DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 8 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Kang in addition to previously relied on references below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
First opening/closing device (opening/closing blades, first frame, para. [0021]) in at least claims 1-17.
Second opening/closing device (opening/closing door structure, second frame, para. [0026]) in at least claims 1-17.
Opening/closing door structure (opening/closing door, door seal, para. [0029]) in at least claims 1-17.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Seal structure (bellows seal, magnetic fluid seal, para. [0033]) in at least claims 8-17.
(first second third) power unit(s) (motor, para. [0035-0037]) in at least claims 10, 12, 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation " further comprising a third power unit configured to drive the bellows seal " in the claim. The bellows is not driven by the third power unit, but rather, the third power unit drives the second opening and closing device, and the bellows is compressed or stretch because of the movement of the second opening and closing device (see para. [0033] of instant specification). Examiner interprets broadly. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 20180001320A to Kang.
Claim 1: Kang discloses a process chamber (10/30 [processing unit]/[pressure regulating unit], Fig. 4) comprising: a housing (10/30) defining a process space (106 [processing space]) where plasma processing is performed (para. [0026]), the process space (106) being located inside the housing (10/30, Fig. 4); a first opening/closing device (630 [first opening and closing member], Fig. 6) in a side wall of the housing (bottom side of wall of 10/30), the first opening/closing device (630) including a first frame (632 [rotating ring]) and at least one opening/closing blade (634 [adjusting blades/vanes]) connected to the first frame (632); and
a second opening/closing device (650/652, Fig. 4) on an outside of the side wall of the housing (outside bottom side wall of 10/30) of and on a same line as the first opening/closing device (630), the second opening/closing device (650/652) including a second frame (frame of 650 [second opening and closing member]) and an opening/closing door structure (652 [opening and closing plate]) connected to the second frame (frame of 650), wherein the first opening/closing device (630) and the second opening/closing device (650/652) are configured to maintain a vacuum state of the process space (para. [0032]).
Claim 2: Kang discloses wherein the first opening/closing device (630, Fig. 6, Kang) has an aperture shape (Fig. 7, para. [0030]), the at least one opening/closing blade (634]) includes a plurality of opening/closing blades (634, para. [0030]), respective inner portions of the plurality of opening/closing blades (634) together form a first opening (opening of 634, Fig. 7, para. [0030]), and a diameter of the first opening varies with a movement of the plurality of opening/closing blades (634, para. [0030]).
Claim 3: Kang discloses wherein the second frame (frame of 650, Fig. 6, Kang) has a second opening (opening of frame of 650) having a circular shape (para. [0019], Fig. 7-8), and the opening/closing door structure (652) is configured to block or open the second opening in a sliding manner (para. [0031]).
Claim 6: Kang discloses wherein the second frame (frame of 650, Fig. 6, Kang) has a second opening having a circular shape (para. [0031] where diameter is mentioned), and a diameter of the opening/closing door structure is greater than or equal to a diameter of the second opening (615 or opening of frame of 650, para. [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claims 1-3, 6 above, and in view of US 5948704 to Benjamin.
Claims 4-5, 7: Kang discloses (claim 4) wherein the opening/closing door structure (652, Fig. 6, Kang) includes an opening/closing door (652, Fig. 6-8).
However Kang does not disclose (claim 4) and a door seal surrounding the opening/closing door; (claim 5) wherein the door seal includes an O-ring seal configured to maintain the vacuum state of the process space; (claim 7) further comprising an O-ring seal between the second opening/closing device and the side wall of the housing
Benjamin discloses (claim 4) and a door seal (182 [o-ring], Fig. 9, 8) surrounding the opening/closing door (180 plate]); (claim 5) wherein the door seal (182) includes an O-ring seal (182) configured to maintain the vacuum state of the process space (c. 11, l. 35-55); (claim 7) further comprising an O-ring seal (182) between the opening/closing device (180) and the side wall of the housing (sidewall of 10); for the purpose of providing vacuum sealing and be removably attached (c. 11, l. 35-55).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Benjamin with motivation to provide vacuum sealing and be removably attached.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 12, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180001320A in view of US 20140030433 to Ranish.
Claim 8, 16-17: Kang discloses a substrate treating apparatus comprising: a process chamber (10/30 [processing unit]/[pressure regulating unit], Fig. 4) including a housing (10/30) providing defining a process space (106 [processing space]) where plasma processing is performed (para. [0026]), the process space (106) being located inside the housing (10/30, Fig. 4), a first opening/closing device (630 [first opening and closing member], Fig. 6) in a side wall of the housing (outside bottom side wall of 10/30), the first opening/closing device (630) including a first frame (632 [rotating ring]) and at least one opening/closing blade (634 [adjusting blades/vanes]) connected to the first frame (632),
wherein an inner portion of the at least one opening/closing blade (634) forms a first opening (opening of 634, Fig. 7, para. [0030]), and a second opening/closing device (650/652, Fig. 4) on an outside of the side wall of the housing (outside bottom side wall of 10/30) of and on a same line as the first opening/closing device (630), the second opening/closing device (650/652) including a second frame (frame of 650 [second opening and closing member]) having a circular shape (Fig. 4, 6-7) and an opening/closing door structure (652 [opening and closing plate]) connected to the second frame (frame of 650);
a substrate support (200 [substrate support unit], Fig. 4) inside the process chamber (10/30) and configured to support a substrate (W [substrate], para. [0020]); an upper electrode (400 [plasma source]) above the substrate support (200) and spaced apart from the substrate support (Fig. 4); a power generator (430 [power source]) configured to apply, to the upper electrode (400), source power for generating plasma in the process space (106) of the process chamber (10/30); wherein the first opening/closing device (630), the second opening/closing device (650/652) are configured to maintain a vacuum state of the process space (para. [0030]).
