DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 10/28/2025, have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendment to claims, the cancellation of claim 24, and the addition of new claims 28—34. Claims 14-23, 25-34 are pending with claims 18-20 withdrawn from consideration due to a restriction requirement.
In view of the amendment to claim 27, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as they are directed to newly required claim limitations that are specifically addressed in the prior art rejection hereinafter.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10/28/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 10814609 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17, 21-23, and 25-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10396469 by Fritz taken collectively with US Patent 43837907 by Berglund et al.
Claim 14: Fritz discloses a method for producing a printed circuit board (electronic circuit as discloses by Fritz can reasonably be considered a PCB as claimed) comprising:
performing additive manufacturing to produce a substrate having a plurality of channels formed therein that extend through a portion of a thickness of the substrate such that a depth of the channel is less than a thickness of the portion of the substrate in which the respective channel is formed (column 4, lines 42-50), at least one channel of the plurality of channels having a first width at a top surface of the substrate and a second width at a location disposed below the top surface, and coating portions of the substrate with a conductive material to form a plurality of traces in conjunction with the channels (Figure 4-5 and accompanying text), wherein the portions of the channel associated with the shadowing feature receive less conductive material than other portions of the channel (see e.g. Figure 5).
Fritz generally discloses shadow mask and patterning is known the art for depositing conductive materials and discloses 3D printing of those shadowing; however, fails to explicitly discloses the claimed mask has a second width being greater than the first width such that the at least one channel includes a shadowing feature and wherein the portions of the channel associated with the shadowing feature receive less conductive material than other portions of the channel. However, Berglund, also in the art of depositing metal on a substrate, discloses using mask wherein the opening has a first width and second width to form an overhang (shadowing) and the portions of the channel associated with the shadowing feature receive less conductive material than other portions of the channel (Figure 1-3 and accompanying text). Berglund discloses a trace is formed on the top surface (see Figure 3). Therefore, as Fritz discloses forming metal lines through a formed opening and Berglund discloses metal lines can be successfully formed by using an opening with a structure as claimed, it would have been obvious to have modified Fritz to form the opening as claimed to reap the benefits of forming a multilayer metallization to maintain electrical isolation for PCB formation (see column 1, lines 1-20).
Alternatively, Berglund discloses the formation of the openings with the structure as claimed and depositing metal therein so that portions of the channel associated with the shadowing feature receive less conductive material than other portions of the channel and a portion of the metal trace is formed on the top surface of the substrate; however, fails to disclose the use of additive manufacturing. However, Fritz discloses benefits of additive manufacturing for forming channels for deposition versus other known techniques including those as taught by Berglund (see column 1-2) and therefore taking the references collectively, it would have been obvious to have modified Berglund to use the 3D printing process to form the openings to reap the benefits as outlined by Fritz. Fritz discloses the mask may be removed and thus discloses embodiments (i.e. may not be removed) with the mask remaining on the substrate.
Claim 15: Fritz discloses a base of the substrate is non-planar (see Figure 1, column 3, lines 42-55). Additionally, using a non-planar substate in Berglund would have been obvious as Fritz discloses the desire to form metal patterns on a non-planar substrate
Claim 16: Fritz discloses the substrate of silicon and using the additive manufacturing to form the substrate (column 3, lines 42-55, column 4, lines 42-50). Additionally, using this material in Berglund would have been obvious as predictable, since Fritz disclose forming the mask and substrate from same materials.
Claim 17: Fritz discloses the conductive material comprises a metal, see Copper (column 5, lines 4-15). Berglund discloses metal (abstract).
Claim 21: Fritz with Berglund or visa versa discloses all that is taught above discloses and makes obvious the claimed features for the same reasons as set forth above.
Fritz performing additive manufacturing to produce an electrical component having a performing additive manufacturing using a non-conductive material (column 3, lines 45-55) to produce a substrate having a plurality of interconnected walls and one or more shadowing features; (column 4, lines 42-50), at least one channel of the plurality of channels having a first width at a top surface of the substrate and a second width at a location disposed below the top surface, and coating portions of the substrate with a conductive material to form a plurality of traces in conjunction with the channels (Figure 4-5 and accompanying text), wherein the portions of the channel associated with the shadowing feature receive less conductive material than other portions of the channel (see e.g. Figure 5). Fritz discloses the combination of the substrate and the coating provides electromagnetic functionality (electronic circuit, antennas, etc. can reasonably read on electromagnetic functionality as broadly drafted and defined).
