll. 36-56 and col. 86, ll. 20-39).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses compound A31 and A32 (see above), corresponding to chemical formula 2:
In addition, Kim discloses compound B31 and B32 (see above), corresponding to chemical formula 3:
R1 to R3 and X1 to X10 are the same as R1 to R3 and X1 to X10 defined in chemical formula 1.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses compound A31 and A32 (see above), corresponding to chemical formula 4:
In addition, Kim discloses compound B31 and B32 (see above), corresponding to chemical formula 5:
RC and Rd are each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen; deuterium; tritium; a halogen; an alkyl group of C1-C50; a haloalkyl group of C1-C50; an alkoxy group of 102 C1-C50; and a haloalkoxy group of C1-C50,
wherein Re is each independently hydrogen; deuterium; or tritium,
wherein Rf and Rg are each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen; deuterium; tritium; a halogen; an alkyl group of C1-C50; a haloalkyl group of C1-C50; an alkoxy group of C1-C50; and a haloalkoxy group of C1-C50,
wherein Rh is each independently hydrogen; deuterium; or tritium, and
wherein R3 is the same as R3 defined in chemical formula 1.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the organic material layer includes a first light emitting layer (140) and a first layer (120) and wherein the first layer (120) includes the compound [See Fig. 1, col. 61, lines 46-51, and col. 62, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the first electrode (110) is an anode electrode, and the second electrode (220) is a cathode electrode, and wherein the first layer (120) is positioned between the first electrode (110) and the first light emitting layer (140) [See Fig. 1, col. 61, lines 46-51, and col. 62, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the first layer is a hole injection layer [See Fig. 1, col. 61, lines 46-51, and col. 62, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a display device (100) comprising the organic light emitting element of claim 1 [See Fig. 1, and col. 61, lines 46-51].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/512662 (published as US 2024/0244959) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader and therefore anticipated by the patent claims.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/512743 (published as US 2024/0251659) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader and therefore anticipated by the patent claims.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, claims 5-6 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6, claim 7 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, claim 8 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, claim 9 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, claim 10 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, claim 11 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, claim 12 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, claim 13 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, claim 14 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 14, claim 15 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, claim 16 of the co-pending application teaches the claimed limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815