However Kang does not disclose (claim 8) and a seal structure connected to the second opening/closing device, wherein the first opening/closing device, the second opening/closing device, and the seal structure are configured to maintain a vacuum state of the process space; (claim 16) wherein the seal structure includes a bellows seal and a magnetic fluid seal; (claim 17) further comprising a third power unit configured to drive the bellows seal.
Ranish discloses (claim 8) a seal structure (174/130/212, Fig. 2B) connected to a device (170/140); (claim 16) wherein the seal structure (174/130/212) includes a bellows seal (“bellows configuration,” para. [0023]) and a magnetic fluid seal (212 [ferrofluidic seal], para. [0023]); (claim 17) further comprising a third power unit (130 [actuator]) configured to drive the bellows seal (174); for the purpose of facilitating sliding of the device and accommodating movement of the device (para. [0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Ranish with motivation to facilitate sliding of the device and accommodate movement of the device.
Claim 9: The apparatus of Kang in view of Ranish discloses wherein the first opening/closing device has an aperture shape (Fig. 7, para. [0030]), the at least one opening/closing blade (634]) includes a plurality of opening/closing blades (634, para. [0030]), and a diameter of the first opening varies with a movement of the plurality of opening/closing blades (634, para. [0030]).
Claim 12: The apparatus of Kang in view of Ranish discloses further comprising a second power unit (not shown but disclosed as “motor,” para. [0031], Ranish) configured to move the opening/closing door structure (652).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Ranish as applied to claims 8, 9, 12, 16-17 above, and in view of US 20190136364 to Zheng.
Claim 10: The apparatus of Kang in view of Ranish does not disclose further comprising a first power unit configured to move the at least one opening/closing blade.
Zheng discloses further comprising a first power unit (12 [driver], Fig. 1Ci-1Cii) configured to move the at least one opening/closing blade (15 [blades]) for the purpose of having an array that rotates between a retracted position and a closed position to define an aperture (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Zheng with motivation to have an array that rotates between a retracted position and a closed position to define an aperture.
Claim(s) 11, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Ranish as applied to claims 8, 9, 12, 16-17 above, and in view of US 5948704 to Benjamin.
Claims 11, 14, 15: The apparatus of Kang in view of Ranish discloses (claim 4) wherein the opening/closing door structure (652, Fig. 6, Kang) includes an opening/closing door (652, Fig. 6-8).
However the apparatus of Kang in view of Ranish does not disclose (claim 11) and a door seal surrounding the opening/closing door, and the door seal includes an O-ring seal configured to maintain the vacuum state of the process space; (claim 14) wherein the seal structure is configured to be removable from the second opening/closing device; (claim 15) further comprising an O-ring seal between the seal structure and the second opening/closing device.
Benjamin discloses (claim 11) a door seal (182 [o-ring], Fig. 9, 8) surrounding the opening/closing door (180 plate]), and the door seal (182) includes an O-ring seal (182) configured to maintain the vacuum state of the process space (c. 11, l. 35-55); (claim 14) wherein the seal structure (182) is configured to be removable from the opening/closing device (180); (claim 15) further comprising an O-ring seal (182) between the seal structure (182) and the opening/closing device (180); for the purpose of providing vacuum sealing and be removably attached (c. 11, l. 35-55).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Benjamin with motivation to provide vacuum sealing and be removably attached.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Ranish as applied to claims 8, 9, 12, 16-17 above, and in view of US 20080184584 to Sogard.
Claim 13: The apparatus of Kang in view of Ranish does not disclose wherein each of the first opening/closing device and the second opening/closing device is at a higher vertical level than the substrate support.
However Sogard discloses vacuum devices (906A, 906b, Fig. 5) at a higher vertical level than the substrate support (910, 940) for the purpose of being arranged to enable desired vacuum levels to be established and maintained within respective chambers (para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Sogard with motivation to be arranged to enable desired vacuum levels to be established and maintained within respective chambers.
Claims 18-20: (Cancelled).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240096606 discloses a plasma shutter (3, Fig. 3-4) may include a shield door (31), a connection block (33), and a gasket (35, para. [0054]). US 20190136364 discloses shutter (9, Fig. 1C) comprises a mechanical iris shutter (9c), which is configured to be actuatably coupled to a driver (12); iris shutter 9c can be coupled to substrate holder 6 such that the iris portion (e.g., aperture) overlaps with substrate 8 (para. [0036]). (Different Embodiment) Shutter (9) comprises a segment of a flexible, flat material that is wound around a spool (not shown), which is rotatably coupled to a driver (12); shutter (9) is slidably coupled to one or more rails (30) and extends along the surface of substrate holder (6, para. [0035]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718