Fritz generally discloses shadow mask and patterning is known the art for depositing conductive materials and discloses 3D printing of those shadowing; however, fails to explicitly discloses the claimed mask has a second width being greater than the first width such that the at least one channel includes a shadowing feature and wherein the portions of the channel associated with the shadowing feature receive less conductive material than other portions of the channel. However, Berglund, also in the art of depositing metal on a substrate, discloses using mask wherein the opening has a first width and second width to form an overhang (shadowing) and the portions of the channel associated with the shadowing feature receive less conductive material than other portions of the channel (Figure 1-3 and accompanying text), where a trace is formed on the top surface of the substrate (see Figure 3). Therefore, as Fritz discloses forming metal lines through a formed opening and Berglund discloses metal lines can be successfully formed by using an opening with a structure as claimed, it would have been obvious to have modified Fritz to form the opening as claimed to reap the benefits of forming a multilayer metallization to maintain electrical isolation for PCB formation (see column 1, lines 1-20). Berglund discloses the shadowing feature includes a shadowing region comprised of one or more walls to shadow a respective portion of the substrate (see Figure 3).
Claim 22: Fritz discloses the step of coating portions of the device with a conductive material is performed without the use of a mask or other outside object disposed over a surface onto which the conductive material is deposited to control a location of the conductive material (figure 6 and accompanying text). Additionally, the prior art disclose the step of forming the substrate with the shadowing features in a single fabrication process and therefore meets the claim requirements (i.e. no outside mask deposed over a surface, but the mask with substrate in formed in a single ).
Claim 23: Fritz discloses the plurality of shadowing features are formed as part of one or more walls of the plurality of interconnected walls during the time the action of performing additive manufacturing using a non-conductive material to produce a device having a plurality of interconnected walls is performed (see column 4, figure 1 and accompanying text).
Claim 24: Fritz discloses a base of the substrate is non-planar (see Figure 1, column 3, lines 42-55).
Claim 25: The combination of Fritz with Berglund or visa versa discloses and makes obvious such a feature for the reasons set forth above. Specifically Fritz discloses the substrate and mask are formed from the same material and thus meet the claimed requirement that the channel is formed in a substrate, extending though a portion of a thickness, but not the whole thickness as claimed. The structure of the channel is made obvious by Berglund as outlined above.
Claim 26: The combination of Fritz with Berglund or visa versa discloses such a feature for the reasons set forth above. Specifically Fritz discloses the substrate and mask are formed from the same material and thus meet the claimed requirement that the channel is formed in a substrate, extending though a portion of a thickness, but not the whole thickness as claimed. The structure of the channel is made obvious by Berglund as outlined above.
Claim 27: Both Fritz and Berglund discloses the shadowing features are configured to discontinue conductivity between two regions of the substrate (see Figures).
Claim 28: Berglund discloses the channel includes a first cavity and second cavity, each with a width as claimed, first cavity in fluid communication with second cavity and extending from the top surface to the second cavity (see Figure 2).
Claim 29: Berglund discloses at least one side of the second cavity is devoid of conductive material (see Figure 3).
Claim 30: Berglund discloses the second cavity include a bottom with the second width and the channel include a side surface that extends from the top surface to the bottom surface such that the first side of the first cavity and first side of second cavity are aligned with eachother (see Figure 9-10).
Claim 31: Berglund discloses one side of the second cavity is devoid of the conductive material is a second side, opposite the first side, the bottom extending from the first side of the second side (Figure 9-10).
Claim 32: Berglund discloses the channel include a third side surface of the first cavity that defines the second side of the cavity opposite the first side and the third surface is offset from the second side (Figure 9-10).
Claim 33: Berglund discloses the trace is formed on the top surface of the substrate.
Claim 34: Fritz discloses the substrate of silicon, wherein the substrate and the mask is formed from a single material and using the additive manufacturing to form the substrate (column 3, lines 42-55, column 4, lines 42-50, stating “A single 3D printer may be used to fabricate the substrate and the mask in a single fabrication process. In some embodiments, the substrate and the mask are fabricated of the same material.”). Additionally, using this material in Berglund would have been obvious as predictable, since Fritz disclose forming the mask and substrate from same materials.
Conclusion
US Patent Application Publication 20210345494 discloses the additive manufacturing to form the substrate with the claimed features for metal circuit formation (see entire reference).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID P TUROCY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718